Brexit discussion thread III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

sink wrote: »
    They just had a general election in 2015 and were due another one in 2020 anyway, that's the perfect opportunity to give the government a kicking.

Ah, but Brexit was a chance to give everyone in Westminster a kicking, and most of London too, with no actual downside as in electing the other lot, because we all knew it wouldn't pass, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

It was interesting to note the number of contributors on QT who said they voted remain but now want the UK government to ‘get on’ with Brexit. I thought a good question was if there was a ‘people’s ‘ referendum and it voted no to the negotiated deal - what then? what’s the alternative then while ‘respecting’ the first referendum.

Why doesn’t somebody ask Fox (etc) if it’s taking until 2021 to negotiate a deal with the EU, why does he think a deal with US, Canada,India etc can be negotiated practically overnight?

I would also be very concerned that Davis, who a few hours ago was threatening to resign, was happy with the statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

Some new development:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/jun/08/best-for-britain-recruits-mps-to-back-second-brexit-referendum

Best for Britain recruits MPs to back second Brexit referendum

Around 40 MPs appear willing to sign up to remain campaign group’s proposed amendment

“We believe the Brexit process is distracting from the many reasons people voted to leave: a kick back against Westminster to wake up to the reality of life in modern Britain – an industrial wasteland in parts of our country and the loss of good jobs, a weakening health service, unaffordable housing, and rising student debt,” the manifesto says.

The manifesto expresses the hope that any second referendum campaign would be subject to “stringent policing” and conducted in a different tone to the last, saying both sides should respect voters rather than adopt messages ranging from Project Fear on one side to “false claims” that the NHS would be able to spend £350m a week extra once the UK had left.

Eloise Todd, the chief executive of Best for Britain, said: “For too long we’ve been asked to swallow the lie that the votes of 17 million people with their individual histories, experiences and ideas gave May a clear mandate to deliver whatever Brexit she can fashion.”

I hope that they can persuade even more than the 40 MPs and I wish them good luck in all their efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,271 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

This idea of a protest vote doesn't stack up.

If such a protest, then why did they vote in record numbers for the Tories, and basically abandon UKIP?

And why do the voters continue to largely back Brexit, even now. If a vote was held today, Remain might win but not by much.

One can only conclude that whilst a part of it would have been a protest, there is no apparent appetite for a new party to represent that, and one can only conclude that this is indeed what the people want. I mean, they had 2 years prior to the vote, and if somehow they didn't pay attention during that it is inescapable to have heard about Brexit since as it really is the only thing the government is focused on.

The UK do not want to be in the EU anymore. Everyone needs to accept that. What the UK needs to decide now is how much of the benefits of the EU they are prepared to give up to get away from the negatives (and there are plenty of negatives with the EU).

It appears that the UK hasn't worked this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,577 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Thomas_IV wrote: »
    Some new development:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/jun/08/best-for-britain-recruits-mps-to-back-second-brexit-referendum

I hope that they can persuade even more than the 40 MPs and I wish them good luck in all their efforts.

40 is an excellent start. Momentum will build as the intractability of the current situation is compounded.

Fair play to Boris for the boost his moronic remarks will have given those efforts. "so few firms actually use the border regularly" I mean Jesus wept, its clear how little he and Davis and Fox actually know or care about the political and economic situation in Ireland / Northern Ireland. If I were a unionist, I'd be fairly miffed about that fact, how little regard HM government has for their needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,800 ✭✭✭✭briany

Also the Irish attitude of "That was a stupid result, let's have another go" is alien to them. They are very much more by the rules than we are, so they see this as an irrevocable decision, will of the people, move on, join the queue to Brexit.

This is spiel by people like Farage, and massively hypocritical. There's no way the whole Brexit movement wouldn't have been crying bloody murder for a second referendum in the event of a 52-48 loss.

Here's what Farage himself told the Mirror in May 2016
    Farage told the Mirror: “In a 52-48 referendum this would be unfinished business by a long way. If the remain campaign win two-thirds to one-third that ends it.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

joeysoap wrote: »
    It was interesting to note the number of contributors on QT who said they voted remain but now want the UK government to ‘get on’ with Brexit.

I've seen this a few times in different media. Is it just a British thing?

"We know this is going to hurt us more than it benefits us and we don't have to do it but we made a decision and can never go back on it so lets get it over with."

It seems alien to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

It's purely spin.

Think of it another way: would it be reasonable to have a single general election and say Right, that's it, we're never considering a change of government again, you're having this one for the rest of your days. The people have spoken!

Why is this, rather badly conducted referendum, suddenly more important than any other vote that has ever taken place in the UK?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I don't believe that the average person in the UK is aware of the benefits they have from being a member of the EU.
    I believe that they have this fanciful notion that they are being oppressed by anonymous EU bureaucrats and that power is being removed from Westminster.
    Most will not have thought through the extent of the damage caused by leaving the EU because they don't know what they're getting from it. They've been told a load of crap portrayed as fact which has gone unchallenged. Much of their media is pro-Brexit for whatever reasons.
    Their PM surely wouldn't lead them all off the edge of a cliff. Surely she wants what's best for Britain? Sure even Labour seem to be in favour of Brexit.
    What are they supposed to think? Who will give them the facts about how being a member of the EU is better than being a bystander looking in wondering what went wrong?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,161 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

That's true. But they had a chance to change that system as recently as 2011 and opted not to.

Indeed. However, as David Laws explains in his chronicle of the Coalition it was a tremendous fudge. Only the Liberal Democrats and the Pirate Party supported it and it was presented such that the general public were told that the person with the second highest amount of votes would win. Laws himself recounts an anecdote where one of his voters felt that he was working hard enough. She'd heard that a Yes vote might make MP's work harder so she voted no.
    Leroy42 wrote: »
    This idea of a protest vote doesn't stack up.

If such a protest, then why did they vote in record numbers for the Tories, and basically abandon UKIP?

And why do the voters continue to largely back Brexit, even now. If a vote was held today, Remain might win but not by much.

One can only conclude that whilst a part of it would have been a protest, there is no apparent appetite for a new party to represent that, and one can only conclude that this is indeed what the people want. I mean, they had 2 years prior to the vote, and if somehow they didn't pay attention during that it is inescapable to have heard about Brexit since as it really is the only thing the government is focused on.

The UK do not want to be in the EU anymore. Everyone needs to accept that. What the UK needs to decide now is how much of the benefits of the EU they are prepared to give up to get away from the negatives (and there are plenty of negatives with the EU).

It appears that the UK hasn't worked this out.

I believe that the idea of a protest vote does hold up.

The vote to Leave is one of the first real choices the British public has been able to make for years. For much of the past two decades, there was little or no difference between the two main parties. Margaret Thatcher even describes Tony Blair & New Labour as her biggest achievement.

Look at how both of these parties have treated the electorate. Top down reforms of the NHS after explicit promises not to, a botched attempt cut income tax credits despite the same only stopped by the unelected House of Lords, the Iraq War, Atos, tuition fees for the Lib Dems, the expenses scandal, the top 1% making a killing while the poorest get disability and welfare cuts and so on and so on.

It's not hard to see why the elites are held in such contempt. British democracy has a lot of the characteristics of being a closed shop which is rigged against the electorate. A third of voters who did not vote for either Labour or the Conservatives last election effectively have no representation, as did the 4-odd million UKIP voters in 2015.

However, after the referendum British politics has reverted to its previous state of business as usual. Northern working class types, BME voters and Cosmopolitans have gone back to voting Labour while parochial rural Southern English voters, social conservatives, big business types are now voting for the Conservatives once again. These voters are convinced that Brexit will proceed while the remnants of the pitiful and clinical Remain campaign are still sticking to the failed economic doom and gloom narrative. Both parties have committed to Brexit so people have become comfortable reverting to their previous voting habits resulting in the consignment of UKIP to the history books.

Until someone comes up with a positive view of the EU that resonates with the working classes, Brexit will not be reversed. This is why the Lib Dems did so badly last year. They were seen as undemocratic and elitist. The British political system needs to adopt meaningful democratic reforms such as an elected upper chamber and a PR voting system. People feel abandoned and out of touch with Politics so they struck back when the opportunity to do so presented itself.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

Larbre34 wrote: »
    40 is an excellent start. Momentum will build as the intractability of the current situation is compounded.

Fair play to Boris for the boost his moronic remarks will have given those efforts. "so few firms actually use the border regularly" I mean Jesus wept, its clear how little he and Davis and Fox actually know or care about the political and economic situation in Ireland / Northern Ireland. If I were a unionist, I'd be fairly miffed about that fact, how little regard HM government has for their needs.

This might put more presure on May to come up with something one can call a deal or she'll continue with her usual acting which brings no results. All just hot air and nothing done. But time is really running out because a deal must be there by the end of October at the latest.

The Tories don't care much about the Irish problems and are happy to leave all that to the DUP which is also quite happy to have the PM at her 'balls' and seek for a hard Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭McGiver

Peregrinus wrote: »
    McGiver wrote: »
    I think the Tories just think they will keep kicking the can down the road until the next general election. Also, Labour won't do anything. No one wants to own Brexit and be punished by the electorate when the Brexit sh1te falls down on everyone's head. Which means the country is politically paralysed and heading towards a hard Brexit unless something extraordinary happens.
    The Tories very much don't want to be still kicking the can down the road at the next election. They reckon the voters will crucify them if, at that time, six years after the referendum, the UK is still in the Customs Union, still paying EU contributions, still has no trade deals or no capacity to enter into them, still committed to substantial regulatory alignment with the EU, etc, etc. All that will have changed is that the UK no longer has a seat at the table around which the rules are made. The UK will have been through years of turmoil and absolutely nothing of any value* will have been achieved.

*[My bad. I'm forgetting the blue passports.]
    Now which Tories? There are at least three types of them.

To me it looks like they're not actually going to deliberately decide to leave the EU, rather they'll just continue fighting amongst themselves, end up with no policies on the issue and suddenly find themselves in a huge panic after March 2019 without any agreement reached with anyone.

The politicians over there aren't taking this nearly seriously enough. It's not a game, and could end up destroying large chunks of the UK economy and causing international problems.

I believe that the idea of a protest vote does hold up.

The vote to Leave is one of the first real choices the British public has been able to make for years. For much of the past two decades, there was little or no difference between the two main parties. Margaret Thatcher even describes Tony Blair & New Labour as her biggest achievement......

I agree with almost everything you say, but that does not deal with the fact that since the vote very few (statistically) have changed their mind.

Why would the voters continue to push for Brexit simply as a protest? As you say, the traditional voting patterns were largely restored in 2017 election (UKIP gone etc) and the local elections showed little signs of a protest.

So to follow the protest line, one must feel that voters protested once and left it at that, happy that all the issues were no resolved? Even the grubby coalition deal should have put paid to that.

As was pointed out from QT last night, many remainers seem to be of the view that 'lets get on with it'. There seems to be this thinking that a particular day will arrive, a VE day for example. In this case of a hard Brexit this is true, but anything else will mean that there isn't a day as such when the world changes. It will be, like the last two years, a lot of seemingly nothing at all happening until some issue crops up and then it all excitement for a few days.

The biggest mistake was letting this moniker of "Project Fear" take hold. Whilst it may have been somewhat true in the campaign, it is now used to decry anything that doesn't support the Brexit case (much like Fake News in Trumpland, but the UK deem their version to be far superior). So anybody that argues from remain is claimed to be overrun by Project Fear. They should fight back and say it should be called what it is, "Facts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

prinzeugen wrote: »
    If I was May, I would walk.

You have France, that was fighting bloody wars in the late 40's and 50's, in a despite attempt to keep the French Empire going, dictating to Ireland and you all roll over.

And Britain wasn't? Check out an ITV documentary series from the 1980s called End of Empire. It dealt with all the wars the British fought since the end of the Second World to try and keep THEIR Empire together. There were quite a few episodes!

And some of them went on into the 60s and 70s. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangla Desh, Burma, Palestine, Malaya, Aden, Cyprus, Suez, Kenya, Rhodesia. Not to mention Norn Iron.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    But yet the British is the problem? Go read some books about the slave trade.. The Brits are the good guys in this.
    Read some books about the history of the Middle East. About a hundred years ago the British were at war with the Ottoman Empire. Their main enemy in the First World War, incidentally. Not the Germans.

In an attempt to gain support the British made three mutually contradictory promises to potential allies. They promised the Arabs that if they rebelled against the Ottomans they would gain independence (Hussein MacMahon correspondence). They promised the Zionists they could have Palestine (Balfour Declaration). But before either of those they had already promised the French that the two of them would parcel out Arabia between themselves (Sykes Picot Agreement). Guess which one they prioritised when the war was over?

Making inherently contradictory promises to several parties while trying to feather their own nests? Just as they're doing now? Yeah. The Brits are the good guys all right. :rolleyes:

Look at the bloody awful mess the Middle East has been since WWI. British fingerprints all over it. Perfidious Albion indeed.

joeysoap wrote: »
    Why doesn’t somebody ask Fox (etc) if it’s taking until 2021 to negotiate a deal with the EU, why does he think a deal with US, Canada,India etc can be negotiated practically overnight?

I think deals with the US etc will be done pretty quickly. They really have no choice but to deliver. Liam FOX has basically been given 4 years to get deals done.

The problem is that those countries know this. They know that the UK need a deal. It is not about increasing trade, it is about enabling it at all, and about staying in power. That is quite a leverage to hold over a negotiation.

So I think the UK will strike deals quickly, but on really poor terms. One thing we know about Trump is that he is a bully and sees negotiations as zero-sum games. So he will want everything, and the UK will have little option but to give in.

Fox, Boris and May can then claim credit for delivering trade deals, whilst trying to keep the details out of the public eye. Based on the whole Brexit mess, it seems that the vast majority of the public don't bother with details so once they see a headline of "May delivers US deal despite EU trying to derail" they will be happy.

They will only see the negative effects a couple of years later

I think you also have to put on British glasses to read this and take off your Irish ones for a moment.

The view of the EU in England in particular is very odd and distorted. They have been fed a constant diet of "Europe is an evil monster" by the tabloids for decades and many people just accept that as fact.

Most people I have talked to cannot give you a rational argument for leaving, but they want to leave because they just don't like Europe. They don't really understand what it is, but they simply don't like it and that is largely down to decades of absorbing this notion that Europe does nothing except impose restrictions on them.

It has also been used as a whipping boy by local councils and petty local bureaucrats of all sorts who will tell you that they can't to X, Y or Z because of "European directives", which when you look into it, are usually locally invented or interpreted approaches to regulation of things like health and safety law that have no basis in EU directives or that are very draconian interpretations of EU rules, enforced with overzealousness by petty bureaucracy in England.

They've really never stopped to consider the positives of EU membership, everything's about the negatives. That's all they ever hear and that's all they've absorbed.

The positives are there, all the time, in the background to use an analogy they're like the foundations of your house or your electrical wiring and plumbing, the brakes and tyres on your car. They don't notice them because they just quietly perform a fundamental function.

The shock is not 'project fear', it's more like having taken the concept of rubber tyres for granted for decades, you're suddenly left driving on rims, having irrationally decided that you want nothing to do with tyres anymore due to decades of tabloid criticism of the tyre sector.

I really don't think they'll understand what they've done until after Brexit has actually happened. How that will pan out : nobody knows.

It's an old and common human trait : you don't know what it's got 'till it's gone to quite Joni Mitchell and plenty of others.

one can only conclude that this is indeed what the people want.

Hang on, a minute ago you said Remain could win a repeat referendum!

Could, but only just. What I meant was that in any given vote it could go either way, but regardless the result will no be empathic either way.

But despite the vote, I would have expected that if this was simply a protest vote then many more would see the folly and be demanding a stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

EdgeCase wrote: »

It's an old and common human trait : you don't know what it's got 'till it's gone to quite Joni Mitchell and plenty of others.

"They paved Paradise; built up a ........ lot."

A lot of resentment, racism, militarism, jingoism, xenophobia, fantasy, self-delusion, not to mention a lot of self harm.

Dangerous times for the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,832 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Brilliant post EdgeCase, and it's borne out when you watch audience interactions on Question Time; listen to call in shows on LBC; read the pro Brexit press. They think they've voted for 'freedom'; for a national renewal and liberation of their economy and society. Discourse on the EU has been rotted out by two decades of constant anti EU bile in their newspapers. This was taken up by the politicians and it has created a broad national perception - one that sees the details or facts as negative scare mongering or obfuscation.

That pushes up against the unfolding reality of the Brexit "negotiations" and is creating quite a political and societal mess. Simply put, large swathes of the media and politicians have not been honest with the electorate on the topic for years and they have managed to poison the idea of expert opinion. It makes it impossible therefore to have a proper conversation on the reality of the available options. And so we have ever continuing fudge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

This morning, DD is happy, coveney and mcentee call this "significant progress" and can proceed to Oct deal. Lads, we are screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,013 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Varadkar says UK's brexit border backstop plan falls short. He also says the time limit will be unacceptable to the EU. Barnier to speak shortly.

Also the EU has a bigger problem. They were absolutely clear that this should apply to NI only. They don't want any backstop in which the whole UK is in the CU pre empting talks on future relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

judeboy101 wrote: »
    This morning, DD is happy, coveney and mcentee call this "significant progress" and can proceed to Oct deal. Lads, we are screwed.
    Sorry, you take David Davis's political judgments seriously?

Varadkar says UK's brexit plan falls short. He also says the time limit will be unacceptable to the EU. Barnier to speak shortly.

But what is the other option. A hard Brexit?

UK seem to at least have some people wanting this. Ireland certainly do not, so isn't this option better than the alternative hard brexit in March?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Peregrinus wrote: »
    judeboy101 wrote: »
    Sorry, you take David Davis's political judgments seriously?
    No but if he is happy and coveney&co thing what may released constitutes "significant progress" I would not be confident that FG will stand up to EU. Remember when edna came back with our "special case" status for EU re the banks. ?

isn't this option better than the alternative hard brexit in March?

Anything is better than a Hard Brexit, which means the UK cannot really go for a Hard Brexit.

The EU will not accept a watered down backstop, and the UK can't bluff them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,003 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

May has given her full support and backing to Johnson after latest comments. How can this man be backed? He is the Foreign Secretary - he represents the UK around the world. It has been gaffe after gaffe, insulting people around the world and not understanding diplomacy in the least. He is a buffoon of the highest order. He is also constantly undermining her, suggesting yesterday that Trump would do better even. She should fire him, but she doesnt have the guts.

You can watch Barnier's Press conference here

https://ec.europa.eu/avservices/ebs/live.cfm?page=1

Apparently he may discuss other items mostly though...

Barnier says backstop cannot extend to whole UK