Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread 2 (car videos only, no commenting on videos)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Isambard

cormie wrote: »
    Are you guys all watching it on small screen phones or just old age? :pac:

I was watching on my Wireless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,858 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭neris

Id say you could have great debate with a garda over the relevant licenses needed for that yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

jaxxx wrote: »
    I want one.

Turf home in 1 run no bother boi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I'm not sure if he ran off the road or broke down.

Enough with the Aussie vids and their blue skies

(very very close to the trees, looks like he ran into something and popped the hood, maybe hit the gatepost - why didn't you ask instead of leaving us in suspense)

fritzelly wrote: »
    Enough with the Aussie vids and their blue skies

(very very close to the trees, looks like he ran into something and popped the hood, maybe hit the gatepost - why didn't you ask instead of leaving us in suspense)
    With the bonnet up, he's probably broken down

Couldn't even get into the bonnet the way he's parked

Hood yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

It isn't Merc BTW.

Saab I think. Not that it matters :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's a Saab 9-5 not a Merc.

bazz26 wrote: »
    That's a Saab 9-5 not a Merc.

Debbie downer, we can imagine and hope it is

fritzelly wrote: »
    Couldn't even get into the bonnet the way he's parked

Hood yeah!
    Hood
    image-20.jpeg

Bonnet
    toyota-innova-2005-front-bonnet-hood-workzoneauto-1702-17-WorkZoneAuto@3.jpg
    Unless you're in the US, where car parts have odd names, we ain't in the US. :P
    anyway, more muppets in motors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I wonder if the 2 cars that spun out bald or Chinese tyres (or both!). Car at the beginning had no traction either. Scary how easily they turn into 1,200kg+ projectiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

wonski wrote: »
    It isn't Merc BTW.

Saab I think. Not that it matters :)

Ah whatever way I looked at it I thought it was a CLK.

Looks like the Rosslare to Fishguard ferry there, badly adjusted link span? She seemed to hit something.

Curry's truck was entitled to be in the right hand lane at that point as the road was divided into a single lane for bearing left and two lanes for straight ahead.

In other comments: Lots of self righteous belligerence going on as usual, along with a few genuinely appalling incidents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Isambard wrote: »
    Looks like the Rosslare to Fishguard ferry there, badly adjusted link span? She seemed to hit something.

Curry's truck was entitled to be in the right hand lane at that point as the road was divided into a single lane for bearing left and two lanes for straight ahead.

In other comments: Lots of self righteous belligerence going on as usual, along with a few genuinely appalling incidents

For the Curry's truck the cam driver seemed way too close to it and the next truck he pulled up behind.

4.44: they can see the white van isn't going to stop but they pull out anyway and nearly drive into it, probably for the benefit of the cam, rather than just letting it go.

6.14: they can see the car beside them is going to change lane but God forbid they would slow down a little to reduce the chance of a crash even if they do have right of way etc.

8.28: drives straight over a mini roundabout but I guess the fault is still supposed to be with the other guy?

The criteria for inclusion in one of those videos seems to be for ****, and most of them could do with a good course in defensive driving.

most of them could do with a good course in defensive driving.
    So true, many of the incidents could be easily avoided by less aggressive driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

So true, many of the incidents could be easily avoided by less aggressive driving.

Unfortunately you can neither teach common sense nor fix stupid :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

That’s why I stopped watching those video compilations a good while back!

It’s almost like they have their finger hovering over the ‘save’ button as the ‘incident’ unfolds.

Idiots more interested in getting a good upload as opposed to showing an ounce of common courtesy! Yes, the other drivers are most likely in the wrong, but these gobdaws do nothing but exacerbate the situation by speeding up to catch out these drivers who 9 times out of 10 have made a simple innocuous error that’s probably not very dangerous (providing those around are driving defensively).

Drunk driver! :mad:
    videoed using a mobile phone :rolleyes:
    https://www.facebook.com/100009892338040/videos/651823928490679/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Drunk driver! videoed using a mobile phone

Unreal! Hope she goes to prison

Drunk driver! :mad:
    videoed using a mobile phone :rolleyes:
    https://www.facebook.com/100009892338040/videos/651823928490679/

He spends 3 minutes 30 seconds filming it on his phone, waiting for her to crash/kill someone, when he could have called the police and possibly prevented her from crashing!

What a Prat.

He spends 3 minutes 30 seconds filming it on his phone, waiting for her to crash/kill someone, when he could have called the police and possibly prevented her from crashing!

What a Prat.

I would have tried to get past it and stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

The police wouldn't have got there within 4 minutes, it's a tough situation..

Isambard wrote:
    I would have tried to get past it and stop it.

Was thinking the same, but who would pay for the damage to your car?

tedpan wrote: »
    The police wouldn't have got there within 4 minutes, it's a tough situation..

If she didn't crash, it could have gone on a whole lot longer.

Also, The U.K. police are incredibly fast responders, maybe not 4 minutes, but I'd say they could've been there within 6-7 minutes.

Police in the U.K. come quicker than yer man in the movie American Pie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Lando Griffins OTHER HALF

On the quays where you have to filter into one lane. Normally works but someone didn't want this micra getting in! I probably should have been let in myself afterwards by the next car but he wasn't having it either.

https://vimeo.com/277803303