Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

astradave wrote: »
    So he doesn’t need us you mean? Not we don’t need him..

Well we dont need him. We need players to improve the first team, right winger centre back left back, he wouldnt be on our starting 11.

We also have herrera and mctominay for same position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

People feeding in to criticising Luke Shaw on his holidays over some picture the Sun put out. Gas really. Most football fans complain about tabloids like them but in all honesty they get views and money from the same people who complain. I'm guilty too. Anyway, it's June. He's on his holidays. I couldn't care less what supposed "shape" he is in. If he comes back for the start of next season out of shape and lethargic then I will care.

Also for those who complain about him not spending his entire break with a PT since he was not picked for England, and saying it shows his character or attitude, are we forgetting he did exactly that during the international break when the majority of players not called went on holidays during the season?

Criticising José for his living situation in a hotel, Shaw for going on holidays and not looking season ready, Sterling for having a tattoo of a gun on his leg, this is football reporting now it seems, and we bloody love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

There’s no excuse for a footballer in his early 20s to be out of shape, even if it is out of season. Wayne Rooney got away with it for years but he was Wayne f*cking Rooney. Shaw has achieved the square root of f*ck all in his career.

https://twitter.com/manunitedworld/status/1010940526621798400?s=21

There’s no excuse for a footballer in his early 20s to be out of shape, even if it is out of season. Wayne Rooney got away with it for years but he was Wayne f*cking Rooney. Shaw has achieved the square root of f*ck all in his career.

https://twitter.com/manunitedworld/status/1010940526621798400?s=21

Why keeping using that pic? Why not one of the other ones that he looks ok in?

2 weeks of pre season training and he be fine

Only got round to looking at the photo there, based off what I read I was expected more of him being like the man on the right of him :pac:

I'm stepping out of this discussion. Already voiced where I stand on the matter.

I will say it is a good thing that Memphis isn't with us, the photo of him having a cigar and a glass of cognac would have dominated the thread :P or back in the days where Barthez and LeBlanc would be having smokes after training and matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

I do agree about been in shape and all bit I also see where adamo is coming from its one picture out of 4 that's been jumped on he don't look anywhere near bad in the other few pics and let's be honest lads can you really rely on pictures these days.

Now I have backed Jose in his treatment of Shaw but at the end if the day he get him back to training and and that will be gone in a week he is on a holiday let him enjoy it if he doesn't put in the work when he comes back well he has no one else to blame then.

bangkok wrote: »
    Why keeping using that pic? Why not one of the other ones that he looks ok in?

2 weeks of pre season training and he be fine

Sorry I haven’t been looking through his holiday snaps. That’s the only one I have seen and he looks out of shape. This is nothing new with Shaw. It’s something that has been hanging over him since the day he arrived at United.

Imagine getting a move to one of the biggest clubs in world football for a record fee for a teenager and not being fit enough to start the season. It’s been nothing but issues from day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,853 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Only got round to looking at the photo there, based off what I read I was expected more of him being like the man on the right of him :pac:

I'm stepping out of this discussion. Already voiced where I stand on the matter.

I will say it is a good thing that Memphis isn't with us, the photo of him having a cigar and a glass of cognac would have dominated the thread :P or back in the days where Barthez and LeBlanc would be having smokes after training and matches.

Sure didn't Dimi smoke like a chimney with us?

Imagine getting a move to one of the biggest clubs in world football for a record fee for a teenager and not being fit enough to start the season. It’s been nothing but issues from day one.

How exactly do you know he is not fit enough?

Did you clock him running 100m? Did you check his heart rate after running 5k? What is his BFP?

More reports of Martial to Juve. Wouldn't mind it. And at this stage I'd nearly take Arnautovic for £50m, he'd kill two positions with the one stone at least (RW and tall back up ST). Then see if we can clear out the deadwood.

pjohnson wrote: »
    More reports of Martial to Juve. Wouldn't mind it. And at this stage I'd nearly take Arnautovic for £50m, he'd kill two positions with the one stone at least (RW and tall back up ST). Then see if we can clear out the deadwood.

Kill been the key word here.

What's the point in brining in dead wood to get rid of dead wood? Aranautivic would only be a backup player not a first team player we need a top quality right winger not more players that can play there if needed.

jayo26 wrote: »

What's the point in brining in dead wood to get rid of dead wood? Aranautivic would only be a backup player not a first team player we need a top quality right winger not more players that can play there if needed.

If we go 4-3-2-1 christmas tree formation and had a decent right and left back i dont think we need a right winger.

Imagine we had a player like trippier down our right and mendy or robertson down our left, our team would be so much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭paulbok

People feeding in to criticising Luke Shaw on his holidays over some picture the Sun put out. Gas really. Most football fans complain about tabloids like them but in all honesty they get views and money from the same people who complain. I'm guilty too. Anyway, it's June. He's on his holidays. I couldn't care less what supposed "shape" he is in. If he comes back for the start of next season out of shape and lethargic then I will care.

Also for those who complain about him not spending his entire break with a PT since he was not picked for England, and saying it shows his character or attitude, are we forgetting he did exactly that during the international break when the majority of players not called went on holidays during the season?

Criticising José for his living situation in a hotel, Shaw for going on holidays and not looking season ready, Sterling for having a tattoo of a gun on his leg, this is football reporting now it seems, and we bloody love it.

Non WC players are usually due back the first few days in July, so he has a week to get into shape.
    Don't they also get fined for every lb they are over an allowed weight?
    Unless that photo is a few weeks old, he's just going to pi$$ Jose off more when he rocks up next week.

Having said that, I'd also doubt the Evra photo is recent going by the 10 year old Jersey he has in his hand.

I would assume at this point Lingard/Rashford would be first choice RW, Arnautovic would be more Fellaini replacement as a "Plan B" option with the added ability for the squad to play either wing instead of Martial who is only left wing.

Its far from ideal and I said before horrifically overpriced but I can't see us signing 3 more players (RW, ST & LB) so we need players who can play more than one position. Mandzukic would be a good back up ST but afaik is only LW so wouldn't help us on the RW at all :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Juve will want an initial loan with a €5 million deposit and pay in installments over 6 years. They can feck off the tight fookers. No way will they pay €100 million for him.

I would assume at this point Lingard/Rashford would be first choice RW, Arnautovic would be more Fellaini replacement as a "Plan B" option with the added ability for the squad to play either wing instead of Martial who is only left wing.

Its far from ideal and I said before horrifically overpriced but I can't see us signing 3 more players (RW, ST & LB) so we need players who can play more than one position. Mandzukic would be a good back up ST but afaik is only LW so wouldn't help us on the RW at all :/

Any time rashford has played right wing for us he has failed miserably I don't remember any games standing out where he had an awesome game on the right wing.
    Any time rashford plays well for us it is always cutting in from the left and similar to Jessie playing central or cutting in from the right.

With Valencia more then likely been first choice then we need a proper right winger that can put in crossed and work the right side if the pitch effectively and widen out attack if we don't we will end up same.as this year with six players fighting for space in the centre of our attack and defenders playing narrow to stop is and doing it easily.

paulbok wrote: »
    Non WC players are usually due back the first few days in July, so he has a week to get into shape.
    Don't they also get fined for every lb they are over an allowed weight?
    Unless that photo is a few weeks old, he's just going to pi$$ Jose off more when he rocks up next week.

Having said that, I'd also doubt the Evra photo is recent going by the 10 year old Jersey he has in his hand.

Of course the evra pic isnt recent but it doesnt have the dramatic effect to use a more recent one

Any time rashford has played right wing for us he has failed miserably I don't remember any games standing out where he had an awesome game on the right wing.
    Any time rashford plays well for us it.is always cutting in from the left and similar to Jessie.

With Valencia more then likely been first choice then we need a proper right winger that can put in crossed and work the right side if the pitch effectively and widen out attack if we don't we will end up same.as this year with six players fighting for space in the centre of our attack and defenders playing narrow to stop is and doing it easily.

I agree but can't see us getting both RW and ST, and if we dont get a back up to Lukaku we will be horribly blunt without him and wont even have Fellaini as a Target Man from the bench :/

https://www.instagram.com/p/BkVPg2ahVrq/?hl=en

Ah for fcuk sake. Evra is amazing. Click the link can't embed the yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

If a good fee is agreed then I'd let Martial go to Juve and maybe see about Sandro coming in the other direction.
    That be LB sorted.

I dont see a RB getting signed with Dalot already joining and looks to be one for the future, a proper RW may make a big difference to the right flank.

Arnautovic for 25m would be OK but no way is he worth 50m .He would be a back up player, I'd rather United looked elsewhere for a player to take the pressure off Lukaku.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I will say it is a good thing that Memphis isn't with us, the photo of him having a cigar and a glass of cognac would have dominated the thread :P.

Memphis just carried his team, and not a great one, into the Champions League.

Shaw struggles to get into the squad.

The two would have different levels of leeway given to them.

I agree but can't see us getting both RW and ST, and if we dont get a back up to Lukaku we will be horribly blunt without him and wont even have Fellaini as a Target Man from the bench :/

But if we don't get a right wing we will be blunt with him so right wing is more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

In the current squad - there are many MANY teams that would fecking love to have Martial, Rashford and Sanchez as second choices at Striker.

Yes, it would mean we have to play differently to how Jose likes us booting it to lukaku but maybe that what the manager should look to do rather than spend millions on a big tall guy cause he is big.

In the current squad - there are many MANY teams that would fecking love to have Martial, Rashford and Sanchez as second choices at Striker.

Yes, it would mean we have to play differently to how Jose likes us booting it to lukaku but maybe that what the manager should look to do rather than spend millions on a big tall guy cause he is big.

Meh with the exceptions of City and Leicester most sides play with a tall leading striker. We saw how well crossing balls into Rashford went against Chelsea in the FA Cup.

I thought you were one of the people who wanted both FB's changed no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Meh with the exceptions of City and Leicester most sides play with a tall leading striker. We saw how well crossing balls into Rashford went against Chelsea in the FA Cup.
    Yep - didn't work well. Rashford is not a big tall target man. So play differently.

The issue is not that we play with a big tall striker in Lukaku, the issue (imo) is that needing to spend a wedge on a similar profile striker and not rotating away from Lukaku unless forced points to Jose not being able to work with a different style - which is odd cause that is what he said we did against Everton away when we played Martial up top in arguably our best attacking performance of the season.
    I thought you were one of the people who wanted both FB's changed no?
    ... Yeah. What the F has that got to do with anything?

Are you trying to equate the ability of Rashford and Martial to play a pace, to dribble and to interplay (Rather than Compete for the high ball and knock it on) to the inability of our full backs to offer a wide threat?

Jaysus just saw Godin has a 18m release clause. Some of the release clauses players have is mental. Shame hes 32.

Lord TSC wrote: »

My point was if that photo had of being doing the rounds during Memphis' stay with us. So his performances for Lyon wouldn't have affected peoples opinions.

I get for some stuff like this is a big deal, and the players performances determine how much of a big deal it is for them but I think over in France it's a bit of a cultural differences too.

Like for instance English media jump on players caught smoking. French fans don't really care for that sort of thing. The fans and media can be equally brutal at other aspects and if you aren't playing well, but images of players drinking wine and smoking doesn't generate the same media frenzy like in the UK.

Obviously people who aren't fans of Shaw will pounce all over that piece by the Sun, despite that being weight related not any activites, fair enough. Who am I to say otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

The United youtube account just put this up :)
    Great to see Jessie getting the recognition he deserves after all his hard work.
    Was it Rio that said it yesterday, he's the only player England have capable of playing one touch football, like for his goal yesterday.

Great finish, but fair play to Sterling as well, lovely little ball back around the corner to him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Lord TSC wrote: »

The mad thing is the main defender of Shaw here was actually the worst critic of Memphis and used to give out because Memphis wore a hat or weird outfit and that he should be concentrating on the club...

Double standards indeed