White vans spotted going around trying to abduct kids

I remember a few years ago it was big on Facebook that Larry Murphy was in every town/village in Ireland sometimes seen at mass.

A poor fella nearly got beaten up by a mob last year because he looked like a pedophile shared on Facebook. Someone followed him doing a live Facebook broadcast. Within minutes there were dozens of people shouting for his blood. Poor fella got onto Joe Duffy next day to give his real name and to try clear his name. Gardai verified his real name & he definitely wasn't the sex offender people thought he was.

Very scary stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

SeaFields wrote: »
    I'm still seeing the Larry Murphy posts along with the white van posts and the random guy on the bus tried to photo up my skirt posts, not to mention the "I was spiked in (insert bar here) and it's the bars fault" posts.

My drink was spiked after 30 units of alcohol brigade...I only had de half bottle o'vodka before I went out Joe and I was drugged and dat so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

There was one of these out my way recently where a four year old kid told their mam it was a silver coloured Ford Transit.

4 year old knew it was a Ford transit?
    Fair play to that kid

Mother put up a hysterical post about the ford transit and a load of details that when you read them you just said no way did that happen

Pretty sure the kid was offered sweets too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

buried wrote: »
    All these social media apps like Facebook and twatter are the absolute f**king pits man. People can have access to a goldmine of knowledge, culture, any subject they have or had a interest in with internet access, but it seems a good majority are non stop stuck on these f**king things looking for the next thing to get worked up over and start acting like they're their own Brasseye style tv news channel. A few years ago one of these mopes was going around like a demented lunatic showing everyone this headline post of facewank - and this was literally the headline -"Terrorists plan to disguise themselves as furniture to smuggle themselves into the country"

Kill your facebook

'This pedophile in Sheffield disguised himself as a school - he's been getting away with it for years...."

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hysterical dumb mother's with too much time on social media

PM me hun. Nuttin but snakes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

The same type of idiots as this.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

Too many full time mammies with time on their dopey hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I always thought it was hysterical crap until there was an attempted abduction of a ten year old boy in the housing estate next to our one a few years ago.
    It was all over a local Facebook group page the next day and I did think it was bull tbh.
    A few weeks later I happened to be speaking to a Garda who said it was true and they'd arrested him on the same evening at home with his wife and children.
    Only difference is he was driving a BMW and not a white van 😱