**** Towns and Villages of Ireland

• 11-07-2018 11:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

What towns and villages in this country do ye think are just awful? In my own county (Limerick), we have Rathkeale, the inner city and more. Outside Limerick, Tipp Town is fair bad, as is Buttevant. Can't think of others atm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Are you from Limerick by any chance?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

In before Tralee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ballaghaderreen/charlestown/frenchpark/castlerea/ballyhaunis/tubercurry.
    List is endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Ballivor, Co.Meath. The armpit of Ireland. Nay! The anal oriface of Ireland.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Site Banned Posts: 7 Diesel Weasel

Portarlington. The Sh1t stain on the underpants of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 YupLimerick

Are you from Limerick by any chance?

Just pretending. I really admire the place. Lovely people and serious craic, so it is

In before Tralee
    Been there a few times. I think it's grand. I hear it's a sh~thole though

bear1 wrote: »
    List is endless.

Going to avoid Connacht then lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Unfortunately there are hundreds of towns and villages across the country with no redeemable features and are all equally soul destroying

wakka12 wrote: »
    Unfortunately there are hundreds of towns and villages across the country with no redeemable features and are all equally soul destroying

There really are. The amount of places that are too small to be considered villages (like Newtwopothouse in Cork)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

wakka12 wrote: »

The thing they have in common is that you have been to them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Balbriggan... Rowdy kip

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Ballinasloe looks fairly depressing.

Thurles. <shudders>

Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I come from a smallish town back west. I now live in Limerick city. Work outside a smallish Limerick town. Other half is from a large town down south. We go to a holiday home outside a small town even further south. My brother lives in a large town in the East. All mentioned towns are kips in the eyes of their inhabitants and natives, it's an Irish mentality when in reality every town has it's good bits and it's bad bits but the reality is there are many, many towns in Ireland where living and raising a family is a good thing.

Thurles. <shudders>

I've only been there on matchdays. I like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Hey op does two people, an old fella and a single woman ever turn up annoying you in here?

I come from a smallish town back west. I now live in Limerick city. Work outside a smallish Limerick town. Other half is from a large town down south. We go to a holiday home outside a small town even further south. My brother lives in a large town in the East. All mentioned towns are kips in the eyes of their inhabitants and natives, it's an Irish mentality when in reality every town has it's good bits and it's bad bits but the reality is there are many, many towns in Ireland where living and raising a family is a good thing.

Which Limerick town is it? I wanna see is it a kip

TBH, I'd imagine you're right. Most of the people I know who complain about small towns are single... and it's the lack of population, dating opportunities, extra activities/convenience that brings the place down.

I've only been there on matchdays. I like it

I lived there for a few years due to work... and no... no. no. no. Never again. Doesn't matter how much someone would pay me. No.

Hey op does two people, an old fella and a single woman ever turn up annoying you in here?

Not at the moment but I'll wait and see. Might be a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Kiltyclogher, Mullingar, Athlone, Loughrea, Lisburn, Larne.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Kiltyclogher, Mullingar, Athlone, Loughrea, Lisburn, Larne.

Athlone?

It's not that bad. Not wonderful but not that bad.

You might aswell include every town outside of the cities then if you're including Athlone. (Yup, I'm originally from Athlone) :D

I'm curious... any towns you'd consider to be good? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

In before Tralee

Tralee!!!

What a scrotefest of a town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Ballinasloe looks fairly depressing.

Even the horses brought there have long faces (Boom, Boom!)

Longford.

National septic tank. Twinned with Liverpool?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Been there a few times. I think it's grand. I hear it's a sh~thole though
    Tralee!!!
    What a scrotefest of a town.
    used to have good craic down there, but haven't been in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

bear1 wrote: »
    List is endless.

Tubber isnt a bad town its small but at least it looks in decent nick. Gurteen and ballymote on the other hand depress the life out of me. Boyle isnt a ray of sunshine either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,957 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Apart from a handful of tourist oriented towns, mainly in coastal areas, most medium to smaller rural Irish towns are in serious decline. The larger towns with substantial employers and commuter belt towns will probably be OK. I've posted up a thread about this already.

The process of urbanisation is speeding up and Dublin and the bigger provincial cities are sucking the life and population out of rural Ireland. I think the process is inevitably irreversible at this stage.

Atrocious/non existent strategic spatial planning is partially to blame - we had our chance with the Buchanan Report of 1968, the National Spatial Strategy in 2002 and we blew it - they weren't implemented thanks to gombeen parish pump politics.

I picture hundreds of thousands of virtually dead villages and towns and abandoned bungalow blitz one-off rural houses in my own lifetime. Much of the more marginal farming land given over to forestry and many more wind farms. I could bet a lot of money on this prospect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

Yep come back in 50 years and theres gonna be a lot of ghost towns with tumbleweed going through them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Tralee, Thurles, Rathkeale, Dundalk, Portlaoise