Royal visit Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

Madagascan wrote: »
    Maybe there should be another purge of those pest Prods that live there.
    You know like the good old days.

Don't be so bloody ignorant,if you knew any Irish history you'd understand that dissenters were the mainstay of the 98 rebellion etc,all educated leaders were not if the r,c, faith

Heaven forbid we try to foster better relations between the two countries from hereon in. I mean, why bother when we can just keep the old hatreds alive, eh?

Heaven forbid we forget bloody Sunday,as a Corkman who lived in Derry for over 20 years I for one won't,so relations won't get better until bloody Sunday is publicly apologised for by the parachute regiment who is the big eared boy himself Charlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think they went overboard:

c8a281b330778fc638184e78a25a9d0f--union-jack-jack-oconnell.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Guillotine all royals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Strazdas wrote: »
    The armchair republicans of Ireland would love to have the "war" back on and the bombs going off again. They're not into this peace process malarkey.

You don't hear Charles rattling on about how they blew his granduncle up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

You don't hear Charles rattling on about how they blew his granduncle up...

Yeah, ruined my fckin birthday party it did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Seeing the photos of Prince Charles makes me feel very very old.

When we were at "smalls school" in England, the royals were at the centre of our universe. We had books of photos of Charles and Ann as they grew; every detail , every detail of their lives was ours.

And now we and he are old.

Going back to bed!

Wish though I could be to Muckross..Sad now... really sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Precisely, because Major's government depended on Trimble's UUP votes to stay in power and therefore insisted upon "clarification" and then "decommissioning" as a means to stop the Peace Process which Unionists were firmly against for obvious reasons. The British government put its own survival in power over supporting the Peace Process.

Having been on ceasefire since August 1994 and met with only "No!" to all requests for talks, the Canary Wharf Bombing which ended the 1994 Ceasefire in February 1996 was long overdue. And IRA violence worked where the IRA ceasefire utterly failed: as a direct result of Canary Wharf Major finally announced that he'd agree to talks with Sinn Féin without preconditions.

good to know that you think the death of two innocent civilians and the permanent injuries to many more was "long overdue".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

They can call us Jackeens if it makes them feel better.

You know what's going to happen when the boot is on the other foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

They could’ve been masturbating before they shook your hand.

Cork really is the soup slurper county.

A wanker in Cork? Surely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Wouldn't go to see them if across the road but have no real issue with them
    visiting given its all about diplomacy and normalising relations.

However am completely against the whole monarchy concept and it's little wonder British society is so divided given who is in theory top of the chain even if toothless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

They can call us Jackeens if it makes them feel better.

You know what's going to happen when the boot is on the other foot.

Was just gonna say, some cheek to call us Jackeens!

Also, wasn't the Rebel county thing about the fact they supported Perkin? Nothing to do with the war of Independence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I think they went overboard:

c8a281b330778fc638184e78a25a9d0f--union-jack-jack-oconnell.jpg

When Ted said he wanted it blown up 10 by 10, I think he meant inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Strazdas wrote: »
    The armchair republicans of Ireland would love to have the "war" back on and the bombs going off again. They're not into this peace process malarkey.

The local Shinners used to (or might still do) a march up in Knocka.

Me mam always said that she'd love to go out and pop a balloon as they marched up past Harbour View Road. She said there would be a fierce scatter altogether from these 'hard' men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

So a GAA-obsessed guy and a dedicated IRA-supporter start a thread about how they can't understand why Irish people want to live in the 21st century and behave in a civilised manner with our nearest neighbour.

What do you think the response from irish people should be? - throw our own feces at them? I'd actually imagine at least one of you would be in favour of that.

There really should be a "1970's retarded bogger" forum where certain "people" with certain "views" can spew all the hatred and bull**** they want, and leave the rest of us alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ush1 wrote: »
    Also, wasn't the Rebel county thing about the fact they supported Perkin?

It was.

It's funny when the 'RA heads get so pent up about this, when it doesn't agree with their narrative of how Irish people should be. :D

Most people have moved on, thankfully. They don't want to go back to the bad old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Rebel county me hole!

Larry Sands must be spinning in his grave.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Kind of conflicted about it. On the one hand, glad to see friendliness between the two nations, we've moved on and thank Christ. Don't really care about the royals but no bad feelings towards them.

On the other hand, I work in the English Market and it was such a pain in the hole. Garda vetting, deep cleaning, needed photo id to get in yesterday (I actually took the day off and let my colleague who was very interested take the shift).

So, swings and roundabouts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Great to see our Royal Family visiting the Republic. Good to see the respect they received by the fantastic Cork people.

It's a bit of a coincidence that the week they visit is the same week the Government commits to continuing to try to get the British torture of the Hooded Men recognised.. a lot of the 'moving on' being done is just turning a blind eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Don't mention the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Is that the Hi-B in the background?

You obviously don't know Cork very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Really lads? They were kids ffs, excited about meeting someone famous.

Are you really surprised? This place is a platform for angry hermit folk. Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,987 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Kind of conflicted about it. On the one hand, glad to see friendliness between the two nations, we've moved on and thank Christ. Don't really care about the royals but no bad feelings towards them.

On the other hand, I work in the English Market and it was such a pain in the hole. Garda vetting, deep cleaning, needed photo id to get in yesterday (I actually took the day off and let my colleague who was very interested take the shift).

Is that you Mairead? :p

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I would have thought both the Queen and now Prince Charles visiting the English Market is fantastic publicity for the market as a place to visit. I'd never even heard of the place prior to the Queen visiting there in 2011, but then it went viral with all the photos and videos and especially of the Queen with the fishmonger guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The only hope I have is that Prince Charles at nearly 70 will outive that crazy aged mother of his and take his place in history as King Charles III.

He's a good guy, Charles. Raised those boys very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

The whole Royal family thing is a bit mad in this day and age all the same...the lunatics think they have blue blood!

They didn't meet a load of Cork people or Kerry people or even Irish people, as far as they are concerned they met a load of commoners like they do every day....

Their importance, like the Kardashians, exists only in media, and in the minds of simple folk...I suppose commoners isn't a bad description really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

The really sad thing is what a waste of money it was. To see the folks stuck on a bed in hallways looking for treatment in the CUH and the likes is awful.

The only **** are the ones who asked them over. Fair enough if they came themselfs, it wouldn't bother me as much.

Also to ask O'L Charlie with his past in the north was low. Why not ask the younger royals and start a clean slate?

To finish up, He would hardly say hi to the locals nor smile and ill keep this short The biggest Langher was the guy in the market again.(You know the fella)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,361 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Rebel county my ar$e.

They love the British royals down there so they do.