Boy 14 Killed After Car He Was Driving Crashed in Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

feartuath wrote: »
    We all learned to drive a car at that age growing up in the 70's on a farm.
    We were driving tractors 2 years before that.

Same here in the eighties myself. I was a lanky kid so I could reach the pedals safely . .

Rip to the poor boy his family must be devastated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I think the memory of the multiple deaths crash in Buncrana lives long in our memories. I lived up there then and it was a terrible event

https://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1218/667605-donegal/

and this

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/donegal-left-numb-by-two-crashes-in-20-hours-claiming-five-lives-1.2737693

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Pops_20 wrote: »
    Donegal strikes again.

Wtf sort of an idiotic comment is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,931 ✭✭✭Alkers

Many people who have the land (or access to it) would have a field car/jeep/bike/quad and as far as I'm aware there's no minimum age do drive one once not on a public road? How he was going fast enough to kill himself is another thing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

I feel very sad for the young lad and his family, it's a terrible loss to all concerned. But one point everyone seems to be missing is that he took the car from his home and drove to the off road location. So despite what many posters above have said he was, in fact, on the public roads at some point.
    Now picture the reaction if he had crashed the car into a young family on a main road, sympathy would be in short supply.

while many seem to find it acceptable to have a kid driving cos he is off road they choose to ignore how he got there. add in the fact that he kept the car at home and it's likely the parent knew and approved of it.

Hopefully some people will learn from this tragedy and not allow children to drive, no matter how mature they seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Simona1986 wrote: »
    Many people who have the land (or access to it) would have a field car/jeep/bike/quad and as far as I'm aware there's no minimum age do drive one once not on a public road? How he was going fast enough to kill himself is another thing though

There was a poor lady killed driving a tractor lawnmower yesterday too, you don't have to be speeding to get into difficulty.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    12 driving a tractor? That was old back in the 70's, usually around 9.

I started driving at 8, doing a days work in the tractor by the age of 10 or 11 as are most lads who grew up on farms. Kids are still taught to drive young. It's a good thing, there just has to be great care taken. This tragic accident is not a reason for everyone to get up in arms over people young people driving on private land.

And as long as attitudes like this exist, people will die needlessly.

We all did it nox, most of us got away with it, most still do. But it sure as fcuk doesn't make it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    So life has a cost now! Shame on you both!

Life has always had a cost. There isn't an infinite amount of money to go around you know.

We all did it nox, most of us got away with it, most still do. But it sure as fcuk doesn't make it right.

Why not? People die legally driving on the road, should be stop that too? It's exceptionally rare for people to die in the way this boy did, it's not an issue. Meanwhile real issues are ignored.

Kids should learn to drive young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'd hate to see the giddiness, macho and messing if that happened -let alone the sudden onslaught of thousands of new teenage learners onto the riads at the same time. Nightmare. This poor kid was learning off road on private land - not on busy roads and family filled carparks like the rest of us. Its just terribly sad and tragic. .

You learn with someone teaching you, not given a car and head off on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dixiefly

A young kid driving a car off the road and away from traffic.

Simple fact is that that is exactly how thousands of young people learned the basic mechanics of driving a car, the country is full of smart young people who got into a car and drove around a big field perfectly safely, learning how to handle a car.

Without knowing the details here I wouldn't rush to much judgement, just a young kid doing something hundreds of thousands of young kids have done before.

What is the story with this? I read initially that it was off road and now the indo are saying that it was on a road.

There is really no excuse or justification for him to have been driving on his own on a public road. he could have killed / injured more than himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

[quote="Joseph Wet Dove;107217557"

Kids should learn to drive young.[/quote]

take the excitement out of it ...something everyone learns not just the ones whose parents can afford it.

Driving is a skill everyone should have, make it as mundane as it actually is to teenagers not something exciting.

Anyway .....
    RIP young man,
    Devasting 14 years old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dixiefly

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0609/969312-donegal-crash/

A teenage boy has died in a single-vehicle road crash on the Inishowen Peninsula, in Co Donegal yesterday evening.

It is understood the boy was 14-years-old and the driver and was the only occupant of the car which crashed on a rural road at Tullyally between Redcastle and Moville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I can't see this thread going anywhere good in this cesspit.

RIP.
    It's grand, he wasn't black, Muslim or a traveler so the usual suspects have and will continue to move on in disappointment after scouring the link in the OP.

It's a tragic accident that could have been avoided had he not been let drive a car at 14 (unless he swiped the keys from the parents), let alone on what appears may have been a public road from the (edit) RTE link above. There has always been quite a somewhat lax attitude to this kind of thing in parts of rural Ireland, and sadly this is the consequence. Can't really blame the kid, he was too young to know better, and now he'll never be old enough to either.

Overall it's been a horrible few weeks for young deaths around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Well said. Thank you

Why not? People die legally driving on the road, should be stop that too? It's exceptionally rare for people to die in the way this boy did, it's not an issue. Meanwhile real issues are ignored.

Kids should learn to drive young.

It's not an issue? Seriously? What's more of an issue than young people dying on the roads nox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Pops_20 wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/boy-14-killed-after-car-he-was-driving-crashed-in-donegal-1.3524422

Donegal strikes again. How did he get a car in the first place? The headline makes it sound like the car crashed itself.

Really?

dixiefly wrote: »
    What is the story with this? I read initially that it was off road and now the indo are saying that it was on a road.

There is really no excuse or justification for him to have been driving on his own on a public road. he could have killed / injured more than himself.

It's an unpaved road in the bog, not sure if it's council jurisdiction or not, hence the confusion I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

RIP to the young lad.
    Billy86 wrote: »
    It's grand, he wasn't black, Muslim or a traveler so the usual suspects have and will continue to move on in disappointment after scouring the link in the OP.
    Using a thread about a kid dying to score points, you stay classy.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 6,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Can't speak for the rest of the country but I grew up outside Buncrana and it was standard practice for teenagers to drive on the road before getting their licence. The town has, afaik, the highest pass rate in the country and part of that has to be down to the fact that people are driving around for months before taking the test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

RIP to the young lad.

Using a thread about a kid dying to score points, you stay classy.:rolleyes:
    Not 'scoring' any points, just saying the thread thankfully shouldn't descend into a cesspit as is often the case in these threads, in response to a post concerned that "I can't see this thread going anywhere good in this cesspit."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

That is terrible news. I don't know too much about driving on private lands myself. But his family must be thinking about how their young fella had so much to live for & died in such a tragic end for all concerned. R.I.P.

irish_goat wrote: »
    Can't speak for the rest of the country but I grew up outside Buncrana and it was standard practice for teenagers to drive on the road before getting their licence. The town has, afaik, the highest pass rate in the country and part of that has to be down to the fact that people are driving around for months before taking the test.

Not so sure about that. I can only speak anecdotally, but I knew all there was to know about driving before I was 17, failed the test first time because the tester wasn't as experienced as I was, took a couple of lessons and passed the second time. Everyone I know up here that passed first time took lessons, everybody who already knew how to drive failed first time.

Good instructors and a handy then enough route for the test are the reasons for the high pass rate, rallying stock cars and rolling silage pits not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Trasna1

“Donegal strikes again”

Well that’s a really stupid thing to say. This could have happened anywhere.
    RIP to the young lad.
    It could have happened anywhere but it didn't. Another tragic road death in Donegal. Again.

When it comes to tragedy on the roads, Donegal is in the headlines with unfortunate regularity.

Trasna1 wrote: »
    It could have happened anywhere but it didn't. Another tragic road death in Donegal. Again.

When it comes to tragedy on the roads, Donegal is in the headlines with unfortunate regularity.

Donegal has 7000 km of the total 100000ish km of roads in the country.

So far this year, 5 fatalities out of 65 nationally.

So, 7% of the fatalities on 7% of the roads, which is way too high, 1 is too high. But this 'Donegal again' bollocks has to stop. We don't elect politicians that condone road deaths like they do in Kerry, Tipperary, and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,987 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

There was a poor lady killed driving a tractor lawnmower yesterday too, you don't have to be speeding to get into difficulty.

We need to teach people how to drive ride on mowers from an early age so tragedies like this can be avoided in future

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 6,007 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Not so sure about that. I can only speak anecdotally, but I knew all there was to know about driving before I was 17, failed the test first time because the tester wasn't as experienced as I was, took a couple of lessons and passed the second time. Everyone I know up here that passed first time took lessons, everybody who already knew how to drive failed first time.

Good instructors and a handy then enough route for the test are the reasons for the high pass rate, rallying stock cars and rolling silage pits not so much.

Sorry am I reading this right? You did your test and failed first time because you think you were a better driver than the man/woman qualified to judge your driving skills? Is this not the problem we're talking about? Teenage drivers being overconfident when they get behind the wheel...

The route is handy but plenty of other smalls town would have a handy route as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

I'm interested in the legal side of this. As far as I know if you lend someone your vehicle knowing they are uninsured your insurance can be made pay up and you can lose your NCB. In other countries it is definitely the case but I'm not sure about Ireland, that if you allow an unlicensed driver drive your vehicle you can be convicted of whatever they did or at least convicted of assisting them.

Imprisoning anyone wouldn't help anything in this situation but I think the vehicle owner should mabe receive a criminal conviction and an suspended sentence if they allowed the 14 year old to drive their vehicle on a public road.

I'm unsure if I think the parents should receive any sanction, separate to the above. Maybe it should be considered if they knowingly allowed a 14 year old to drive on a public road especially if they have other children.