Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

There has been drama between Jose and Pogba alright, but I have to say Pogba has been a pro through-out. Anytime he was asked about it, especially during the 'worst' of it in February when he was dropped for McTominay, Pogba always said something like "There is no problem, the manager picks the team and I respect his decisions."

No, that doesn't make up for some spineless performances from him, but I have hope that he and Jose are able to have a professional relationship no matter what they think of each other personally.

Supposedly (heard on podcast so don’t have link) Deschamps told Pogba to knuckle down for Jose and actually that Jose is a top coach trying to help him flourish.

His performance against city suggested he is most definitely capable of getting over whatever it was that was stunting his growth. I also hope the World Cup helps him mature and that he brings that maturity back to united.

United is a tougher club to succeed at and is in a rebuilding period that no other top club has had to suffer recently. Joining Juve, city, Chelsea, Barca, Madrid or PSG is ensuring that 80% of your season will be a cakewalk. United has been struggling to get back to the top and as such the weight of expectations has hampered progress and led to , ironically, a more Workman like united that’s quite similar to the French World Cup winners.

For all the talk of how good france were , from the quarter final to the final they played quite a defensive counter attacking formation that’s not completely dissimilar to the way Jose can set them up. In quarters and semis they scored set pieces and a bad GK error and sat back. In the final they got ridiculous luck with handy decisions and were actually outplayed for the majority of the game.

I’m excited about the season with or without signings. A Pogba in form, an evern better looking Lukaku and a Sánchez that’s settled in could equate to a superb forward line. I’m going to spurs game aswell so there’s that aswell!!

Wonder if united would go back for perisic. Woodward failed to get him last season , why not get him now?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

So we wanted to sell Ddg a few summers ago? Or we planned on the transfer failing after agreeing to sell?

Or we wanted to sell Ronaldo?

Pogba has 4 years left on his contract. DDG was gone into the last year of his. It's clearly not the same. If Utd don't want to sell he's going nowhere.

And Ronaldo was kept a year longer than he wanted to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

So we wanted to sell Ddg a few summers ago? Or we planned on the transfer failing after agreeing to sell?

Or we wanted to sell Ronaldo?

Not really comparing like for like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,306 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

yabadabado wrote: »
    Not really comparing like for like

The statement was if United don't want to sell they won't sell.

Evidence indicates, not just at United, that if the buying club and player really want a transfer to happen, there is a better than "no chance" of it happening.

The statement was if United don't want to sell they won't sell.

Evidence indicates, not just at United, that if the buying club and player really want a transfer to happen, there is a better than "no chance" of it happening.

The scenario United found themselves in with Ronaldo and DDG were quite different from a possible transfer for Pogba.
    Has there been any indication Pogba wants to leave United?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

yabadabado wrote: »
    The scenario United found themselves in with Ronaldo and DDG were quite different from a possible transfer for Pogba.
    Has there been any indication Pogba wants to leave United?

The Italian version of The Sun said so....

Lord TSC wrote: »
    The Italian version of The Sun said so....

fuuuuuuccccckkkkkkkk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Pogba going nowhere lads not a chance. If juventus signed him and Ronaldo in one summer I think ffp would be well and throughly laughed at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Drumpot wrote: »
    Supposedly (heard on podcast so don’t have link) Deschamps told Pogba to knuckle down for Jose and actually that Jose is a top coach trying to help him flourish.

His performance against city suggested he is most definitely capable of getting over whatever it was that was stunting his growth. I also hope the World Cup helps him mature and that he brings that maturity back to united.

United is a tougher club to succeed at and is in a rebuilding period that no other top club has had to suffer recently. Joining Juve, city, Chelsea, Barca, Madrid or PSG is ensuring that 80% of your season will be a cakewalk. United has been struggling to get back to the top and as such the weight of expectations has hampered progress and led to , ironically, a more Workman like united that’s quite similar to the French World Cup winners.

For all the talk of how good france were , from the quarter final to the final they played quite a defensive counter attacking formation that’s not completely dissimilar to the way Jose can set them up. In quarters and semis they scored set pieces and a bad GK error and sat back. In the final they got ridiculous luck with handy decisions and were actually outplayed for the majority of the game.

I’m excited about the season with or without signings. A Pogba in form, an evern better looking Lukaku and a Sánchez that’s settled in could equate to a superb forward line. I’m going to spurs game aswell so there’s that aswell!!

Wonder if united would go back for perisic. Woodward failed to get him last season , why not get him now?

because we signed sanchez and no longer need him

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

jayo26 wrote: »
    Pogba going nowhere lads not a chance. If juventus signed him and Ronaldo in one summer I think ffp would be well and throughly laughed at.

IF
    (massive IF) it were to happen, I'd be expecting a few players coming our way to keep the cash element low, or to balance the books. Sandro, Dybala, Mandzukic, Khedira and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Lord TSC wrote: »

IF
    (massive IF) it were to happen, I'd be expecting a few players coming our way to keep the cash element low, or to balance the books. Sandro, Dybala, Mandzukic, Khedira and so on.

Never even mind the transfer fee they would have to pay another 500k a week wages.

Pogba is going nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Pogba did well with his goals in the second half of that City game but I've seen it held up as some sort of marker the past few days.

He was absolute garbage in the first half.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

beno619 wrote: »
    Pogba did well with his goals in the second half of that City game but I've seen it held up as some sort of marker the past few days.

Like Rashford v Liverpool, it is a just a snippet of what they can do. The problem with United is it only comes together some days.

With the greatest of respect, who gives a flying ****.

History will always show, we stopped city winning the league title at home against us, city fans were balling crying after the game, pogba tore them apart in the 2nd half, scored 2 goals and won the man of the match award

Not just him, the whole team were. A game of two completely different halves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭BenK

bangkok wrote: »
    With the greatest of respect, who gives a flying ****.

History will always show, we stopped city winning the league title at home against us, city fans were balling crying after the game, pogba tore them apart in the 2nd half, scored 2 goals and won the man of the match award

I'm sorry but all history will remember is that City won the league that season. That United stopped them doing it against them is largely irrelevqnt in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,286 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If United don't want to sell him he won't be sold.

To suggest otherwise is preposterous imo.

Yeah but it's typical of the off-season crack smoking that goes on in here, and worse, posters that know better induge it.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Cotts72

The lack of transfer movement is becoming frustrating. I hate to compare with Liverpool but they had a strong season last year and have dipped into the transfer market and brought in quality players and have spent whats needs to be spent to improve and they will more than likely go again for Fekir. Yes we have signed Fred but that's it,Dalot is a future fixture. Its hard to remain optimistic about our chances next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Jose doesn't think so, this is from the coach who is happy to call out anyone.
    “Of course, two goals for a midfield player in a big match like this one stays in the memory of the people, especially the fans. He needs that confidence because he knows, I know he had some performances not at the level of expectation we have from Paul. But he’s improving.

Against Swansea I was happy and today him, Matic and Herrera, I think they were phenomenal for 90 minutes.”

This nit picking is tedious. When player plays great game, it's a great game. Saying player wasn't at his best from min 2 to min 15, and also he was sloppy from min 56-71 is just nit picking and tedious.

I don't understand why its so hard for ManUtd fans to praise ManUtd player, especially when he won the game for us against City.

Another transfer metldown over nothing, silly season in full flow

Relax the cacks brothers and sisters!

Happens when you believe everything you read. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Giggsy11 wrote: »

This nit picking is tedious. When player plays great game, it's a great game. Saying player wasn't at his best from min 2 to min 15, and also he was sloppy from min 56-71 is just nit picking and tedious.

I don't understand why its so hard for ManUtd fans to praise ManUtd player, especially when he won the game for us against City.

José has his own reasons for saying what he does.

He was awful in that first half imo.

My original point was that the jekyll and hyde performance he produced vs city should not be held up as a marker.

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Pogba was dog shyt in the first half against City, absolutely septic. Read back over the match thread if you think otherwise. Now thats not to say the rest of the team were any better but the rest of the team aren't record signings or positioning themselves as being the poster boy for the club.

Pogba gets much more focus than anyone else because he is our "star" player. He also gets criticised in this thread because you have myopic people like bangkok that lavish him with praise when he does even the most basic things right.

A more balanced view from everyone, myself included, should be taken.

José has his own reasons for saying what he does.

He was awful in that first half imo.

My original point was that the jekyll and hyde performance he produced vs city should not be held up as a marker.

I agree with the overall point but like I said, nitpicking is very tedious. This thing started recently too, when RVP was winning games on his own, no one was bothered about how many times he lost the ball, or misplaced the pass or chances he missed. It was judged on overall performance, not min by min.

Same with Lukaku, he plays and scores goals but people moan about how his first touch was inconsistent or how he didn't pass the ball well. Not exactly here but in general.

Pogba was dog shyt in the first half against City, absolutely septic. Read back over the match thread if you think otherwise. Now thats not to say the rest of the team were any better but the rest of the team aren't record signings or positioning themselves as being the poster boy for the club.

Pogba gets much more focus than anyone else because he is our "star" player. He also gets criticised in this thread because you have myopic people like bangkok that lavish him with praise when he does even the most basic things right.

I'm not saying he wasn't good. Match day thread is never the true reflection of the game as each and everything is exaggerated in the heat of the moment.

Any player would be crazily praised for winning the game against city, if we start nit picking and go by min by min analysis, there won't be any good players left in this game except 1 or 2 like Xavi.

It's better to see people like bangkok praising him for everything than few people who **** on him for everything, even when he plays well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I'm not saying he wasn't good. Match day thread is never the true reflection of the game as each and everything is exaggerated in the heat of the moment.

Any player would be crazily praised for winning the game against city, if we start nit picking and go by min by min analysis, there won't be any good players left in this game except 1 or 2 like Xavi.

It's better to see people like bangkok praising him for everything than few people who **** on him for everything, even when he plays well.

I agree 100%, dissecting a performance to a granular level to find criticism is exactly what bangkok has done with the likes of Fellaini, Sanchez or Lukaku and is pointless as most players will make a few mistakes per game. But in my opinion, we have had more poor to average performances from Pogba than we have had good to excellent.

Agree with the first part, bangkok's posts on fellaini are nothing but embarrassing. Disagree with the last, Pogba had more good games than poor.

Jez i havent said anything much about fellaini in about 2 years!!

Read the match thread?? Ah here. Why would you even bother. Match thread is a pile of crap. Everyone from all over the place jumping in posting silly comments.