Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Are the writers trying to make Damo the biggest idiot who ever walked the earth?

And have said writers forgotten that 2 weeks ago Melanie left the massive hotel that is the Pod to work for Comet full time? So she made that decision Based on a free lance position she is sick of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭threetrees

Niall_76 wrote: »
    Are the writers trying to make Damo the biggest idiot who ever walked the earth?
    Pretty much. They've made Damo Halpin the exact definition of a buffoon, an asshole and a most dislikeable person all rolled into one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Decos van was nicked and that should be be the end of his business, plus with all his customers people canceling, who'd want it... :confused:...and I thought he had a fleet of van's, seems he only has one.

They're keeping Sexy Cop in.... Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why has Pete got an office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Damo to Melanie - I won't tell Hayley you're looking for another job.

20 seconds later - Ah howya Hayley, so Melanie is job hunting!

God he's exasperating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

What does Mondo know about social media strategy. He can't even put his boxers on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Ok just watching tonight’s episode on the player, went to a break and now it’s showing nationwide after the break????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,494 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

fin12 wrote: »
    Ok just watching tonight’s episode on the player, went to a break and now it’s showing nationwide after the break????

Same issue also!
    Not working on the laptop or the app!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭picturehangup

Same here!
    Was looking forward to it all the same, after a long day at the office!

fin12 wrote: »

Same here, so annoyed

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why has Pete got an office?

Makes him feel important and like a big man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Decos van was nicked and that should be be the end of his business, plus with all his customers people canceling, who'd want it... :confused:...and I thought he had a fleet of van's, seems he only has one.

They're keeping Sexy Cop in.... Yay!

So did I smh.... But it was more than likely Cathal or one of his crowd nicked it then returned it in order to put the pressure on Decco so he'd continue on with chariot and carry even more dodgy parcels for him.

And yay ten times over! Delighted Sexy Cop is staying! :D

Btw, funny story regarding Sexy cop - or rather the actor that plays him. I was watching FC with my mam when he made his first appearance on FC, and Mam said.

''God! It's Des Brennan, I always thought he was a bit of a dish,and had a thing/crush for/on him when I used to watch Glenroe! And he's looking as well as ever, better even!'' Yeah, she actually used the word ''dish''. lol

I said ''who the eff is or was Des Brennan (because I thought she was referring to the actor's real name and had gotten it wrong), and she explained that he was this ''good looking mechanic with dark hair who was married to a girl called Nuala and the son of Dinny Byrne's best mate, Stephen and had a brother in a wheelchair called David, who had a bit of an obsession with a posh English girl called Fiona, who eventually married the local vicar who was played by Enda Oates who plays Pete in FC and was a nice character who was easy going and played rugby. All kudos to Enda Oates because his Glenroe character sounded cool and not in the slightest bit like grumpy auld Pete!

It was the weirdest - or one of them, kinda uncomfortable too - experiences ever lol because it was the first time my mother and I ever agreed over who we fancied off TV, as her taste would be so different to my own.....

And she's even worse than I am when it comes to sexy Cop Steve..... We have some competition out there, CollyFlower.... :pac:

I'm feeling a bit saddened at the moment, because I thought Jane had finished things with Cathal and would be more suited to Sexy Cop Steve... First Paul Brennan - but you can give her a pass on that one, because she was only nineteen or so when she had a one night stand with him - but her relationship choices haven't' been the best to date; Ciaran the psycho - although it didn't last any longer than a couple of dates, men whose names we don't even know because she met them online, but never had much luck, hence the whole Oisin/Charlotte p**s take out of her which turned serious... Then Dermot, whom she seems to have forgotten now, and claims his house is hers on more than one occasion (did he sign it over to her in an episode I missed???)

Now criminal Cathal Spillane, the dodgiest, most flesh crawling (one thing Carol got right) fella on the whole show...

Now, I don't feel too sorry for jane anymore - it's her own bloody fault that she makes such bad decisions, so I'm no longer rooting for a Jane and Steve romance.

So, guys, who else do you think might be worthy of Steve (please say me :P joke - I'm not some crazy stalker lol and I'm willing to share him with CollyFlower - we just have to sort out a rota :D)

Someone most ''unexpected and shocking'' (though we never got to see either of them really interact, until we get to an end of an episode - I can see them going all out there and doing a flashback episode, a la Emmerdale, as the Emmerdale flashbacks have proved really popular, as to how and when the whole theoretical relationship started, but would FC writers ever have that imagination in them to do it properly and convincingly???) during a bit of a lull where there really is nothing else in FC going on, where Steve meets up with the mystery woman for a bit of the nasty, or she's waiting for him at home, all attired in sexy gear the first time ever we get to see his place and the episode ends on that ''jaw dropper'' of a WTF.

A woman, sort of ''controversial'' that he's been carrying on with for a while, long before he made his first appearance, and the whole Carol thing was just a front to throw people off the scent of who the real woman in his life is, because FC like to do ''controversial and shocking'' these days, the KA being a murderer thing, Oakley and the cult and his loyal ''toy' flare gun, Miriam being the good guy from the offset, who genuinely wanted to help people, not, as we suspected some female version of David Koresh, Damo endangering Saorise's life by getting involved with said cult, Damo losing it and accidentally hitting Laura - for a while there he was turning more and more unstable - the whole PLAN saga - laughable really, then Niamh just abandons Ruthie to swan off to figi when she and Paul were making a go of things again, Karen's murder and obsession with Sean, her overburdened, conflicted mind over the fact that Dan raped her mother of which she was the result, which eventually led to her having a breakdown of sorts, thus leading to her demise, the whole Heather poisoning Ellie craic, then Ellie trying to poison Kevin, Oisin's break in at Jane's wearing a balaclava, and lets not forget the Ciaran and Katy saga, etc, etc, as they're trying to keep up with other soaps, but they miss the mark more often than not...

So, if Steve's ''theoretical lover'' exists as a pre-existing character, who might she potentially and theoretically be?

Sash, she is bi, remember? Farrah? Remember the convo she had with Carol, when Carol called him attractive, where she kind of brushed it off and said he was ''too old'' for her. Then again, now that she's with Jake, I'd say that's a no go.... Or maybe Hayley?

Sharon, Hayley's mam - the dad's gut instinct was right, all along and she wasn't raving about a dog in her texts, and ''dexter'' is just her nickname for him in case anyone spies the texts?

My own fave female character of all, Melanie?

He seemed to lose that huge interest he had in Carol fairly fast and just accepted it wasn't going to work, which was more or less weird if you're really into someone. If he genuinely was, I think he'd play it cooler and just tell her he'd give her a bit of space until she and Robbie sort things out, instead, he accepted that it mightn't be such a good idea after all (because I think he's already cleared her of having any real involvement in Spillane's dealings, hence his supposed ''interest'' in the first place, and he was paying close attention to Spillane and her convos - in the pub of course - with Jane, with regards to Cathal, so I still can't help but wonder if his sudden interest in her was just a ploy, in order to find out whether or not she was up to her neck in his dealings, as he's never off the job....

I have a feeling that's how it might go, the mystery woman and all.... Or maybe, just maybe, he's gay, hence his marriage break up and his secret lover (provided he has one) turns out to be Will! :D

Sadly, I was wrong about Jane finding love with Steve, something as unlikely as could be now, as she's big into Cathal.... But I think the Carol/Robbie reunion is going to happen sooner than we think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Decco reminds me of these short fellas you'd see in a nightclub being very aggressive with everyone.

I think it’s called “short man syndrome”

Did the fix the RTÉ player glitch? With last night episode

Never mind it’s fixex just watched it

How does Jane own Dermits house he never signed it over to him?

Dolores was in two scenes one after another that’s a soap no no in my books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Why is Damo stalking Melanie now and is Tommy gone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Looks like Decco has finally accepted the dark side like Walter White.

Say my name.... HeisenBishop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I like Decco reverting back to his old self, should make things a bit more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

My god Jane has the most impressive chest in Carrickstown.

Absolute fox

She needs to smile more though. She has a face like a well slapped arse.

I can see Robbie putting a smile on her face, I predict them getting jiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭dixiedan

Decco reverting to type by the looks of it. I could take him a bit more seriously if he didn't have to look up at everybody he's talking to and didn't have a face on him like there was a bad smell in the vicinity.

What is he going to do to Raymondsss anyway?

Wayne...what an idiot!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

She has a resting bitch face.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Why is Damo stalking Melanie now and is Tommy gone?

God! I hope FC don't decide to get them together as a couple! Melanie is too good for Damo! I'm even thinking of starting a petition so it doesn't happen :P.... Please, please, please, FC producers, whatever else you do - even if it's a shock storyline about Charlie Kelly's bunions which turn out to be riddled with some unheard of disease for months, and subject us to that - DON'T MAKE MELANIE AND DAMO A COUPLE!!!!!. Melanie deserves so much better..... Sexy Cop Steve level better in fact, because the Damo Melanie thing would be just a terrible re-run of Caoimhe/Damo all over again. Melanie, like Caoimhe likes her independance and Damo would do all in his power to stifle that, or else, as they like to shock us, they'd make him a physically abusive b****** towards her, and she'd end up a frightened nervous wreck...
    [/B]
    On a lighter note, though, one thing I found funny, and about the only realistic thing I've ever heard in FC, was when Alex (Melanie's son) told Damo that ''ma has been cursing all morning''. :pac:

I think it’s called “short man syndrome”

I call it Napoleon Complex! :pac:

I don't like Carol as a character, but I do really feel for her for what Trigger made her do as a kid - Trigger was completely f****d up and evil, IMO, and I haven't a clue why she allowed him spend his final weeks at her house. If my dad had done that to me I swear I wouldn't have giving two f**** whether he was dying or not, and probably celebrated when he finally died, yet he continued to be a c*** right up until he drew his last breath.

Anyway, I hate Cathal even more for making out that Carol the young teen/pre-teen was some sort of cheap s****er who more or less enjoyed being sold to dirty old men by her dad. That actually made me angry. No child or young teenager (or anyone of any age, male or female) would take pleasure in that horrific form of abuse.

For a split second I thought Jane was just going to shrug and say it wasn't any of her business or words to that effect, but I was really glad when she did defend Carol and dumped the scumbag. I really don't have a clue what she found so damned alluring about him in the first place. Dermot might not have been the sexiest FC character, but at least he was decent and she really downgraded when she hooked up with Spillane. Come on lads and girls, who the f*** would fancy such a smarmy. nausea inducing piece of crap in the first place?????

I think Cathal is the most conscienceless b*****d in FC right now, and I'd love him to get his comeuppence!

I know some people are delighted that Decco has gone back to the dark side, but I'll miss decent Decco.....

I wonder, though, what sort of punishment lies in wait for Mondo? Will he keep him in Ciaran's box and feed him Victoria sponge and give him art supplies for the next eight months? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Jane seems to be constantly going on dates. She must have had more pricks than a second hand dart board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Anyone think Melanie new hairstyle doesn't suit? Looked far better with her old look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83