If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The 'trampoline wars' FG Off Topic Thread

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Banjo wrote: »
    Legion.

Watched both series. Loved them. Haven't a clue what's going on though. It's like a lava lamp or something. Just weirdly mesmerising, without really having a purpose or something.

I'm a bit old-school, I have a Virgin box, and record series on them and watch in my own time. I don't do Netflix or other online stuff. Trouble is, I'm then left at the mercy of the schedulers. I saw all but the last series of The Mentalist. All but the last series of Person of Interest. Was watching The Middle, and mid-season it just stopped and went on to something else.

At the moment, I'm watching Versailles, Elementary, Gilmore Girls, Mr. Robot, Victoria and Outlander. A fairly varied mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

quickbeam wrote: »
    At the moment, I'm watching Versailles, Elementary, Gilmore Girls, Mr. Robot, Victoria and Outlander. A fairly varied mix.

Mr Robot was great. I watched the first season and a half of Outlander but their Jamie was not the Jamie in my head and it kinda put me off. Yer one they have for Clare is good and the guy for Black Jack is perfect. He's such a sneery sleezy bollox. I haven't watched any more of it but I've read all the books.

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    I watched the first season and a half of Outlander but their Jamie was not the Jamie in my head and it kinda put me off. Yer one they have for Clare is good and the guy for Black Jack is perfect. He's such a sneery sleezy bollox. I haven't watched any more of it but I've read all the books.

Books were on my to read list for ages, but never got my hands on them so haven't read them. Still want to read them, but TV series first, I guess.

I love Tobias Menzies, he's great in everything he's in. He plays the nice husband just as brilliantly as he plays his bollox ancestor with both being believable. I've liked him since he played Brutus in Rome - my all time favourite TV show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,224 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Watch Man in the High Castle. Excellent show.

Also watch:

Unabomber
    The Sinner
    The Expanse
    Altered Carbon
    Safe
    Battlestar Galactica

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'm really surprised there hasn't been a Battlestar Galactica WW game.

Or Doctor Who actually.

Both seem like popular shows amongst those who frequent here.

(I say this knowing feck all about both shows :/ )

Necrominus wrote: »

Or Doctor Who actually.

They'd be awesome. Also, the Cylon theme would fit right in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Watch Man in the High Castle. Excellent show.

The book was so strange, I wondered how well it would translate to TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

That is an excellent list. I'm especially pleased to see Howard getting included. A few there I don't know though, so I see my to-read list growing shortly!
    Some of the older ones can be a bit clunky in their writing or overly descriptive, but I like them because they had a high density of new ideas. For modern I forgot Guy Gavriel Kay (Tigana).

For Sci-Fi (best work to start with in brackets):

Greg Egan (Permutation City)
    Frank Herbert (Dune)
    Philip K. Dick (Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep)
    Robert Heinlein (The Moon is a harsh Mistress)
    H. Beam Piper (Space Viking)
    Dan Simmons (Hyperion)
    Kim Stanley Robinson (Red Mars)
    Roger Zelazny (Lord of Light)
    Arthur C. Clarke (Rendezvous with Rama)
    Alfred Bester (The Stars My Destination)
    Arkady & Boris Strugatsky (Roadside Picnic)
    Orson Scott Card (Ender's Game)
    Olaf Stapledon (Last and First Men, The Star Maker)
    Ann Leckie (Ancillary Sword)
    Ursula Le Guin (The Dispossessed)
    Peter F. Hamilton (The Reality Dysfunction)
    Joe Haldeman (The Forever War)
    Stanislaw Lem (Solaris)

Olaf Stapledon is really an odd one, they aren't stories, but he basically makes a future history of all of reality, they're weird but full of ideas. Although most don't enjoy him.

fixxxer wrote: »
    The book was so strange, I wondered how well it would translate to TV.

Season one was very similar to the book. But season 3 looks like it's going all Fringe like.

Fourier wrote: »
    Alfred Bester (The Stars My Destination)

Oh wow there's a blast from the past. I read that about 15 years ago on Vietnam. Memories...

I got it with another book called The Forever War by Joe Haldeman.

It's an interesting story about a soldier in a futuristic interstellar war. The catch is there is no FTL travel, only cryo sleep so every time he returns to earth, huge swathes of time has passed and he's hardly aged.

fixxxer wrote: »
    Oh wow there's a blast from the past. I read that about 15 years ago on Vietnam. Memories...

I got it with another book called The Forever War by Joe Haldeman.

It's an interesting story about a soldier in a futuristic interstellar war. The catch is there is no FTL travel, only cryo sleep so every time he returns to earth, huge swathes of time has passed and he's hardly aged.
    Forgot the Forever War and Lem (Solaris) added now!

Season one was very similar to the book. But season 3 looks like it's going all Fringe like.

w1gr6nX.gif

Urgh, I hated Solaris.

Thanks for the other stuff. I have Dune on the shelf so will be reading in the near future. I'm also reading Heinlein as we speak. Will check out and add some of the others on your list.

Urgh, I hated Solaris.
    Ha, then you definitely won't like The Cyberiad by him! What didn't you like? I could de-recommend a few above.

I forgot the major works of CyberPunk:

William Gibson (Neuromancer)
    Neal Stephenson (Snow Crash)
    Richard Morgan (Altered Carbon )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Legion - don’t know what’s going on half the time but just love the quirkiness. Love the opening credits with MIB font

Altered carbon - weird and wonderful

Godless - very different to above two - very very slow traditional western - little action but a beautifully shot programme , character driven with a basic premise, sumptuous villain and an enjoyable finale

Westworld - season 1 was absolutely mind f*ckingly superb if not hard to follow. The finale was one of my favorite season finishes ever. Period . Season 2 was a bit less enjoyable but might be better on binge viewing

Glow - watched it with my wife and it was fun. Not to long episodes so it doesn’t drag if watched individually. It’s popcorn tv but not for manly men cause it’s silly 80s retro female orientated comedy. I can be hip and a modern man y’all.

Cobra kai- if you liked the original karate kid this is a bit of fun. I suggest watching no more then two episodes at a time to keep the fun going. Love Johnny shouting QUIET

Mr mercedes- Brendan Gleason as a washed up , Alcoholic cop being taunted by a serial killer. Do I need to say anymore? Loved it

Mindhunter - mindf*ckary a bit with the birth of fbi serial killer profilers. Can be heavy at times but some of the conversations with SKs (how appropriate for WW) are spinetingling. Loved it

Rick and Morty - Prob an obvious one

Fourier wrote: »
    Ha, then you definitely won't like The Cyberiad by him! What didn't you like? I could de-recommend a few above.

I read it three years ago. I can't remember much about it now, and I'm definitely no literary critic, so I probably couldn't tell you why I like something any more than I could tell you why I didn't. But, it all just sort of seemed pointless, I didn't care anything about any of the characters, I couldn't really imagine the environment the action was taking place in. I saw the American film version a few months after finishing the book, and that didn't help me appreciate it any more either (I've not seen the original Russian version).

And yet tonally, it felt quite like the film Moon (correct me if I'm wrong, I might have picked up the tone of one or the other wrong), and yet I *loved* Moon.

I dunno, the fact that I can't even say much about it is probably testament enough for the level of regard I have for it. It's not the worst book I've ever read. My spreadsheet (:)) tells me that I've eight others I've marked lower! :P

I read it three years ago. I can't remember much about it now, and I'm definitely no literary critic, so I probably couldn't tell you why I like something any more than I could tell you why I didn't. But, it all just sort of seemed pointless, I didn't care anything about any of the characters, I couldn't really imagine the environment the action was taking place in.
    Yeah, I'd stay away from Stapledon and Egan then. Like Lem, they don't really care too much about the characters or the setting, merely the concept. In Lem's case it's just a study of what interacting with an utterly alien mind is like.

Necrominus wrote: »

Or Doctor Who actually.

Funnily enough I played the Battlestar Galactica boardgame at the weekend there. Long game but quite good fun. Everyone gets assigned a loyalty at the start and again about half way through (to simulate the sleeper cylons). There was only supposed to be 1 cylon in the game but I ****ed up and gave everyone else BUT me a cylon card. I should not be in charge of board games. :rolleyes:

By your command

So say we all.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

For anyone interested and with... ahem... access to Hulu - Castle Rock debuted last night. Good vibes from a semi-King adaptation... for once.

Jasus lads there seems to be a bit of precipitation around Belfast today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Jasus lads there seems to be a bit of precipitation around Belfast today.

it was coming down hard in budapest too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭MrsFlushdraw

Just watched the crown. I enjoyed that. I’ve started watching SAFE now, it’s a bit meh. They live in a gated community but there’s bits of it that don’t add up logistically.

Flushy, where’s the best area to stay in Malta?

I liked the Crown as well. The episode with the plane in the second season was filmed superbly. Very emotional.

Sent you a PM, not been on as much as had been traveling about.
    Watched both series. Loved them. Haven't a clue what's going on though. It's like a lava lamp or something. Just weirdly mesmerising, without really having a purpose or something.

I'm a bit old-school, I have a Virgin box, and record series on them and watch in my own time. I don't do Netflix or other online stuff. Trouble is, I'm then left at the mercy of the schedulers. I saw all but the last series of The Mentalist. All but the last series of Person of Interest. Was watching The Middle, and mid-season it just stopped and went on to something else.

Liked Mr Robot a lot! very quirky and different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭MrsFlushdraw

Greetings all from sunny Malta!

Back on the rock after traveling to East Midlands, Dublin, Letterkenny, Scotland and home again. Picked up a throat infection which turned out to be strep. The plane journey home was a nightmare! I got light headed at high altitude, really thought I was going to pass out. Ended up throwing up.

Had a 5-hour delay with my flight from Derry to Glasgow, getting €750 from Ryanair though which helps!

I don't watch regular TV. I watch the odd show on the projector we have set up. Currently watching Luke Cage, The Last Kingdom and rewatching Friends!

Love Mr Robot, and a big fan of The Blacklist. looking forward to that returning!

Silicon Valley is another show which is great craic. For those that have seen it, will be familiar with "snack dick" which we had a hoot about at the WW meet we had in July when I was over. A game I was telling them about was nicknamed snatch dick! I really need to find this game so you know what I was on about lol.

Watched all the other Marvel TV shows and waiting patiently for the return of GoT.

I read lots and lots and lots. I prefer reading to watching TV most of the time. Got a kindle for mothers day and I also have a 3-month kindle unlimited sub which I have been taking advantage of and downloading as much as I can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

sKeith wrote: »
    A recent factual of mine was the immortal life of henrietta lacks.
    interesting read.

I finished this today. Really great read. Thanks for mentioning it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Everyone very much welcome to come along and meet the rest of the group. We will pull together a game of table WW as well, which is always fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

I’ll apply for an exit visa.

For the Excel nerds among us....

... is pretty amazing!