Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal visit Cork

• 14-06-2018 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭

Rt&#233 wrote: »
    Screaming crowd in background
    A royal welcome in Cork! (Like she’s just won the Euromillions) for the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall.
    Girl 1: And I shuck his hand and her hand
    Girl 2: she’s never going to wash her hand
    Girl 1 I’m never going to wash my hands again.

They could’ve been masturbating before they shook your hand.

Cork really is the soup slurper county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Rebel county me hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

It's hard to tell who is more inbred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

The entirety of Cork bar the public services are against todays visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

They're heading to Kerry tomorrow.
    D'you think they're going to meet the Healy Rae's???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Really lads? They were kids ffs, excited about meeting someone famous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I was supposed to go into town today but then i remembered that this visit was on so i stayed home. Helicopters were circling most of the day oh and by the way the girl who said those things was only a young primary school girl. I say that as a person who doesn't care about the Royals or any celebrities for that matter. I couldn't cared less and just stayed out of the way anyone else can make their own mind up on what they wanted to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Did they have a nice time?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

There was no one there bar a few buses of school children brought in. Can't believe they put the whole city on lockdown for this sh1te.

Picture here from South Mall. The Street next to where they were headed. His car is in this photo. There was almost nobody there to see it.
    https://m.imgur.com/tAAFkRh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I think it went something like this

Rebel county me hole!

:D:D:D

Queen+Elizabeth+II+Historic+Visit+Ireland+NCKroKa8nk7l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Omackeral wrote: »

Is that the Hi-B in the background?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Shure they were probably all blow ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Theyll get a nasty fright when they see the prices in the English Market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

A massive crowd came out for it.

6jhz0j.jpg
    taafkrh.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

Omackeral wrote: »

Of course there's no chance at all that any British people live in the county or visited from elsewhere for the occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,045 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

To be fair... there's a much better chance that the cork girls were giving hand shandy's than Camilla before they all shook hands

Pretty sick comment to be fair given that they are kids of about 11 or 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭corks finest

As a Corkman I'm ashamed of the locals who turned out and the general fawning of the o/c of the parachute regiment who massacred so many in Derry,lest we forget,rebel cork my arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,553 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Wonder if they're on the tear in Reardons tonight?

To thine own self be true

Rebel county me hole!

As a Corkman who is disgusted at those who turned out to greet them ppl,on the other hand bravo to the so called dissidents who turned out last night in castlelyons in memory of the Granny brothers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Wonder if they're on the tear in Reardons tonight?

Where is that? Never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Madagascan

As a Corkman I'm ashamed of the locals who turned out and the general fawning of the o/c of the parachute regiment who massacred so many in Derry,lest we forget,rebel cork my arse
    Maybe there should be another purge of those pest Prods that live there.
    You know like the good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,074 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Fair play to the three of them, that's the right spirit

https://twitter.com/MaryLouMcDonald/status/1007349910574911490

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

Heaven forbid we try to foster better relations between the two countries from hereon in. I mean, why bother when we can just keep the old hatreds alive, eh?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Of course they are :pac:

Heaven forbid we try to foster better relations between the two countries from hereon in. I mean, why bother when we can just keep the old hatreds alive, eh?

The armchair republicans of Ireland would love to have the "war" back on and the bombs going off again. They're not into this peace process malarkey.

Madagascan wrote: »

Ha. Ha. Something distinctly, eh, Sticky about that "history". Is that you, Eoghan Harris? Or Gerry Gregg?

Strazdas wrote: »
    The armchair republicans of Ireland would love to have the "war" back on and the bombs going off again. They're not into this peace process malarkey.

Given that by any standards it was the Unionists and West Brits in the Sunday Independent and John Bruton's Fine Gael who were screaming "No!" and putting up a huge raft of obstacles to peace at all stages until 1998/2003/2006, while republicans were pushing the peace process from Hume-Adams in 1988 on, that's a stunningly impressive piece of historical revisionism on your part.

The IRA were still more than active in the period 1988-96. The Canary Wharf bombing in February 1996 which killed two innocent people was seen as a tactical manoeuvre by Sinn Fein and the IRA and designed to move negotiations along.

Fair play to Prince Charles btw for having a private meeting with the two Sinn Fein leaders (and to them in return). It's more than welcome.

The IRA were still more than active in the period 1988-96. The Canary Wharf bombing in February 1996 which killed two innocent people was seen as a tactical manoeuvre by Sinn Fein and the IRA and designed to move negotiations along.

Precisely, because Major's government depended on Trimble's UUP votes to stay in power and therefore insisted upon "clarification" and then "decommissioning" as a means to stop the Peace Process which Unionists were firmly against for obvious reasons. The British government put its own survival in power over supporting the Peace Process.

Having been on ceasefire since August 1994 and met with only "No!" to all requests for talks, the Canary Wharf Bombing which ended the 1994 Ceasefire in February 1996 was long overdue. And IRA violence worked where the IRA ceasefire utterly failed: as a direct result of Canary Wharf Major finally announced that he'd agree to talks with Sinn Féin without preconditions.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Who really cares about this royal visit to Cork? If some locals want to meet and greet Charles and Camilla, than so what? Why do the armchair republicans, stuck in their hatreds and in circa 1975, get so het up about this?

We have moved on. The Queens visit proved that beyond a doubt. I personally have little time for the royal family but I’m not going to get foaming at the mouth about a minor royal visit here.

After hours - the forum beloved of the trolls, the bigots, the racists, women haters, homophobes, headcases and just general angry saddos who feel the need to spew their ignorant opinions on everything and who really need to get a life...

Madagascan wrote: »

Don't be so bloody ignorant,if you knew any Irish history you'd understand that dissenters were the mainstay of the 98 rebellion etc,all educated leaders were not if the r,c, faith

Heaven forbid we forget bloody Sunday,as a Corkman who lived in Derry for over 20 years I for one won't,so relations won't get better until bloody Sunday is publicly apologised for by the parachute regiment who is the big eared boy himself Charlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I think they went overboard:

c8a281b330778fc638184e78a25a9d0f--union-jack-jack-oconnell.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Guillotine all royals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,974 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You don't hear Charles rattling on about how they blew his granduncle up...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

You don't hear Charles rattling on about how they blew his granduncle up...

Yeah, ruined my fckin birthday party it did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Seeing the photos of Prince Charles makes me feel very very old.

When we were at "smalls school" in England, the royals were at the centre of our universe. We had books of photos of Charles and Ann as they grew; every detail , every detail of their lives was ours.

And now we and he are old.

Going back to bed!

Wish though I could be to Muckross..Sad now... really sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,822 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Precisely, because Major's government depended on Trimble's UUP votes to stay in power and therefore insisted upon "clarification" and then "decommissioning" as a means to stop the Peace Process which Unionists were firmly against for obvious reasons. The British government put its own survival in power over supporting the Peace Process.

Having been on ceasefire since August 1994 and met with only "No!" to all requests for talks, the Canary Wharf Bombing which ended the 1994 Ceasefire in February 1996 was long overdue. And IRA violence worked where the IRA ceasefire utterly failed: as a direct result of Canary Wharf Major finally announced that he'd agree to talks with Sinn Féin without preconditions.

good to know that you think the death of two innocent civilians and the permanent injuries to many more was "long overdue".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

They can call us Jackeens if it makes them feel better.

You know what's going to happen when the boot is on the other foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

A wanker in Cork? Surely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Wouldn't go to see them if across the road but have no real issue with them
    visiting given its all about diplomacy and normalising relations.

However am completely against the whole monarchy concept and it's little wonder British society is so divided given who is in theory top of the chain even if toothless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

They can call us Jackeens if it makes them feel better.

You know what's going to happen when the boot is on the other foot.

Was just gonna say, some cheek to call us Jackeens!

Also, wasn't the Rebel county thing about the fact they supported Perkin? Nothing to do with the war of Independence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I think they went overboard:

c8a281b330778fc638184e78a25a9d0f--union-jack-jack-oconnell.jpg

When Ted said he wanted it blown up 10 by 10, I think he meant inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭valoren

The local Shinners used to (or might still do) a march up in Knocka.

Me mam always said that she'd love to go out and pop a balloon as they marched up past Harbour View Road. She said there would be a fierce scatter altogether from these 'hard' men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

So a GAA-obsessed guy and a dedicated IRA-supporter start a thread about how they can't understand why Irish people want to live in the 21st century and behave in a civilised manner with our nearest neighbour.

What do you think the response from irish people should be? - throw our own feces at them? I'd actually imagine at least one of you would be in favour of that.

There really should be a "1970's retarded bogger" forum where certain "people" with certain "views" can spew all the hatred and bull**** they want, and leave the rest of us alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,974 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ush1 wrote: »
    Also, wasn't the Rebel county thing about the fact they supported Perkin?

It was.

It's funny when the 'RA heads get so pent up about this, when it doesn't agree with their narrative of how Irish people should be. :D

Most people have moved on, thankfully. They don't want to go back to the bad old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Rebel county me hole!

Larry Sands must be spinning in his grave.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Kind of conflicted about it. On the one hand, glad to see friendliness between the two nations, we've moved on and thank Christ. Don't really care about the royals but no bad feelings towards them.

On the other hand, I work in the English Market and it was such a pain in the hole. Garda vetting, deep cleaning, needed photo id to get in yesterday (I actually took the day off and let my colleague who was very interested take the shift).

So, swings and roundabouts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Great to see our Royal Family visiting the Republic. Good to see the respect they received by the fantastic Cork people.