Gay Pride at work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

"Paedophilia, is a psychiatric disorder in which an adult or older adolescent experiences a primary or exclusive sexual attraction to prepubescent children."

Not all paedophiles are child abusers.

Not all child abusers are paedophiles.

There is no correlation between homosexuality and paedophilia, or child abuse.

But why is over 80% of the abuse against boys not girls ?

https://archive.boston.com/globe/spotlight/abuse/stories5/022804_victims.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I find 'delete' or 'spam' is great for getting rid of this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Bullsh1t I've never caused harm to any gay people.

They on the other hand want to shut down my freedom of speech.

Eh the homophobic and transphobic bull**** you come out with does result in many lgbt people commiting suicide

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I find 'delete' or 'spam' is great for getting rid of this crap.

You can't delete or spam a badge.

Yet people will call me a bigot for pointing out there is a link between pedophilia and a certain lifestyle.

Yes. Because that is bigoted.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Eh the homophobic and transphobic bull**** you come out with does result in many lgbt people commiting suicide

Can you show me where I even mentioned transgenders ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,285 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

MOD NOTEDiversity for Hire don't post here again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

You can't delete or spam a badge.

Sorry, I misread the OPs post. As for the unwanted badge- the nearest bin should suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

In a sane society the LGBT lifestyle would not be promoted.

Living an LGBT lifestyle is just as bad for your health as smoking or obesity.

Arguably it is with ppl like you around.
    wakka12 wrote: »
    I think pride is fun and I think how flamboyant the whole event is adds to it but I think its uncomfortable seeing all the people with very revealing clothes on and acting very sexual and flirtatious in public, it wouldn't be acceptable for straight people to do in a parade and its annoying when people suggest that anyone who criticises that aspect is homophobic when the criticism has less to do with sexuality and more to do with normalising inappropriate behaviour

I think it could be just as fun a day and much more inclusive if the overtly sexual nature of it was toned down, way down

I take it you don't watch Love Island.

I've had gays threaten me with violence in past because I opposed gay "marriage".

Don't believe you. Gays don't do violence. It would spoil our hairstyles.
    Homosexuals on average die much younger than their heterosexual counterparts.

Absolutely true. All as a result of having to spend their whole lives undercover. Not a healthy state of mind to be in - wouldn't you say?
    My opposition to gay "marriage" has nothing what soever to do with religion.

That's interesting. For most it was.
    What's a straight person?

Someone who makes arguments that are genuine.
    Have you ever met an older gay person? I haven't. Aids, drugs and suicide always gets them.

I've met Ian McKellen. A person who works in an industry where his sexuality is accepted. Still going strong as a hollywood actor at age 79.
    Something wrong with him. I wouldn't leave him alone with my son.

I'm beginning to be worried about your son being left alone with you.
    Yet people will call me a bigot for pointing out there is a link between pedophilia and a certain lifestyle.

Is there noone modding this thread. For a poster to state that gays are inherently predisposed to be paedophiles is some nasty accusation.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Is there noone modding this thread. For a poster to state that gays are inherently predisposed to be paedophiles is some nasty accusation.

Your misreading what I said. I didn't say they were all paedophiles but that they were statistically more likely to be of that persuasion.

Then what's the problem? There are much less gays than heterosexuals so statistically there has be much more heterosexual paedophiles than gay ones even if one were to accept that the percentage of paedophilia is higher in the gay community than the heterosexual one (which I don't accept).

But for some reason your much more concerned about the much smaller gay pedophille percentage than the heterosexual one.

Care to explain that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,285 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

MOD NOTEGuys keep this on topic about pride in the work place. Your experiences with it,etc.
    No more discussion about pedophiles please!

MOD NOTEGuys keep this on topic about pride in the work place. Your experiences with it,etc.
    No more discussion about pedophiles please!

Excuses me, did you just decide to interject at the moment a poster decided to challenge the comments that were made about gay paedophiles that have been posted for some time now?

Hmm. I'll just assume you had your eye off the ball, taking some sun or whatever. Funny though.

Is there any chance that you could share your statistics with the class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This shouldn't be a thing to be honest, but as with many of these liberal SJW crusades, it's not about equality (which is a GOOD thing, and which we have at this point), but about virtue-signalling and some groups being MORE equal than others.

Always reminds me of the gay pride parade scene in an episode of the Simpsons, with some of the participants chanting "we're here, we're queer..get used to it!" to which Lisa (a crusader herself) replies "we ARE used to it!"

Besides, someone's sexual preferences has no place in a workplace. Are they competent and professional and do they get the job done? That's what matters.. not who they fancy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Have you ever met an older gay person? I haven't. Aids, drugs and suicide always gets them.

All 3 of them - jesus, that's a bad way to go!
    Who's 'they'?

As the song says, I don't give a fúck about "they" In my experience "they" tend be full of shít!
    Yep a pedo who enjoyed young boys in Nepal. Imagine a straight politician defending a poet who buggered young girls.

I think you have your stories mixed up, but Norris did write a letter of support for an ex of his who was charged with riding a schoolboy.
    That Norris fúcker also gives me the creeps - he's a weirdo for sure. I'm glad he's not president, he'd be a national embarrassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I refuse to use the word "gay".
    They are not all happy!
    I call it what it is .... homosexuality

They are not all happy!

Nah. It means good as you ;-)

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Diversity for Hire

MOD: You were told not to post in this thread again. So please don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

It's only acceptable to have these type of things in work if there is cake and food based treats. Feck off with your lanyards gimmie some bleeding cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,719 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

They are not all happy!
    Are you "straight"...are you one of those "heterosexuals"?
    Look I dont mind what you do behind closed doors but I shouldnt have to look at you in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

TG1 wrote: »
    I work in HR. In a previous role a member of the workforce approached us about celebrating pride in the office. There was a small budget given and the employee in question organised a few decorations. All very low key, but a nice way to celebrate diversity in the company.

Another member of the workforce complained, and the CEO stepped in and refused to allow the decorations. I had to be the one to explain to the employee who had approached us that actually a colleague had gone out of their way to object to it, and as a result we couldn't celebrate our diverse workforce.

Don't be that person who complains, it's a week of decorations and lanyards, not torture...

It's work, not a party or a gay bar/valentines party/christmas wonderland. I go to work to do my work and get out of there as quickly as possible. The less people I have to deal with the better. I don't care if work is diverse or not.

Couldn't care less if the person next to me is gay, christian, muslim, straight, identifies as a unicorn etc, once they don't fcuk up my work or the teams work and pull their weight. I've quite a few gay friends and i'll probably head into Pride on Saturday, but I work to live, I don't live to work.

I've enough spare time to put time into things I care about, so does everyone else, and if they don't then its on them to change that, not drag their campaigns into the workplace.

It's work, not a party or a gay bar/valentines party/christmas wonderland. I go to work to do my work and get out of there as quickly as possible. The less people I have to deal with the better. I don't care if work is diverse or not.

Couldn't care less if the person next to me is gay, christian, muslim, straight, identifies as a unicorn etc, once they don't fcuk up my work or the teams work and pull their weight. I've quite a few gay friends and i'll probably head into Pride on Saturday, but I work to live, I don't live to work.

I've enough spare time to put time into things I care about, so does everyone else, and if they don't then its on them to change that, not drag their campaigns into the workplace.
    Wow you seem like an absolute riot to work with!
    Your work place is lucky to have you and your positive and cheery attitude on board!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

gmisk wrote: »
    Your work place is lucky to have you and your positive and cheery attitude on board!

I'm with weldonhinio - I just want to get in, get finished and get home to my real life. Work is not the centre of my being - it's a fúcking chore I need to do for money, the quicker I can get it out of the way the better.

I'm not saying I don't have the craic sometimes, but it's not the objective. The objective is get paid and get the fúck out. I don't particularly care about inclusion or setting the world to rights, im here cos I'm being paid to be here, nothing more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

It's a pretty understandable attitude. I don't want to be the best friend of anyone I work with. Don't get me wrong, I get on well with everyone but I go to work, leave and go home to my family - I've no desire to go socialising with workmates.

I work in a place now that has zero social side, I have worked in places before that had a load.
    I think its nice to have the option to socialise with work colleagues, if that is your bag, it doesnt make it mandatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'm friendly and get on with everyone I work with and well liked by my colleagues, but i'm not interested in what they get up to outside of work. I'm here to do a job.

That is fine.
    Work social events arent for you, it doesnt make them mandatory.
    Some people enjoy them and they can be good for morale etc so I dont see what the problem is with having them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

I think its nice to have the option to socialise with work colleagues, if that is your bag, it doesnt make it mandatory.

I've been in places where it was mandatory. People that didn't attend were called out on it.

GarIT wrote: »
    I've been in places where it was mandatory. People that didn't attend were called out on it.
    Wow.
    Well that isnt on at all I would be raising it with HR.