Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I'm too old for this sh" -- What made you really feel that?

• 21-07-2018 5:55pm

Been feeling that with a few things recently.. Playing games? Fine. Managing gaming communities? Who are these <snip>.

Bit of a pity to lose things you were once into. Still have a few offline hobbies in the bank so not too worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,052 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Going on the beer, two nights in a row. Its like a manifesto to kill yourself.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Outdoor fun & games. Waistband too offensive and too many cameras about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

Snapchat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

The time when I was on the toilet and the toilet had a bomb on it and my partner turned up and threw me from the toilet into the the bath before the bomb blew up and and and.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

As a gamer of 36 years, Fortnite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

My daughters 18th birthday party.....tonight.
    Back in the day, I'd be up for an all night party.
    Now I'm the taxi service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Drinking more than 5 bottles of beer on a night out. Nightmare the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I'm too old for this getting old ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

I was about 2. Defecating on myself, as was my custom, when suddenly it dawned on me that it was time to heed my parents' advice and make use of the plastic potty they'd provided to me.

I was literally "too old for this shít".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

The ice bucket challenge.

buying any piece of hardware retro. will use emulators instead on a raspberry pi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

Listening to ****.....way too old for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Nightclubs. Paying through the snot for the privilege of getting in.
    Then paying through the snot to hang a jacket.
    Then paying through the snot for shyte drinks.
    Shyte music.
    Shyte night.
    And never getting the shift!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Staff parties/work nights out.

I just want to go home and sit in my jammies, not listen to a bunch of gee-eyed co-workers talk ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Whip rounds in work for little Johnnys sponsered trip to France.

The saying "it's for a good cause"

The saying "going forward"

Saying "just saying"

Sayings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Don't really look at situations I no longer want to be about as "I'm getting too old for this $hit"
    I prefer use this line in those type situations

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

Chasing a mad bitch of a two year old heifer who was not going to co-operate, for about an hour, before I realised I’m getting too old for........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

probably the one thing that redeems me feeling like I'm old is a 2 dayer weekend..rare event now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Looking at people that you used to babysit, forging good careers and undoubtedly earning more than I do now, getting married, starting their own families - basically passing ahead of me in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I was born at a very young age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

I feel younger every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

mojesius wrote: »

I just want to go home and sit in my jammies, not listen to a bunch of gee-eyed co-workers talk ****e.

Urgh, I spend 40 hours a week with these people. Now I have to spend my free time too?

I slept in a tent last weekend. I'm far far too old for this sh*t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Handling Apple Devices so as to keep in apple's warranty policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Spent 45 min on a trampoline 2 days ago, I'm still ****ed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

When my hangovers started lasting more than one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Seriously though, why didn't they mention this? They never said it would be this bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The way things are today I'm happy to say I'm too old for this ****

Now if it was 1967 at the age I am now it would be a very different story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Flossing. Dabbing. Planking. All that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Chasing after an 18 month old daughter at 42.
    For the love of Jesus young people, heed my advice. Have your kids when you are in your 20s. That way you will have more energy for them and at least by the time they are reared you won't be the wrong side of 55 hoping you make it to retirement!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

You're as old as your hair line

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    Handling Apple Devices so as to keep in apple's warranty policy.
    I got my first Apple device recently.

It's only got a single core processor but I'm well impressed.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/High-Quality-Fruit-Apple-Peeler-Corer-Slicer-Cutter-Parer-Knife-Kitchen-Tool/32603444341.html

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Drinking more than 5 bottles of beer on a night out. Nightmare the following day.
    yeah, those 250ml stubbies catch up on ya :P

Just some drink water in between them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The opinion of others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Not knowing the songs in the charts. Something about Jackie Chan! Last song played at my brothers wedding - no clue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Cushtie wrote: »
    Chasing after an 18 month old daughter at 42.
    For the love of Jesus young people, heed my advice. Have your kids when you are in your 20s. That way you will have more energy for them and at least by the time they are reared you won't be the wrong side of 55 hoping you make it to retirement!!

I'm 45 chasing a 2 year old wannabe fireman who's getting his climbing experience in early. He'll be sitting on my chest at 7.00 in the morning holding my ears riding his motorbike.
    Might be basketball after breakfast I'll be the one lifting him for the dunk.

You're only 42 jaysus, in your 20s there's too much selfish shìt to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Try_harder wrote: »
    Not knowing the songs in the charts. Something about Jackie Chan! Last song played at my brothers wedding - no clue

That song was hardly Kung Fu by Ash was it? Over 20 years old.

https://youtu.be/dWqY8qrBBSI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SimpleDimples

A cousin's 21st birthday party a couple of weeks back.

I'm only in my 30s but I felt about 70, thinking young ones need to wear more clothes and watch their drink when 10 years ago I was the exact same.

I'm now a hypocritical ould wan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Pang wrote: »
    Flossing. Dabbing. Planking. All that crap.

My young one makes hand gestures about dabbing. Still don't know wtf it is. I'm old and confused :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Had a work night out at the dogs tonight. One of the lads got locked and ran around the track....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Been working with a couple of 25 year olds for the last 5 weeks on a factory line. The amount they cram into their weekends while I waste away on the couch from exhaustion makes me realise I am too old for this ****. I'm 36. I like sleep and no young 'un is gonna tell me thats a waste of time!!

No. I Shazamed it its Post Malone- who ever da fuq they are!

Do you remember the time you were a girl from mars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

My daughters 18th birthday party.....tonight.
    Back in the day, I'd be up for an all night party.
    Now I'm the taxi service.

And I'm done. Sitting down to my first and last beer of the evening.

I'm getting way too old for this ****. G'night kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Running up the stairs.

I mean having a real go at it.

In my 20s/30s & most of my 40s I'd no problem about running up stairs 2 at a time.

Now I walk up the stairs 2 at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

calling pajamas , jammies.

wearin pajamas even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Try_harder wrote: »

I know more theme tunes to kids TV shows than I do about the charts. Bring back Top 30 hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Last year I had the ultimate displeasure of seeing my first grey hairs. I'm female so feck that. Now I'm seeing grey hairs on my arms and eyebrows. I'm either colouring them or waxing them now.

I was going to reply to this till I saw that I posted it..... Apparently I'm not too old to start threads drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

It's the work next day after a heavy drinking session that's the real killer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Running up the stairs.

I mean having a real go at it.

In my 20s/30s & most of my 40s I'd no problem about running up stairs 2 at a time.

Now I walk up the stairs 2 at a time.

Stairs? I insisted on NO STAIRS after the last three rentals.
    A and E once; lost a big toe nail and a strained back on the last one..

Arrived at a charity shop new to me last week to find steep stairs. A lady was helping an older one who had a stick down, then she helped me, with a stick, up.

Disgree is it s etc; just a part of the pattern of life..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

KKkitty wrote: »
    Last year I had the ultimate displeasure of seeing my first grey hairs. I'm female so feck that. Now I'm seeing grey hairs on my arms and eyebrows. I'm either colouring them or waxing them now.

Jesus Christ! This is news to me! Do the hairs on our arms go grey too?? :eek: Feeeeeecccccckkkkkk.