Since when have Communions become such a plebian affair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Malayalam wrote: »
    500 bucks :)

I dont live in D4

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Malayalam wrote: »
    500 bucks :)

Glad my sister decided to abandon catholicism at an early age. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

A family on our road hired a small camera crew for their kid and posted it on youtube later as a sort of mini-doc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

scopper wrote: »
    A family on our road hired a small camera crew for their kid and posted it on youtube later as a sort of mini-doc.

That's gonna be a lot of fun now with the new GDPR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Whats the going rate if your the godparent?

50E?
    I have 2 this year and both got E100. But they were both related to me and good friends with mine the same age so that might skew the figure a bit upwards as well.

And that was the rate last year as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I have 2 this year and both got E100. But they were both related to me and good friends with mine the same age so that might skew the figure a bit upwards as well.

And that was the rate last year as well.

Ah feck. This Catholicism thinge is expensive.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Ah feck. This Catholicism thinge is expensive.
    You just need to have more kids than you're godparent to and you're raking in in:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

An awful shower of sheep in this country, can't make a decision for themselves, f3cking clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

I was only joking about the 500 bucks by the way. I just perform free exorcisms on the kids in lieu of cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Whats the going rate if your the godparent?

50E?

My godchild made her first holy communion eight years ago and it was €50 then. Probably closer to €100 now.

I got £60 in total for mine, 29 years ago this week. Felt like a millionaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Who sets these rates? Because they don't exist around here. I have several grandchildren who have made their Holy Communion in recent years and none got a single money gift over €20 and very few money gifts at all. Family and godparents usually bought gifts like books or games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I dont live in D4

Keep up, it's not the done thing in D4. This ridiculous overspend and ostentatious parade is weirdly carried out exclusivly by not so well off people in working class societies. And the traveller community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Who sets these rates? Because they don't exist around here. I have several grandchildren who have made their Holy Communion in recent years and none got a single money gift over €20 and very few money gifts at all. Family and godparents usually bought gifts like books or games.

My bf’s nephew made €1600 at his 2 weeks ago. His aunt was giving him €150 (she’s his godmother). 4 years ago I gave my two nephews €50 for their communions. I’ll defo have to give more for the younger ones when they make their’s!

That didn't address the question. Who 'set' these 'rates'?

You can't say the rate is X just because some idiot gave X. And you don't "have to" gave anything like X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

That didn't address the question. Who 'set' these 'rates'?

You can't say the rate is X just because some idiot gave X. And you don't "have to" gave anything like X.

The rates are set by the status quo. These “idiots” who give X are setting the rates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Is there anything to be said for another go at making my First Holy Communion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Keep up, it's not the done thing in D4. This ridiculous overspend and ostentatious parade is weirdly carried out exclusivly by not so well off people in working class societies. And the traveller community.

Indeed its like they are having a competition to see who can get into the most debt with the loan sharks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

That is absolutely crazy. €50 seems a perfectly generous amount to me. My siblings would go mad if I gave €150 to one of their children.

My nephew made his Confirmation this year and no one gave him more than €50. I am surprised at what some people now consider to be the norm. It's getting as expensive as weddings to attend a Communion or Confirmation ceremony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Give them 3 grand in an envelope.

You can't be seen as a tight arse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

A family of drug dealers (thankfully since moved out) on my street had a Cinderella type horse and carriage picking up their daughter for her communion a couple of years ago. Parked outside the house for nearly an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A family of drug dealers (thankfully since moved out) on my street had a Cinderella type horse and carriage picking up their daughter for her communion a couple of years ago. Parked outside the house for nearly an hour.

The hypocrisy is off the wall.

Irish criminals always seem to love big flashy religious occasions, whether they be Communions, weddings, funerals.

They become great Christians all of a sudden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

My nephew made his Confirmation this year and no one gave him more than €50. I am surprised at what some people now consider to be the norm. It's getting as expensive as weddings to attend a Communion or Confirmation ceremony.

Yeah - €50 would be more than enough for an 8/9 year old in my view.

€100 sounds like a crazy amount to give a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Yeah - €50 would be more than enough for an 8/9 year old in my view.

€100 sounds like a crazy amount to give a kid.

A mate of mine got £100 from his granny for his confirmation. In 1982.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

A mate of mine got £100 from his granny for his confirmation. In 1982.

Well, the kid's are a bit older for a confirmation.

What's an 8 year old going to do with €100 - Buy 10,000 penny sweets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

A couple of lads in work had kids make their Communion this year. Neither made it in the next day.
    When did a first Communion become the excuse for the mother of all pissups? That seems deeply wierd to me.

The rates are set by the status quo. These “idiots” who give X are setting the rates.

And idiots are best ignored.

conorhal wrote: »
    A couple of lads in work had kids make their Communion this year. Neither made it in the next day.
    When did a first Communion become the excuse for the mother of all pissups? That seems deeply wierd to me.

When it stopped becoming a religious occasion for most, and just turned into an excuse for a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

When it stopped becoming a religious occasion for most, and just turned into an excuse for a party.

Even still, it's a kids party not an adult one. It seems like a deeply wierd occasion to get smashed at. I can't imagine a bunch of adults falling about the place drunk at an 8yr old's birthday party.

conorhal wrote: »
    Even still, it's a kids party not an adult one. It seems like a deeply wierd occasion to get smashed at. I can't imagine a bunch of adults falling about the place drunk at an 8yr old's birthday party.

True. But I think some parents have started to treat Communions like mini weddings - so lots of booze included and the party going on until the small hours.