July 12th - An Orgy of Hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's the only opportunity in the year some of these poor auld Laurel & Hardy impersonators get to have a bit of fresh air and excercise.
    Judging by the multiple chins and beer-bellies they tend to sport they badly need it. Let's hope none of them keel over in the heat.

PSNI eventually get bored and hose them down giving them a wash and cool them down at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Ah yeah, so you voted for the tradition of building giant bonfires so the Irish tricolour could go up in flames. Spot on bud. I get you.
    They've been known to burn the likes of the Polish and Mexican flags as well.
    Anything with a hint of "papishness" will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Really?

Must get the wedding album out and cut out the picture of my cousin's husband so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

yes in a sense i did. i voted for peace and there was a price to pay for that.

i knew some of the compromise would be unpleasant . I did in my hoop want to give up articles 2 & 3 of the constitution but it was a worthy price for peace.

i remember the troubles and if a few yahoos on the lash once a year is the remainder ...then fcuk it i can live with that

Three children died as a result of these Yahoos thinking they could march down a banned route. The Orange Order is an organisation which believes in the premise of Protestant supremacy over it's catholic neighbours. How it's a national holiday is beyond comprehension in any right thinking society. If Unionists want a celebration day to wave union jacks I have no issue with but the 12th of July is nothing more than a sectarian banging of the drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    There's a lodge in South Donegal. Can't remember which Town/Village, but they have a march. Not sure about the Catholic Weddings/Funerals part though.

Rossnowlagh

Lots of Protestants in Leitrim, a lot of villages have a Church of Ireland church

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

How can you spot Protestants? I’ve never noticed any around anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

How can you spot Protestants? I’ve never noticed any around anywhere.

Orangemen-parade-in-Belfa-010.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Orangemen-parade-in-Belfa-010.jpg

Only ever seen lads like that on give my head peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

These kinds of threads always remind me of the first time I was supposed to go do a job up North round this time of year. (was in east Belfast too).

Colleague of mine told me he canceled and rebooked the job cause he didn't think it was a good idea for a catholic dutch boy driving a car with Dublin plates to be anywhere near the area.

Even the customer agreed :D

Whatever about the marches the bonfires are crazy and the unionist leaders should have shown some leadership on them by now. There are a lot of dangerous ones and obviously some that are v offensive to Catholics and nationalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

It's a hate filled anti Irish anti non white anti gay anti inclusive parades and fire.

It's the most disgusting thing that happens on the island of Ireland in 2018.

Ok so the southerners won't accept the Orange order until they don rainbow sunglasses and angel wings...I suppose if they do that they will then be required to cut the backsides off their pants :D.

Bloody hell no wonder they don't want unity with the South!!

I wonder how they'll top last year

DEddmVaXkAIhQWa.jpg

Although in fairness that doesn't hold a candle to the 'we dont like cotton picking n***ers' banner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I'm from close enough to Rossnowlagh to know a few business owners/staff there and in the surrounding areas. They're meant to be some of the most hateful, sleazy, sexist, racist group to have to deal with, and everyone hates working the weekend of their march.

My aunt lives in the wrong estate in a certain area of Derry so will have to find somewhere else to be for the day. It's absolutely fine every other day of the year but people tend to lose the run of themselves on the 12th.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,708 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

The lads in Bangor have 4 days to rebuild their bonfire after it collapsed yesterday.

The structural engineer that built it has taken to twitter to say he demolished it on purpose in order to rebuild it better.

https://twitter.com/eastside2020/status/1015556767902728192

Can anyone see the manitou he says was used to push it over - onto an unsecured area? I can't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The lads in Bangor have 4 days to rebuild their bonfire after it collapsed yesterday.

The structural engineer that built it has taken to twitter to say he demolished it on purpose in order to rebuild it better.

Can anyone see the manitou he says was used to push it over - onto an unsecured area? I can't

In fairness, most Manipoo users don't wish to advertise the fact. Which is understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,159 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Ar-lean? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Orange-ism/unionism is retreating into itself, it's doubling-down on the not-an-inch 'strategy'. The unionist cliff-face is being steadily eroded by the relentless tide of being in the 21st Century and existing amongst an increasingly outward-looking and confident Irish nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

The replies:likes ratio on that tweet is quite something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Funny how a load of toothless, tattooed, Kyle show dross in Rangers or Chelsea tops consider themselves to be the 'ubermenschen' of the island.

Orange-ism/unionism is retreating into itself, it's doubling-down on the not-an-inch 'strategy'. The unionist cliff-face is being steadily eroded by the relentless tide of being in the 21st Century and existing amongst an increasingly outward-looking and confident Irish nation.

Perhaps for balance you should tune in to Stephen Nolan on BBC NI at 1030 on Wed evening to see the younger generation debate this and it may give you an insight into the Unionist perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The size of that..

Sheer lunacy..

Has it ever happened that one of those flaming monstrosities simply tumbled down on top of the 'partying' revelers?

I don't think there is anywhere else in Europe where something like that wouldn't be halted immediately on public safety concerns..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Yep , they have a march in Donegal every year..policed by all of two Gardai or so along with a couple of hundred Orange Men living in the republic.

Lots turn a blind eye nowadays , my friend is married to an Orange man , he loves a good wedding and funeral according to himself.

Lots of complete an utter nonsense pushed about the OO down here, aided by the media. Was talking to an ex-hockey mate of mine who is a member of the Dublin and Wicklow lodge, LOL1313. He was canvassing for a 'Yes' vote in the 8th referendum. The OO down here backed a 'Yes', which was news to me. Met loads of OO members over the years and they've been sound, with the odd exception. The older folk tend to be more problematic.

The media will be up in NI this week searching for their usual bonfire pictures. Strange that they don't do the same for nationalist bonfires. The celebrations in NI will pass off without incident, hopefully.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Berserker wrote: »
    Yep , they have a march in Donegal every year..policed by all of two Gardai or so along with a couple of hundred Orange Men living in the republic.

Lots turn a blind eye nowadays , my friend is married to an Orange man , he loves a good wedding and funeral according to himself.

Lots of complete an utter nonsense pushed about the OO down here, aided by the media. Was talking to an ex-hockey mate of mine who is a member of the Dublin and Wicklow lodge, LOL1313. He was canvassing for a 'Yes' vote in the 8th referendum. The OO down here backed a 'Yes', which was news to me. Met loads of OO members over the years and they've been sound, with the odd exception. The older folk tend to be more problematic.

They media will be up in NI this week searching for their usual bonfire pictures. Strange that they don't do the same for nationalist bonfires. The celebrations in NI will pass off without incident, hopefully.
    The vast majority of people who join the orange order do so simply for social reasons and history. It's just part of the community in Ulster/Ireland.

They media will be up in NI this week searching for their usual bonfire pictures. Strange that they don't do the same for nationalist bonfires. The celebrations in NI will pass off without incident, hopefully.

Nice try: One member dissented and backed a Yes vote.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/orange-order-member-goes-against-institution-and-calls-for-yes-vote-1.3507322

On Thursday, a Grand Orange Lodge of Ireland statement recommended “all those voting on this sensitive issue reflect on what abortion is and read what God says about the sanctity of human life”.
    It said: “As we approach the referendum on the repeal of the Eighth Amendment on the Constitution of the Republic of Ireland we call upon our members, supporters and friends - eligible to exercise their democratic right - to vote No.

It won't pass off without incident as there have been incidents already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The media will be up in NI this week searching for their usual bonfire pictures. Strange that they don't do the same for nationalist bonfires. The celebrations in NI will pass off without incident, hopefully.

No they didnt and i bet you cant provide a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

dd972 wrote: »
    Funny how a load of toothless, tattooed, Kyle show dross in Rangers or Chelsea tops consider themselves to be the 'ubermenschen' of the island.

Hard to know what to make of the Blues Brothers types (Chelsea-Linfield-Rangers)

The premature aging must come from their Scottish genes.

Fierce ugly looking crowd up there in the estates.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

A right guaranteed by our constitution

6 1° The State guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:
    ii The right of the citizens to assemble peaceably and without arms.

A right guaranteed by our constitution

6 1° The State guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:
    ii The right of the citizens to assemble peaceably and without arms.

The question is, in 2018 is the OO a 'moral' organisation. Considering it's religious barring orders and ethos.

Is it unconstitutional to allow an organisation that discriminates on religious grounds to operate in the south on that basis?

Please don't disappoint and point at the RC church.The OO is not a recognised religion or religious organisation.