Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Giant Gerry Ryan Mega Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Gerard_David

I do miss listening to Gerry, but I think a lot of people have forgotten about him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,291 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I listen to talk radio from 9am to around 3pm Monday to Friday.

I not only miss Gerry Ryan on the radio but I actually think about him several days a day. He was my copilot for 3 hours everyday for 20 years. I don't listen to my wife for 3 hours everyday.

I'd love RTE to release his podcasts. Possibly have an hour each week with the best bits on a radio show. I think there is enough interest there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Sterling_One

Sleeper12 wrote: »

I'd love RTE to release his podcasts. Possibly have an hour each week with the best bits on a radio show. I think there is enough interest there.

There are a few here https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPb2Fx_yJKXup0Vja_cdbuQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭hawley

Definitely agree they should repeat some of his shows at the weekend.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

The scary thing is that he's gone so long, many of 2FM's listeners will have no idea who he was. Or might sort of remember him from childhood when their parents listened. I'm sure he'd still have been on 2FM if he'd lived but he'd be standing out like a sore thumb amongst the presenters who are the same age as his kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

On YouTube, from 1994 Gerry on the TV in studio for 2FM 15th birthday:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00gNQ3kAqJw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdJBDferxSU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

The scary thing is that he's gone so long, many of 2FM's listeners will have no idea who he was. Or might sort of remember him from childhood when their parents listened. I'm sure he'd still have been on 2FM if he'd lived but he'd be standing out like a sore thumb amongst the presenters who are the same age as his kids.

I wonder what the station would be like if he was still with us?

Would Dan Healy even be running it today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Historybluff

I miss Gerry Ryan.

I listened to him mainly from mid-90s to the mid-noughties when I was a teenager and a young adult. Part of the attraction was that my father disliked him, probably because of Ryan's habit of discussing sex and other risque topics. I associate summer holidays from school and college with listening to Ryan.

To be honest though, his show was a mixed bag. When it was good it was very good but when it was bad it was very bad. There were a lot of z-list celebrities being interviewed to sell their inane autobiographies. Psychics seemed to be on the show a lot too. Ryan was a bit of a military buff and sometimes sounded like Alan Partridge when he was waxing lyrical about the SAS, the Navy Seals etc. Therefore, I learned that the best way to listen to him was to dip in and out rather than suffer through each three-hour show.

I hadn't listened to his show in a good few months when I heard that he had died. I was surprised how sad I was to hear of his death. But I shouldn't have been. He was a significant figure in my life for a good few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 purple_432

It's hard to believe he's gone nearly 8 years now, almost a decade. It's amazing to think(considering his fame and listenership when he was alive), that many of 2FM's current listeners will never have even heard of him. A few weeks ago a work colleague of mine, who is 21 or 22, was listening to 2fm and I asked her if she knew of or remembered Gerry Ryan.. She answered, ''Who's Gerry Ryan?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Only a matter of time before we will have the Ryan line open again......Lottie surely will be given the gig!

I do yeah. When he was on form, he was untouchable. Very engaging and well versed on mzny topics. The 8th anniversary of his death was a few weeks ago. I wonder, will his legacy recover as time goes on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,597 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Ironic to hear both Gerry and Paul castigate Eamon Dunne when both sampled his produce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Radio5

Only listened to Gerry Ryan occasionally. Don't listen to 2FM now. Radio has changed a lot in 8 years. Nowadays there are contributions from listeners on practically every show, whether by phone, text, email etc. Anyone with a phone is a journalist and anyone who writes/films a blog becomes an 'influencer' or a You Tube star./sensation. Talk shows are mainly shouting matches between intolerant people with opposing views who are always right because they really know what they're talking/shouting about.

You'd wonder what he'd be doing now to try and keep his show relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,291 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Radio5 wrote:
    You'd wonder what he'd be doing now to try and keep his show relevant.

In fairness 10 years ago most morning radio shows tried to copy Gerry Ryan. Talk radio with listeners calling in. Even then they all had the same formula. Today we have Ciara Kelly on Newstalk trying to copy the formula. Gerry stood out on his own. Still does today imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Being on the radio and having people call in is hardly a formula.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Tbh i've never given it a 2nd thought i was never an avid listener of his show but i dont doubt the impact he had on others he just wasnt my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Like others here he was my copilot for years. He was good and RTE have never been able to replace him. Some of the stuff he'd come out with was hilarious, like "get them shower of fcukers on the phone now" .. etc.. He entertained me anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Joe Dog

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I didn't like him, but sort of really liked him too, despite myself. He grated, he ate on air, he thought a lot of himself, he acted the dumbo (like Joe Duffy), he asked questions he knew the answer to in a way to get the best answer.

I listened to him when I could (in the car going to meetings, otherwise I couldn't) and I met him a few times as I lived close to him. Very pleasant and engaging.

I miss him. He was good at what he did and he was incredibly clever (business law I think). I also think is early demise is sad. He seemed to love people and company but he died alone and unexpectedly which is tragic for his family, friends, loved ones and his girlfriend.

His renewed personal isolation in his apartment may have led to unchecked eating, drinking and other obvious bad habits that family or other members may have tried to control.

I'd say it was a wake up call to the many celtic tiger dads when he died. Dreadful unhealthy lifestyle for such a clever man.

That is what a broadcaster is supposed to do.You don't ask the questions you want the answer to you ask questions that your audience may want an answer to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Jacob13

They obviously do NOT pull in the audience or revenue to justify their salaries.
    Why else is RTE selling off substantial portions of their land otherwise?
    Selling land is a sign of desperation from such long established organisations in my opinion.

It's interesting to hear such high quality broadcasting from Newstalk considering that they can't avail of any of the TV licence funding.

The only semi-decent broadcaster from RTE was Pat Kenny and look where he is now.

Pat the plank is terrible and awkward. Pod casts from around the world now for me and the only Irish show podcast i listen to is Eamon dunpys, last stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,926 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Last few years of his broadcasting was ruff stuff. He was heedless and talked across people.

Had he continued I shudder to think where he’d have ended up. LMFM maybe.

His early years were golden listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭OU812

TBH. I think they would have put him over to radio 1 by now. But I do miss him on the radio. Although I mostly listen to podcasts nowadays rather than live radio.

I’m sure his show would have still been entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

OU812 wrote: »
    TBH. I think they would have put him over to radio 1 by now. But I do miss him on the radio. Although I mostly listen to podcasts nowadays rather than live radio.

I’m sure his show would have still been entertaining.

He would have been great on Liveline would have really wound up the gobsh1tes that ring in every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

I think Gerry genuinely had a huge impact on opening up Irish society, but more so in the early days of the show and I would say as far as the late 1990s.

He was discussing really controversial stuff and somehow got away with it and not only keeping the show on air, but making a hugely successful career out of it.

It's hard to underestimate how dramatically that show was opening up discussion in Ireland all those decades ago. He was bringing previously unspeakable topics into the kitchens of Irish households several hours a day, all presented with mixture of vulgarity, fun and genuine intelligence.

I've heard a few interviews of his on really sensitive subjects too and people seemed to be willing to talk to him about things on air on a much more human level they you would have heard then. He could be controversial but also was capable of being a listening ear and extremely sensitive to guests and callers and delicate with the topics and subjects he was dealing with.

I wouldn't rate him or the show based solely on the later days - he was on huge money, Ireland was far less conservative and I think to be honest the show was in decline and becoming far less and less relevant.

To me it's 80s and 90s Ryan shows that were absolutely powerful, entertaining and profoundly impactful radio.

Also from what I've heard of anyone who worked with him, he was a really nice and very personable bloke who gave his crew a lot of support and leeway. He was very much larger than life but, I've genuinely never heard anyone say anything other than he was a fun, hugely helpful and very good colleague. There was a big ego but definitely not an obnoxious one.

The show was definitely losing its cultural relevance though by the later days both because it was running so long and also just because Ireland was a different place by then and very few things were taboo.

I think many people will have very fond memories of that 80s and 90s era of the Ryan show and also Irish radio in general back then.

We're probably in a much better place today as a country but those days of Irish radio were really a golden age of broadcasting.

Starting at 26:05 minutes onwards, Gerry discusses a new thing called Facebook. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlAriHgwFhQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Wasn't a fan but at least he had some originality of style and character. Whatever he was, he wasn't bland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

he wouldn't have coped in the modern pc world , there's no pit of craic allowed anymore .
    complete freudian slip there .. just dawned on me the minute i wrote it !

I don't know about that to be honest. I find present day Ireland a fairly honest and open kind of place compared to the US. There's far less pretence and fakery and people will still call you a fupping eegit if that's appropriate.

There's still a fairly robust ability to discuss stuff, take a joke, bounce off people who've different opinions and still get along that I think has been lost in the US and is being lost in England (and urgently needs to come back.). (If you compare the political satire in 2018 in England to the kind of stuff Thatcher faced back in the 80s, it's like a mild tickling compared to seriously robust stuff on Spitting Image etc etc)

It's not all about PC. It's more about people thinking they've a right to not only express an opinion but to have some kind of sacred right to have nobody critique them.

I find the US has allowed an element of po-facededness to takeover debate generally and this notion that every opinion, no matter how bloody ridiculous, should be respected is what's landed them with Trump and people taking things like Flat Earth theory and various people's whacky anti-science theories around things like turning climate change denial into a political movement, anti-vaccine movements, various Armageddon type theorists etc etc way, way too seriously. Various complete morons are running things moronically because nobody's capable of calling them out.

Ireland definitely hasn't gone down that route and I think we've cast off a lot of the deeply conservative dogma of the old days too. I never felt Ireland was fundamentally conservative. Rather it was firmly under someone's thumb for decades and very heavily manipulated into line.

I honestly think that Ireland's ability to handle those referenda (that would have been viciously divisive elsewhere) without actually turning into a complete mess, is very indicative of how this country functions these days.

There are increasingly no taboos and people can discuss stuff in a very frank and open way. It's actually pretty healthy.

I wouldn't mind the minor bit of internet-focused bubbles that you get and people attempting to adopt American social problems over here every so often. You'll always get a bit of that stuff, it doesn't necessarily follow through as something that's going to be a serious thing.

I think Gerry would have survived quite ok in 2018 Ireland. He would have just aged and become less relevant, exactly like the rest of us.

I definitely missed that late 80s / 1990s era of Irish broadcasting : Gerry Ryan, the peak of Zig and Zag and all of that stuff. There was a kind of belt-and-braces approach to an RTE that probably had limited resources and had these bursts of genuine creativity. It was very much an era when we were 'coming out' as a nation. It was the genuine Celtic Tiger too (not the huge borrowing boom that came later and lead to the 2008 bang) and I think the media of that time reflects that.

Interesting time and positive to be alive though and I have really fond memories of growing up through the tail end of it.

EdgeCase wrote: »

I think Gerry would have survived quite ok in 2018 Ireland. He would have just aged and become less relevant, exactly like the rest of us
    QUOTE]

I think he would have had to tone down his irreverent act/persona though.. The media landscape in Ireland has changed considerably since he passed away, much of it hyper-politically correct. Many of his followers, such as Adrian Kennedy, have toned down their acts considerably in recent years. I think were he alive today, Gerry's persona and show would be very different.

When you take a look at some of the stuff that RTE's The Fear did, you would be strung up if you did that on UK or US network television, particularly things like the nun and the sex toy sketch or the one where she headed to a Galway tattoo shop to get a picture of "the good lord" in a very intimate location.

I really don't think we're *quite* as sensitive as the US is and the UK has been slipping.