If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tommy Robinson jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭20Cent

Mutant z wrote: »
    Of course our own president can give an eulogy to Fidel Castro and no one bats an eyelid but god help Tommy Robinson says something about an equally detestable ideology all hell breaks loose the media and politicians are like sheep to the establishment who say jump and the former say how high its deplorable stuff to say the least, thankfully those members of the public with their heads screwed on can see whats really happening.

False equivalence there. Lets pay everyone the same is no where near lets murder whole races or religions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Of course our own president can give an eulogy to Fidel Castro and no one bats an eyelid but god help Tommy Robinson says something about an equally detestable ideology all hell breaks loose the media and politicians are like sheep to the establishment who say jump and the former say how high its deplorable stuff to say the least, thankfully those members of the public with their heads screwed on can see whats really happening.

I see you are conveniently ignoring the whole trial in progress part of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I'm amazed at the number of people that want this knucklehead freed.

A man who filmed himself committing an offence, knowing that it would result in him ending up in court. A man who pleaded guilty in court to committing the offence, knowing that it would result in him being sent to prison.

I just can't believe the number of people who support him. There are literally dozens of them...dozens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

20Cent wrote: »
    False equivalence there. Lets pay everyone the same is no where near lets murder whole races or religions.

Eh communism has killed more people then possibly any other ideology in history and yet its still glorified by muppets in the west who have more than likely never set foot in a communist country because if they did they would really know all about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Geert Wilders gave an excellent speech at the Free Tommy march yesterday.

https://youtu.be/YbbTl_yHDzE

dav3 wrote: »
    I'm amazed at the number of people that want this knucklehead freed.

A man who filmed himself committing an offence, knowing that it would result in him ending up in court. A man who pleaded guilty in court to committing the offence, knowing that it would result in him being sent to prison.

I just can't believe the number of people who support him. There are literally dozens of them...dozens.

I would hope all of those who are a harm to young children are being filmed they are the real criminals in this matter but the usual virtue signalling crew just want to stick it to TR its purely childish stuff.

I see you are conveniently ignoring the whole trial in progress part of the situation.

I see that so many of been ignoring the rape culture which goes on within a certain community but the main issue is Tommy Robinson apparently.

Eh communism has killed more people then possibly any other ideology in history and yet its still glorified by muppets in the west who have more than likely never set foot in a communist country because if they did they would really know all about it.

Which racee or religion do communists want to exterminate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I would hope all of those who are a harm to young children are being filmed they are the real criminals in this matter but the usual virtue signalling crew just want to stick it to TR its purely childish stuff.

Do you live in Ireland? On the off chance that you do, there are plenty of trials ongoing in the state relating to child abuse.

You can pop outside the court with your video camera to film these people at any time. I wouldn't recommend it though, unless you're a complete f*cking idiot like Stephen.

Which racee or religion do communists want to exterminate?

Ask all those who perished in the gulags im sure they really want to know but by numbers alone the death tally by communism exceeds all else. Is it really relevant about what sort of people were killed when it numbered in the tens of millions so why attempt to glorify it when just like islam and others its a foul ideology which has been responsible for mass human suffering and slaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

You know those reporting restrictions exist in part to protect the victims who are minors? You guys seem to ignore that every time.

dav3 wrote: »
    Do you live in Ireland? On the off chance that you do, there are plenty of trials ongoing in the state relating to child abuse.

You can pop outside the court with your video camera to film these people at any time. I wouldn't recommend it though, unless you're a complete f*cking idiot like Stephen.

Yes i do live in Ireland and no i wont be filming anyone because i have other things to do but i dont blame those who do least of all when it comes to child molesters why wouldn't someone be concerned about the safety of their own kids from those who could cause them great harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

needs more full stops.

Ask all those who perished in the gulags im sure they really want to know but by numbers alone the death tally by communism exceeds all else. Is it really relevant about what sort of people were killed when it numbered in the tens of millions so why attempt to glorify it when just like islam and others its a foul ideology which has been responsible for mass human suffering and slaughter.

Liquidating certain sections of society is a central tenant of nazi ideology. Not so with communism.

Who glorifies communism?
    Ya never really hear much about it these days in fairness.

Liquidating certain sections of society is a central tenant of nazi ideology. Not so with communism.

Who glorifies communism?

So the cultures of the native eastern Europeans wasnt suppressed under comunism was it it sounds like you are desperately trying to whitewash all of the ills it did i wonder why that is.

So what you're saying is ............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Grayson wrote: »
    Taytoland wrote: »
    All Nazis are scum but then again no one seems to complain or bat an eye lid when you see communists with red flags protesting. An ideology which murdered more people than Nazism.

Firstly, it's not a whatabout. nazi's are scum. If you try to deflect by bringing up any other ideology then you've lost the argument. This thread isn't about communism. I think this may be the first time communism was mentioned. This is about far right idiots and their appalling ideology. You felt a need to cast them in an better light by doing a bit of whattaboutery.

Also, I think that people are critical of anyone who is a supporter of Stalin, Mao, Pol Pot or any of the nutjob communists that existed. Only an idiot would defend their twisted ideologies.

The only people who seem to defend them are right wing populusts like Putin. A man who is beloved of the far right in europe.

As a side note, go read some Arendt. Her work on totalitarianism is amazing. She makes the point that within those regimes people are targeted not because of who they are but because of what they are.  It's exactly the same as the philosophies espoused by far right groups like the EDL, Britain First and the BNP. They hate people because they're muslim or black or emigrants. It doesn't matter what that person is like, what they are matters more than who they are.
    It's the utter hypocrisy of it and the lack of outrage. You had communists attending rallies in London last year which Jeremy Corbyn attended and the same outrage isn't applied and yet the destructive nature of communism resulted in millions of people being murdered, millions thrown into gulags in the Soviet Union.

If you wear a Swastika shirt, people are rightly shocked and appalled, if you wear a shirt with the hammer and sickle, less so. It's either the lack of education or the completely hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,175 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Stalin is bad, nazi's were bad. There are differences in their ideologies and a few similarities too. However let's just sum this up again. Stalin = Bad. Nazi's = Bad.

Would you agree? I'm really just trying to get you to say that nazi's and anyone who supports nazi's, or even tolerates them in an alliance, are cnuts. It's strange how hard it is to get people to say this.

Also, can we both agree that communists have nothing to do with this thread. The reason Nazi's came into it is that some of Tommy Robinsons supporters were making nazi salutes. Someone doing that should be seen as a bad thing. It shouldn't be something that's fudged. People making nazi salutes on the streets is just bad. Any attempt to distract from that is disgraceful.
    We could also say that communists were bad, so were the spanish inquisition, the roman empire, european colonists who slaughtered natives and everyone else in history who's killed people. Mentioning any of them though would be pure whatabouttery. However none of them were marching through london and none of them are supporters of Tommy Robinson.

Which brings me back to the Nazi's. When Nazi's think you have the right idea with regards to race and religion, because your opinions match theirs, you should really take a long hard look at your politics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Ask all those who perished in the gulags im sure they really want to know but by numbers alone the death tally  by communism exceeds all else. Is it really relevant about what sort of people were killed when it numbered in the tens of millions so why attempt to glorify it when just like islam and others its a foul ideology which has been responsible for mass human suffering and slaughter.

Who glorifies communism?
    And this is why education is absolutely vital in Irish schools because far too much of the population are fooled by this crap. Communism under Stalin was responsible for the genocide in Ukraine called holodomor which was a deliberate and systemic starvation of the pheasant population.

People who suffered the "glorious" collectivization effort by rounding up all the grain. The "class" enemies in the Kulaks rounded up and the attempt to liquidate them was an actual policy of Stalin.

And this is why education is absolutely vital in Irish schools because far too much of the population are fooled by this crap. Communism under Stalin was responsible for the genocide in Ukraine called holodomor which was a deliberate and systemic starvation of the pheasant population.

People who suffered the "glorious" collectivization effort by rounding up all the grain. The "class" enemies in the Kulaks rounded up and the attempt to liquidate them was an actual policy of Stalin.

Don't see anyone denying that.
    I recall learning about the gulags and famine caused by Stalin in school maybe the curriculumhas changed since then.

The threads about Nazi's though.

The communists were bad too just sounds like deflection in fairness.

A best buddy of "tommy" by all accounts. You never can tell it seems. Still the muslim community should be policing themselves and ending terrorism.

'Senior member' of English Defence League jailed for sexually abusing 10-year-old girl

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/edl-english-defence-league-leigh-mcmillan-jailed-paedophile-old-bailey-a8231231.html

The threads about Nazi's though.

It’s about the rape of minors too. “Anal Defence League” was the line you trotted out should any of Tommy’s supporters end up in jail like him. Still not think that’s a bit scummy? Is it funny or witty to think of rape as a consequence for supporting someone? Doubly dirty given what the subject matter is. You standing by that? Shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,263 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Is it OK today say both sides are shower of *****

EVENFLOW

Omackeral wrote: »
    It’s about the rape of minors too. “Anal Defence League” was the line you trotted out should any of Tommy’s supporters end up in jail like him. Still not think that’s a bit scummy? Is it funny or witty to think of rape as a consequence for supporting someone? Doubly dirty given what the subject matter is. You standing by that? Shameful.

Stole it off Frankie Boyle.
    It's a play on the English Defence League.
    Now they are in jail they will form the anal defence league. Thought it was funny yeah.

Stole it off Frankie Boyle.
    It's a play on the English Defence League.
    Now they are in jail they will form the anal defence league. Thought it was funny yeah.

Ok. I suppose if it wasn’t used in a thread where the discussion was of young girls actually being groomed and raped it would be more palatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I see that so many of been ignoring the rape culture which goes on within a certain community but the main issue is Tommy Robinson apparently.

Read the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,134 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's the utter hypocrisy of it and the lack of outrage. You had communists attending rallies in London last year which Jeremy Corbyn attended and the same outrage isn't applied and yet the destructive nature of communism resulted in millions of people being murdered, millions thrown into gulags in the Soviet Union.

If you wear a Swastika shirt, people are rightly shocked and appalled, if you wear a shirt with the hammer and sickle, less so. It's either the lack of education or the completely hypocrisy.

were those people trying to use mob rule to free a man who plead guilty to a criminal offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 omta

Very interesting discussion overall about Tommy Robinson. Like many others I always thought he was an ignorant racist thug, but on seeing his talk at the Oxford Union (Very prestigious Student debating society at Oxford University - 915,000 views so far!) I was very impressed and now do not believe he is in any way racist.

(search youtube for: "tommy robinson oxford union" )

Yes, he is higly critical of many aspects of Islam, but this has zero to do with racism. He is very positive about and good friends with with many non-white people in Britain (some in his own family). The facts about his terrible harassment by MI5 and the police are terrifying (nighttime raids on his home, trawling for any infringemts to charge him with etc, being greatly pressurised into becoming an MI5 agent of influence, but refusing - to his great detriment etc...)
    Every single article in the press starts with "The former leader of the EDL, Tommy Robinson..." I could understand some articles having this, but every single one?

The facts are: that he struggled greatly to keep Nazis and racists OUT of the EDL (physically fighting with one Nazi, buring a Nazi flag, and being subsequently threatened by Nazis for doing so) so it is unjust and unfair of many on this thread to tar and condemn him without hearing his words in the talk at the Oxford Union, and reading his actual story. Please people, view the whole video first, and then come back here and make any criticism of him you like.

You may be right about him being foolish for live broadcasting outside the rape gang trial, and that can be continually discussed here - the pros and cons - but please hear his personal story at the Oxford Union (before a large audience of many oponents and critics, who seemed to have far greater sympathy for him at the end) before you condemn him for what you may have read (second-hand news) in the media about him.

(search youtube for: "tommy robinson oxford union" )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

His personal story is a fictitious load of nonsense. He was a member of two fascistic organisations previous to this and now hangs around with Generation Identity, actual white supremacists. He's a far rightist who has been backed by others on the far right and has gained himself a niche. Anyone buying into this "ordinary working class lad from Luton" shtick is a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,263 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The lads throwing Nazi salutes in Belfast yesterday are same lads who probably have Israel flag flying over their homes

EVENFLOW