Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Drumpot wrote: »
    The owners ultimately make the call on who to hire and sanction all transfers. The CEO, as I understand it, is their man in the club who tries to keep everything functioning, gives the owners recommendations and possibly negotiates for players.

So why is Woodward paid the big bucks? To pass on responsibility to others or to help make sure the club functions as smoothly as possible ? He is paid handsomely for his role, so I don't know why people are so quick to assume he is doing a good job. I know Jose Mourihno has won the major club trophies we would like to win so having confidence that he can do that makes sense. He has form. What has Woodward got form at ? Marketing ?

In his first year he did a terrible job in terms of transfers. Since then he has signed players but were they value for money ? Is he a good negotiator ? I honestly don't know but don't presume he is because he signed players with a gargantuan budget at his disposal. What role does he play in manager and player choices ? None ? A little ? A lot ? I don't honestly know, but if its not him deciding who is ?

He is a Glazer Stooge and his backround is marketing. Is there any reason to not believe that the club has perhaps signed players based on their marketing potential ? Given the way the club value has soared , even during a poor on field period, why do people think that the owners primary target is on field success ? Its a target, but not as important as increasing the value of the club. They don't necessarily go hand in hand if Uniteds valuation as the worlds most expensive club is anything to go by.

And then there is club spending that gets airbrushed to sound impressive. Bearing in mind the club is worth the most in the world, how is Uniteds spending impressive in comparison to the top spending clubs ? At times it is at best equal, but generally not that of the worlds "richest" club.

You see, Woodward may not be terrible at his job but its not clear how good or competent he is or what his or the owners priorities are when it comes to squad acquisitions. At least with Gill and Ferguson we have a CEO and manager who had priorities set before the newer owners came on board and who could advise and steer the owners in a certain direction. Woodward was only ever a Glazer employee, so all we have now is a CEO whose only interest ever was serving the owners who leveraged the club to potential bankrupt levels . .

He is not a glazer stooge and his background is not marketing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,319 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

bangkok wrote: »
    He is not a glazer stooge and his background is not marketing..

He was part of the banking/finance team that helped structure and push through the Glazer takeover. Then moved to United under them. Then took over commercial arm. then the club.

His background wasn't in marketing but not a Glazer stooge? Is that purely an argument on terminolgy? Absolutely a Glazerite.

Also... this is fecking BS right here.

I already have a Funko Pop problem (have about 40 or so of them) and now THIS? COME ON!? THE WIFE IS GONNA KILL ME.

http://store.manutd.com/stores/manutd/en/product/manchester-united-paul-pogba-pop-vinyl-collectible-figure/229543?cur=GBP&CMP=GBC-ManUtd85&portal=manutd85

1-0-0.jpg

Are they gonna do limited edition ones for each hair cut?? MONEY TO BE MADE HERE LADS!

http://store.manutd.com/stores/manutd/en/search/pop%20vinyl

https://twitter.com/FunkoEurope/status/1016286348997808128

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

It's kind of like we go through cycles during the break each year. We have now entered the Woodward one. The way I look at it the general theme goes recently goes like:
      The Review: It wasn't perfect but we saw improvement. Speak of optimism for the upcoming season, some bring up their concern but push it back ever so slightly due to the break
        Initial transfer rumours: debates occur on the validity of the sources
          We make an early purchase! The place goes wild: we've done some early business a sign of things to come, good man Woodward
            The Wishlist: After the brilliant start we all prepare our wishlists and the teams demands.
              Rooney debate Pogba debate: we open up the floor to go over a debate regarding a big name player
                Off-season inspection: here we criticise players for their off-season shenanigans
                  Why are they here: We haven't gotten rid of enough yet. Defenders normally the focus for moving on.
                    Questions rise about Woodward: there hasn't been a transfer in a while..
                      Pre-season Speculation: a few reserves and unlikely talents tipped to come good this season, and ultimately probably won't. I'm guilty of this. Damn you James Wilson!
                        Where the **** are our transfers?: the cracks begin to show, people are angry that we haven't been doing enough business. Some remain strong that it will be done. The Woodward debate rages on.
                          Pre-Season starts: Pre-season gets going. We win our games and look well doing so, optimism begins to rise.
                            Team debate: Still we need to add someone. But is it our defence or our attack that is the issue?
                              Hype Train: You know what? We're absolutely looking brilliant at pre-season. Why bother bringing anyone else in! Anything now is surplus to requirements.
                                Transfer deadline: By now we've brought in some great big name player. That will cool the Woodward debate for another while. Sad to see <insert squad player here> go though.
                                  The Week Before: Optimism in full swing. Some doubts are creeping out but quickly stamped on, it's a party of gifs and we're getting on for the most part.

Some are interchangeable and I may have missed a few.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

What in the absolute name of Jaysus is that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

A friend mentioned United Funko Pops, I thought he was just joking, apparently not..

Adamocovic wrote: »
                                  It's kind of like we go through cycles during the break each year. We have now entered the Woodward one. The way I look at it the general theme goes recently goes like:
                                    The Review: It wasn't perfect but we saw improvement. Speak of optimism for the upcoming season, some bring up their concern but push it back ever so slightly due to the break
                                      Initial transfer rumours: debates occur on the validity of the sources
                                        We make an early purchase! The place goes wild: we've done some early business a sign of things to come, good man Woodward
                                          The Wishlist: After the brilliant start we all prepare our wishlists and the teams demands.
                                            Rooney debate Pogba debate: we open up the floor to go over a debate regarding a big name player
                                              Off-season inspection: here we criticise players for their off-season shenanigans
                                                Why are they here: We haven't gotten rid of enough yet. Defenders normally the focus for moving on.
                                                    Pre-season Speculation: a few reserves and unlikely talents tipped to come good this season, and ultimately probably won't. I'm guilty of this. Damn you James Wilson!
                                                      Where the **** are our transfers?: the cracks begin to show, people are angry that we haven't been doing enough business. Some remain strong that it will be done. The Woodward debate rages on.
                                                        Pre-Season starts: Pre-season gets going. We win our games and look well doing so, optimism begins to rise.
                                                          Team debate: Still we need to add someone. But is it our defence or our attack that is the issue?
                                                            Hype Train: You know what? We're absolutely looking brilliant at pre-season. Why bother bringing anyone else in! Anything now is surplus to requirements.
                                                              Transfer deadline: By now we've brought in some great big name player. That will cool the Woodward debate for another while. Sad to see <insert squad player here> go though.
                                                                The Week Before: Optimism in full swing. Some doubts are creeping out but quickly stamped on, it's a party of gifs and we're getting on for the most part.

Some are interchangeable and I may have missed a few.

This, this is a pretty good cliff notes version for Man United threads..

So we have hit 4 of them just this morning. Good going (mostly me!)

United Pops I would buy:

Pogba, Lukaku, De Gea, Rashford. 50% available now, apparently!

EDIT: DDG available too, it semms... 75%!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

He was part of the banking/finance team that helped structure and push through the Glazer takeover. Then moved to United under them. Then took over commercial arm. then the club.

His background wasn't in marketing but not a Glazer stooge? Is that purely an argument on terminolgy? Absolutely a Glazerite.

His background is he's a Chartered Accountant by training, moved into merchant banking and then commercial banking. Gill brought him into the club in the early 00's for his financial acumen and when the Glazer deal went down he ran point on the deal. Whilst the deal was done the Glazers were highly impressed with him and i understand they planned for hin to be the successor to Gill. He helped drive the commercialisation of the United brand through local/regional and global partnering. Think he also took over the CFO role and then was groomed for Gill's role once it became clear Gill was wanted by the FA and FIFA.

I just for clarity... Woodward is absolute a glazerite or whatever you want to call it.

Well I'm expanding my Funko Pops then.

Damn it, I'm gonna need a bigger shelf :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Wtf are funking pops.??? I'm definitely out if the loop thankfully.

jayo26 wrote: »

Pft, what did you say? Couldn't hear you over the sounds of your creaking bones, old man. Is 26 the year you were born? #burn #sickburn #heyfellowcoolkids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,946 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

astradave wrote: »
                                                                giphy.gif

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSLh0N3fWxSLZk205WYUjXyXCAPajfPe_PFqUNSN4ayHWctVJVqXQ

Someone think of the old guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

This is why jayo should not be a mod... or any kind of leader at all...

#Mitchshouldleadus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

You should pop into GameStop,they have loads of them. My young lad loves them.

This is the **** I’m gonna have to put up with in a few years isn’t it :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

With the kids going on tour, I'm looking forward to week what influence McKenna has on the coaching team and tactical set up then. If he has players coming with him into his first few matches that know his style, it should help him lay the ground work a bit quicker too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Tried convincing my missus that we should start a funko pop collection (purely to satisfy my marvel obsession) resukt was unsuccesful!

Opportunity missed if they dont release a jones one with a mumbled facial expression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I have an irrational hatred of funko pops. Hideous looking yokes.

Horrible square heads and ugly black eyes. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I had to google what funko pops are.

Im in my thirties and I feel old lol

Lord TSC wrote: »
                                                                With the kids going on tour, I'm looking forward to week what influence McKenna has on the coaching team and tactical set up then. If he has players coming with him into his first few matches that know his style, it should help him lay the ground work a bit quicker too.

Would a bunch of kids really have that effect on the sessions for the senior side, or even match performances? I would think the kids will be trying to fit in with the senior side rather than lead by example.

• Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭ [Deleted User]

It's nice to see Manchester United players represent their countries in the late stages of a World Cup, but I do worry about the affect it will have on the team's pre-season and our start to the new season.

Some of our players will have been going all season in the PL then straight to a lengthy WC campaign. They will need a few weeks off and will be given those few weeks off I'd imagine. With a fair amount of them still involved with England, Belgium and France, I expect a scarce enough pre-season tour and a less than ideal preparation for the new season.

Pre-season games will be great for giving some young players a chance in the senior team, to get the non-WC players back into action, to help reintroduce Andreas Pereira to the team and the few new signings.

However, you'd have to imagine that no matter what progress these young players and new signings make during the pre-season games, they're probably not going to keep the likes of Pogba, Rashford, Lukaku, Fellaini, Lingard, Young, Smalling, Jones out of the team when those WC players return.

Some of those players, Jose will favour immediately when they become available, but they might not be back in training until the first week of August at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Haha no way I'm buying United funko pops I have more then 100 of normsl ones. I actually just spent about 100 euro buying 3 from UK that couldn't get here.

It's a major addiction until you figure out ya I can't get them all anyway!

Haha no way I'm buying United funko pops I have more then 100 of normsl ones. I actually just spent about 100 euro buying 3 from UK that couldn't get here.

It's a major addiction until you figure out ya I can't get them all anyway!

whats you favourite?:o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,640 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Pft, what did you say? Couldn't hear you over the sounds of your creaking bones, old man. Is 26 the year you were born? #burn #sickburn #heyfellowcoolkids

I'm 116 soon young whippersnapper and I have 130 of the cursed things missed the United ones wanted an Ibra one but he was pulled after the move to LA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

whats you favourite?:o:D

Game of thrones mostly have whole shelf of them haha.

Have all the twin peaks ones which really like I've mixture of all kinds really. According to the collection app I have I've 113 them which worth just under 2 grand.