If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

So my car needs a new engine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Regardless of the car at hand, it doesn't help the op.
    Every car has issues, some more so than others.
    It's when to throw in the towel that's the issue.
    I'd have lost all faith it at this point tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

/thread followed

Just read the entire thread and it's the most entertaining motors thread I've seen in some time. :pac:
    I'm eagerly awaiting the next disaster and it would be helpful if the OP included current mileage and cost-to-date in his (presuming it's a he) updates. :)

Strangely I'm also thinking of a C5 for my next car. The enthusiasm of the OP is infectious. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

DeepBlue wrote: »

Strangely I'm also thinking of a C5 for my next car. The enthusiasm madness of the OP is infectious. :D

FYP

wonski wrote: »
    You did 26k (miles or km - not sure, but should be km) in last 10 months.

That is not some excessive mileage for any car.

Just saying as it is far off from 75k you just mentioned.

Yes, we do look at all the facts :)

Hmm interesting comment. I must get my mileage facts right!

Although I am generally basing my mileage calculations on mileage on the car when I got it (approx 155km if i recall correctly) and today, (approx 298km i think) divided by roughly 2.5 years ownership, of which about 4 months of that (a long time!) it was off the road. So that's what.. just shy of 70km a year?

I'm no mathematician. :o

I got the car back today, so it's resting itself overnight. Tomorrow it will laze around for the day, and then from about thursday-monday it'll cover roughly 1000km a day I'd say (give or take).

So I hope I'm not posting here before this day week with another problem.

As an aside, both rear shocks were changed on the car, and the clutch issue (whatever it was exaclty) was sorted. €425 all in. I'm not sure if i was robbed or not, but I feel like that was reasonable enough.

Dan Daly's, although my breakdown turned out it had nothing to do with them, when I asked them what I owed for the tow from Ikea to their place (and then to the mechanics) (it was only fair to pay for the tow truck when i realised my problem had nothing to do with them); they said 'don't worry about it' and didn't charge me at all for the towing.

Which i felt was really decent of them, and not something I expected. They could have rode me there as I had no choice at all, so it was very nice of them to do that, I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm praying this is the last post from you on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Hmm interesting comment. I must get my mileage facts right!

Although I am generally basing my mileage calculations on mileage on the car when I got it (approx 155km if i recall correctly) and today, (approx 298km i think) divided by roughly 2.5 years ownership, of which about 4 months of that (a long time!) it was off the road. So that's what.. just shy of 70km a year?

I'm no mathematician. :o

I got the car back today, so it's resting itself overnight. Tomorrow it will laze around for the day, and then from about thursday-monday it'll cover roughly 1000km a day I'd say (give or take).

So I hope I'm not posting here before this day week with another problem.

As an aside, both rear shocks were changed on the car, and the clutch issue (whatever it was exaclty) was sorted. €425 all in. I'm not sure if i was robbed or not, but I feel like that was reasonable enough.

Dan Daly's, although my breakdown turned out it had nothing to do with them, when I asked them what I owed for the tow from Ikea to their place (and then to the mechanics) (it was only fair to pay for the tow truck when i realised my problem had nothing to do with them); they said 'don't worry about it' and didn't charge me at all for the towing.

Which i felt was really decent of them, and not something I expected. They could have rode me there as I had no choice at all, so it was very nice of them to do that, I thought.

My advice is to bring a box of matches and a can of petrol in the boot in case it breaks down again this week.

Fingers crossed you knock the next year out of it with only a few oil changes etc being required.

With the amount of business miles you do the BIK on a €30k car should be small enough ........ or even go the commercial route if that suited you......something to consider for 2019 perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭sc86

bump ?

sc86 wrote: »
    bump ?

'No news is good news' I suppose. I've gone over the 300k mark on it and the wheels haven't fallen off, or the engine collapsed out onto the ground, so that's all good.

It's gotten (another!) oil top up though. I think it's swallowed a few litres of Oil now at this stage, from top ups, so that's a concern. I've been working pretty solid lately, so havent gotten out to the lads (was supposed to go out for an 8 week health check, but never did, so i'll try get around to it this week, which will make it a 10 week health check I suppose, but much of a muchness).

Car has been getting a bit of driving done, but not as hefty as normal, and it'll have a quiet 6 weeks ahead of it. So once i get it out to them again, hopefully any issues that have arisen (if any) will be sorted.

Electronically it still hasn't given any issues, and it still starts first time with ease. A few bulbs need replacing, though.

Clutch is fine, too.

Biggest issue with it now is that the tracking needs doing and one of the tyres is on it's way to looking like an F1 tyre, but I'm working tomorrow, and then after that it can get a rest: I'll bring it to get a check-over with mechanic, get the bulbs, tyres, tracking, etc. done, bring it out to dalys for the health check and give it a wash. So in the next two weeks it should be back to good as new.

(either that or, knowing my luck, I'll get some devastating news from someone who looks at it..!).

But at the moment I'm a happy camper and back to feeling like I can trust it to bring me around the country all day without much worry or stress. I'm comfortable with it again. :)

A few litres of oil.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Augeo wrote: »
    A few litres of oil.... :eek:

If it has a dpf that'll be fooked too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Thanks to this thread, every time I see a c5 on the road cannt help but think of KKV !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Thanks to this thread, every time I see a c5 on the road cannt help but think of the OP !!!

The 2.0 I believe is the better option but the 1.6 is widely used across many manufacturer such as Peugeot, Volvo, Ford etc.

If it's looked after the 1.6 can be very reliable.

But like any car some will develop issues

ba_barabus wrote: »
    If it has a dpf that'll be fooked too.

A few litres in 10 weeks is loads and loads, back in Sep 17 there was 270k kms on this yoke so the OP isn't doing loony mileage ... unless he doesn't literally mean a few litres which is at least 3 in my book :)
    .......... it's got about 270km on the clock and it's never really given any trouble..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Thanks to this thread, every time I see a c5 on the road cannt help but think of KKV !!!

Every time I don't see a c5 on the road, I cannot help but think of KKV...

A few litres in 10 weeks is loads and loads, back in Sep 17 there was 270k kms on this yoke so the OP isn't doing loony mileage ... unless he doesn't literally mean a few litres which is at least 3 in my book :)

Mileage wise, I'm looking at approximately 302000 on the car at the moment (guessing a bit there though).

Keep in mind the mileage would be higher if the car hadn't spend months on end sitting in a garage :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,343 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Mileage wise, I'm looking at approximately 302000 on the car at the moment (guessing a bit there though).

Keep in mind the mileage would be higher if the car hadn't spend months on end sitting in a garage :o

Mileage in km, yeah? :)

How many litres of oil in how many km?

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Mileage in km, yeah? :)

How many litres of oil in how many km?

Completely guesswork here but I'd say probably 2litres in 6000km? Something along those lines anyway.

Problem is the car isn't parked in the same place the whole time like it used to be, so im not sure if there a leak or such that im unaware of. It'll be parked up over the weekend as I'll be off with a friend in their car, so when i get back it'll have been stationary for a couple of days and i'll know if there's a leak at all (which is my guess, as it seems like a lot of oil).

I can't really look to changing it to anything else either. I feel very much indebted to my C5 now as I have put a lot of cash into it to keep it going and if I tried to trade it in I doubt i'd get much more than a grand, which would be effectively nothing in real life.

I do love the C5 in general, but i am starting to feel like I can't really rely on it now. I didn't really pass any remarks to the topping up of Oil until i was posting here and i realised how recently the engine was changed (again!).

The whole point of going down the new engine route was to keep the C5 on the road and give me peace of mind with it, knowing I could drive the life out of it for another few years yet... but that hasn't really happened. :rolleyes::o

A litre every 3000kms is a fair bit. But manageable all considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

The car probably has a sump guard (plastic cover under engine) so that may well be catching some of the oil if there is a leak. Best get a flash light and have a good look around under the bonnet to see if there are any wet spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Sure all new engines burn a bit of oil :-)

Dunno if you're being sarcastic there or not, but yer man (from Daly's) did actually say it would probably use a bit more than normal as everything needs to bed in when it's all fresh and new.

Dunno how true that is but I'll find out next week if there's any issues with it.

I'm half hoping there is a leak or some such, just so they've something to fix so i know that they have looked at it properly and i can relax with it on the road again. It's frustrating, cos it's really such a nice car in the grand scheme of things (in my opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

Completely guesswork here but I'd say probably 2litres in 6000km? Something along those lines anyway.

Nothing to worry about then. That's ~0.3l/1000km...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Dunno if you're being sarcastic there or not, but yer man (from Daly's) did actually say it would probably use a bit more than normal as everything needs to bed in when it's all fresh and new.

Dunno how true that is but I'll find out next week if there's any issues with it.

Same thing happened with our C4 when we changed the engine, it was heavy on the oil for a while but settled down after a few thousand kms.

So I was in with Daly's again today.

My current Mileage is approx 307k km. I did a bit of driving this week and I noticed the car was losing power a lot and had no 'oomph' at all after 50kp/h. I mentioned this to Daly's when with them today.

So he took the car for a little while and came back to me. Told me there is indeed an oil leak, and it'll be sorted under warranty.

He also told me there are 3 other things to be aware of. First is a leak in the exhaust. Second is a 'solenoid switch' (I think he called it) that's going to the Turbo. He said that needs replacing, and is the reason why I've not much power in the car (although he did say the turbo itself is fine). Thirdly, he reckons the Starter could do with being changed. He said it's working, but sounds a bit rough and like it will let me down sooner than later (I've never had any issue starting the car, though).

I also have a few other issues with the car that need looking at. Issues that have been there for a while, not really related to the engine itself. So I reckon my list of problems is..

(from Daly's today)
    (Oil leak isn't included, as it's a warranty job and won't cost anything).

1. Starter change.
    2. Solenoid Switch (approx €60 I'm told).
    3. Exhaust leak.
    (Other Miscellanrous issues)
    4. Horn doesn't work (not an innuendo).
    5. Something banging about at the rear passenger wheel. Had shocks changed recently so it's something else. Could be a ball joint or such?
    6. Rear Passenger wheel hub has only 4 (of 5) wheel bolts. Treads are wrecked on the hub so can't fit a 5th nut, so need a replacement hub (scrap yard job).
    7. Centre/Auxiliary brake light is dead. Citroen dealer quoted €150 to sort.
    8. Pipe/tube (or whatever it's called) for rear window washer is broke where the boot door opens. Presumably a cheap fix.

I reckon I'd easily spend €1,000 to get all the above fixed. At which point the car is back to 'as new' condition, effectively. However, I wonder then will something else pop up and break my heart (my concern is a turbo issue, I believe they're the same kinda money as a new engine?!)

Or, I can go car shopping. Issue there is that the car I currently have can't be traded in as it's worth nothing, and would only get me a decent return as part of a scrappage offer (but I'd have to be buying a new car, which I can't afford, or justify, with my mileage).

(I realise I can indeed trade it in against something else, but what i mean is, I wouldn't get any more for that car, than I would if i just haggled, as I can't imagine anyone would want the hassle of a 10 year old 300+km estate with a rake of issues).

Which puts me into the market of a car that's no more expensive than about 10k at a push. The C5 would be better off in the garage as a back up car incase it was ever needed, rather than as a trade in/private sale.

But buying a car can be an issue, as I love having space. And you'd be hard pressed to get any kind of decent SUV or Estate for that budget, that wasn't also falling apart.

Ah.. decisions, decisions. I still like the C5 but I'm not as confident about it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Burn it

.......(but I'd have to be buying a new car, which I can't afford, or justify, with my mileage)............

If you are doing lots of miles and are self employed surely a company car or van would make sense. It's like the cycle to work scheme except you get tax relief on the vehicle and not a bike.

If you are doing loads of business miles (genuine) than BIK is not a huge issue.

Your c5 won't be getting any cheaper to maintain as the mileage increases.

That oil usage, though manageable was indicative of a a problem so good to hear they've found something amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,875 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I reckon I'd easily spend €1,000 to get all the above fixed. At which point the car is back to 'as new' condition

No, it won't

Dump the car and get a bangernomics car with your hard earned cash. First sign of trouble, rinse and repeat...

If you are doing lots of miles and are self employed surely a company car or van would make sense. It's like the cycle to work scheme except you get tax relief on the vehicle and not a bike.

If you are doing loads of business miles (genuine) than BIK is not a huge issue.

Your c5 won't be getting any cheaper to maintain as the mileage increases.

That oil usage, though manageable was indicative of a a problem so good to hear they've found something amiss.

I don't know a whole lot about the world of taxation, but my accountant reckons i am writing the car off as an expense. Capital something or other tax. A percentage of the car can be written off each year as it's primary/sole use is work related.

I wouldn't bother buying a commercial because i'd be back to starting from scratch with the insurance companies (and back to the start again if i ever switch back privately) and I'd be practically locked into a diesel. And I will never own another diesel.

Besides, more importantly, no point in me rocking up to Renault and asking for the keys of a Commercial Kadjar if I haven't got the 30k they'd want for it. So although it'd make sense if i had a few more euro coming in or in the bank to kick start it, it's not something I can realistically look at at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Burn it

Genuinely laughed out loud at that. :pac:

Nate