49% of gardaí marry other gardaí

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Are those figures from the Garda Press Office? :D

1 million gardai were surveyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Augeo wrote: »
    Female gardai are a no no for non AGS gents.
    Odds are they're being passed around the station, willingly of course. More or less made public recently too.

oh dear. I'm glad I have no female relatives in the Gardai, to have such a slur cast upon them. (even if you are quoting from some survey or whatever).

Given the gender split the number of female Gardai not married to a Garda must be incredibly low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Odds are they're being passed around the station, willingly of course. More or less made public recently too.

but of course the male Guards partaking in this are fine upstanding gents and a real catch for non AGS

Good old Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,760 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

BS

Riskymove wrote: »
    but of course the male Guards partaking in this are fine upstanding gents and a real catch for non AGS

Good old Ireland

Not at all.

Given the gender split the number of female Gardai not married to a Garda must be incredibly low.

of course these are just figures related to married people
    there could also be a significant number of the 51% in relationships with guards but not married

Not at all.

then why not just say that AGS are a no go for non AGS

Of course....the fat ban gardai don't get to partake in the shenanigans .... so they're "fine" ....if you like fat birds.

of course these are just figures related to married people
    there could also be a significant number of the 51% in relationships with guards but not married
    It's still a very, very high number though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lots of people with really bad maths here.

Also, a surprisingly large amount of lesbians in the Gardai.

If half of all female Gardai are married to other Gardai, and women make up 25% of the Gardai, then that means that at most 25% of Gardai are married to other Gardai.

However, since that 49% may/does include two women who are married to one another, then the total number is less than 25%.

We also don't have numbers on male Gardai married to one another, but it's probably at a similar level to the ladies, so they cancel eachother out.

then why not just say that AGS are a no go for non AGS

Because I'm m not claiming the males partaking are a real catch..

& the stat was about female AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭idnkph

Maybe people marry people in their own profession because they have their profession in common?
    Isn't that a huge staple in a relationship?! Having things in common with their partner?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

idnkph wrote: »
    Maybe people marry people in their own profession because they have their profession in common?
    Isn't that a huge staple in a relationship?! Having things in common with their partner?!

Christ I can't think of anything more depressing than 'talking shop'!

Well, it would be a bit stupid of, for instance, a teacher not to marry another teacher: if they were both teachers they could have their 3 months holidays per year together in some exotic destination where houses are cheap to buy. What a massive improvement in standard of living that would be for people who, in the bigger scheme of things, are earning a very mediocre salary.

Imagine if a teacher didn't marry another teacher how her/his partner would feel working for months longer and usually bringing significantly more money to the household for those months work. I'd say today of all days is going to piss off many a non-teacher who married a secondary school teacher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Christ I can't think of anything more depressing than 'talking shop'!
    With Gardai in particular there is something to be said with being able to discuss the day with someone who both understands the difficulties of the job, but also allows you to speak freely.

In a more public setting, or even with good mates, Gardai talking about work in the raw and derogative way that most of us take for granted about our own jobs, can often be taken up wrong.

Think about working a retail job and being able to complain about that aul bitch that always comes in and the smell off her. Now imagine you're a Garda and you're talking freely and honestly about the halting site that you raided today.

Hence many members are reluctant to discuss the job with non-members, who may be more judgemental about wording, and more shocked by the realities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭munster87

zell12 wrote: »

82% Met in Coppers

munster87 wrote: »
    82% Met in Coppers

I'm surprised no one pointed out the Coppers factor yet, 15% of male gardai marry nurses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Well, it would be a bit stupid of, for instance, a teacher not to marry another teacher: if they were both teachers they could have their 3 months holidays per year together in some exotic destination where houses are cheap to buy. What a massive improvement in standard of living that would be for people who, in the bigger scheme of things, are earning a very mediocre salary.

Imagine if a teacher didn't marry another teacher how her/his partner would feel working for months longer and usually bringing significantly more money to the household for those months work. I'd say today of all days is going to piss off many a non-teacher who married a secondary school teacher!

My parents are teachers and they certainly enjoyed the long holidays. As did we the kids. We never left Ireland though but spent months in the wilds of Cork abd Kerry. Good times.

Also back then two salaries were rare. We were probably a upper middle income family. Nowadays teachers are slightly above the average for mich of their career

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

By the same "logic" does that mean that 102% are not married to guards? I can see where the breath test figures came from now.

he assumed that the male female ratio was the same I suppose, in which case multiplying by two would have worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Metric Tensor

he assumed that the male female ratio was the same I suppose, in which case multiplying by two would have worked

No it wouldn't.

If the ratio was 50/50 then the overall figure would stay the same at 49%.

oh jaysus part deux!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

D3V!L wrote: »
    93.8% of IT staff are single.

Only because it's illegal to wed a laptop - referendum anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Allinall wrote: »
    Do you’re saying that only 2% of Gardai are not married to other Gardaí?

I call bs.

Eh 49% are total number that married each other.

Will do the maths later.

For sh!ts and giggles:

Lets assume Garda numbers are 20000. And that 12000 of these are married.

We know the split male/female is approx 75/25 so this gives 3000 married female Gardaí. (i.e. 12000 / 4 = 3000)

49% of these female Gardaí are married to other Gardaí which is 1470. (3000 x 49 / 100)

I'm going to discount same-sex unions because the percentage is very small so this means that each of those 1470 female gardaí is married to a male garda giving a total "married within the force figure" of 1470 + 1470 = 2940.

As a percentage of the overall force this is 2940 / 20000 x 100 = 14.7% of overall members married within the force.
    As a percentage of married members this is 2940 / 12000 x 100 = 24.5% of overall married members married within the force.

*** All my figures are made up - this is just to show how the percentages work.

We know the split male/female is approx 75/25 so this gives 3000 married female Garda(i.e. 12000 / 4 = 3000)

49% of these female Gardare married to other Gardahich is 1470. (3000 x 49 / 100)

is it that 49% of female gardai married a guard

or

is it 49% of married female gardai married a guard

makes a big difference to figures

The original link is vague but I think it's 49% of married female gardaí are married to another garda.

Figures would be quite different if 49% of all female gardaí are married to another garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭BillyHasMates

Interesting it doesn't give the figure of male Gardai marrying other Gardai. 15% married to nurses. I'd say the figure is similar for teachers also.

The original link is vague but I think it's 49% of married female gardare married to another garda.

Figures would be quite different if 49% of all female gardare married to another garda.

it says
    Here are the highlights of what we found in the data when we cross-referenced spouses and occupations

So I'd imagine it is 49% of married female Gardai so a lower figure than may have looked at first

Interesting it doesn't give the figure of male Gardai marrying other Gardai. 15% married to nurses. I'd say the figure is similar for teachers also.

it does its 10% for Gardai and 8% for teachers