Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

What's the story with that line?

Ken randomly bumped into yer man who had a hit with 'What is Love?' back in '93, can't remember where, and conducted an impromptu interview.

At Euro 2008 to be exact, Ken said he carrying 60 thousand Euro around in a suitcase.

I forgot that bit, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Really hope they get rid of that Martin Carney bed, its horrendous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭jones

Which one is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

jones wrote: »

Which one is that?
    From the drawn semi final against Kerry last year.

On another note its great to hear Tim Vickery on the show, hopefully they get him on plenty over the WC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

From the drawn semi final against Kerry last year.

I was laughing listening to that one yesterday thinking that it's one of my favourites.

ATTA BOY TOM PARSONS!!!

Nokotan wrote: »
    I was laughing listening to that one yesterday thinking that it's one of my favourites.

ATTA BOY TOM PARSONS!!!

So passionately, but still good-naturedly, biased, I always smile at it.

Nokotan wrote: »

ATTA BOY TOM PARSONS!!!

haha i love that one He' stealing yards he's stealing years..GET BACK GET BACK.

It is cringe worthy stuff though

Ah it's completely indefensible from the point of view of a professional broadcaster, but I still love it.

corwill wrote: »
    Ah it's completely indefensible from the point of view of a professional broadcaster, but I still love it.

haha big time. It's gas though totally biased and not even hiding it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

During a stag recently there were a few of us shouting that and "No Tom No!!!", I'd like to think there were some Second Captains listeners appreciating it rather than the more realistic reality of people thinking we were loud and annoying.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

There's a story on the BBC that Paolo Guerrero has been cleared to play at the World Cup. I think Tim Vickery said that was a bit of a long shot but still good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Is there anything duller than a hurler or footballer interview? Even when they've a good story to tell they're just dull as dishwater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Like Murph I thought that fella saying the World Cup will be of the highest standard was just some faceless politician and not the big cheese himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Like Murph I thought that fella saying the World Cup will be of the highest standard was just some faceless politician and not the big cheese himself.

Wasn’t it putin’s words in an interpreters voice?

An actual disagreement on the show today, didn’t get too feisty unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I think Ken summed up Putin nicely with "What trillion dollar bill?"

dulux99 wrote: »
    Is there anything duller than a hurler or footballer interview? Even when they've a good story to tell they're just dull as dishwater

Another thing that is arguably even more tedious is Ken Early spending half an hour reading out footballers quotes from the last few days. I turned it off after a half an hour anyway, it could have gone on for the full episode for all I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's gone rubbish but I'll stay subbed for the World Cup.

It has gone a bit tedious lately but hopefully the world cup jolts them back in to life. Would love if they got a few more decent pundits in the actual studio for the world cup, the phone and Skype interviews just don't have the same dynamic. They get guys in studio for almost every other sport that I can think of, apart from soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I'm a big supporter of the lads, mainly for Ken, the lads a genius at times.

Lately though I prefer the OTB stuff, and I NEVER thought I'd say that. Anyone listen to the roadshow on Thursday night it was solid gold.

Kilbane is such a great addition.

I HATED OTB after the lads left, it was horrible but for the last few months it's been brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Lately though I prefer the OTB stuff, and I NEVER thought I'd say that. Anyone listen to the roadshow on Thursday night it was solid gold.

I HATED OTB after the lads left, it was horrible but for the last few months it's been brilliant.

Hi, Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

The roadshow? With Ronnie Whelan etc. Jesus! How tired is this roadshow thing?
    Ken's not a 'genius' either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I listen the odd time. The only times I find it decent are when Gilroy is nowhere to be heard.

Hard to believe that they are still doing that stupid quiz on Fridays. Bantz overload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

dulux99 wrote:
    Another thing that is arguably even more tedious is Ken Early spending half an hour reading out footballers quotes from the last few days. I turned it off after a half an hour anyway, it could have gone on for the full episode for all I know

The World Cup build-up has been poor on SC so far. Football Weekly and The Totally Football Show have had some decent previews of each group, players to watch from each team and some trivia behind each team's qualification.

I know their pods are solely dedicated to football, in comparison to SC who dedicate time to GAA and rugby, among others. When the World Cup has been brought up on SC, the context is usually political/current affairs driven, chats about Putin, etc.

Don't get me wrong, I like the fact SC discuss broader issues relating to sport from time to time, but this is the biggest football tournament on the planet and I'd like to hear them talk about the meat and spuds of the tournament, which is the football itself. Maybe next week they'll have some better coverage/build-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Pete Moss wrote: »
    The World Cup build-up has been poor on SC so far. Football Weekly and The Totally Football Show have had some decent previews of each group, players to watch from each team and some trivia behind each team's qualification.

I know their pods are solely dedicated to football, in comparison to SC who dedicate time to GAA and rugby, among others. When the World Cup has been brought up on SC, the context is usually political/current affairs driven, chats about Putin, etc.

Don't get me wrong, I like the fact SC discuss broader issues relating to sport from time to time, but this is the biggest football tournament on the planet and I'd like to hear them talk about the meat and spuds of the tournament, which is the football itself. Maybe next week they'll have some better coverage/build-up.

I think the WC preview is going to be on Monday.

One solitary episode doesn't really cut the mustard though does it? One hour to go over 32 teams. That's poor if you're hanging your hat on that one episode. I couldn't care less about hearing sports journalists discuss putin to be honest, there's plenty of experts in Russian politics based in Europe and the US that I can listen to in that regard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

One solitary episode doesn't really cut the mustard though does it? One hour to go over 32 teams. That's poor if you're hanging your hat on that one episode. I couldn't care less about hearing sports journalists discuss putin to be honest, there's plenty of experts in Russian politics based in Europe and the US that I can listen to in that regard.

There's only about 8 of the 32 teams that anyone will give a crap about hearing about.

threein99 wrote: »
    There's only about 8 of the 32 teams that anyone will give a crap about hearing about.

Thats not the point. They've spent lots and lots of time on the podcast lately discussing Putin, discussing the most mundane of quotes by footballers, etc etc. They could have spent that time doing some good research into the groups themselves, and giving a detailed preview which they just haven't. It's lazy to keep going back to the well of footballer quotes but it's something Ken does.... Alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Thats not the point. They've spent lots and lots of time on the podcast lately discussing Putin, discussing the most mundane of quotes by footballers, etc etc. They could have spent that time doing some good research into the groups themselves, and giving a detailed preview which they just haven't. It's lazy to keep going back to the well of footballer quotes but it's something Ken does.... Alot.

I'd find the Putin stuff more interesting than hearing how Panama have qualified for the world cup. Each to their own.