Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Giant Gerry Ryan Mega Thread

• 16-02-2006 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Gerry Ryan is on the missing list since tuesday... Is he on a bender or anyone know where he is?? At least they got rid of Evelyn O' Rourke today. Jesus, that laugh of hers....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Now Joe Duffy is gone AWOL and bloody Evelyn O' Rourke has just shown up in his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

I cannot stand this woman. I can't believe she is presenting a show on the national broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

mid-term break, i guess
    rte operates on a school timetable for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 eeyore's mate

parasite wrote:
    mid-term break, i guess
    rte operates on a school timetable for some reason
    yep that's it! They all go to France!!

Why do you guys listen to RTE anyway?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

i'd just like to know how people like joe duffy and pat kenny get such high profile jobs. i understand gerry ryan, love him or hate him, he's got some sort of personality. but when the rte execs are looking for new presenters - do they not take personality into consideration. who in their right mind would hire joe duffy for one of the highest profile jobs in broadcasting. my feckin pet goldfish has more personality coming out of his ***

I reckon Gerry IS on a bender though! If he had the flu (again) it would have been mentioned by the replacement... wouldn't it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

They brought back Gareth O Callaghan today for Gerry Ryan , I can only stand him in small doses but he was'nt too bad this morning , maybe there might be a vacany on 2fm soon as I cant see Marty lasting much longer .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

yep that's it! They all go to France!!

because everything else is rubbish.. not that RTE is much better.

I don't see myself listening to some mid atlantic goon playing drivel all day.

Newstalks ok ..in prescribed doses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Good christ if I hear Ms O Rourke go "mmmm-hmm" again this week, my radio will be getting stress tested by being hurled at the nearest wall. Duffy might be as cardboard as a cornflakes box but at least he'll STFU when people are talking on the phoneline...

Oh god YES! Ms O' Rourke and her mmmm-hmm-ing is woeful. And during a heart wrenching interview the way she'll say "yeah" or "oh god" while she's taking a breath in... aaaaaarrrrrgh!!!

I wonder what joys 2FM will bring us this morning, Gareth, Evelyn, Alan Partridge??! Oh wait, sure he's on RTE 1 in the mornings!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

sudzs wrote:
    I reckon Gerry IS on a bender though! If he had the flu (again) it would have been mentioned by the replacement... wouldn't it???

I'd say so.

I heard this morning that hhis programme lost 50,000 listners over the last few months. If he is on a bender maybe this could be the reason.? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭11.3 SECONDS

I think that Joe Duffy does an excellent job with LIVELINE and fills the public service remit really well.

However, who the hell is Evelyn O' Rourke ?? Where has she come from and what is her track record in radio or T.V. ?

She did locum for Duffy last summer when he was on his break and nearly drove me mad and likewise over the last two days. If she sits in this summer I will switch off Liveline until Joe Duffy gets back from Italy or wherever he goes. If I was an advertiser on RTE I would pull my ads similarly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

I think Evelyn O Rourke's regular spot is the 7.30pm half hour news show on 2fm. In fairness, she's a better stand in for Liveline than Derek Davis

radioman wrote:
    I think Evelyn O Rourke's regular spot is the 7.30pm half hour news show on 2fm. In fairness, she's a better stand in for Liveline than Derek Davis

Derek Davies is a STAR!!! And a million times better then O' rourke. Didn't she start off on the Gerry Ryan show, reporting in with stories about possessed houses, talking dogs and the like???

She's CRAP!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

sudzs wrote:
    Gerry Ryan is on the missing list since tuesday

Yeah, I noticed this aswell, what will we do without him :confused: ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

sudzs wrote:
    Derek Davies is a STAR!!!

More of a constellation actually...

Last time he filled in for Duffy he spent a whole 3 months talking about food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Belle Ende

sudzs wrote:
    Gerry Ryan is on the missing list since tuesday... Is he on a bender or anyone know where he is??
    Gerry Ryan is an oxygen thief.

He gets paid nearly half a million euros a year for opening his jowly gob for three hours in the morning (when he actually decides to 'grace' his listeners by feckin' turning up for work - usually it's either his infamous "Flu" [yeah, right] or ANOTHER ruddy holiday). Then you'll often hear him spout about the toast he's eating and the coffee he's sipping (with "yum yum yum" sound effects thrown in for good measure), all the while regailing us with details of his late night out drinking and eating at some posh restaurant (cue gratuitous plug for them, so he can continue to eat for free there next time).

Next up it's time to waste 20 minutes of the programme by reading aloud some headlines from various newspapers, all the while mumbling to himself as he fumbles through the pages. This is where his self-deluded ould 'lad' image comes in to play "I'd love to do the willlddd thing with her. Hyuk hyuk hyuk!". Gerry Ryan really puts the 'shock' into 'jock'. Not. Cue some 'hilarious' phwoaring (TM) over a picture of some scantily-clad young wan he's 'accidently' browsed to in The Sun or The Mirror. Tedious.

Then proceeding to open his 'RyanLine' to the potato-brained masses, Gerry Ryan ingratiates himself further with his "I'm just like you, an ordinary joe soap too" schtick. Then going off on one of his Jerry Springer-esque faux-concerned 'final thoughts' (read: homilys) before the next ad break. Back on the air, it's time for another Gerry Ryan "I'm not an expert but..." spiels, wherein he describes his past amateur dabblings in neurosurgery and what he would propose as a remedy for this particular caller's epileptic pet chihuahua.

The really sad thing about all of this is that GR, as utterly crap as he is on the radio, is still a sight better than many other so-called 'personalities' on the airwaves. Gerry Ryan and 96% of the rest of radio DJs/presenters need kicking off the air (and possibly a good kicking too).

Shock jock? Total c0ck, more like. (And the only thing shocking about him is the amount of wool he's managed to pull over people's eyes for so many years now. Gerry Ryan is no fool, and he's no beggar, but he's every bit the charlatan.)

^^^ that's all so so true, the last thing you'll hear him say "i don't know enough about that to have an opinion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭jayo99

there's anoyone out there that gets as irratated as me when the dumb f#€k reads out a website url.

He seems to have some speech problem which prevents him from saying WWW.somewebsite.com

Instead he'll do his usual WW..somewebsite.com and carry on.. Almost makes me want to create a website, publicise the ar$e out of it.. get it featured on his show & teach him a lesson in how to read out urls..

Whats more is he actually reckons he's sooo clued in when it comes to the web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Belle Ende well said, even though I havent heard him in years, thats exactly what I remember of him.

Also spouting on about his children and sucking up to every Irish women, advocating breast screenin and what-not.

Total and utter gimp, it sickens me to pay the TV license knowing it mostly goes on his wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Derek Davis actually makes a good radioshow host- he does interviews with
    a bit of bite in them and he does'nt take any BS from interviewees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Belle Ende wrote:

He gets paid nearly half a million euros a year for opening his jowly gob for three hours in the morning (when he actually decides to 'grace' his listeners by feckin' turning up for work - usually it's either his infamous "Flu" [yeah, right] or ANOTHER ruddy holiday). Then you'll often hear him spout about the toast he's eating and the coffee he's sipping (with "yum yum yum" sound effects thrown in for good measure), all the while regailing us with details of his late night out drinking and eating at some posh restaurant (cue gratuitous plug for them, so he can continue to eat for free there next time).

Next up it's time to waste 20 minutes of the programme by reading aloud some headlines from various newspapers, all the while mumbling to himself as he fumbles through the pages. This is where his self-deluded ould 'lad' image comes in to play "I'd love to do the willlddd thing with her. Hyuk hyuk hyuk!". Gerry Ryan really puts the 'shock' into 'jock'. Not. Cue some 'hilarious' phwoaring (TM) over a picture of some scantily-clad young wan he's 'accidently' browsed to in The Sun or The Mirror. Tedious.

Then proceeding to open his 'RyanLine' to the potato-brained masses, Gerry Ryan ingratiates himself further with his "I'm just like you, an ordinary joe soap too" schtick. Then going off on one of his Jerry Springer-esque faux-concerned 'final thoughts' (read: homilys) before the next ad break. Back on the air, it's time for another Gerry Ryan "I'm not an expert but..." spiels, wherein he describes his past amateur dabblings in neurosurgery and what he would propose as a remedy for this particular caller's epileptic pet chihuahua.

The really sad thing about all of this is that GR, as utterly crap as he is on the radio, is still a sight better than many other so-called 'personalities' on the airwaves. Gerry Ryan and 96% of the rest of radio DJs/presenters need kicking off the air (and possibly a good kicking too).

Shock jock? Total c0ck, more like. (And the only thing shocking about him is the amount of wool he's managed to pull over people's eyes for so many years now. Gerry Ryan is no fool, and he's no beggar, but he's every bit the charlatan.)

Post of the year as far as I'm concerned. Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ivan087

Belle Ende wrote:

give that poster a cigar! the revolution has begun;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

did someone refer to gerry ryan as a "shock jock"?

trust ireland's answer to howard stern to be a middle-aged overweight middle-of-the-road crap overpaid rte devotee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

Belle Ende wrote:

You're a legend , a perfect summing up of Gerry Ryan , fair play to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Belle Ende wrote:

Ok, this just furthers my point that we need a seperate Gerry Ryan forum. To discuss how we feel about his show (good, bad or indifferent) ...

Thread still open for discussion Gerry

Its "jowelly" you plank!!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Has he been given a written warning yet ?

And if no then who isn't following HR procedures ?

Would it be worth a FOI application since it's my money being spent.

I REALLY resent that part of my license fee gets wasted on that slacker. The show is ok because I'll listen to just about anyone else do it. It's really amazing the contrast some days when you have Gerry straining his poor little brain to reuse words like "discomode" endlessly, and on BBC radio 4, you have Melvin Bragg going on about the history of ye olde english langague.

Yeah I know that license doesn't go to pop-radio but that muppet is on TV too. And it's the same organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Belle Ende wrote:
    Post of the year, agree totally here. I contend that the rot in irish radio broadcasting started with the advent of his show in 1988 as it opened the sluice gates for the "tell us what you think" type of show. The majority of participants in these shows have missed out on a good education i.e they are thick as are the listeners.

mar Shampla?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Chris Barry,Adrian Kennedy the death of music radio in this country. Where the dj/presenter views are more important than the music they play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Belle Ende wrote:

So right - post of the year from the GrumpyTrousers jury as well, and i don't care if it's only March...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

For the last two weeks he has talked about bad driving in Ireland, without failing to mention his "high powered" car. Last week he was indignant because he got flashed on the Motorway. That prat was pontificating to Ryano Junior while sauntering down the overtaking lane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'm forced to listen to Gerry RYan's show in work every day. God he's a tool. You can actually hear how drool covered his big fat lips are when he talks. He's like a great big sex obsessed slug.

In general, Irish radio is a fscking joke. Most of the radio I listen to is BBC 6 music or Radio 4, and on occasion Newstalk. Is 2FM run by Alan Partridge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

Can I just congratulate Belle Ende as his post perfectly summed up what I think of Gerry Ryan.

Just to add that I think he is a dirty old man - anytime I have the misfortune to come accross his show on the radio dial he is talking about sex etc etc.

A greasy muppet

I REALLY resent that part of my license fee gets wasted on that slacker. Yeah I know that license doesn't go to pop-radio but that muppet is on TV too. And it's the same organisation.
    Seriously and absolutely.
    jd wrote:
    For the last two weeks he has talked about bad driving in Ireland, without failing to mention his "high powered" car.
    Oh yes. A BMW, if I recall correctly.

As an aside, another annoyance with GR is how he says the word "paedophile" (and he does say it quite a bit, given his reliance on tabloid newspapers for much of his subject topics). GR prono(u)nces it "Pay-Dee-Ohh-Feel". How very nu-cu-lar of him...
    mickd wrote:
    Chris Barry,Adrian Kennedy the death of music radio in this country. Where the dj/presenter views are more important than the music they play.
    They're "personalities", apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

Gerry Ryan ? He's still on the radio ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

Belle Ende wrote:
    Oh yes. A BMW, if I recall correctly.

Its actually a large Mazda, given free by ..Mazda !!:mad: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 louloo

He makes me sick! Whoever called him a greasy slug is sooooo accurate!

I hate the way he plugs his local supermarket in Clontarf, Nolans, that gauch castle he stays in, all those New York shops and Fitzpatricks Hotel, Inchydonney.... :mad:

it's pat kenny who gets all the free bmw's, easy mistake to make :rolleyes: :mad:

Belle Ende wrote:

:eek: What can I say!!!!

Great post ya little beauty..... am I forgiven????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Gerry is the S in "Hit Radio"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'd like to pour a tonne of salt on old Gerald there and watch him melt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 louloo

and now we have to suffer Gerry AND Hector as it's Chaltenham.... Sweet Jesus, it's too much. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Has he been given a written warning yet ?

And if no then who isn't following HR procedures ?

Would it be worth a FOI application since it's my money being spent.

I REALLY resent that part of my license fee gets wasted on that slacker. The show is ok because I'll listen to just about anyone else do it. It's really amazing the contrast some days when you have Gerry straining his poor little brain to reuse words like "discomode" endlessly, and on BBC radio 4, you have Melvin Bragg going on about the history of ye olde english langague.

Yeah I know that license doesn't go to pop-radio but that muppet is on TV too. And it's the same organisation.

I kept a spreadsheet of the days he didn't turn up for work and sent it to HR in RTE for an explanation.

I got an acknowledgement but nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I kept a spreadsheet of the days he didn't turn up for work and sent it to HR in RTE for an explanation.

I got an acknowledgement but nothing else.

Could ComReg investigate it, I doubt it, but it might be worth a try?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Belle Ende wrote:

LOL ,so true,excellent observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭smurfbaby

You have waaaaay too much time on your hands...

smurfbaby wrote:
    You have waaaaay too much time on your hands...

What a lazy, dull, and tiresome comment! It's people like you that proverbially throw stones at anyone's efforts to right things.

At least that other spreadsheet-making person made a proactive effort to do something about this lardy RTE waste of licence payers' money. Good on them.