Student allegedly caught masturbating in public facing trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Relevant section under which the lad was charged -

(2) A person who, in a public place, engages in—

(a) sexual intercourse,

(b) an act of buggery, or

(c) an act of masturbation,

is guilty of an offence.

(3) A person who intentionally engages in offensive conduct of a sexual nature is guilty of an offence.

(4) Where a member of the Garda Síochána, with reasonable cause, suspects that a person is committing or has committed an offence under this section, the member may arrest such person without warrant.

(5) A person found guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable—

(a) on summary conviction, to a class D fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months, or both, or

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a class C fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years, or both.

Source: Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I've taken Nurofen+ loads of times and I've never been caught masturbating in public. Apart from that one time, but, you see, what happened was, a bee went down the front of my trousers and started stinging me, which caused my penis to swell up, so I had to pull my trousers down and beat it with my hand until the bee flew away. And then I sneezed because I'm allergic to bees and several arcs of what looked like reproductive mucus shot out of my nose, landed on the shaft and flew across the street. It was very embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't feel sorry for him, how could you have so little self restraint that you just need to masturbate in a public space? Couldn't possibly have waited till he got home? I'm also 22 and I don't think I know any 22 year olds who are so immature even when drunk to think thats okay thing to do

Synge Street, is a 30 second walk off camden street, which would presumably be packed at 1am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭enricoh

Seems a bit of a an over reaction.
    On the other hand an African national was convicted yesterday in Dublin of knowingly spreading hiv to up to 7 women. U probably didn't get to hear about it as for some reason it didn't get much airtime. A life sentence is required judge, ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,908 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I think he had to be prosecuted.

The last thing anyone wants is this to become an accepted norm, especially with black guys.

No point making others feel needlessly inadequate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Yep for sure. Maybe put in stocks and pelted with rotten vegetables too. That would surely be the only reasonable reaction from a mature siciety

Seems to be the only way they will learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Yep for sure. Maybe put in stocks and pelted with rotten vegetables too. That would surely be the only reasonable reaction from a mature siciety

Its not really an action that a mature society would condone either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Seems to be the only way they will learn.

Who is "they"?

Odhinn wrote: »
    Who is "they"?

People masturbating in public. Are you defending his actions and why? Do you think it is ok to have a peddle in public?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 lukasgrenwald

I've taken Nurofen+ loads of times and I've never been caught masturbating in public. Apart from that one time, but, you see, what happened was, a bee went down the front of my trousers and started stinging me, which caused my penis to swell up, so I had to pull my trousers down and beat it with my hand until the bee flew away. And then I sneezed because I'm allergic to bees and several arcs of what looked like reproductive mucus shot out of my nose, landed on the shaft and flew across the street. It was very embarrassing.

Didn't read the article, did he take codeine? I'm pretty damn sure codeine doesn't do this. Only makes you loopy.

Amphetamines (crystal meth, ADHD meds) would most likely cause an increased sex drive, not opiates.

Who is "they"?

People who break the law is whom I assume is being referred to there. That used to be their punishment - stocks in the public square and pelted with rotten fruit and vegetables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Someone **** in public most definitely should be prosecuted.

Clamp down on this behaviour and it lessens the chance of the offender graduating to more serious offences.

People masturbating in public.

...should be put in stocks and pelted? Really?

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Someone **** in public most definitely should be prosecuted.

Clamp down on this behaviour and it lessens the chance of the offender graduating to more serious offences.

It's an odd one. Don't know enough of law to be able to weigh why the district court refused jurisdiction, or enough of the circumstances in which yer man was found. Certainly he's going to get some form of sanction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It’s an odd one alright. I’ve seen some of the locals sh1t on the streets with no repercussions.

It's not illegal to **** on the street.

Not really sure why it should be made public. The **** and the court case I mean.

...should be put in stocks and pelted? Really?

Cost effect to the tax payer!!!! Cos the other way of puting them up in the 'Joy sure aint working? Actually he is a sex offender so Wheatfield then.

If I didnt have to deal with the shame of prison and the shame on my family, I would be there finishing my PhD at the taxpayers expense. Three square meals, TV in my room , Gym, access to medicine, dentistry.......... the list do be goin' and on and on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Didn't read the article, did he take codeine? I'm pretty damn sure codeine doesn't do this. Only makes you loopy.

Amphetamines (crystal meth, ADHD meds) would most likely cause an increased sex drive, not opiates.

No, it was a radio presenter from Cork who took codeine, which made him pull the mickey off himself on a flight.

Cost effect to the tax payer!!!! Cos the other way of puting them up in the 'Joy sure aint working? Actually he is a sex offender so Wheatfield then.

So all those threads you were going on about sharia law, you were actually getting a deep seated admiration of it....gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,807 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Who is "they"?

:rolleyes: gotta love the virtue signalling

<snip> he should certainly be prosecuted and if found guilty and here on a visa, deported. No reason the Irish taxpayer should pay to imprison him

Our country, our rules. Come here and adapt, or go elsewhere. Skin colour and a sad story is no excuse, no more than it would be acceptable if this story involved a white, Irish lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,420 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Maybe the chap needs some professional help, will this incident help him receive that help or....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jjpep

Thankfully we have precedence for this kind of offence. Hope he enjoys presenting on local radio....

Not really sure why it should be made public. The **** and the court case I mean.

Could be that whoever wrote the story wants to highlight what they feel is an injustice?

Student allegedly caught masturbating in public facing trial

So all those threads you were going on about sharia law, you were actually getting a deep seated admiration of it....gas.

Big difference between being pelted with fruit in the stocks for a weekend and losing either a few digits off your hand or your whole hand. You have to remember these lads are nt coming from a civilised society. That whole area of East africa is a joke that the whole American and British armies couldn't put discipline on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Brothers in Arms...

Lads in hands

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,467 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Half of Dublin's city centre males go round with one hand down the jocks, are they all to be prosecuted?

"vigorously ransacking his dignity"

I really need to rewatch it all again.

spurious wrote: »
    Half of Dublin's city centre males go round with one hand down the jocks, are they all to be prosecuted?

Must be in a part of Dublin I am not familiar with but carry on as you were........