Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I'm holding out for the new Google one, which should be out in Sept or Oct. Currently using a OnePlus 5 and it has given me nothing but grief. Terrible phone.

I've the OP5 and very happy with it. Have gone full-.ak on the camera though. Olympus Trip 35 currently winging its way to me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Lads anyone know the crack using your phone abroad? I'm heading to france at the end of next week and was wondering what is the story with data usage. I'm with 3 and have the full unlimited package (data, texts and calls).
    It'll be handy to use the phone as a sat nav as we get in quite late on the Saturday night and I don't fancy driving around the hills beyond Nice in the dark with no idea where I am!!

errlloyd wrote: »
    Interesting, I came from the S7 Edge. Whats your big problem with the S8? A lot of my friends have it and really like it.

I've had a lot of issues with it, some of it might have been bad luck but much of it is functional.

I hate bixby, you can't uninstall it you can just basically turn if completely off, but first you have to go through the process of signing up and setting it up on your phone. Which I did, then I deleted my account. Few updates later?

GaseousSnarlingArrowcrab-size_restricted.gif

I never submerged it in water (it's meant to be waterproof afaik) yet one day it started saying moisture in the USB port. From there, I could only charge it for over a week by turning it off, plugging it in then turning it on again. I tried to reset USB settings and then a load of other stuff stopped working. For no reason the phone was a disaster for two weeks then worked fine again. According to the interweb's it's regular issue.

The thumbscan unlock is worse than the S6 which was highly reliable. It turns on all the time in my pocket, but never when I need it to. I find I miss-type on it more than any previous handset, predictive typing is poor, It actually drives me nuts that it's so unpredictable. I've looked into changing the typing app but haven't gotten around to it. This is the first samsung since the s4 that I've had trouble using the wifi hub, connection issues and regularly disconnects. I don't like the bottom menu, I find that just using your phone you regularly 'alt tab' or minimise because of their placement, but it's a pain in the face to have it manually minimised and have to drag it up.

The battery is fine until you are under 30% whereupon it last about 1/4 the time of the first 30%, it's highly inaccurate.

Maybe I got a bad handset, but I probably am done with samsung for now and I'll move all the company handsets to something else moving forward most likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

mfceiling wrote: »
    Lads anyone know the crack using your phone abroad? I'm heading to france at the end of next week and was wondering what is the story with data usage. I'm with 3 and have the full unlimited package (data, texts and calls).
    It'll be handy to use the phone as a sat nav as we get in quite late on the Saturday night and I don't fancy driving around the hills beyond Nice in the dark with no idea where I am!!

All providers have to give you the same data usage as you get at home within the EU

• Administrators Posts: 55,165 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I have an iPhone X and would thoroughly recommend it. Tried Android a while ago (original OnePlus), was all right.

bilston wrote: »
    Talking of phones I'm trying to decide between the S9 and the Huawei P20. I've been a Samsung man since the S3. Maybe time for a change. Anyone have either phone?

do you use google assistant much? I have a Mate 10 Pro and assistant doesn't work on it due to some issue with play services and huawei

https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/websearch/wDeDawXDcRM

Edit: just got an update that actually seems to have fixed this issue

The Thai cave thing has made me watch loads of caving videos on youtube. I have come to the conclusion that the people who do this are actually not right in the head.

Was reading about a guy who died because he tried to go through a tunnel so small that he sucked in his chest, but when it expanded again he was wedged. His arms were wedged behind him and he couldn't move. Was also in an upside down position. Died after 28 hours, rescuers couldn't unstick him. They couldn't even get him out when he was dead, just sealed up the cave with him inside. Name was John Jones.

I was sweating just reading about it. Can you imagine being stuck in a pitch black tunnel where you cannot move an inch, not even rotate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

awec wrote: »
    The Thai cave thing has made me watch loads of caving videos on youtube. I have come to the conclusion that the people who do this are actually not right in the head.

Was reading about a guy who died because he tried to go through a tunnel so small that he sucked in his chest, but when it expanded again he was wedged. His arms were wedged behind him and he couldn't move. Was also in an upside down position. Died after 28 hours, rescuers couldn't unstick him.

I was sweating just reading about it. Can you imagine being stuck in a pitch black tunnel where you cannot move an inch, not even rotate.

We'd have got 3 of you into that same space!

I get nervous in lifts, there's no money would get me into a poxy cave.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm currently doing the opposite on the assumption that my promised free 5GB of roaming data is not just a hoax.

I'd get all the offline maps saved that I can, just in case. I'm with 3 and found whatever partner they have in Portugal to be utter ****e.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,410 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

maps dont eat too much data....... (5mb / hr average)

stay off the choice movies and yer grand ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Was reading about a guy who died because he tried to go through a tunnel so small that he sucked in his chest, but when it expanded again he was wedged. His arms were wedged behind him and he couldn't move. Was also in an upside down position. Died after 28 hours, rescuers couldn't unstick him. They couldn't even get him out when he was dead, just sealed up the cave with him inside. Name was John Jones.

The Nutty Putty cave. I watched a youtube video of someone going through it and nearly had a heart attack.

Don't remotely get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Talking of phones I'm trying to decide between the S9 and the Huawei P20. I've been a Samsung man since the S3. Maybe time for a change. Anyone have either phone?

I have the S9 plus and I am a bit of a consumer tech nerd. I love it. The battery could be better, but everything else is amazing. I don't think the battery is necessarily worse than anything else.

Camera is stunning. Iphone users (who have great cameras) are consistently impressed by the quality.

The camera is probably the main selling point for me. Different reviews seem.to come to different conclusions on which is best.

I've read that parts of the S9 screen isn't reactive to touch??? That seems a bit odd.

Interesting, I came from the S7 Edge. Whats your big problem with the S8? A lot of my friends have it and really like it.

I've had a lot of issues with it, some of it might have been bad luck but much of it is functional.

I hate bixby, you can't uninstall it you can just basically turn if completely off, but first you have to go through the process of signing up and setting it up on your phone. Which I did, then I deleted my account. Few updates later?

I never submerged it in water (it's meant to be waterproof afaik) yet one day it started saying moisture in the USB port. From there, I could only charge it for over a week by turning it off, plugging it in then turning it on again. I tried to reset USB settings and then a load of other stuff stopped working. For no reason the phone was a disaster for two weeks then worked fine again. According to the interweb's it's regular issue.

The thumbscan unlock is worse than the S6 which was highly reliable. It turns on all the time in my pocket, but never when I need it to. I find I miss-type on it more than any previous handset, predictive typing is poor, It actually drives me nuts that it's so unpredictable. I've looked into changing the typing app but haven't gotten around to it. This is the first samsung since the s4 that I've had trouble using the wifi hub, connection issues and regularly disconnects. I don't like the bottom menu, I find that just using your phone you regularly 'alt tab' or minimise because of their placement, but it's a pain in the face to have it manually minimised and have to drag it up.

The battery is fine until you are under 30% whereupon it last about 1/4 the time of the first 30%, it's highly inaccurate.

Maybe I got a bad handset, but I probably am done with samsung for now and I'll move all the company handsets to something else moving forward most likely.

The moisture in the USB port is an issue I had for about two weeks on my S7 edge. My mate gave me a spare wireless charger, but it was really really slow. Luckily enough the USB port seemed to work ok again after a couple of weeks. Now though it's pretty much banjaxed again and it takes 7 or 8 hours to charge my phone fully. I can uograde again in a month so will just have to put up with it in the meantime.

I think it's free (or at least no extra cost) with 3 when you're abroad (if certain mainly western countries).

It's all of the eu

do you use google assistant much? I have a Mate 10 Pro and assistant doesn't work on it due to some issue with play services and huawei

https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/websearch/wDeDawXDcRM

Edit: just got an update that actually seems to have fixed this issue

Ironically I've only started to recently and that was probably triggered by getting an Alexa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Hmm weird. I got an app that rebound bixby to skip track. I don't actually use fingerprint unlock, just the face scan or my pin. And I use swiftkey as my keyboard. So I guess I've just avoided those issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Prop friendly, that pursuit be not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Same problems venjur. I get the moisture crap too. I went and got a new charger and now it's grand, fingers crossed.
    Bixby is like a bad horror movie. I just ignore it. But reading all your posts, I haven't a clue what you're talking about.
    What's Google's phone called? I didn't hear about it.
    Most likely apple will be my next phone. Change is good or so they say.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I have an iPhone through work. They're grand but the battery degrades ridiculously quickly. It's possibly bad luck but with every single one I've had after a year the battery is appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,855 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I have an iPhone through work. They're grand but the battery degrades ridiculously quickly. It's possibly bad luck but with every single one I've had after a year the battery is appalling.
    Yeah. My wife has had iPhones from work since the iPhone 4. The battery life has been appalling on all of them.

I know it's dead and gone and never really took off, but the Windows phones were the best I ever had. Great battery life, fantastic cameras and although apps were limited, from a business point of view, they were brilliant.

The new Nokia phones seem to be very good. My son has a Nokia 8 and it's a very good phone. The camera is excellent although the kind of control you have over its settings is a bit meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

It’s all EU countries, something else you are going to lose after Brexit probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Was reading an article there about those reusable coffee cups you can buy, does anyone use one? I buy at least one coffee a day, and probably should switch to one but the thoughts of having to clean it puts me off

I have the same phone. You need to get swiftkey. Bixby is so ****ing annoying. I used to root all my old android to remove all that bloatware but I'm not arsed these days. And a button dedicated to Bixby?! More difficult to remove. The finger print scanner is completely useless as is the edge menu. I didn't realise how unhappy I am with this phone until you pointed all this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I have the same phone. You need to get swiftkey. Bixby is so ****ing annoying. I used to root all my old android to remove all that bloatware but I'm not arsed these days. And a button dedicated to Bixby?! More difficult to remove. The finger print scanner is completely useless as is the edge menu. I didn't realise how unhappy I am with this phone until you pointed all this out.

I actually love the edge panel. I have my ten most used apps there and it's dead handy to just one swipe them click to move between them.

I use very few apps to be honest, just a handful for work but I have them all on my main screen. I've two screens only, one for work and one for home as I use this phone for everything (can't be bothered with two phones).

I still think Samsung peaked with the S6 and have been trying too hard since then.

I'll absolutely never get an iphone as I want to be able to use my phone as a hard drive and a media drive (always max out the storage capacity).

But as Partyjungle said - Bixby alone is enough for me to drop the handset, it's absolute ****e and very hard to remove and is a complete waste of a button (the location of which means that bixby turns itself on by accident all the time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Android FTW...

*posted from my Galaxy S5 (now on its 3rd battery)*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I don't know what a bixby is, and at this point I'm too afraid to ask