Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

jayo26 wrote: »
    I'd love to be fat like Shaw ;)

100% with you on that. But I'm not a professional athlete, so my fitness goals don't really align with what a professional athlete should be aiming at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Ah no Jayo, you know what I mean. I acknowledged that I'm not a finely chiseled sculpture myself, but I'm not a pro-footballer trying, but failing, to nail down a starting spot at Manchester United.

Shaw looks grand for one of the lads on holiday, but that's not what we're talking about here.

No I actually agree with u for an athlete he ain't peek I was just saying I'd love to be as fat as him haha half serious like lol.

Full agree then, and probably should have mentioned that in my original post.

In my peak fitness, I can only dream of being somewhere on the scale between Fat Anderson and Fat Shaw. I'm not at peak fitness right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

There have been claims that United were offered Griezmann days before he resigned with Atletico.
    Then MEN running again today that Ronaldo will leave Real Madrid this summer with England, France and Italy being possible destinations. They say Woodward has wanted him back at United since he took over his current role.
    Then MEN again claim Woodward has also been dreaming for a long time about bringing Bale back to the Premier League - but here MEN claim that 'sources' in Spain say Real Madrid are determined to hold onto Bale, that Willian looks more realistic than Bale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

RobertKK wrote: »
    There have been claims that United were offered Griezmann days before he resigned with Atletico.
    Then MEN running again today that Ronaldo will leave Real Madrid this summer with England, France and Italy being possible destinations. They say Woodward has wanted him back at United since he took over his current role.
    Then MEN again claim Woodward has also been dreaming for a long time about bringing Bale back to the Premier League - but here MEN claim that 'sources' in Spain say Real Madrid are determined to hold onto Bale, that Willian looks more realistic than Bale.

willian meh

Lingard and Rashford have been excellent for England last few games, even before world cup started...

if we could get proper full backs who could actually cross a ball, wouldnt be bad seeing us play

lukaku

sanchez
    lingard/rashford

pogba
    matic
    fred

new lb----bailly
    jones
    dalot

de gea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,851 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Fat Ronaldo FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

MEN are not a credible source unless there are many others reporting it.

Ronaldo is going nowhere.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

FourFourFM wrote: »
    MEN are not a credible source unless there are many others reporting it.

Ronaldo is going nowhere.

/r/reddevils banned MEN as a source ages ago.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Lord TSC wrote: »
    /r/reddevils banned MEN as a source ages ago.

They have a new journo too who seems to be trying to make a name for himself(build up his followers on twitter) pushing loads of clickbaity United rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Falcao not working out at United was an awful sickener. Up there with the best finishers in recent memory. I really thought we were nailed on for the title with himself and Di Maria coming in. For all Falcao’s failings at United, he always gave it everything, it just never happened for him, can’t say the same for the other lad...

Blame the tactics, style of play.

Falcao lives off chances inside the box. We just didn’t create them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,851 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Blame the tactics, style of play.

Falcao lives off chances inside the box. We just didn’t create them.

Falcao was shíte at Chelsea so this line is rubbish. Simply put not all players can play in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Fcuk sake even on his holidays, Luke Shaw gets bloody hounded. Seriously, who'd want to be a pro-footballer in this day and age when every Tom, Dick or Harry with a smartphone, Twitter account and Wi-Fi or Mobile Data can make snide comments at any time of day or night.

Fair enough he's a United LB, but he's also a 22 year old on insane money a week having a good time after a **** season (partly his own doing/Ashley Young keeping him out of the team, but I digress).

TL;DR 22 year footballer enjoying himself too much, leave him be.

TL;DR #2 Not like it's gonna make much difference to him anyways..Unless something seriously changes over the summer.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Falcao was shíte at Chelsea so this line is rubbish. Simply put not all players can play in England.

Falcao was injured for majority of his time at chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Lithium93_ wrote: »

Fair enough he's a United LB, but he's also a 22 year old on insane money a week having a good time after a **** season (partly his own doing/Ashley Young keeping him out of the team, but I digress).

TL;DR 22 year footballer enjoying himself too much, leave him be.

TL;DR #2 Not like it's gonna make much difference to him anyways..Unless something seriously changes over the summer.

I think that's the point - it underlines Shaw's attitude/motivation. After a poor season not being able to get in the team, missing out on the world cup etc. a lot of players would be making sure they got themselves in a good position to have a better season next year and get back in the England frame etc. maybe doing some extra PT work etc., but at the very least keeping themselves in some kind of shape. Shaw does not seem to care all that much - that's the message it sends out.

These days football is a lot more about performance and nutrition and looking after your body than in the good old days when you might have got away with letting yourself go a bit more. If the world cup was not on, I doubt you would see Rashford getting out of shape over the summer for example.

pjohnson wrote: »

So you’re saying the style of football we played that season suited Falcao?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

So you’re saying the style of football we played that season suited Falcao?

We could have had peak Ronaldo up top and he'd have struggled with the way we played.
    It was head wrecking watching Falcao make clever runs and never getting the ball. Meanwhile we saw Rooney with his aimless floating passes to the right wing while Falcao was wanting a through ball.

https://twitter.com/CheGiaevara/status/1010985197960073218

"Cadena COPE journalist claiming teams such as Man United, Juventus and Roma want Mateo Kovacic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,083 ✭✭✭✭adox

Falcao looked a mile off the pace at Utd. Could have been a hangover from the bad injury he had, who knows, but, imo it wasn’t tactics or our style of play that was down to his massive failure in his time at Utd.

In many ways he was more disappointing than Di Maria. At least with Di Maria we got some really good performances before he decided to down tools.

Anyway nice to see him performing at a high level again. He was so exciting in his time before Utd. But he was utter ****e at Utd in every aspect of his game.

Falcao looked off pace.but he also looked like one of a few players that knew how to fix it. People talk about our attack under Jose but back then the entire team was toxic I think people forget just how bad out team was and team spirit was two year ago.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

https://twitter.com/CheGiaevara/status/1010985197960073218

"Cadena COPE journalist claiming teams such as Man United, Juventus and Roma want Mateo Kovacic"

€50m release clause apparently

Falcao looked off pace.but he also looked like one of a few players that knew how to fix it. People talk about our attack under Jose but back then the entire team was toxic I think people forget just how bad out team was and team spirit was two year ago.

It was an absolute chore watching the team,pass ad infinitum just for the sake of it and the zero risk 'attack' policy if you could call it attack.

astradave wrote: »
    €50m release clause apparently

That's true and an absolute steal at that.

I think that's the point - it underlines Shaw's attitude/motivation. After a poor season not being able to get in the team, missing out on the world cup etc. a lot of players would be making sure they got themselves in a good position to have a better season next year and get back in the England frame etc. maybe doing some extra PT work etc., but at the very least keeping themselves in some kind of shape. Shaw does not seem to care all that much - that's the message it sends out.

These days football is a lot more about performance and nutrition and looking after your body than in the good old days when you might have got away with letting yourself go a bit more. If the world cup was not on, I doubt you would see Rashford getting out of shape over the summer for example.

Rashford and shaw have completely different bodies so thats a pointless argument.

Even when shaw was a starter this season around dec/jan he looked big but he would have very little body fat or he wouldnt be near the man utd team

That's true and an absolute steal at that.

Also a player we dont need.

It was an absolute chore watching the team,pass ad infinitum just for the sake of it and the zero risk 'attack' policy if you could call it attack.

Never forget that November 2 or 3 shots on goal the entire month and one goal scored.

bangkok wrote: »
    Also a player we dont need.

How so? It’s widely known that if Fellaini leaves we will be in the market for a replacement CM.. he’s a cracking box to box player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I was reading Marca English edition and they say Kovacic signed a new deal last year to 2021 and his release clause is €300 million.
    That Real Madrid updated a lot of contracts to to push up the release clauses in light of the higher transfer fees.

astradave wrote: »
    How so? It’s widely known that if Fellaini leaves we will be in the market for a replacement CM.. he’s a cracking box to box player

He is leaving madrid for first team football.. not going to play ahead of matic pogba or fred

bangkok wrote: »
    He is leaving madrid for first team football.. not going to play ahead of matic pogba or fred

So he doesn’t need us you mean? Not we don’t need him..