Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Mine broke into the paddock next to them which was a bit stupid as there was slurry spread on it the other day.

Did ya get your bales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Angus look like jersey.
    Belgian blue are 'hard calved' for holstein and peipleare afaid.
    Everyhing else has too long a gestation

B.B. very easy calved off hol ,great calf value and better value as stores especially heifers .agree on angus but main issue there is lads messing registering jex as angus
    Around here the best market is for Hereford stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Did ya get your bales?

Ye. Alot going on around here at the minute. Baled yesterday evening. Bales were the last thing on my mind. All in now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ye. Alot going on around here at the minute. Baled yesterday evening. Bales were the last thing on my mind. All in now

Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

mahoney_j wrote: »
    B.B. very easy calved off hol ,great calf value and better value as stores especially heifers .agree on angus but main issue there is lads messing registering jex as angus
    Around here the best market is for Hereford stock

Why arent they more widespeead. ?Dakota dan had trouble with them earlier this year.
    Tbh id only ever buy limousin or angus sucks. Not a fan of whiteheads or blues even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I stopped reading after the bit about NZ being world's "biggest milk producing nation". If he can't get that right his opinions on everything else wouldn't be worth much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I stopped reading after the bit about NZ being world's "biggest milk producing nation". If he can't get that right his opinions on everything else wouldn't be worth much.

Pity really because his pronouncements on milk price were well received over on the milk price thread....:) lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Pity really because his pronouncements on milk price were well received over on the milk price thread....:) lol.

A pure breath of fresh air in comparasion to every other ceo atm .there all doom and gloom talking price down and been pesemestic .im betting the ceo of Dairygold and glanbia in particular are pure loving Conor for that statement !he has done a serious job turning things around in Arrabawn in last few years

He’d want to wash out his foul mouth Mahoney...:(

...one is supposed to tiptoe around the elephant in the room using euphemisms like, “not going the right way”...ffs! :)

Cows in by night as of today. Couldn’t even make it to the first of June.

This green stuff is very weather dependent, as ye know well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

but he didn't rule out further cuts which I presume means a sash for may, our peak month

I'm worn out from haggling with the f£$%*g sheep factories since last monday so I leave it to young lads like yourself to sort out the co ops :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Vasectomised two yearling bulls today, have a few calves I could keep on as well for the same job again next year, do many of ye keep bull calves for that? Got the news our best vet us leaving the practice as well, will be a massive loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Mooooo wrote: »
    Vasectomised two yearling bulls today, have a few calves I could keep on as well for the same job again next year, do many of ye keep bull calves for that? Got the news our best vet us leaving the practice as well, will be a massive loss.

Yeah did 3 here and 2 are hurt already and we're not at week 6 yet :(
    Hopefully they'll recover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Yeah did 3 here and 2 are hurt already and we're not at week 6 yet :(
    Hopefully they'll recover

This little blue tag is doing all the work here, cuts out some messing

Have 2 here only putt8ng in with cows 2moro but they are 3yr old. Were with the heifers till now and are big enough so should be fine with cows it thing is they may not be as active as younger lads. All one seems to do is roar anyway the bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

pulled the bulls last year after 8 weeks , this friday is end of week 6 and going to pull them out, lim bull sold and gone today ,aa bull sold and going on saturday, he bull left,10 cows bulling in last 3 weeks so far,fingers crossed.10 fr heifers coming in and will buy a few incalfs in fermoy sale.

leg wax wrote: »
    pulled the bulls last year after 8 weeks , this friday is end of week 6 and going to pull them out, lim bull sold and gone today ,aa bull sold and going on saturday, he bull left,10 cows bulling in last 3 weeks so far,fingers crossed.10 fr heifers coming in and will buy a few incalfs in fermoy sale.

Any ai? Buying in all replacements?

no ai all replacements been bought in.

leg wax wrote: »
    no ai all replacements been bought in.

Simplifies things really, do you sell calves or hold them for an outfarm? Was thinking would it be more straight forward at times but tb can put paid to such systems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Scanned today.82 cows done.42 in calf from 26 to 42 days.have a couple that won't go in calf due to ruptured womb and something else.let off the Fr.bull on 18th of April.he's been busy.

Simplifies things really, do you sell calves or hold them for an outfarm? Was thinking would it be more straight forward at times but tb can put paid to such systems

hold on to them to graze silage ground and out the door 1st of april.

Some amount of lads looking to buy bulls this last few weeks. Seems to be a shortage, on the other hand it's very late to be sourcing a bull now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Some amount of lads looking to buy bulls this last few weeks. Seems to be a shortage, on the other hand it's very late to be sourcing a bull now

The bad spring affected the bull sales in the Marts in March, April. Basically buyers never turned up. I know some bull sellers who factoried bulls on account of this. Buyers depressed and sellers depressed.

Now with the fine weather and moods have lifted and finances better the search starts for a bull.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    This little blue tag is doing all the work here, cuts out some messing

What's the full cost per cow for the year and how long will they last? Would be interested in something like that in the future

how did the moo call thingy work for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

mahoney_j wrote:

At last a CEO actually concerned about the environment while the rest are painting their butter wrapping green or gold..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

It's p,ain obvious when you hear Ryan this is an ACTUAL co op not a business who everyone wants their piece. Interesting to see where arrabawn and ryan will go in the future

how did the moo call thingy work for you?

Very well so far any way. Scanning will tell the full storey but I'm doing zero heat detection on the heifers since they all got they're first serve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Works out around 100 euro a cow for tag, base station and all set-up costs, full 3 year warranty, and it costs 70 euro to replace a lost/broken tag....
    Good finance packages available over 3 years with a 20% deposit upfront, was going to go with cow manager tags from wws but it was 9 grand up-front and 270 a month indefinitely as long as you used the system but full warranty on everything except lost tags which where 30 euro