Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Jeez lads Taibi Bosnich, Carroll and Ricardo look like world beaters compared to this clown "Dave Saves!!!"
    Heck Lindegaard and Foster should never have been sold...
    Whatever happened to that pig fella Kuzscak surely he'd be a solid signing....

Hell give Gary Rogers at dundalk a shout, he'd be ideal...

AidoEirE wrote: »
    #FellaniForKeeper

#sweeperkeeper
    #stopseverythingwithhischest
    #bangkoksbestie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

somewhere Sean Bateman is thinking "I Fking TOLD YE"

i <3 this post

Some boy you are Mitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Lozano has had a very good world cup. I wonder will utd make a move this summer. Were linked before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

bangkok wrote: »
    Lozano has had a very good world cup. I wonder will utd make a move this summer. Were linked before

Barca already sniffing around and ya know how that goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,853 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Andy Goram FTW!

Barca already sniffing around and ya know how that goes.

Unless they are selling dembele he wont get much game time there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Im liking the run into this WC, delighted Spain got knocked out yesterday, some of the heavy hitters have just not peeformed and didnt deserve to go through. The teams like mexico, colombia have been great to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

bangkok wrote: »
    Unless they are selling dembele he wont get much game time there

Wouldn't stop them from going for him if they want him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Speaking of keepers.
    Sam Johnstone is off to WBA for £6.5 million and rising to £10 million if all clauses are met.

https://twitter.com/sistoney67/status/1013800764928557057

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Sorry must remember must not ask a question about a united player if its question  a certain part of there game ,
    We all know he is the worlds best shot stopper but iv never heard anything ever mentioned good or bad about him with the ball ,

We watch him week in, week out. He has decent distribution. It was actually something commented on quite a lot when he first signed.
    When I said we don’t care, I meant we don’t care if he’s having a few issues finding a team full of dwarves and Diego Costa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Sorry must remember must not ask a question about a united player if its question  a certain part of there game ,
    We all know he is the worlds best shot stopper but iv never heard anything ever mentioned good or bad about him with the ball ,

We watch him week in, week out. He has decent distribution. It was actually something commented on quite a lot when he first signed.
    When I said we don’t care, I meant we don’t care if he’s having a few issues finding a team full of dwarves and Diego Costa.
    Not doubting how good he is at saving shots and that is his job but interestingly has is worst long pass accuracy r last season of any of the top 6 first choice keepers, He is 8 % behind his closest rival 
    No idea how he shapes up against the rest of the keepers outside the top six
    So maybe it is something that has been over looked due to his god like shot stopping .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Not doubting how good he is at saving shots and that is his job but interestingly has is worst long pass accuracy r last season of any of the top 6 first choice keepers, He is 8 % behind his closest rival 
    So maybe it is something that has been over looked due to his god like shot stopping .

Last season he was noticeably worse in his distribution. By and large, he is normally very good. You're never worried about a mad pass or a sliced clearance. He is solid in that area in a team that isn't asking the goalkeeper to play with ball at feet a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭xtal191

pjohnson wrote: »
    I'd prefer Allisson or Courtois if I was looking for a new number 1.

I don't get the hype around Alisson, actually think Ederson is better than him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Last season he was noticeably worse in his distribution. By and large, he is normally very good. You're never worried about a mad pass or a sliced clearance. He is solid in that area in a team that isn't asking the goalkeeper to play with ball at feet a lot.
    Plus for all the unreal save's you can live with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

xtal191 wrote: »
    I don't get the hype around Alisson, actually think Ederson is better than him

If a replacement was needed for DDG right now, Oblak would be the top of my list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Agree.

When he first signed it seemed like a strong point. Pin point passes.

But it seems that part of his not only hadn't improved but gotten significantly worse over the seasons.

It is weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭xtal191

yabadabado wrote: »
    If a replacement was needed for DDG right now, Oblak would be the top of my list.

Agreed, him or Donnarumma

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Agree.

When he first signed it seemed like a strong point. Pin point passes.

But it seems that part of his not only hadn't improved but gotten significantly worse over the seasons.

It is weird.

Well not really, last season was a poor one by his standards alright but the season before he was pinging balls around, mainly straight to Fellaini’s chest or Ibras head. I thought the season before last was one of his best distribution wise..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I think that the key is that when the ball goes back to him, you're happy that it is going to safety. Not one United fan here could say that they are nervy when it goes back to him. You can't ask for much more for your goalkeeper really, when his core game is based around his contribution in the box.

Big Rom for the hat trick tonight to keep him at arms length of that Harry fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Hope so will

Just noticed Grant is apparently only getting a one year deal. Thats actually a slight suprise tbh.

Young football team has been found in thailand. Great news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

pjohnson wrote: »
    Just noticed Grant is apparently only getting a one year deal. Thats actually a slight suprise tbh.

I don't think so? It's pretty clear he is only been signed as a 3rd choice for this season because our own young keeper are going on loan or moving on.

jayo26 wrote: »
    I don't think so? It's pretty clear he is only been signed as a 3rd choice for this season because our own young keeper are going on loan or moving on.

I'd imagine they'll hardly be ready for our senior team after one year? Ideally it would be something like Courtois where (hopefully) Joel Pereira will establish himself for two years at a club and then possibly provide some competition to DDG as both Romero and Grant would then move on. Mourinho kept Hilario at Chelsea for years as 3rd so he clearly likes an elder GK in that role while youngsters play. Grant is also HG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Is this the same Grant who had that bloody good game against United at Old Trafford?

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Is this the same Grant who had that bloody good game against United at Old Trafford?

Thats the one yep.

Does Hazard hate Lukaku?