most annoying ads of all time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

hmmm... Worther's originals ads, with the little prat that goes 'ooohhh' as he sits on the child molesting old man's knee...

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Those stupid dubbed over kinder ads.
    That new McDonalds ad with the line "You don't have to pay for an entire minute!"
    The C25 phone ads with the prat DJ's
    Any ad voiced over by one of the continuity presenters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

Those kinder adds drive me round the twist....

More to follow once I remember some...
    Ahh I know, the domino sponsership add at the break in the simpsons...

I know there's more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Supervalu insurance radio ad with the buffoon
    "Another reason to love you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Any ad with BARRY SCOTT. BANG AND THE DIRT IS GONE.

Bothar and their goat. Every. Fcuking. Christmas.

Most insurance ads, the cloying ones and ones that try to be funny and fail miserably.

The Appliances Delivered radio ad, makes my ears bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 murraymar

The AIB one where your man surprises his wife with a new car bought by a loan. If my husband went off and bought a new car without discussing it with me first i would kill him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

I like that one cos it makes culchies out to be the ignorant twats that we know they are smile.gif

Cinema ads upset me I must say. e.g. all recent Guiness ads such as the two twats riding their horses off a cliff, tho i did like the couple on the beach one - does ANYONE know who did the music for that ad?

Eircom cinema ads are the fu<kin lamest, also Ritz and those friggin Malteser ads!!! like that one where they're watching the Godfather and yer wan puts on the Marlon Brando voice, I honestly thought they were taking the pi$$ out of people with speech impediments first time I saw that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Wow - this thread is older than 2 of my kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Ribena Zoobidoo ad.
    Hyundai Maroon 5.
    Any fanny pad ad.
    Lotto ads, especially the island ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

When this thread was created I would have been browsing in the megabyte café in Navan, on Win 98SE, with the fairly rapid dial up at the time at £1 for 2 hours browsing... Also was far younger :o

Keeping in theme with this thread, Llyods have fairly whiny miserable ads for whiny miserable people

The one with the couple sitting on their couch and then they're in a rally car:

I LOVE ITTTTTTTT
    I LOST THREE WHEELS
    KEEP TOOIDDY NOOOWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

I hadn't even sat my leaving cert when this thread was started...

Hyundai Maroon 5 ad surely wins it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I was in primary school....not even halfway through it. Now I run the place :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

BANG AND THE DIRT IS GONE!!!!

Most annoying for me is watching a movie at night and the volume increases for the ads, ffs

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The NatWest poetry ads. Infuriatingly smug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭theyoungchap

"Bar stools, office chairs, shelving, white boards.........." I will never buy anything from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

There was an ad here on boards for SSE Electricity in the last 12months. Featured an orang utan. Used to cause desperate problems if on phone. Problems loading new pages, scrolling down, crashing etc. Any time I saw that b@$+@&amp;D appearing the red mist would descend. Wonder what happened to the poor phucker. Back to the zoo I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

Pretty sure its
    I LOST THREE WEIGHTS

Sounds like voiced over as well.

Eir have a great talent for making incredibly annoying ads

The one with the couple sitting on their couch and then they're in a rally car:

I LOVE ITTTTTTTT
    I LOST THREE WHEELS
    KEEP TOOIDDY NOOOWW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Ironman76

The Radion ad from the late 80s. Irish version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,327 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

One that comes to mind:

Time to YOKO, fecking yogurt ad :mad:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

That ad for ford or some car where the couple are rowing and dividing up their belongings as the divorce looms. Then one of them mentions the beach house.

"We'll think about it." You bellend.

Also that extra chewing gum ad where the father sizes up the contents of his daughter's defiler's boxer shorts and decides he likes what he sees as his wife looks on enviously. What an awful ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

the TUI ad. The staff dancing is so irritating.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,708 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Any ad with a fuсking talking meerkat in it :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

We're in a different century lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Any ad with BARRY SCOTT. BANG AND THE DIRT IS GONE.

https://twitter.com/twatbibie/status/1008726323525832705?s=21

InReality wrote: »
    Pretty sure its
    I LOST THREE WEIGHTS

Sounds like voiced over as well.

Eir have a great talent for making incredibly annoying ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Clearly the most annoying ad ever and it will never be beaten either is the stupid Hyundai ad where the little girl doesn't get maimed due to the door locking system or other thats the latest greatest thing to make mummies feel good about themselves when buying Hyundai. Its all over the World Cup coverage on RTE.

This ad is stupid on so many levels you'd wonder did the people who made it got sacked yet.

So the little one fingers on the door handle while the big bad truck is approaching. The entire scene seems to realise this and does their best concerned OMG face. But nobody says a thing of course because supposedly it a split second thing or so. Then the door lock system kicks in (apparently a brand new thing only my dads car had it a gazillion years ago, it just wasn't 'smart' only fkn locked) and the child is safe while the big bad truck booms past 2 inches away and at about 100mph supposedly in a festival car park.
    Then your man from who? Maroon5 did they have a cr@p hit 10 years ago? starts to butcher three little birds by poor Bob sporting the most punch me in the face look I've ever seen on anyone. And everyone is happy.
    The worst is your ones face though, the mummie. When she realises ah her little girl didn't just get smashed to pieces. I want to punch her in the face too just for the fkn face she makes.
    What the actual fvck?

Is that new strategy now? Make the most annoying and stupid ad ever and then people get so annoyed so they remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Clearly the most annoying ad ever and it will never be beaten either is the stupid Hyundai ad where the little girl doesn't get maimed due to the door locking system or other thats the latest greatest thing to make mummies feel good about themselves when buying Hyundai. Its all over the World Cup coverage on RTE.

This ad is stupid on so many levels you'd wonder did the people who made it got sacked yet.

So the little one fingers on the door handle while the big bad truck is approaching. The entire scene seems to realise this and does their best concerned OMG face. But nobody says a thing of course because supposedly it a split second thing or so. Then the door lock system kicks in (apparently a brand new thing only my dads car had it a gazillion years ago, it just wasn't 'smart' only fkn locked) and the child is safe while the big bad truck booms past 2 inches away and at about 100mph supposedly in a festival car park.
    Then your man from who? Maroon5 did they have a cr@p hit 10 years ago? starts to butcher three little birds by poor Bob sporting the most punch me in the face look I've ever seen on anyone. And everyone is happy.
    The worst is your ones face though, the mummie. When she realises ah her little girl didn't just get smashed to pieces. I want to punch her in the face too just for the fkn face she makes.
    What the actual fvck?

Is that new strategy now? Make the most annoying and stupid ad ever and then people get so annoyed so they remember?
    Fair enough, but it does have the girl in the Argentina combination rugby/football top so I like it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

When this thread was created I would have been browsing in the megabyte café in Navan, on Win 98SE, with the fairly rapid dial up at the time at £1 for 2 hours browsing... Also was far younger :o

Keeping in theme with this thread, Llyods have fairly whiny miserable ads for whiny miserable people

My flatmate in college had a pc and we had a moneybox beside it. Everytime we went onl8ne we had to put the money into the box to pay for the internet. I think it wad 1p per minute it worked out at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,648 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Energia adds with yer man that sounds like Michael D urgh!