If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

God created Elon Musk to be a supervillain but forgot to flip the last switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

the nay sayers can give about about musk all they like but he is the one who gave us mankinds greatest gift.

the flamethrower :)

I am waiting for all the youtube vids of idiots with their flamethrowers burning down their houses/cars etc.

love musk for that single reason, he is helping the whole race by lining up darwin award candidates.

( am still annoyed i could not persuade the wife to let me get one :( )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

His track record with women is ... interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Netflix was founded in 1997 and started streaming in 2007.

I know that. It was mostly movie rentals at the beginning but had taken off before House of Cards.
    His track record with women is ... interesting

Seems like a dick to them alright though I’m fairly uninterested in his private life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

His truck is a bit of a con. He has never said how much the thing weighs or how much space the batteries take up.

And its alleged performance is a bit dubious also.

Companies that have said they are buying them are going to get a shock when they discover they need 2-3 musk trucks to shift the same load as one diesel truck.

As for the hyper-loop... He might want to read a history book. The Victorians tried similar technology (right here in Dublin) and it didn't work. Its impossible to create a full vacuum on earth and even a partial vacuum is a nightmare to maintain.

It also been alleged that he "creates" technology or schemes that attract government grants. This grant money then goes to prop up his other failing businesses.

His latest "scheme" is to cover a large part of Southern England in solar panels and batteries to generate power.

He reminds me of the monorail guy from the Simpsons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭FriendsEV

Nixonbot wrote: »
    SpaceX is fantastic. Really shook up the space market, and showed just how expensive the likes of NASA are. Tesla, eh. I can't warm to the guy when he claims Tesla will show the likes of Toyota how to do lean manufacturing. Toyota, the pioneers of the concept. Toyota, who make 17 vehicles a minute. Sort out your own production and quality control problems before you go after the big boy Elon.

Do Toyotas make 17 EV's a minute?

They don't even make 1 a year

Kinda sick of hearing complaints about Teslas production issues

Crap like Ford make more cars in a day than Tesla make in 3 months etc

Ford make yokes that burns dinosaurs

Let's see Ford make 250k EV's a year

Something no other auto giant is doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

Netflix was founded in 1997 and started streaming in 2007.

Jesus. They've been streaming since Roche's stores disappeared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

You see i just don't know, cant help think its either him or Bezo's who will be the super villain and the other being batman. However i am also fearful they are both super villains.

If Elon is a super villain i think i know what hes going to do, its to do with his planned mission to mars. Essentially he will steal our ozone and move it to mars and crown himself king of this new world.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

FriendsEV wrote: »

Who cares? EV’s are a con. All you’re doing is having less mileage and having to wait longer to have it charge. “Zero emissions”. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

cournioni wrote: »
    Who cares? EV’s are a con. All you’re doing is having less mileage and having to wait longer to have it charge. “Zero emissions”. :D

Conveniently ignored all of the questions myself and others posed earlier in the thread and clings to some outdated and untrue notions that burning dinosaurs is the way forward :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

prinzeugen wrote: »
    His truck is a bit of a con. He has never said how much the thing weighs or how much space the batteries take up.

And its alleged performance is a bit dubious also.

Companies that have said they are buying them are going to get a shock when they discover they need 2-3 musk trucks to shift the same load as one diesel truck.

As for the hyper-loop... He might want to read a history book. The Victorians tried similar technology (right here in Dublin) and it didn't work. Its impossible to create a full vacuum on earth and even a partial vacuum is a nightmare to maintain.

It also been alleged that he "creates" technology or schemes that attract government grants. This grant money then goes to prop up his other failing businesses.

His latest "scheme" is to cover a large part of Southern England in solar panels and batteries to generate power.

He reminds me of the monorail guy from the Simpsons.

The monorail guy reminds me of his idea to cover the globe in superfast broadband a number of years ago. I think everyone promises that at some point though

Conveniently ignored all of the questions myself and others posed earlier in the thread and clings to some outdated and untrue notions that burning dinosaurs is the way forward :rolleyes:
    What questions have I ignored? You and others on the EV side seem more intent on putting untruths in peoples mouths than actually listening to any criticisms of your beloved EVs.

I don't blame you, I don't believe its your fault. Perhaps you've bought into the shrewd marketing from Musk and the likes and are living in denial as you've invested more than you should in a vehicle that is inferior to the petrol and diesel hybrid powered vehicles (see? It works both ways).

sexmag wrote: »
    Are you really arguing that we shouldn't use renewable energy because it might look unsightly for landscapes?

There will be no landscapes left if we don't
    They are not just unsightly, they put wildlife at risk also. Now obviously, non-renewables do the same, but what you're advocating is essentially doubling up. Consumption is the issue, not how you consume it. People buying into the EV trend don't seem to have any awareness of its potential negative impact on the environment, all they seem to be doing is buying into the what someone like Musk (who has his own interests in mind) is saying.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,312 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nissan have made over 300,000 Leafs so far. When the big boys decide that this is actually the "future" they'll be able to ramp up production to match. They've been doing this for over a century and are adopting a wait and see attitude. The success of the mundane everyday little Leaf is much more likely to sway them than a niche manufacturer like Tesla. Though for such a niche manufacturer I have to admire Tesla and Musk for their global promotional footprint.

As for Teslas production issues, they have many and there is an awful lot of showboating, BS and unrealistic deadlines. Never mind the near unimaginable haemorrhaging of cash. But the faithful keep giving them a pass. They buy into the BS lock stock and barrel. Early adopters of any new tech tend towards the fervent, but the EV faithful are like born again Christians of the road.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I'm an Irish average Joe.

Can any supporter of Elon explain to me how any of his work is currently affecting my life directly?

I read a LOT about the guy on the internet, but other than than he seems irrelevant. It seems like futurists and sci-fi fans have a thing for him, but beyond that...

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nissan have made over 300,000 Leafs so far. When the big boys decide that this is actually the "future" they'll be able to ramp up production to match. They've been doing this for over a century and are adopting a wait and see attitude. The success of the mundane everyday little Leaf is much more likely to sway them than a niche manufacturer like Tesla. Though for such a niche manufacturer I have to admire Tesla and Musk for their global promotional footprint.

As for Teslas production issues, they have many and there is an awful lot of showboating, BS and unrealistic deadlines. Never mind the near unimaginable haemorrhaging of cash. But the faithful keep giving them a pass. They buy into the BS lock stock and barrel. Early adopters of any new tech tend towards the fervent, but the EV faithful are like born again Christians of the road.
    Absolutely spot on. Probably the hipster mentality. I have no doubt that some have good intentions, but unfortunately do not fully think things through. Statements like this sum it up for me:
    And we have insane fuel taxes.
    And what happened when petrol prices go up?
    So shortsighted its frightening. As if electric vehicles will be electricity and tax free if they ever become mainstream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

zapitastas wrote: »
    The monorail guy reminds me of his idea to cover the globe in superfast broadband a number of years ago. I think everyone promises that at some point though

The FCC finally approved that a few months back and spacex currently have 2 test satellites in space for the global broadband system. They will probably start launching the satelittes for the actual system next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

sexmag wrote: »
    I would have said:

' Elon musk, the real tony stark of our generation"

But this fits better

Tony Stark is a fictional character tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Early adopters of any new tech tend towards the fervent, but the EV faithful are like born again Christians of the road.

Whenever threads like this or others discussing EV's come along I always find myself wondering if EV evangelists are the new vegans

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Electric vehicles are a con. Unless you’re in Norway or Sweden, you are essentially using harmful energy sources to power the car anyway. Along with using loads of batteries that aren’t exactly friendly to the environment either.

We’ll need a few more waste incinerators around to meet further demand for these hairdryers.

I had a sudden flash of inspiration - you also think that diesel engines are clean and non-polluting, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Jaysis thats some spiel. Toyota are clearly going down the hybrid (and possibly hydrogen fuel cells) road, and they're clearly doing alright for it. As Wibbs says, just switch to Nissan, there's your EVs and back to Telsa having production issues, which is undeniable.
    but the EV faithful are like born again Christians of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

What other billionaires are taking the PR risk of building escape capsules for trapped Thai kids? Oh yeah, he's only doing it for spin. What an asshole he is.

He's talking about building a design that wouldn't work for the conditions, and wouldn't be ready in time.

But his fanboys swoon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭kyote00

I'd buy one of these 'vegan' zappers ......

https://www.theverge.com/2018/6/2/17420982/elon-musk-boring-company-not-a-flamethrower-california-bill-ab-1949
    wexie wrote: »
    Whenever threads like this or others discussing EV's come along I always find myself wondering if EV evangelists are the new vegans

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭theyoungchap

RayCun wrote: »
    He's talking about building a design that wouldn't work for the conditions, and wouldn't be ready in time.

But his fanboys swoon...

It is easy to sit in an office thousands of miles away and come up with a plan......not fully knowing the constraints, the conditions, etc that the worlds best trained cave divers and navy seals are seeing on the ground.

Leaf is out like 8 or 9 years now

300k is nothing impressive

Tesla should do that with one model next year

Haemorrhaging cash and investment are
    two different things

Tesla are investing now, largest battery factory in the world, largest charging network etc

Nissan have sold/are selling off battery production facilities and VW, Koreans etc have no battery production

Prefer to pay top dollar to LG, Samsung etc for cells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

They've sold 300,000 cars total. That fantasy is not happening.

I had a sudden flash of inspiration - you also think that diesel engines are clean and non-polluting, right?
    Are you having a Cathy Newman vs Jordan Peterson moment by any chance?

I did not say that at all. I did say that Electric Vehicles were a fad though.

Nixonbot wrote: »
    They've sold 300,000 cars total. That fantasy is not happening.

They are making 5000 model 3 a week now

Its happening

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,312 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

stop-stop-im-gonna-pee.jpg

Man, that's some fan delusion Musk reality distortion field going on there. Similar was to be seen with fans of Steve Jobs. With one major and obvious difference: Jobs turned a failing Apple around and made it one of the largest and most profitable companies in the world.

And if according to you, it's "nothing impressive", how come Tesla, for all Musk's empty and year on year promises, has failed to come within an asses roar of that kind of output. As for next year, I'll lay a sure bet now, Tesla won't.
    Haemorrhaging cash and investment are
    two different things
    No, really? You don't say... I hate to break it to you, but the vast bulk of those losses are production and operating losses. BTW the gigafactory is a separate enterprise, though there's a story in that too and it's been massively subsidised by the US taxpayer. They're not close to even breaking even on car production, never mind turning a profit. Even with subsidies, cash backs and the cars themselves being at the higher end of expense. At the moment I can't think of a single company out there that is pissing cash away with the speed and volume of Tesla. It's simply not sustainable and when the Emperor's new clothes effect wears off it'll go belly up, or more likely be sold to one of the big boy car makers.
    They are making 5000 model 3 a week now

Its happening
    No. That was one week. And they had a wee celebration to mark it as it was unusual.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Are you having a Cathy Newman vs Jordan Peterson moment by any chance?

I did not say that at all. I did say that Electric Vehicles were a fad though.

If its a fad then why are a bunch of countries going banning petrol/diesel engines? France and UK to name 2 nearby ones.

You seem to have a complete unawareness of what is coming down the pipeline.

My understanding is that it was more of a last resort if diving was too difficult and the only alternative was to leave them there for four months. When he was asked to do this, it was looking a lot more likely that they could be there that long. And the professional divers there have said it would work.

That still may be the case and if it does start raining bad resulting in them being trapped, some device that could give them a better chance of survival would be surely welcomed. Their island is not guaranteed to last those months.
    But his fanboys swoon...

Based on what I've written above, which of us do you imagine has a better handle on what's going on? And you call me a fanboy. It couldn't possibly be more fitting that the person who can't think attacks the person who admires the person who can. Screw experts, amirite? Far handier to be a prick on your couch.