Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R/Tist in the Spotlight - skyblue46

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

What's your favourite flavour of crisps?

I robbed your question already!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

What's your favourite flavour of crisps?

That's been done...Tayto Cheese and Onion. Have a sneaky fondness for McCoys Flame Grilled Steak. A new set of challengers has emerged over the past few days though....Walkers Max Strong, 3 flavours....hot chicken wings, chilli and lime and jalapeno and cheese. These are seriously addictive!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Great thread S, fair play :)

Which is your favourite parkrun?

Who will the dubs be beating in the final this year?

What's the most important piece of advice you'll give to the novices?

What is your secret for finding out who people are on Strava :p

If you could only do one - running or cycling & why?

Where in the world would you most like to run/race?

I’ve a few more if that’s ok:

Eamon Coughlan or Sonia O’ Sullivan?
    Stephen Roche, genuine Irish Hero or Drug Cheat?
    All time favourite Man Utd player?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,342 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

1) If you could break a running world record, just one, which one would you like it to be?
    2) Whats your best running related memory/experience?
    3) Have you ever had an injury which almost put you off running?
    4) Do you envy cyclists with all their expensive gear?
    5) Football or rugby?
    6) Have you ever cyber stalked someone on Strava?
    7) Do you find that you admire sweaty women in lycra more these days?
    8) Do you ever get judgey watching other runners outside?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

have you tried O'Donnells cheese & onion crisps?

Great thread S, fair play :)

Which is your favourite parkrun?

Who will the dubs be beating in the final this year?

What's the most important piece of advice you'll give to the novices?

What is your secret for finding out who people are on Strava :p

If you could only do one - running or cycling & why?

Where in the world would you most like to run/race?

1. Favourite as distinct from best...Malahide. I think the finish is great with people hanging around giving a cheer to later finishers.

2. I think they will play Kerry who are looking like favourites already ;-/

3. Slow down! Some seem reluctant to even try..

4. Dedication and patience. Its like piecing together a jigsaw clue by clue.

5. Running. Contrary to popular opinion I didn't cycle much. I grew up with and followed it. I couldn't face the prospect of being compared negatively to the old man. Haha.

6. To run along the valleys of the French Alps in summer time.

OOnegative wrote: »
    I’ve a few more if that’s ok:

Eamon Coughlan or Sonia O’ Sullivan?
    Stephen Roche, genuine Irish Hero or Drug Cheat?
    All time favourite Man Utd player?

1. Oh I'll go for Treacy and McKiernan first...If pushed..Coughlan

2. Hero. Absolute class from a young age. Talented, gifted, tough.

3. George Best from the highlights reels. Keano for being the heartbeat of the team.

IvoryTower wrote: »
    have you tried O'Donnells cheese & onion crisps?

Yes, very nice but I prefer their sweet chilli! :-)

Supercell wrote: »
    1) If you could break a running world record, just one, which one would you like it to be?
    2) Whats your best running related memory/experience?
    3) Have you ever had an injury which almost put you off running?
    4) Do you envy cyclists with all their expensive gear?
    5) Football or rugby?
    6) Have you ever cyber stalked someone on Strava?
    7) Do you find that you admire sweaty women in lycra more these days?
    8) Do you ever get judgey watching other runners outside?

1. 1500m..The blue riband

2. As a youngster going to watch some world class athletics in Santry stadium. Can't remember any names now but I remember autograph hunting.

3. No, but I'm not running long.

4. No I pity a lot of them who think a 3 grand bike will make them go faster but still eat crap.

5. GAA...Then football.

6. No, there is a much better buzz to be had by doing it in real life ;-o

7. Again no, I have always liked women both in and out of Lycra

8. Yep! Running at race pace bashing along... does my head in.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I robbed your question already!!!

Yes, that indiscretion was noted. :P
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    That's been done.

It doesn't count until I ask it. Everyone knows that. :)

Just over 24 hrs to get the questions in lads before skyblue46 picks his victim, surely plenty of other 2017 Novices that want to ask the man a question?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

1. Are you on strava or other like medium?
    2. Would you continue to run/bike if competition was no longer a factor ie you couldnt race?
    3. Do you train alone or with a group?
    4. Hardest session youve ever done?(be a good thread on its own that one)
    5. Would you ever consider an Ultra?
    6. Have you read Krustys log from start to finish?
    7.Craft beer: pretencious over priced alchaloic sodastreem? (Actually thats a statement really rather than a question)
    8. Conor McGregor: genuine sportsman or reality TV star of imaginery show playing only in his own head?

ultrapercy wrote: »
    2. Would you continue to run/bike if competition was no longer a factor ie you couldnt race?
    7.Craft beer: pretencious over priced alchaloic sodastreem? (Actually thats a statement really rather than a question)
    8. Conor McGregor: genuine sportsman or reality TV star of imaginery show playing only in his own head?

His favourite Gaelic footballer is the same as yours J!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Ok I’ll join in ...

1. What started you running?
    2. Did you start with C25K or how did you start?
    3. Do you read much outside of Boards about running or get all your advice here?
    4. What would be your running dream?
    5. Do you think you’ll end up joining a club or getting a coach at some stage or happy on your own?

ultrapercy wrote: »

1. Yes I'm on Strava. I only went on it for the novices thread last year and now I use it to stalk monitor the progress of this years novices. Can never see myself going premium though. How many stats does someone need to know?

2. Most definitely. I love getting out.

3. All on my lonesome. I love the time to myself. I'm not one for carrying a phone or a music player.....just me, myself and I :D

4. I'm quite new to sessions but had a couple of 4 mins @ cv pace X 6 recently which just fooked me over royally.

5. Maybe a baby ultra...50km. Giving thought to Donadea after reading Singers and DiegoB's race reports.

6. To my shame, no. I hear it's a great read but so far I'm only about 20 pages into it.

7. Yes in many respects. I just love the strong taste.

8. A knobhead. Everything I wouldn't like my kids to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I'm going again. Haha. Cheers for doing this S. It's been enjoyable getting to know the man behind the sandwiches.

1. Brown bread or white bread?
    2. Tea or coffee?
    3. Earliest childhood memory?
    4. Beach run or mountain run?
    5. If you were to join a club which one would you join?
    6. Future life goals?
    7. Biggest disappointment?
    8. If you won the lotto what's the first thing you'd do?
    9. What brings you peace?
    10. What would you like to do more of?

Some deep ones there. Lol

Kellygirl wrote: »
    Ok I’ll join in ...

1. What started you running?
    2. Did you start with C25K or how did you start?
    3. Do you read much outside of Boards about running or get all your advice here?
    4. What would be your running dream?
    5. Do you think you’ll end up joining a club or getting a coach at some stage or happy on your own?

1. Getting a second chance at love and her being a runner :pac: Simply put...her lifestyle made me embarrassed of mine and I made the decision to change.

2. Yes C25K. I remember it well. The 8 minute run nearly killed me and I couldn't walk for 3 days after the 20 minute run! :eek:

3. Only thing I read is the Irish Runner. As for advice I think running isn't rocket science at my level. Easy days easy and listen to your body are my two foundation stones. I'm making improvements that are enough to satisfy me on the Grads plans, not getting fatigued and not getting injured so I haven't so much as turned a page on any other plans.

4. Hmmm...interesting one....ok...to be able to enjoy it for a few more years before old Father Time really starts doing his damndest

5. Happy on my own for now. I'd love to join Raheny. It's local enough and has a great mix of standards. With shift work though I wouldn't be able to make use of it. Their marathon group meets on Sunday morning. I have only 5 Sundays off between now and DCM. I think they meet Wednesdays also but again most of them clash with work.
    As for a coach...I can't see it being something I'd do. I'm not sure I'm that driven to extract the last percentage possible out of myself.

I'm going again. Haha. Cheers for doing this S. It's been enjoyable getting to know the man behind the sandwiches.

1. Brown bread or white bread?
    2. Tea or coffee?
    3. Earliest childhood memory?
    4. Beach run or mountain run?
    5. If you were to join a club which one would you join?
    6. Future life goals?
    7. Biggest disappointment?
    8. If you won the lotto what's the first thing you'd do?
    9. What brings you peace?
    10. What would you like to do more of?

Some deep ones there. Lol

1. Brown. Funnily enough my favourite is Sean's Brown from Superquinn Supervalue

2. Both. It depends on the mood.

3. A mountain run methinks. Though the few beach runs I did along Dollymount were really enjoyable

4. See above....Raheny

6. To be a grandad! To have a future! To stay happy :D And sure who knows, maybe remarry :pac:

7. Meath v Dublin '91

8. Buy the 3 boys houses.

9. A quiet pint. A walk. A run.

10. Getting up at 8am instead of 3am! I'd probably like to do more travelling. Not far afield to be honest. The States doesn't remotely interest me, nor does flying halfway around the world to the Southern Hemisphere. I could contentedly holiday in Europe, far away from beaches and resorts, for the rest of my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭BrownEyes79

Hope I’m not too late for this!

1. If you had to pick 3 boardies to invite to a dinner party who would they be?
    2. Favourite movie genre?
    3. Glasses or contacts when running?
    4. What club has served to best post race sambos?
    5. Poached or scrambled eggs?
    6. Favourite person to meet for post race chats? (Excluding the other half)
    7. What do your kids think of your running achievements over the last year?
    8. Apart from ‘slow down’ what’s the best piece of running advice you’ve gotten?
    9. What session do you like the most on the grad plans?
    10. What session do you hate the most on the grads plan?

Hope I’m not too late for this!

1. If you had to pick 3 boardies to invite to a dinner party who would they be?
    2. Favourite movie genre?
    3. Glasses or contacts when running?
    4. What club has served to best post race sambos?
    5. Poached or scrambled eggs?
    6. Favourite person to meet for post race chats? (Excluding the other half)
    7. What do your kids think of your running achievements over the last year?
    8. Apart from ‘slow down’ what’s the best piece of running advice you’ve gotten?
    9. What session do you like the most on the grad plans?
    10. What session do you hate the most on the grads plan?

1. Oh my God! How could I possibly choose? Any 2 that drink and a designated driver :D

2. Thriller

3. Glasses at the moment but considering contacts or an elastic around the head. The bloody things need constant adjustment as they slide down my sweaty nose :pac:

4. For variety alone I'll vote for the ICA provided sandwiches in Dunshaughlin.

5. I love eggs any way at all but I eat more scrambled cos it's easier to cook!

6. Haven't done enough races or met enough people... and like question 1 I won't mention names! :pac:

7. They just love that I have got myself a bit fit. Not an interest have they in any improvements I may have made. All 3 think it is an incredibly boring hobby :o

8. To learn how to run through the hurt that makes you want to stop.

9. The hill sprints were definitely my favourite

10. 6 x4 @ CV....I just struggled with them for some reason.

skyblue46 wrote:
    1. Oh my God! How could I possibly choose? Any 2 that drink and a designated driver

I'd bring Guinness

You're in! :D

I'd bring Guinness

I’ll bring the Tayto’s!!!

Does that make you the driver? Haha

Not if you’re bringing the IPA’s!!!

Not liking the picture emerging here...Swashbuckler brings a cheap slab of Guinness, you bring a few bags of crisps and I have to stump up for lots of pretentious overpriced alcoholic soda stream! :rolleyes:

Ah i’ll bring ya a few fancy Imperial Dutch IPA’s!!

skyblue46 wrote:
    Not liking the picture emerging here...Swashbuckler brings a cheap slab of Guinness, you bring a few bags of crisps and I have to stump up for lots of pretentious overpriced alcoholic soda stream!

You're supplying the food too right?

Your getting Tayto, the food of Kings, what more do you need!!