"I'm too old for this sh" -- What made you really feel that?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Drinking more than 5 bottles of beer on a night out. Nightmare the following day.
    yeah, those 250ml stubbies catch up on ya :P

Just some drink water in between them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The opinion of others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Not knowing the songs in the charts. Something about Jackie Chan! Last song played at my brothers wedding - no clue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Cushtie wrote: »
    Chasing after an 18 month old daughter at 42.
    For the love of Jesus young people, heed my advice. Have your kids when you are in your 20s. That way you will have more energy for them and at least by the time they are reared you won't be the wrong side of 55 hoping you make it to retirement!!

I'm 45 chasing a 2 year old wannabe fireman who's getting his climbing experience in early. He'll be sitting on my chest at 7.00 in the morning holding my ears riding his motorbike.
    Might be basketball after breakfast I'll be the one lifting him for the dunk.

You're only 42 jaysus, in your 20s there's too much selfish shìt to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Try_harder wrote: »
    Not knowing the songs in the charts. Something about Jackie Chan! Last song played at my brothers wedding - no clue

That song was hardly Kung Fu by Ash was it? Over 20 years old.

https://youtu.be/dWqY8qrBBSI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SimpleDimples

A cousin's 21st birthday party a couple of weeks back.

I'm only in my 30s but I felt about 70, thinking young ones need to wear more clothes and watch their drink when 10 years ago I was the exact same.

I'm now a hypocritical ould wan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Pang wrote: »
    Flossing. Dabbing. Planking. All that crap.

My young one makes hand gestures about dabbing. Still don't know wtf it is. I'm old and confused :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

mojesius wrote: »
    Staff parties/work nights out.

I just want to go home and sit in my jammies, not listen to a bunch of gee-eyed co-workers talk ****e.

Had a work night out at the dogs tonight. One of the lads got locked and ran around the track....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Been working with a couple of 25 year olds for the last 5 weeks on a factory line. The amount they cram into their weekends while I waste away on the couch from exhaustion makes me realise I am too old for this ****. I'm 36. I like sleep and no young 'un is gonna tell me thats a waste of time!!

No. I Shazamed it its Post Malone- who ever da fuq they are!

Do you remember the time you were a girl from mars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

My daughters 18th birthday party.....tonight.
    Back in the day, I'd be up for an all night party.
    Now I'm the taxi service.

And I'm done. Sitting down to my first and last beer of the evening.

I'm getting way too old for this ****. G'night kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Running up the stairs.

I mean having a real go at it.

In my 20s/30s & most of my 40s I'd no problem about running up stairs 2 at a time.

Now I walk up the stairs 2 at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭taytobreath

mojesius wrote: »
    Staff parties/work nights out.

I just want to go home and sit in my jammies, not listen to a bunch of gee-eyed co-workers talk ****e.

calling pajamas , jammies.

wearin pajamas even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Try_harder wrote: »

I know more theme tunes to kids TV shows than I do about the charts. Bring back Top 30 hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Last year I had the ultimate displeasure of seeing my first grey hairs. I'm female so feck that. Now I'm seeing grey hairs on my arms and eyebrows. I'm either colouring them or waxing them now.

I was going to reply to this till I saw that I posted it..... Apparently I'm not too old to start threads drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Going on the beer, two nights in a row. Its like a manifesto to kill yourself.
    It's the work next day after a heavy drinking session that's the real killer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Running up the stairs.

I mean having a real go at it.

In my 20s/30s & most of my 40s I'd no problem about running up stairs 2 at a time.

Now I walk up the stairs 2 at a time.

Stairs? I insisted on NO STAIRS after the last three rentals.
    A and E once; lost a big toe nail and a strained back on the last one..

Arrived at a charity shop new to me last week to find steep stairs. A lady was helping an older one who had a stick down, then she helped me, with a stick, up.

Disgree is it s etc; just a part of the pattern of life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

KKkitty wrote: »
    Last year I had the ultimate displeasure of seeing my first grey hairs. I'm female so feck that. Now I'm seeing grey hairs on my arms and eyebrows. I'm either colouring them or waxing them now.

Jesus Christ! This is news to me! Do the hairs on our arms go grey too?? :eek: Feeeeeecccccckkkkkk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Got roped into playing a junior b hurling match at home recently. The guy I had to mark was doing his leaving cert. I'd mine done before he was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,735 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

SeaFields wrote:
    Got roped into playing a junior b hurling match at home recently. The guy I had to mark was doing his leaving cert. I'd mine done before he was born.

I'd say he ran the ****e outta yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I'd say he ran the ****e outta yea?

Its hard to run when you're limping :D

Yes, yes he did.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Dealing with not yet mature adults is something I can't be doing anymore.
    It's hard enough to deal with my own kids without having to deal with adults who act like kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm early 40s now but the first time was probably on a night out with the lads a few years back. One of them had brought his early 20s brother along. There we are talking about work and houses and kids while yer man is chatting up 3 girls.. All I could think of "that used to be me"

Another night was the work night out about a week after I started. I wasn't in the mood for a late night but knew I "had" to go anyway. All was grand but about 11pm the pub opened up our reserved section to the rest of the customers and 2 19/20 year old girls sat down beside where we were standing. I remember thinking "they really should be wearing more than that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,735 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

SeaFields wrote: »
    Its hard to run when you're limping :D

Yes, yes he did.... :(

at least you got up and done it, some lads wouldnt bother their hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Haven't had that feeling yet, but had my first I'm getting old feeling when the world cup final was on. Mbappe was going up to get his young player of the tournament award and the commentator mentioned that he wasn't born when France previously won the world cup in 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

hairyslug wrote: »
    Spent 45 min on a trampoline 2 days ago, I'm still ****ed

Theres a house near me and it's not like any of the other houses. At first I thought it was apartments but a big family live there and there's no fence around it so you pass by the back garden.

Anyway I was passing by it there on one of the sunny days and loads of them were out in the garden sunbathing and stuff, teenagers, a few adults and kids. The (what I think is the) mam was hanging clothes out on the line and two teenagers were rolling around on the trampoline kissing in front of everyone like sloppy kissing. I don't mind pda's but I did think to myself that it looked so awkward and a bit weird or I don't know maybe I'm getting too old :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I don't mind pda's but I did think to myself that it looked so awkward and a bit weird or I don't know maybe I'm getting too old :/
    ^^this :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Did anyone start playing the banjo? :p