If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,394 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Was he really raising awareness of mental health, or was he promoting a book?..

Either or both.

Does Jordan Peterson really think things were better in the old days or is he promoting his book? I'm not asking that as a serious question because the interesting this is the contents of Peterson's message, not whether or not he personally and passionately believes all the nostalgia he sells to middle aged men.

Great then if you understand he situation faced by millennials compared to how relatively easy house buying, job stability and retirement prospects were for previous generations. Is it any wonder that some young people enjoy a message that included dealing with young people's issues?

Most ole lads I know were in the building game, were dockers or were taxi drivers. They didn't enjoy job stabiility, many of them spent the 80s in England and retirement was going on job seekers, disability or the widowers pension until they got the actual state pension.

they reckon we have it easy in comparison ;)

I reckon you don't really understand the situation tbh but you swallow the populist horsesh1t happily enough :)

Augeo wrote: »
    Great then if you understand he situation faced by millennials compared to how relatively easy house buying, job stability and retirement prospects were for previous generations. Is it any wonder that some young people enjoy a message that included dealing with young people's issues?

Most ole lads I know were in the building game, were dockers or were taxi drivers. They didn't enjoy job stabiility, many of them spent the 80s in England and retirement was going on job seekers, disability or the widowers pension until they got the actual state pension.

they reckon we have it easy in comparison ;)

I reckon you don't really understand the situation tbh but you swallow the populist horsesh1t happily enough :)

One minute you're a self employed in pensions and know all about the stats re likelihood of home ownership, job stability and retirement prospects for millennials Vs older generations. Then the only old people you know are dockers and hod carriers and the stats are gone out the window. Lol. I can't make you be honest about young people's chances of one ownership etc Vs older generations.

What stats, lash them down for us all to see :)

I never said I was self employed in pensions btw.

Referring to builders and taxi drivers as "hod carriers " is rather derogatory don't you think?

I also said most, not only, as 3rd level education wasn't really common back in the 60s and 70s one is bound to know way more folk who worked as tradesmen or in unskilled manual labour than professionals in the 60/70 year old category nowadays.

Fairly poor comeback there to be honest, I didn't expect better though. Scratch the surface with any BB fanboys and there's very little there usually.

Referring to builders and taxi drivers as "hod carriers " is rather derogatory don't you think?

I also said most, not only, as 3rd level education wasn't really common back in the 60s and 70s one is bound to know way more folk who worked as tradesmen or in unskilled manual labour than professionals in the 60/70 year old category nowadays.

Fairly poor comeback there to be honest, I didn't expect better though. Scratch the surface with any BB fanboys and there's very little there usually.

Grand. You said you were self employed and know. Bout pensions. In which case you must know about the differences between now and previous generations prospects.

So here’s a very recent research by the. UK IFC which outlines some of the differences between old folks likelihood of home ownership compared to older generations. Given the eve increasing lifespan and growing costs of end of life care, I think it’s high time we have a national discussion about this topic.

The healthcare system is under fierce financial pressure and if can’t continue to exist if costs keep escalating.

If someone says they want to live as long as possible, no matter how painful their end of life, then I think we should honour that wish. I’ll happily pay tax to help pay for that if that’s what they want. But I think people should have the choice to slip away before their quality of life deteriorates

https://www.ifs.org.uk/publications/10505

It compares young people under 27 with middle incomes adjusted for inflation etc.

Houses were 150% higher in 2016 than 1996. While incomes for those people have grown only 22% in the same time.

Regional house price to income ratio is much higher for young people than it was 20 years ago making house ownership much less likely.

Home ownership is 33% now compared to 43% 15 years earlier.

Have a read yourself. The numbers are from the uk but the same phenomenon is happening in Ireland.

Grand. You said you were self employed and know know about pensions. In which case you must know about the differences between now and previous generations prospects.

So here’s a very recent research by the UK IFC which outlines some of the differences between young people’s likelihood of home ownership compared to older generations.
    https://www.ifs.org.uk/publications/10505

It compares young people under 27 with middle incomes adjusted for inflation etc.

Houses were 150% higher in 2016 than 1996. While incomes for those people have grown only 22% in the same time.

Regional house price to income ratio is much higher for young people than it was 20 years ago making house ownership much less likely.

Home ownership is 33% now compared to 43% 15 years earlier.

Have a read yourself. The numbers are from the uk but the same phenomenon is happening in Ireland.

So now that you know, what was your point anyway?

My point was......
    He went on a rant once on the Late Late iirc it was on how NONE of his peers or friends in his age group could ever hope to buy a house or have bought a house. Like, FFS, that's complete and utter crap. But loads of folk lapp it up, hence he comes out with it.

He was talking about the lads in Limerick, as he's a well educated chap I reckon lots of his peers did the ole LC etc and have bought property but that woildn't suit the populist horsesh1t lapper uppers so he tells fibs to get likes :)

My point was......
    He went on a rant once on the Late Late iirc it was on how NONE of his peers or friends in his age group could ever hope to buy a house or have bought a house. Like, FFS, that's complete and utter crap. But loads of folk lapp it up, hence he comes out with it.

He was talking about the lads in Limerick, as he's a well educated chap I reckon lots of his peers did the ole LC etc and have bought property but that woildn't suit the populist horsesh1t lapper uppers so he tells fibs to get likes :)

So he exaggerated the fact that young people today are less likely to be able to buy a house than older generations. The fact that wages are falling relative to house prices and young people today will expect to be less wealthy, work less secure jobs, work later into life before retiring and have a much reduced pension. You’d be waiting for the older generations to bring it up. You also be waiting for the politicians to address it - even if those politicians are wearing suits which are oh so impressive to some.

He exaggerated the point but at least he talked about it. Old folk don’t care about that type of thing because it doesn’t affect them.

My point was......

I looked up the ll show to see what he actually said. You didn’t recall correctly. He didn’t say all his friends can’t afford houses. He was asked which generation he’s from and he described his generation. He said he’s from the generation who can’t afford to buy houses. Can’t afford to have children. The generation who’s either leaving the country or jumping in rivers.

Look it up. Given that it’s describing a generation, it’s actually a fair description. I haven’t thrown myself into a river but the other 3 apply to me.

So you call it populist horsesh1te, but it’s actually a fair description of me. So if he stands or falls by the accuracy of his speech, then he’s on the money with that particle statement.

You brought it up as an example of the populist horsesh1t BB talks. And it turned out you misquoted him and he was actually right in what he said. Poor example for you to use, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,061 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I think this is a case in point regarding their hypocrisy, showing them up to be inconsistent attention seekers.

https://mobile.twitter.com/Rubberbandits/status/1004420985951580162

They complain about this, which seems to be a joke about the British more than us.
    It just happens to be a bit crap.

Compare and contrast to when Channel 4 wanted to make a famine themed comedy to a Britain, largely aphasic of their own history, some Irish people ridiculed the idea as stupid, puerile and ignorant.

https://mobile.twitter.com/rubberbandits/status/550738716378284034?lang=en

They get hammered in the twitter replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,275 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Erm...

Your comparison is terrible tbh.

Famine !..... Not funny and rightly hammered.

How did you even come to the equivalence

The rubberbandits were supporting the "art" of a British Irish famine comedy 2 years ago.

But yet now, they are complaining about an innocuous comedy skit which hurt their feelings.

I'm pointing out their hypocrisy.

Read the tweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

The rubberbandits were supporting the "art" of a British Irish famine comedy 2 years ago.

But yet now, they are complaining about an innocuous comedy skit which hurt their feelings.

Read the tweets.

I'm a fan of blindboy, but I agree with this guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Either or both.

Does Jordan Peterson really think things were better in the old days or is he promoting his book? I'm not asking that as a serious question because the interesting this is the contents of Peterson's message, not whether or not he personally and passionately believes all the nostalgia he sells to middle aged men.

You've clearly never read or listened to Peterson if you think that's what he's doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Read the tweets.

You're not pointing out hypocrisy at all. Unlike the famine sitcom, that Tracey Ullman sketch actually exists. They're not complaining about its right to exist; they're criticising it because it's a pile of ahistorical shite that would have benefited from the input of someone who wasn't ignorant of Irish history.

Maybe you've got 'hypocrisy' mixed up with some other word, I don't know.

You're not pointing out hypocrisy at all. Unlike the famine sitcom, that Tracey Ullman sketch actually exists. They're not complaining about its right to exist; they're criticising it because it's a pile of ahistorical shite that would have benefited from the input of someone who wasn't ignorant of Irish history.

But the rubberbandits supported its existence, the idea of it, and then complained about this other sketch.
    You're just coming up with an excuse.

I'm afraid they knew they were caught out that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭aqn29swlgbmiu4

I looked up the ll show to see what he actually said. You didn’t recall correctly. He didn’t say all his friends can’t afford houses. He was asked which generation he’s from and he described his generation. He said he’s from the generation who can’t afford to buy houses. Can’t afford to have children. The generation who’s either leaving the country or jumping in rivers.

I can't afford to buy a house.
    I can't afford to have children.
    I've left the country 3 times to find a better life.
    I've jumped into rivers and overdosed repeatedly but can't get that right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭aqn29swlgbmiu4

Either or both.

He doesn't sell nostalgia at all. He actually put up something on twitter about that recently
    https://twitter.com/jordanbpeterson/status/1005606983678996480

Look it up. Given that it’s describing a generation, it’s actually a fair description. I haven’t thrown myself into a river but the other 3 apply to me.

So you call it populist horsesh1te, but it’s actually a fair description of me. So if he stands or falls by the accuracy of his speech, then he’s on the money with that particle statement.

You brought it up as an example of the populist horsesh1t BB talks. And it turned out you misquoted him and he was actually right in what he said. Poor example for you to use, eh?

He specifically said none of his friends or peers have or can buy. If you went to the trouble if looking it up you could at least watch the fncking thing properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

But the rubberbandits supported its existence, the idea of it, and then complained about this other sketch.
    You're just coming up with an excuse.

I'm afraid they knew they were caught out that time.

They complained about the actual content of a sketch which had already been made. The people who complained about a sitcom set during the famine were complaining about the very idea of it being made in the first place, without knowing anything about its content. There's a huge difference.

He specifically said none of his friends or peers have or can buy. If you went to the trouble if looking it up you could at least watch the fncking thing properly.

I looked at this clip. https://youtu.be/2v1kuaWCj1U

Which bit are you referring to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

There’s no way a comedy about the famine would have been historically accurate. Unless you think people dying in ditches is funny.

You reckon he only spoke for two minutes? The personal speel on his friends & peers struggles was before the infamous / load of w@nk "my generation" speel.

To be fair there's another of his die hard fans about who claims to know him & he alleged that none of his friends/peers could but a house. Horsesh1t but at least not refuting he said it :)
    In that segment he couldn't or wouldn't actually say what generation he was on about...just fookers with limited cash

I'm in his generation.... worked through the recession, paid my bills.... the fooker thinks the likes of me (the majority) don't exist.

Pretty high & mighty if you accusing me of misquoting someone when you've just looked up a 2 min clip ?

Tut tut

First time seeing that.
    Good lord, what a load of boll*x he talks.

First time seeing that.

The stuff in the lead up to that speel was as bad.

I am somewhere about his generation Id say.

I have had far greater opportunities in my life than either my parents or grandparents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

First time seeing that.

You can't say that about the Spokesman for a Generation™ :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

He’s taking a bit of flack on Twitter over his comments on the death of XXXTentacion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

He’s taking a bit of flack on Twitter over his comments on the death of XXXTentacion.

This 20 year old bloke has hardly made it to the morgue and someone's already Tweeted "fúck him". Jaysus...

https://twitter.com/saverickandroll/status/1008833211215081478