As a capital city is Dublin one of the biggest kips in any 1st world country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Im well and truly amazed at the poll, almost 50-50... or is this just a country v city thing...
    However the city is judged I cant see it improving any time soon.The incompetent, corrupt and narrow minded nature of the people in power will see to that.

murpho999 wrote: »
    It''s funny that people here talk about other cities and claim they have less junkies, less crime, nicer architecture and nicer sights yet when I talk to tourists here (also have foreign family, who come here regularly) they rave about Dublin and its nice Georgian architectire, freindly people, nice pubs, beautiful parks and never mention junkies, crime, litter or problems.

That's actually really true, I dont think I've ever heard a tourist say a bad word about the city. The thing is for every junkie there's a passerby coming over asking if you need help with your map, for every grey featureless building there's a great session and those are the things that make a trip, but living in the city you dont really get to appreciate them

Add those poxy "coffee shops" to that list too.

Isn't it all doughnut shops now I hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,780 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Other week in work they were doing a donut run - I asked do they have plain old sugary jam donuts, the shock and horror I got. 2€ for a bit of dough - boom is back in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Im well and truly amazed at the poll, almost 50-50... or is this just a country v city thing...
    However the city is judged I cant see it improving any time soon.The incompetent, corrupt and narrow minded nature of the people in power will see to that.

Yes it’s culchies vs dubs.

I mean how do you think a cork man would vote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The city and county population is 1.3M.

http://www.dublinchamber.ie/business-agenda/about-dublin

Probably read this and think much the same
    http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/articles/city-expansion-culchies-guide-to-becoming-a-city-head-part-tureeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭OEP

I've lived in Dublin for almost 10 years and I really like it and I have visited many cities. Certainly it has many issues, O'Connell street is ****, it's not the cleanest and the traffic isn't great but it is one of the most fun cities to be in. For a city of it's size, the nightlife is wonderful. The likes of Stockholm, Copenhagen, Zurich etc. are very clean and well run but they don't have the same buzz you get in Dublin.  I've never once in my 10 years had any trouble or felt unsafe. Between the Grand Canal and Dame Street is a really part of town.

You can go for a swim within a few miles of the city centre, go out to the mountains, rock climbing in Dalkey Quarry, sailing, etc. . Most people don't avail of these things and are missing out on a lot of what's great about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The "tic" beside my eye just started again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

redblaze wrote: »
    Junkies everywhere and so many beggers it makes New York before Giuliani look mild.
    Want to venture a guess what the murder rate in early 1990s NY was? Want to take a guess what it is in Dublin over the last few years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

O’ Connell Street is the area that needs to be targeted by the guards. Zombified junkies make the street look like something from a horror movie.

KevinCavan wrote: »
    O’ Connell Street is the area that needs to be targeted by the guards. Zombified junkies make the street look like something from a horror movie.

Yup, had some woman, off her tits on something going round everyone at the bus stop with hands out, wasn't even saying anything bar moving her mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I found Berlin to be quite shabby. Lisbon too, despite the pretty buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Worse thing about Dublin is listening to some Culchie who has lived in the City for a couple of years pontificating about they would "never live on the northside " blah blah blah.
    Apart from that its a great place.
    Serioulsy though what do people expect?
    All cities have their good and bad points.
    Dublin is grand. Its not Paris or New York but its fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I go to Dublin about two or three times a year for rugby or hurling matches, spending a night there each time either staying with family or in a hotel depending on the occasion and I have to say it is in measures good and bad, as a rural dweller I can't cope with the noise/traffic/volume of people but equally I love the whole buzz of the place, saying that after one night up there I'm glad to get beyond Newlands Cross and out onto the M7 on the way home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The real 'scum' (if we absolutely have to use that kind of dehumanising language) are the smooth-talking, influential business lobbyists like Richard Guiney, who treat the city centre not as a pedestrian/cyclist-friendly living space, like other cities, but as a great big money-spinner for hotels and car park owners.

Ah come on. What word do you use to describe the people whose idea of craic is hurling verbal abuse and even physical violence at random passers-by for absolutely no reason, if you don't like us calling them "scum"?

EDIT: Do you remember the "ah leave it ouuu" thing from a few years back? Fun though the memery around that was (and I was one of the memers), the fact that this happened in broad daylight with the faced of those involved clearly caught on camera and we didn't subsequently hear of a Garda investigation, prosecution, and jail sentences for those involved really says it all. Our system tolerates low level violent crime until it reaches a high level of disruption or violence, and that is something which needs to change.

It is a kip, sadly. A horrible city really, most of the city centre is a disgrace.
    There are some nice parts, particularly on the south side, but it’s a really grim city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

There are some nice parts, particularly on the south side

Yes I'm more familiar with the Baggot Street/Ballsbridge area of the city which is all fine but really the O'Connell Street/Parnell Square area is very dodgy, I've had experience of both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

No it's not a kip. It's Ireland's capital city, we should be proud of it.

Sure Dublin has it's problems, but trust me, there are worst places. I lived in Manchester for a time, and it dosen't have the charm of Dublin in my eyes. Homeless people everywhere over there on every street, massive drug problems too.

Dublin has Grafton St, the Phoenix Park, St. Stephens Green, Croke Park, Dublin Castle and Dublin Zoo to name a few. It is an historic town.

We have a bit of a narrow attitude in this country regarding our cultural heritage. You will find plenty of that in our capital and further afield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What gets me going is when improvements try to be made - new buildings, skyscrapers, transport - all the nimbys and An Taisce come out to object.

Keeping Dublin a feckless kip seems to be a virtue in their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It is an historic town.

Pay no attention to this dangerous degenerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Vita nova

As a capital city is Dublin one of the biggest kips in any 1st world country?

Junkies everywhere and so many beggers it makes New York before Giuliani look mild. Plus a health service that genuinely makes me ashamed to be Irish, but I suppose that's a nationwide thing and not just Dublin.

Using terms like "absolute kip" isn't conducive to constructive responses, assuming that's what you want.
    I don't have any easy solutions but considering local politicans and city councillors are the ones that can actually change things then you might be better directing your concerns to them.

Was this thread started by a bitter and twisted Culchie.

Name-calling and scapegoating doesn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Sorry to say but yes i think it is a kip.
    And by that i really don't want to offend people but it is unfortunately my opinion despite my best attempts to want to view our national capital city as something more.

Main problem as i see it is Crime or more so the perception of it being unsafe (Mainly down to junkies and scumbags hanging around streets), Second being a terrible transport system. (2 luas lines and Dublin bus.....! Not great is it..)
    Thirdly is the filth and generally unkept nature of many buildings / streets in the city.

Now much of this could be said about any part of this country but it really is not good enough in the capital city, Have to say it puts me off and i regularly choose London over Dublin for events because of these factors.
    (And we all know London has its problems as well!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Op has never been to India!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Giraffe Box

But the thing is, it *is* a capital city. That's the point of the thread.

As a capital city it makes me ashamed to be in it.

Well then, as they might say in your beloved London, 'Do one'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭forward8

Op has never been to India!!

India would not really be considered 1st world though. I think part of the point being made is that for a 'first world' country/ city we are way behind other major country/ cities in many areas.

Looks like people here are fairly split according to the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I found Berlin to be quite shabby. Lisbon too, despite the pretty buildings.

I loved that aspect of Lisbon, especially the Alfama (the old town) that has actual working class people living there, not like in a lot of old towns in Spain that are a bit too pristine and ****ty touristy shops everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

And that's about what it boils down to,look at any travel video on YouTube about Dublin and you'll see the comments "its not the real Ireland" "you need to go west" ....its a city ffs,its hardly going to have donkey drawn carts of turf going down O Connell st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Culchies out
    North and South
    Lets get a campaign going..

And for the intellectualy challenged...The above along with my earlier reference to,bitter and twisted Culchies, is ever so slightly tongue in cheek.