Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The difference in tone of the conversation about ladies football on Radio One. Ruth Fahy is saying "I don't want people to come to games just because we ask them, I want them to come because they want to and because they think they will be entertained." If the same discussion on OTB, the presenter would have already been turned it into an issue of discrimination that people were not going to the ladies matches.

They had a Saturday panel last year (I think) and the focus was making the game appeal to the wider public because if it was just because of "supporting the girls" it would fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I have a sister who played camoige for Tipp. I've been at more matches than I can remember. Very low attendance for most games, just friends and family really.

The standard is fairly poor in fairness. A decent boys u14 club side would comfortably beat the best senior camoige side in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

You have to laugh at Joe Molloy. Talking about the dangers of having one man who controls all the media in Russia. Why exactly does he think Sam Smyth got fired from his job?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I didn't hear the bit but could he have been using the Russia situation as a metaphor? You know using Russia as an alternative way of talking about Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

You have to laugh at Joe Molloy. Talking about the dangers of having one man who controls all the media in Russia. Why exactly does he think Sam Smyth got fired from his job?

You think REDACTED is controlling sports media in Ireland? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

He's controlling the radio station on which the sports media is being broadcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

He's controlling the radio station on which the sports media is being broadcast.

Sometimes there is no conspiracy though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

He's in no position to throw stones when there's a media ownership issue on his own doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Reading on here about the lads being so careful so not to offend anyone. I hadn't really taken much notice of it until Tuesday night. When they were discussing the VAR official at the world cup having to wear a full kit. I think Richie called them full kit ****...poor old Joe nearly fell off his chair with shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Reading on here about the lads being so careful so not to offend anyone. I hadn't really taken much notice of it until Tuesday night. When they were discussing the VAR official at the world cup having to wear a full kit. I think Richie called them full kit ****...poor old Joe nearly fell off his chair with shock.

I think he was only surprised because Richie used it on the radio. I know this because he said "you can't say that on air" or something similar.
    He wasn't particularly bothered Richie thought of them in that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Thisisthetime

With the lads being so politically correct is anybody surprised they are happy to be sponsored by a gambling company? I was listening to the World Cup Daily show from yesterday and I was surprised to hear a representative from the gambling company coming in to do a segment on various bets for the tournament.

He was on for about 8/9 mins giving advice on bets and the odds for each one, I just thought why would an employee of a gambling company be giving out advice on bets that would win?

I know other podcasts do this, The GAA hour with Colm Parkinson is sponsored by another gambling company and they have a representative in each Thursday to talk about the weekends action and the odds for bets. But I also read Matt Cooper stopped all tipping/gambling talk around Cheltenham on The Last Word on todayfm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭LowOdour

With the lads being so politically correct is anybody surprised they are happy to be sponsored by a gambling company? I was listening to the World Cup Daily show from yesterday and I was surprised to hear a representative from the gambling company coming in to do a segment on various bets for the tournament.

He was on for about 8/9 mins giving advice on bets and the odds for each one, I just thought why would an employee of a gambling company be giving out advice on bets that would win?

I know other podcasts do this, The GAA hour with Colm Parkinson is sponsored by another gambling company and they have a representative in each Thursday to talk about the weekends action and the odds for bets. But I also read Matt Cooper stopped all tipping/gambling talk around Cheltenham on The Last Word on todayfm.

Found having someone on from Paddy Power (it'l be every day afaik) quite odd. I understand the presenters etc talking about odds now and then, but having a gambling promotion quite unusual in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,265 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think he was only surprised because Richie used it on the radio. I know this because he said "you can't say that on air" or something similar.
    He wasn't particularly bothered Richie thought of them in that way.

There was at one stage I tuned in to the car radio, few days ago about 8pm ish.
    The lads were in full 'banter' mode with Molloy discussing whether Micahel D. Higgins called Michael Graham (Newstalk American shockjock contributor) a "C". The discussion then moved on further when Molloy clarified Michael D. did not call Michael Graham a "C" it was in fact a "W".

All I could think to myself this gob****e is turning this into Seaseme Street.
    What is tomorrows letter?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

There was at one stage I tuned in to the car radio, few days ago about 8pm ish. The lads were in full 'banter' mode with Molloy discussing whether Micahel D. Higgins called Michael Graham (Newstalk American shockjock contributor) a "C". The discussion then moved on further when Molloy clarified Michael D. did not call Michael Graham a "C" it was in fact a "W".

Do you think they should have used the full words?

On public radio, before the traditional watershed?

The lads were in full 'banter' mode with Molloy discussing whether Micahel D. Higgins called Michael Graham (Newstalk American shockjock contributor) a "C". The discussion then moved on further when Molloy clarified Michael D. did not call Michael Graham a "C" it was in fact a "W".
    That's right. I was listening to it at the time and I couldn't remember him calling him a C. I'm sure Michael D is far too polite to ever use the C word.
    The interview is actually still up on YouTube

I said this before but I think Richie has been given the role of "colour" contributor since Woolly left. Interjecting with wacky and "controversial" statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭Raoul

Yeah it really grates on me. They like to have it both ways. It is the kind of thing you can see them complaining about and I am pretty sure they have had shows in the past giving out about gambling ads and sponsorship. Now they have a ridiculous amount of gambling talk on their shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Californeeway

Money talks unfortunately, they obviously all need money from the bookies to supplement the income from their ads. The advertising of these bookies through the disguise of ‘analysis’ and offering their opinion is embarrassing and I make sure to switch off or end the podcast when it comes on. If they really wanted to help out listeners they would tell the public all about betting odds that are over inflated due to some bias or other. Those odds by their nature wouldn’t last long if that was the case. The fact they think Spain might win because of x,y and z is irrelevant because their odds are fixed to be less than the actual probability. So it’s a con to dress it all up as betting advice. If some of their ‘tips’ happen to win they don’t care because they know they will get the money back in the long run by punters who try and double their money instead of cashing out straight away.

Do you think they should have used the full words?

On public radio, before the traditional watershed?

Well Ger Gilroy is fairly loose with the Wanker talk normally.

It wouldn't bother me if they did. But my point was how ridiculous it sounded.
    I think it is a result of Americanism's such as using the acronym letters "BS MF" etc in conversation.

Sounds like Banker and Runt would have sufficed in my view.

I have heard the banker one used by football commentators George Hamilton?
    "They seem to be inferring that the refs profession is that of a banker"

That's right. I was listening to it at the time and I couldn't remember him calling him a C. I'm sure Michael D is far too polite to ever use the C word.
    The interview is actually still up on YouTube

I said this before but I think Richie has been given the role of "colour" contributor since Woolly left. Interjecting with wacky and "controversial" statements.

I thought of that myself about Richie.
    But it does not come naturally to him, it just sounds snide and/or bitchy I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I don't see that at all. Whereas Woolly spoke his mind, and gave his opinion (however misguided it may have been, at times), Richie just spouts whatever populist, pc rubbish he has formed an opinion of from browsing Twitter. His idea of being controversial was to give out about the Irish fans for singing outside some Ann Summers shop in Copenhagen last year! Painful bolix IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I don't see that at all. Whereas Woolly spoke his mind, and gave his opinion (however misguided it may have been, at times), Richie just spouts whatever populist, pc rubbish he has formed an opinion of from browsing Twitter. His idea of being controversial was to give out about the Irish fans for singing outside some Ann Summers shop in Copenhagen last year! Painful bolix IMO

this, exactly!

except they were outside the irish pub that just happened to be beside Ann Summers. the way they were going on about it, it was as if the fans had purposely gone to the shop for a laugh.

as for whether they should be swearing on the radio, they are professional broadcasters, so they should be well able to make a point without having to swear. you'd forgive a sports person for swearing, there's a shyteload of adrenaline flowing, but when a broadcaster uses it, it's a bit lazy.

case in point being Ray D'arcy. used to swear to get his point across about the seat belts a few years ago (i think it was that, or drink driving). wouldn't expect anything else from him, as i think he's shyte anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There was at one stage I tuned in to the car radio, few days ago about 8pm ish.

All I could think to myself this gob****e is turning this into Seaseme Street.
    What is tomorrows letter?
    I wonder would the lads have laughed as hard if it had been the other way round and the conservative Graham had launched a tirade of vulgar abuse at 'D'.

I remember Higgins was getting soundly defeated in the debate and had to resort to profanity and ad hominem attacks.

It was some laugh alright, the nasty side of D was exposed to the nation.

It's a wonder it didn't crop up again when he ran for President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Good men (and women for those who could be offended).......not three mobile pages ago I expressed how my withdrawal from any OTB related content had bolstered my happiness on a day to day basis (~3%). Rather than keeping these complete and utter ball bags on the air, I urge you all to do the same.

Signed, the most irrational and pathological complainer on this thread ðŸ‘ðŸ»

Jayesdiem wrote: »

Signed, the most irrational and pathological complainer on this thread ðŸ‘ðŸ»

Sure for all we know you could be Richie McCormack himself looking for material for his next witty retort and put down? :D

Jayesdiem wrote:
    Good men (and women for those who could be offended).......not three mobile pages ago I expressed how my withdrawal from any OTB related content had bolstered my happiness on a day to day basis (~3%). Rather than keeping these complete and utter ball bags on the air, I urge you all to do the same.

I've found since you withdrew (and stopped incessant complaining) my daily happiness has increased by circa 3% also.

Win win as they say. Thanks Jayesdiem!

I agree completely with Jay. I've actually done the same. Trying to listen to audiobooks all the time now. And if I find myself drifting off listening to the audiobooks (which happens all the time) I record a few youtube videos --> mp3 and listen to those instead.
    Never underestimate the power of radio to influence your mood. And I would find that I would sit in to the car in the morning in reasonable mood. But between the ads or listening to Paul Williams attempts to be "provocative", I would invariably be in bad form after forty minutes with the radio tuned to Newstalk.

Believe me. One round of ads will do your good mood in:
    - that stupid kid on the Curry's PC World
    -That shouting, spud munching, inbred bogger on Expert Electrical
    - That Laya family, who I hope are pushed off a f**king cliff in the next version of the ad.
    - One of the nationalised banks telling us what great bunch of lads they are as I drive to work to pay off their debts.

argggghhh I'm getting annoyed just thinking about them. I can't imagine that you could be subject to anything as bad in a Prisoner Of War camp! So I would advise everybody to at the very least switch when that ads come on... oh and Ger Gilroy :-)

I agree completely with Jay. I've actually done the same. Trying to listen to audiobooks all the time now. And if I find myself drifting off listening to the audiobooks (which happens all the time) I record a few youtube videos --> mp3 and listen to those instead. Never underestimate the power of radio to influence your mood. And I would find that I would sit in to the car in the morning in reasonable mood. But between the ads or listening to Paul Williams attempts to be "provocative", I would invariably be in bad form after forty minutes with the radio tuned to Newstalk.

Way hayy! Good for you!!

Now, if you just follow through on the 2nd part by not posting here, because, you know, you don't listen to the show anymore, I too can pick up 3% more happiness.

#3%

I agree completely with Jay. I've actually done the same. Trying to listen to audiobooks all the time now. And if I find myself drifting off listening to the audiobooks (which happens all the time) I record a few youtube videos --> mp3 and listen to those instead. Never underestimate the power of radio to influence your mood. And I would find that I would sit in to the car in the morning in reasonable mood. But between the ads or listening to Paul Williams attempts to be "provocative", I would invariably be in bad form after forty minutes with the radio tuned to Newstalk.

Way hayy! Good for you!!

Now, if you just follow through on the 2nd part by not posting here, because, you know, you don't listen to the show anymore, I too can pick up 3% more happiness.

#3%
    Well I was trying to give everybody a bit of advice. Have you considered that by closing down all your social media, locking all the doors and windows, and closing the curtains, you may get back all those other 3%s and achieve 100% happiness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Well I was trying to give everybody a bit of advice. Have you considered that by closing down all your social media, locking all the doors and windows, and closing the curtains, you may get back all those other 3%s and achieve 100% happiness?

I'd be more inclined to suggest opening curtains and letting sunshine in....

I'm on a roll here, nearly 6% in one day isn't bad going.