Surly shop assistants

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Ohme!Ohmy!

Having worked in retail for years I have observed that most retail workers are mirroring the behaviour of their customers- if you have a face like a slapped arse then that is likely what you will see in the face of your customer service provider! Be nice people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Does pay and conditions help with worker attitude, customers can be fairly ignorant to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Graces7 wrote: »
    Never met a surly checkout person. But then I treat them like....people. Smile, not frown. Always find them helpful

Not what you posted before :
    https://www.boards.ie/ttfthread/2056705594/1#post79808086

When I go to deposit cash these days at B of I, sometimes the cashiers have been less than polite as they try to force me to use the new deposit machines. I am old and disabled and just cannot cope with these machines. More often than not I have to use a walking aid and then find my glasses and it just is too much.

The last time I was told that I had no choice as soon there would be no cashiers, and the tone was less than polite.

If this carries on, I shall know to close my account and go elsewhere!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,718 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

hawkwing wrote: »
    When I go to deposit cash these days at B of I, sometimes the cashiers have been less than polite as they try to force me to use the new deposit machines. I am old and disabled and just cannot cope with these machines. More often than not I have to use a walking aid and then find my glasses and it just is too much.

The last time I was told that I had no choice as soon there would be no cashiers, and the tone was less than polite.

If this carries on, I shall know to close my account and go elsewhere!:confused:
    I cant say I am surprised when it comes to BOI (the one on OConnell street is shocking)...but a lot of the banks are going to go that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Tesco Express in Ringsend has some of the rudest and surliest staff of any supermarket on this planet. Now Tesco wouldn’t be known for its helpful and happy staff in the first place, but these guys and gals seem to go out of their way to be surly and unhelpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I work in Tesco, usually at the customer service desk. I'm always friendly and polite, because I genuinely enjoy my job.

I have some absolute headcases come in to me though, there's one a day at least. Some customers are entitled and rude off the bat, they'll be rude and expect the staff to bow to them...its baffling.

Had a guy put money into the self scan machine, he said he got no change or receipt but put €6 in. I said ok I've no way of knowing what your total was and how much change you're due so I'll open it up and it will spit out the change and receipt. I was apologetic and told him it would take a few seconds. He started screaming at me!! Shouting that if I didn't believe him i can go f*ck myself, how dare I accuse him of scamming us. I said sir that's not it at all, I'm just going to get the machine working again so you get your change and receipt.

Well he went bananas. A normal looking man, shouting at me and getting up in my face, he threw his kitchen towels at me and everything. I gave him €6 from a different till and told him he had to leave.

It's hard to be always polite and friendly when you have things like that happen. Customers coming up and clicking their fingers at you, while they're on the phone talking sh*te and pointing at things and rolling their eyes when you can't read their mind. It does start to wear away at you after a while. 95% of customers are lovely, and they perk you up a bit. Then there's the 5% who just want to drag you down and make you feel sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Alun wrote: »
    I find the shop assistants here pretty friendly on the whole. If you want surly, go to Germany, they've got surly off to a fine art there.

I found it was quite the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Nothing worse than when you stroll into a shop and have a million employees ask "are you ok for everything". It's definitely a management thing, it borders on harassment at times. Poor workers are forced to annoy customers and feel the brunt of it.

Another one is "additional selling".

Retail management are different breed

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

MOD This is in no way relevant to the thread, the thread is about shop assistants not bank tellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

I really dislike people coming into a shop and expecting staff to be kissing their feet, grateful for their mere presence. It’s an obnoxious, arrogant manner of behaviour which is so prevalent in Ireland.

Most people who give out stink about staff have probably never been in their position before.

Dealing with the public is tough, probably tougher than whatever job you have. So next time, try cutting the minimum wage earning shop assistant some slack.

Power trippers are from my experience people with feck all going on in their own lives, so out comes the power trip where they feel they can get away with it. More to be pitied than anything else.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I was in the local shop just after Halloween last year.

There's a latvian girl who works there that has actually gained a reputation in the area for being rude to her customers.

Anyway, there was a queue in the shop on this particular day and yer wan had a right face on her.

One of the aul lads in the queue said, its alright love you can take that face off you now Halloween is over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What annoys me is when they put the change down on the counter even though you have your hand out

They might have seen you picking your nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

It's alright if they're hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I’ve worked in retail and, yes, there are customers who are jackasses. But there are also retail staff members that fit that profile. It’s not an either/or situation. Both are rare enough, we just tend to remember the jackasses.

Being paid minimum wage isn’t an excuse. Take some pride in your work. It’s not the customer’s fault that you’re paid the minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

The vast majority of shop assistants are pleasant and helpful. But there's a significant minority who are not. The scene in Intermission is funny because it rings true. I worked in retail for over a decade. I had several surly coworkers and they invariably made life difficult for themselves.

That scene is brilliant. :D And I totally agree.

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I work in Tesco, usually at the customer service desk. I'm always friendly and polite, because I genuinely enjoy my job.

I have some absolute headcases come in to me though, there's one a day at least. Some customers are entitled and rude off the bat, they'll be rude and expect the staff to bow to them...its baffling.

Had a guy put money into the self scan machine, he said he got no change or receipt but put €6 in. I said ok I've no way of knowing what your total was and how much change you're due so I'll open it up and it will spit out the change and receipt. I was apologetic and told him it would take a few seconds. He started screaming at me!! Shouting that if I didn't believe him i can go f*ck myself, how dare I accuse him of scamming us. I said sir that's not it at all, I'm just going to get the machine working again so you get your change and receipt.

Well he went bananas. A normal looking man, shouting at me and getting up in my face, he threw his kitchen towels at me and everything. I gave him €6 from a different till and told him he had to leave.

It's hard to be always polite and friendly when you have things like that happen. Customers coming up and clicking their fingers at you, while they're on the phone talking sh*te and pointing at things and rolling their eyes when you can't read their mind. It does start to wear away at you after a while. 95% of customers are lovely, and they perk you up a bit. Then there's the 5% who just want to drag you down and make you feel sh*t.

Clicking their fingers at you! You should bark at them
    "I'm not a dog"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

I prefer if they don't talk to be honest. I just want to pay for what I am buying without having to talk to them. They're working so you wouldn't normally interact with them unless you know them of course.

I used to live in the Midlands and I regularly shopped in one of the big supermarkets...but I would go in late at night because I am more of a night owl. Anyway one Sunday very late (around 11 or something) I went down to the supermarket trying to get the weekly shop done. So anyway I get all the groceries and there's only one cashier open. She's an Indian girl...about 25... I didn't really pass any remarks on her (You wouldn't look twice at her). So she starts talking to me asking me where I work and stuff. So I wasn't really sure what to make of it ....Anyway I didn't think much of it at the time. I'd go in regularly on the week nights and I wouldn't be thinking about this woman at all....but I caught her looking at me a few times. Anyway I started to notice her a bit more and she actually was not half bad looking. So I asked her out haha, but she said she couldn't go out with me. that's fine....maybe with her culture or whatever she couldn't, but it's really weird....anytime I would go in there, even after I asked her.. sometimes I would catch her looking at me. She was a strange woman.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If you want polite shop assistants go to Lidl. The one in the lidl close to me are always fierce friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Also if you have a problem with the machine they will not be of any help and in some cases accuse you of lying about the amount you went to lodge happened me and my Oh on different occasions in Bank of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Esse85 wrote: »
    I blame management here, they should be monitoring how their staff interact and communicate.

This 100%. My local Eurospar had this Polish chick working there for about 3 years who was super ignorant when serving you, she wouldnt acknowledge your existance and then she would put your change on the counter as if she was above putting it in your waiting hand.

Then she left Eurospar and got a job in Aldi up the road. At first she took her surly attitude with her to Aldi but after a week or two the management obviously bet that out of her because suddenly she was all friendly and her attitude improved hugely. Ive since learnt that Aldi pay their shop assistants 13 euro an hour and with this nice wage comes the expectation that you will deliver good customer service, if not you are out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Sorry OP, and I accept your view, but I only seem to get pleasant staff in shops. Or I only frequent shops with nice staff.

You're on the money there. I walk in with a smile and be pleasant, common courtesy is all. Be nice and people will be nice. It's simple really. I'm met back with a smile and some pleasant chit chat 99% percent of the time. Occasionally, and only very occasionally ill get the odd f*cker who's surly and short with anyone who walks in the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

If you want polite shop assistants go to Lidl. The one in the lidl close to me are always fierce friendly.

It's no coincidence that they also pay their staff a living wage, rather than sticking two fingers up at them with the lowest amount they can legally get away with.
    bluewolf wrote: »
    Clicking their fingers at you! You should bark at them
    "I'm not a dog"

I used to go full 'Basil Fawlty' when that happened, theatrically looking around, pretending that I didn't realise they were talking to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's no coincidence that they also pay their staff a living wage, rather than sticking two fingers up at them with the lowest amount they can legally get away with.

It certainly isnt. Aldi do the same according to another poster. and yet they still manage to make large profits. some other employers might want to take a look at what they are doing right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Alun wrote: »
    I find the shop assistants here pretty friendly on the whole. If you want surly, go to Germany, they've got surly off to a fine art there.

Or Spain, never ceases to amaze me the rudeness of some shop assistants there. Literally saying nothing while glaring at you like you've insulted them by just buying something, and I'm not talking tourist resorts either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

D3V!L wrote: »
    I found it was quite the opposite

What part of Germany you live in plays a part though in fairness I think. Where were you? I lived in Stuttgart and found them polite usually in the supermarkets in that they'd always say hello and goodbye but there was no feeling behind it, they never initiated ANY conversation beyond that and they all said the exact same thing in the exact same way as if they were reading from a script (what the bosses told them to say no doubt).
    The difference is I always got the feeling that nobody there really gives a damn if you have a nice weekend or evening or whatever when they say it. There was a woman in a local bakery who was lovely and warm and it felt genuine and she'd go off script, but she was the exception in my experience.

In Ireland it feels more sincere. There's nothing like the warmth and service I've experienced in my local Supervalu and local shops since coming back.
    I've had more kindness and bit of craic in small local shops in the last month since coming back to Ireland than the whole year I spent in Stuttgart. But maybe your experience is better depending where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It's not reasonable to feel entitled to more than the bare minimum of service from someone who is probably earning the minimum wage.

10.50 or whatever is not great but nots nothing either. Its ****ing easy to just give a little smile and friendly hello to some random stranger in the shop all theyre doing is scanning some groceries ffs, Id call the bare minimum doing that easy job+ being reasonably pleasant to customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,505 ✭✭✭brianregan09

wakka12 wrote: »
    10.50 or whatever is not great but nots nothing either. Its ****ing easy to just give a little smile and friendly hello to some random stranger in the shop all theyre doing is scanning some groceries ffs, Id call the bare minimum doing that easy job+ being reasonably pleasant to customers

Yep that's all it is :rolleyes: it's that self entitled stuff up there ^^^^ is why you have ignorant people coming into shops. Basically you better salute me and say hello because your doing a job anyone else can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I think it must be really difficult to bright and bubbly all day long in such a role especially when working in a busy shop and even more especially in a city.