Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

launish116 wrote: »
    He left on a High and just disappeared! Never understood why he wasn’t clawed back! He’s resigned with Connacht!

Throw him and McCallister in and you already improve the squad! Wonder what Whittens contract situation is?

Whitten is still a starter at Exeter isn't he? I can't see him wanting to leave a top English club.

Edit: He was on the bench for the Premiership final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

awec wrote: »
    I don't think it's depth we need, we have players you could consider backups. We need some real quality; we are very light in the back three. We won't get another Piutau but we need someone closer to that standard than another squad filler type.

That said, it seems unlikely we'll get anything of a good standard at this stage, so we might have to just take what we can get. But really we're one or two injuries away from being in big trouble.

Realistically we won’t get world beaters now! We need players who can slot in and no downgrade what we have but keep consistency!

Looking at Leinster going after Tomane ant help but think that’s the type of signing we need urgently!

The issue also is what we need and are they IQ, that’s were the likes of Whitten comes in.

• Administrators Posts: 55,733 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Realistically we won’t get world beaters now! We need players who can slot in and no downgrade what we have but keep consistency!

Looking at Leinster going after Tomane ant help but think that’s the type of signing we need urgently!

The issue also is what we need and are they IQ, that’s were the likes of Whitten comes in.
    IQ should not be a problem, we have no NIQ backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Jeff Hassler has left Ospreys and has no club. Ulster should be all over him.

Ulster have no players in the non European category I can Think of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,932 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

The real worry I have is - who the feck is picking these potential signings? It's very unlikely to be McFarland, I sure hope it isn't Gibbes. So, Bryn Cunningham?

elevator_Bob-1.gif

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Was thinking that, he tore Ulster apart last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Jackson being linked with Perpignan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭bilston

No head coach in place currently and 8 fit outside backs...looking good for 18/19 peeps!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stl.ire

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Ulster have Deysel, Coetzee and Van Der Merwe as NIQ players, although technically (and as ridiculous as it sounds) you could call VDM a project player.
    So there’s at least room for 1 more under the supposed rules (who really knows what they are anymore).

Lealiifano wasn’t selected for Australia’s wider squad. Wonder if Chieka has told him he not going to the World Cup?

stl.ire wrote: »
    Ulster have Deysel, Coetzee and Van Der Merwe as NIQ players, although technically (and as ridiculous as it sounds) you could call VDM a project player.
    So there’s at least room for 1 more under the supposed rules (who really knows what they are anymore).

Lealiifano wasn’t selected for Australia’s wider squad. Wonder if Chieka has told him he not going to the World Cup?

I'd say those rules would be bent slightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭$ausage$

From what I hear they will have a good base of coaches in before the HC arrives so expect maybe some more Assistant coaches to help out.

I reckon ye lads are about to announce the signing of Keatley on a two year deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I reckon ye lads are about to announce the signing of Keatley on a two year deal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFk-x0wXHDc&t=0m13s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

That would make 3 provinces with Leinster produced 10s. (4 if you count Ronaldson)

"Bow down!"

"We're already bowing Joe"

"Bow lower!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Would Keatley be the first to play for all 4 provinces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Would Keatley be the first to play for all 4 provinces?
    I think so. Although Keatley never had a senior start for Leinster. Just A games.

Yes Keatley would be the first. Cillian Willis was our last hope.

$ausage$ wrote: »
    From what I hear they will have a good base of coaches in before the HC arrives so expect maybe some more Assistant coaches to help out.

You’ve mentioned this several times! What have you heard?

As for Lealifano I would not be against this, not the 10 we need but could help and cover centre! Compared to Keatley?

On another note U20 game. Agnew has been standing out! Followed by Dunleavy! Dalton needs to clean his game/basics up.

You’ve mentioned this several times! What have you heard?

As for Lealifano I would not be against this, not the 10 we need but could help and cover centre! Compared to Keatley?

On another note U20 game. Agnew has been standing out! Followed by Dunleavy! Dalton needs to clean his game/basics up.
    I cant say who but I have heard yes. - tease I know, but I am very happy with it.

In fact what is the number for the season ticket office?

I cant say who but I have heard yes. - tease I know, but I am very happy with it.

In fact what is the number for the season ticket office?

Now now, you can't be saying that without dropping a hint or even some clue to what they are responsible for?
    Secondly looking like Carbery to Munster on a 2 year deal, let the fake uproar begin.

Now now, you can't be saying that without dropping a hint or even some clue to what they are responsible for?
    Secondly looking like Carbery to Munster on a 2 year deal, let the fake uproar begin.

If this is Pienaar then it is a sad indictment of Ulster that a retiring player with no coaching experience generates season ticket sales.

The min I get the go ahead I will post I swear. :angel:

EDIT: Not Ruan.

The min I get the go ahead I will post I swear. :angel:

EDIT: Not Ruan.

Paul O'Connell just left his underage coaching spot...

Who else is around and available? If ye wait 4 weeks you can probably get Eddie Jones.

HAHA sorry guys PM's wont open for me and I wont say on PM, sorry.

Just be glad its good news and sit back and enjoy the wait.

• Administrators Posts: 55,733 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I will ban you if you don't tell me. I have a mighty banhammer and I am not afraid to wield it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

POST IT. POST IT. POST IT.

awec wrote: »

I will ban you if you don't tell me. I have a mighty banhammer and I am not afraid to wield it.
    #$ausage$Out now?!?!

is it a job for the old boys?
    This wait and see! Think Ulster have left it to late to salvage the squad for next season. Gonna be far to many new management/moving parts + depleted squad to paper over. Bring on 20/21 season.

Where is Johan Muller these days?