Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machete murder in Cork

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The use of a machete is very personal.

A lot can go wrong. The person may not die, fight back, blood, very messy job, DNA etc. This is not a usual MO you find in Ireland viz. gun drive by. whereas machetes are used quite a lot in Africa and South America.

Very peculiar but whatever the victim was up to he clearly pissed off some peeps.

Only if they really were trying to murder him.. violent assaults with knives and bars were used by the likes of the Westies for intimidation and torture of addicts who couldn't pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Only if they really were trying to murder him.. violent assaults with knives and bars were used by the likes of the Westies for intimidation and torture of addicts who couldn't pay.

Another point is that 4 turned up. That would appear a tad excessive for a hit. Expecting a fight rather than a straight up kill?

Obviously we are just speculating but surely if you are setting out to kill someone, you keep it as simple as possible and using a very messy MO is peculiar. There are 4 people out there now wanted for murder. That's a lot to cover up.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,410 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Another point is that 4 turned up. That would appear a tad excessive for a hit. Expecting a fight rather than a straight up kill?

Obviously we are just speculating but surely if you are setting out to kill someone, you keep it as simple as possible and using a very messy MO is peculiar. There are 4 people out there now wanted for murder. That's a lot to cover up.

Who brings machete's to a fight?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

0032345_450.jpg?z=1495607518
    Not a million miles from a machete

kneemos wrote: »
    Who brings machete's to a fight?

This was just 2 weeks ago
    A man is fighting for his life after an apparent machete attack left him with severe head injuries.

Four men were arrested after gardai were called to the scene in the Ninth Lock area of Clondalkin, west Dublin at around 7.10pm.

It's understood a man was hit with a machete, a type of large blade. He has since been taken to hospital, while gardai said they found the four men in a car close to the scene, Dublin Live reports .

They said: "Gardai have arrested four men, following an assault on a man in his 20s at a filling station on the 9th Lock Road in Clondalkin, on 31st May 2018 at 7.10pm.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/man-fighting-life-four-arrested-12629865

2 months ago
    A man is in a serious condition after being attacked with a machete on a busy street in Co Meath.

The victim is in his 20s and was assaulted on Killegland Street, Ashbourne, at 11.20am on Monday morning. He was attacked by a man who emerged from a silver Volkswagen Golf car and chased him down the street.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/assailant-attacks-man-with-machete-in-ashbourne-1.3471795

• Registered Users Posts: 16,388 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    What could be the motive? Undercutting the locals in the landscape business would hardly be it?
    My guess is that some sort of minor dispute escalated into this deplorable murder.

This lad was Polish, looked like he could handle himself and wasn't the sort of person who would be easily intimidated. Perhaps he got into an altercation with a person of a certain cultural community, and it ended with the Polish fella busting him up. Maybe the person of the aforementioned cultural community didn't take it lightly, perhaps he was well connected with his community and decided to take revenge. The Polish man just might not have realised who he was dealing with.

My guess is that some sort of minor dispute escalated into this deplorable murder.

This lad was Polish, looked like he could handle himself and wasn't the sort of person who would be easily intimidated. Perhaps he got into an altercation with a person of a certain cultural community, and it ended with the Polish fella busting him up. Maybe the person of the aforementioned cultural community didn't take it lightly, perhaps he was well connected with his community and decided to take revenge. The Polish man just might not have realised who he was dealing with.
    Ah c'mon, you don't have to be a traveller to do get a gang of mates together to go beat some one up after an altercation, there are plenty of settled scumbags who have done it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭enricoh

Read there in the news they reckon it was East European gang, commando style operation. They seem to have taken over the market near me in cannabis growhouses, could it be possible linked? Was a big issue here years ago of extortion by eastern Europeans on eastern Europeans, having to pay so much a week out of your wages, Know a lad who got absolutely battered.
    ://www.thesun.ie/news/2698403/mikolaj-wilk-murder-ballincollig-cork-garda-probe-latest/

• Registered Users Posts: 16,388 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Ah c'mon, you don't have to be a traveller to do get a gang of mates together to go beat some one up after an altercation, there are plenty of settled scumbags who have done it too.
    Seems unlikely that a Polish fella living in a quiet area of Cork is going to get involved with a settled gang to such an extent that four of them would murder him with machete's.

I suppose it will all come out soon enough.

Seems unlikely that a Polish fella living in a quiet area of Cork is going to get involved with a settled gang to such an extent that four of them would murder him with machete's.

I suppose it will all come out soon enough.

Who knows what could have happened on a night out and someone said the wrong thing to the wrong person, remember the 2 poor Polish lads who got stabbed in the head with a screwdriver just because they wouldn't buy beer for some kids?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

An Eastern European gang would have just have put a bullet in his head

Machetes meat cleavers slash hooks are the trade marks of the savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

enricoh wrote: »
    Read there in the news they reckon it was East European gang, commando style operation. They seem to have taken over the market near me in cannabis growhouses, could it be possible linked? Was a big issue here years ago of extortion by eastern Europeans on eastern Europeans, having to pay so much a week out of your wages, Know a lad who got absolutely battered.
    ://www.thesun.ie/news/2698403/mikolaj-wilk-murder-ballincollig-cork-garda-probe-latest/

They had Cork accents

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Wailin

Wrong. Gardai confirmed they were Irish, not foreign.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Can't see organised crime killing someone over missing out on garden maintenance jobs

Nothing organised about it

Just roaring and shouting around the camp fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

So, imagine people want to get a job done on their garden - they could choose "The wanderers" ... but they want a good job, they don't want to hand over €750 for a big hole in their garden and lots of broken pallets just thrown about the place + the possibility items being stolen - for them to run off with the money - so they call a competent gardening company that will do the job and accept payment after said job was done.

However "The wanderers" don't like their stealing site business patch taken from them - so they react with violence.

But I don't know, I'm just speculating here.

Wailin wrote: »
    Wrong. Gardai confirmed they were Irish, not foreign.

Gardai believe the brutes who descended on their isolated home in Ballincollig, Co Cork were foreign given the level of ­violence and ­precision involved in the murder.
    That's from todays paper

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Wailin

Gardai believe the brutes who descended on their isolated home in Ballincollig, Co Cork were foreign given the level of ­violence and ­precision involved in the murder.
    That's from todays paper

Gardaí believe machete killers are Irish as they renew appeal for information over murder http://jrnl.ie/4067253

And as already stated, they had cork accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Can we stop using the term "pole" to describe this poor guy? He's dead ffs...

The sick thing about this is that the scumbags who killed him will get a very light sentence in comparison. Life should mean life in these cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,047 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Can we stop using the term "pole" to describe this poor guy? He's dead ffs...

The sick thing about this is that the scumbags who killed him will get a very light sentence in comparison. Life should mean life in these cases.

Totally agree.

It's a shocking murder.

But somthing not right about it either. Went very quiet for couple of days. Could be for any reason I'm no expert just seemed bit strange

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭2forjoy

The culprits need to be rounded up as soon as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

That's from todays paper

Total fabrication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

This whole accent thing is nonsense. I know Polish and Lithuanian people who sound more from Cork than me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Totally agree.

It's a shocking murder.

But somthing not right about it either. Went very quiet for couple of days. Could be for any reason I'm no expert just seemed bit strange

We have become so accustomed to mother these days that it moves onto the next one so quick.

What about that poor innocent lad shot dead in Pete Taylor’s gym last week?

Already forgotten.

Ireland is now a cesspit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

nice bit of an aul machete

• Registered Users Posts: 18,065 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    This whole accent thing is nonsense. I know Polish and Lithuanian people who sound more from Cork than me.

Hard to believe the murderers could be Polish or Lithuanian. That poor man's wife would surely recognise a Polish accent or would have heard the Polish language spoken in the middle of a violent and murderous attack by four men.....the attack must have gone on for several minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Strazdas wrote: »
    Hard to believe the murderers could be Polish or Lithuanian. That poor man's wife would surely recognise a Polish accent or would have heard the Polish language spoken in the middle of a violent and murderous attack by four men.....the attack must have gone on for several minutes.

10 minutes sustained attack they said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

There's a name going around. Fella who got done trying to import RPGs for the Dundons. Originally from Cobh, moved to Ballincollig.

Brae100 wrote: »
    There's a name going around. Fella who got done trying to import RPGs for the Dundons. Originally from Cobh, moved to Ballincollig.

The link to that case was given somewhere earlier in this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 18,065 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

10 minutes sustained attack they said

And according to the reports, the killers were speaking (or screaming or whatever) in English. If she says they sounded like Irishmen or locals, we can believe her. Four Polish men wearing masks would hardly be able to conceal the fact that they were Polish from a Polish woman and native speaker.

Total fabrication.

Total fabrication by me or the cops? It's in yesterday's sun so take it up with the cops Franz, good chap