Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭threetrees

Compo Pete. I love it.

I think I spotted Zoe in a Vodafone ad. She's gone from the Galapagos to the Gaeltacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,493 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

threetrees wrote: »
    Compo Pete. I love it.

It would be cool if he got caught out on Insurance fraud and he had to spend all of Dolores's money to pay it back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I like Pete but he's letting me down, why oh why would he hand Jane (a employee) a letter for a rental increase for another business?!?...... Paul and his laptop in the Bistro, ha! Who carrys a laptop around nowadays ?.. Maybe MsWesterosi Ma does.. :) ... No offense MsWesterosi. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Every scene that he is in Ray is eating or drinking coffee, it was bloody annoying having to look at him during the card game shovelling food into his gob and trying to talk at the same time.

I think he looks well. Seems like he's lost some weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Sash and Dean would make a good couple.

Were they a thing before around the time the doctor also liked her :confused:

What's the deal with Sexy Cop and Spallan?... Spallan looked shaken when Sexy Cop mentioned something about him being a informer... I think Steve is straight and can't touch Spallan because he is an informer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

So, 18 years later, Snarler Carol still dining out on Billy Meehan. FFS, are they actually serious, not even the mafia would have that many connections to one single man and if they wanted her dead they would have done it long ago. To ruin Cathals characters by associating him as an informant connected to Meehan is just pathetic.

Gangsters moll again eh...

in-room-really-ineresting-interior-mean-girls-thats-interesting-gifstyle-really-ineresting-decorations-oh-really

Yeah have to agree. The character is just a joke at this stage.

Smoke a fag, act snarky, smoke a fag, act snarky while mentioning her gangland connections, smoke a fag again

EnMarche! wrote: »
    Cathal as an informant is pretty stupid but whatever. My real question is how Cathal Spillane is the son of Flynn? Should he not have the same last name as his father? Or am I confused.
    Also since when did Sash stop being a lesbian?

Spillane could be his mam's name

I think Yates is also Flynn's son

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Spillane could be his mam's name

I think Yates is also Flynn's son

I think Sexy Cop might be Carol's brother... :eek:

I hate Malanie, what a bitch, hope she's deported, tomorrow.

When did John and Ray move in with Leo, did Mondo kick them out?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    When did John and Ray move in with Leo, did Mondo kick them out?

I remember there was a lot of messing ages ago about hi wanting to make a home for Juliette or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I remember there was a lot of messing ages ago about hi wanting to make a home for Juliette or something!

Now that you mentioned her, where is Juliette?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Now that you mentioned her, where is Juliette?

I thought she was the same age as Alex!
    Maybe she got a modeling job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Every scene that he is in Ray is eating or drinking coffee, it was bloody annoying having to look at him during the card game shovelling food into his gob and trying to talk at the same time.

Only David Jason can carry that off. He's a legend with food and drink as props.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,766 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

threetrees wrote: »
    Compo Pete. I love it.

I think I spotted Zoe in a Vodafone ad. She's gone from the Galapagos to the Gaeltacht.

You're right, that's her at 0.08 here (I barely even recognised her).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

That’s 100% not her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭TacoMan

It 100% is her.

Also, for a bonus, the mother used to be Fiona in Fair City, dancing the dance with Paul Brennan back in the day.

youwould wrote: »
    Does Pete still work in the community centre?

Stop asking reasonable questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

sligojoek wrote: »
    Only David Jason can carry that off. He's a legend with food and drink as props.

Not to mention one of the best poker scenes of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

Did ye see this??  "The review found that each episode of Fair City filmed in 2016 cost €53,500 to produce. RTE broadcast 200 episode of the popular soap, meaning the total bill for the year was €10.7m."
    https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/mystery-presenter-joins-rte-big-earners-on-over-300000-pay-37009886.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭com1

chuckles30 wrote: »
    Did ye see this?? "The review found that each episode of Fair City filmed in 2016 cost €53,500 to produce. RTE broadcast 200 episode of the popular soap, meaning the total bill for the year was €10.7m."
    https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/mystery-presenter-joins-rte-big-earners-on-over-300000-pay-37009886.html

Any analysis of the revenue it generates? you know, from sponsorship, ad sales, selling it to other broadcasters? Just wondering what the net cost is, is all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

TacoMan wrote:
    Also, for a bonus, the mother used to be Fiona in Fair City, dancing the dance with Paul Brennan back in the day.

Thank you. It was driving me mad trying to think where I recognised her from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,766 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

dalyboy wrote: »
    That’s 100% not her.

It is, she's clearly changed a lot since we last saw her though

TacoMan wrote: »

Didn't she kill her rich husband and somehow try to implicate Dr. Brendan? They owned some garages or something and Paul was trying to do business with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Fair City has had its day. If you don't watch it for a few episodes, you see how corny the story lines are. Time to pack it in.

chuckles30 wrote: »
    Did ye see this??  "The review found that each episode of Fair City filmed in 2016 cost €53,500 to produce. RTE broadcast 200 episode of the popular soap, meaning the total bill for the year was €10.7m."

I would bet most of it is obsene wages for production workers, writers and all that remember teh RTE whistle blower last year detailing all the waste and RTE made a balls up by saying we'll catch and punish this individual rather than denying all the waste absolutely disconnected from the real world

Most of the actors earn a pittance tbf from a few articles I read. The one that plays Caoimhe said most have some sort of normal part time job to try and keep going

I'd believe it as RTE seem to have only X amount of actors on a particular rotation at a time

I'd wager everyone bar the seniors like Paul gets a 3 month contract at a time or something or else a yearly contract only guaranting X amount of episodes and pay by the ep

In fact a little project we should do here is watch when X character comes back for a few weeks and see what character (s) are gone at the same time

Fair City has had its day. If you don't watch it for a few episodes, you see how corny the story lines are. Time to pack it in.

They will in their hole. Makes too much money for the lifer RTE staff and they can justify it by pointing to the 600,000 views per episode and say we can do that for 10m a year, bargain sure they'll say

The problem is, it's an Irish soap and Irish people have feck all soaps to watch so that's what keeps it going. I know Irish people watch the likes of Corrie but it's of no interest to me, it's not my country, my people or my culture, even just basic mannerisms and I'm sure there's a lot like that. I'm sure most English wouldn't be as interested in Fair City even if it was good as say Corrie

People won't watch Ros Na Rún which is on average better as "I don't like da writhin on screen" due to the subtitles

Red Rock was advertised as a soap but tbh it wasn't, it was all based round the Gardai and crime so its not gonna draw an audience to justify it even if it was good and it was tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

They will in their hole. Makes too much money for the lifer RTE staff and they can justify it by pointing to the 600,000 views per episode and say we can do that for 10m a year, bargain sure they'll say

The problem is, it's an Irish soap and Irish people have feck all soaps to watch so that's what keeps it going. I know Irish people watch the likes of Corrie but it's of no interest to me, it's not my country, my people or my culture, even just basic mannerisms and I'm sure there's a lot like that. I'm sure most English wouldn't be as interested in Fair City even if it was good as say Corrie

People won't watch Ros Na Rún which is on average better as "I don't like da writhin on screen" due to the subtitles

Red Rock was advertised as a soap but tbh it wasn't, it was all based round the Gardai and crime so its not gonna draw an audience to justify it even if it was good and it was tbf

Is Red Rock finished or just on hiatus?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Is Red Rock finished or just on hiatus?

It was on hiatus wasn't it and then came back to run off remaining episodes

TV3 say they want it back but yet they've been selling off sets and props so Id say they are talking ****e

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/weve-no-studio-but-tv3-wants-us-red-rocks-leah-minto-hopeful-soap-will-return-for-new-series-36810156.html

It was on hiatus wasn't it and then came back to run off remaining episodes

TV3 say they want it back but yet they've been selling off sets and props so Id say they are talking ****e

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/weve-no-studio-but-tv3-wants-us-red-rocks-leah-minto-hopeful-soap-will-return-for-new-series-36810156.html

TV3 have no interest in getting Red Rock back, even though it has won more acclaim and awards than FC has in almost 30 years. TV3 are a joke.