Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

None of the MF/LF/UAFC sites are much good for discussing the actual game. It's 40% people trying to be funny (many failing badly), 40% bitter comments against other provinces or the IRFU and 20% decent posts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Buer wrote: »
    None of the MF/LF/UAFC sites are much good for discussing the actual game. It's 40% people trying to be funny (many failing badly), 40% bitter comments against other provinces or the IRFU and 20% decent posts.

Thankfully our ratio is a much more manageable 60/20/20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Buer wrote: »

This. The LF discussion about the Carbery move is pretty awful, although I'm sure a few here would enjoy it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

So it seems we're getting a foreign 10!  really see this being a major anti-climax and waisted NIQ slot.  Just feel as fans we know the issues with Ulster and yet we're going to start another season with half the issues still in-situ. 
    The squad's lack of players/quality/experience is really worrying! We seriously need a 2nd row, and several backline players. There's only so much the academy can do to help us compete. This season other teams, we would expect to beat are gonna be stronger, were again it looks like we're regressing.
    On another note u20 today Dalton, Hall, Hume starting. Agnew on the bench and seems to have leap frogged Hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,932 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

If nothing else, the fact that there are barely any management personnel left and things are still being utterly fecked up should put to rest the idea that Logan and Cunningham aren't a massive part of the last few years problems. They're almost entirely at the helm at this point.

MJohnston wrote: »
    If nothing else, the fact that there are barely any management personnel left and things are still being utterly fecked up should put to rest the idea that Logan and Cunningham aren't a massive part of the last few years problems. They're almost entirely at the helm at this point.
    It's ironic the IFRU supposedly sacked S&C, Physio etc. The PR/Marketing team are still making huge push at season tickets...Answer the following points and them tickets will sell them selves:
    • CEO - Fans want him replaced, he has hid in the shadows during constant crisis. He supposedly made such a difference financially for Ulster, when will this money actually benefit our squad?
    • Bryn - is he responsible for reform? and constant lack lustre signings? Even the fans can see earmarked players recently aren't what Ulster need. The old boy connection, same old agents supplying signings.
    • McFarland, we don't even have confirmation when he's coming? talk of a interim coach? If that's the case this will be the same circus. Makes the point who decided this was a wise idea, gees we have form this so sort of ****e.
    • Back room staff - we've sacked S&C, Physio etc... with no word of a replacement with pre-season pending. EDIT - twitter has Head of Athletic Performance advertised. Good to see we're prepared.
    • Malone, why is he still here? we need a freshen up. If the S&C etc are to blame, surely it's time for fresh ideas not giving him a new senior role.
    • Signings - we need a loosehead (hond needs released), we need a 2nd row, competent backup scrum half & out-half, we're 1 injury away from having a backline. The squad has literally been neglected for seasons to the stage we almost need a foreign player in most positions or at least as back up.
    • Strategy to effectively incorporate/facilitate meaningful game time for academy and not sink them by parachuting them in. We realistically actually for the first time in a long time have some good potential. Issue we now don't have a squad capable of integrating these academy players in responsibly. Just look at our last game we had a 19 year old TH play 80 mins, subsequently injuring himself.
    I could rant on, but would love hear some constructive thoughts on what Ulster really need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Hands Like Flippers

Few good players joining the academy mind you.

The current player's really are refreshing. How we utilise the academy is likely gonna define next season I worry.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The article mentions both being signed.

Rough translation is "the irish, in balance with Elton Janties presents the double advantage of being cheap due to losing his international status and being available during the international windows"

It doesn't. It says Jackson represents the better deal in terms of wages and availability compared to Jantjies, who won't be signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,816 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

It doesn't. It says Jackson represents the better deal in terms of wages and availability compared to Jantjies, who won't be signed.

Ah. My secondary school french making a show of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭damianmcr

Jackson is better than Janties anyway.

FOSL BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,361 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

He'll always be considered an Ulster rugby player. He was developed by Ulster and went onto represent Ireland from Ulster.

I echo what others have intimated however. Less said the better until the kid has signed a deal, don't give the saddo's on twitter recourse to go on the outrage rampage against potential clubs or sponsors before the ink has been let dry.

The deal is done. Two year contract with Perpignan.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    The deal is done. Two year contract with Perpignan.

I'm glad for him.

At the end of the day, he could be a terrible person who deserves to be in jail but he could also ultimately be the victim in all of this so getting to play top14 rugby for a decent club in a beautiful part of the world is as good as he could have expected. He'd rather be still with Ulster and touring in Australia with his reputation intact but that is gone now. At least his rugby career isn't over.

Yeah yeah yeah, can we move on from discussing either of those two in this thread now? Can't wait to never hear about them again, particularly sob stories about their careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Yeah yeah yeah, can we move on from discussing either of those two in this thread now? Can't wait to never hear about them again, particularly sob stories about their careers.

Cry me a river.

They're ex Ulster players and your opinion of them wont ever change that fact.

As long as that fact remains, the topic of them will remain relevant for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,092 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

For a large cohort of ulster and irish rugby supporters they are still interested in them and feel they have been hounded out of Irish rugby, despite being acquitted in a court of law.
    I will still keep an eye on them both anyway.

Cry me a river.

They're ex Ulster players and your opinion of them wont ever change that fact.

As long as that fact remains, the topic of them will remain relevant for this thread

Cry you a river? Hah, that's ironic.

mfceiling wrote: »
    For a large cohort of ulster and irish rugby supporters they are still interested in them and feel they have been hounded out of Irish rugby, despite being acquitted in a court of law.
    I will still keep an eye on them both anyway.

And there's lots of people who don't feel like that. I am suggesting that perhaps the best compromise is that if you want to talk about them, do so outside of the Ulster thread, so those of us in the second bucket can actually feel some attachment to the club going forward.

Jackson can get a job with his current predicament, yet Ulster still can't make announce signings? resolve existing issues.

And there's lots of people who don't feel like that. I am suggesting that perhaps the best compromise is that if you want to talk about them, do so outside of the Ulster thread, so those of us in the second bucket can actually feel some attachment to the club going forward.

I can see where you are coming from, but I think people need to be a bit objective also. An accusation was made, it wasn't proven. It wasn't a nice accusation and ancillary evidence paints the players as childish and demeaning of others.

I think the safe space you are looking for would also mean Gilroy is not to be discussed here. What might other players have done or said? Should Munster fans never discuss Murray or Zebo either?

Again, I think people just need to be objective. A bad accusation was made, it wasn't proven and it may or may not have been true. We most likely will never know but the evidence pointed sufficiently one way that the benefit of the doubt should at least allow for some objective discussion without black listing the people involved indefinitely.

I think everyone adopting a more objective position is better than some long term censorship of the topic.

• Administrators Posts: 55,733 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Good luck to the lads. Ulster's loss is Perpignan's gain unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I can see where you are coming from, but I think people need to be a bit objective also. An accusation was made, it wasn't proven. It wasn't a nice accusation and ancillary evidence paints the players as childish and demeaning of others.

I think the safe space you are looking for would also mean Gilroy is not to be discussed here. What might other players have done or said? Should Munster fans never discuss Murray or Zebo either?

Again, I think people just need to be objective. A bad accusation was made, it wasn't proven and it may or may not have been true. We most likely will never know but the evidence pointed sufficiently one way that the benefit of the doubt should at least allow for some objective discussion without black listing the people involved indefinitely.

I think everyone adopting a more objective position is better than some long term censorship of the topic.

Gilroy is still an ulster player.

The leinster thread isnt really cluttered by talk of all the ex leinster and leinster academy players playing outside ireland. When sexton went to racing he was mainly discussed in ireland team talk and irish players playing outside the provinces megathread.

Likewise Jackson is gone from Ulster not an ulster player and slightly offtopic for the thread.

Just my opinion.

I'm not talking about censoring anything. I just don't think it's an Ulster topic anymore. Go and post about them in the French thread or the General Rugby thread for all I care, I just know that I'm not the only one who is completely discouraged from engaging in this thread as long they're being discussed here.

Gilroy is still an ulster player.

The leinster thread isnt really cluttered by talk of all the ex leinster and leinster academy players playing outside ireland. When sexton went to racing he was mainly discussed in ireland team talk and irish players playing outside the provinces megathread.

Likewise Jackson is gone from Ulster not an ulster player and slightly offtopic for the thread.

Just my opinion.

Madigan comes up quite regularly as does Marty Moore. I imagine there will be a lot of discussion about Carbery next season. Bod is still discussed often enough as is Darcy and other since departed players like Thorn and Hines. O'Gara's various movements and developments are well catalogued on the Munster thread.

If these threads are to be strictly on topic then that's fair enough, if that isn't to be the case (and I don't believe it should be) then I don't think talk of ex players should be censored because some people think they *might* be guilty of something.

I'm not talking about censoring anything. I just don't think it's an Ulster topic anymore. Go and post about them in the French thread or the General Rugby thread for all I care, I just know that I'm not the only one who is completely discouraged from engaging in this thread as long they're being discussed here.

Honestly?

If you're discouraged then that's your problem in my opinion. If you were objective about the entirety of the trial and subsequent outcome I don't think anyone is saying anything on here that should discourage you from posting.

If we start censoring discussion because it makes some people uncomfortable then we might as well just abandon the concept of social interaction.

Honestly?

If you're discouraged then that's your problem in my opinion. If you were objective about the entirety of the trial and subsequent outcome I don't think anyone is saying anything on here that should discourage you from posting.

If we start censoring discussion because it makes some people uncomfortable then we might as well just abandon the concept of social interaction.

Please don't start lecturing people about objectivity and trials when you know full well discussion of that is banned. Could you not just have even a sliver of sensitivity for other posters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,816 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I don't really understand the point of discouraging people to engage in the thread.

Just ignore the posts, you don't have to engage with the conversation if it's not something you like. Post about other discussions or aspects of Ulster rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The topic of how both players are getting on is going to be used as a weapon.

Very much delighted not to be an Ulster fan, because anyone who has an issue with them have very much become The Other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,790 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Meh

Good outcome for Jackson, be interested to see how he gets on.

The topic of how both players are getting on is going to be used as a weapon.

Very much delighted not to be an Ulster fan, because anyone who has an issue with them have very much become The Other.

Yep, spot on.