The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Trasna1

tigger123 wrote: »
    They're taking about bringing their own security to a polling station ffs.

Whatever they are talking about doesn't matter, they won't have "security" there, they won't be directly questioning voters and they won't have campaign material. They can observe.

Anyone getting excited or upset by this clearly doesn't understand the election process. You'd wonder how engaged with reality/politics some people are tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

gctest50 wrote: »

LHGTB!?!? honestly is this a parody account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Trasna1 wrote: »
    Whatever they are talking about doesn't matter, they won't have "security" there, they won't be directly questioning voters and they won't have campaign material.

Are you missing the part where they're saying the want to have exactly these things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭tigger123

Whatever they are talking about doesn't matter, they won't have "security" there, they won't be directly questioning voters and they won't have campaign material. They can observe.

Anyone getting excited or upset by this clearly doesn't understand the election process. You'd wonder how engaged with reality/politics some people are tbh.

It was Love Both's suggestion that their security be present to check IDs, not anyone elses.

It's they who don't understand the process.

Also, you're quoting Love Both when you quote "security". That's really not helping your argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

Jesus with everybody bringing “security” our polling stations will be like this tomorrow
    https://youtu.be/qAOaR0dIpG8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

I think your comments should be directed at the campaigners who don't understand the process and are referring to this as "security", not the lay people who don't understand the process and are wondering what the hell they mean by security.

And alongside the news that No groups have received copies of electoral registers from several councils, (which, yes, they are allowed to do) and the general feeling that the No side aren't immune from underhanded actions, it's unsurprising that the prospect of No groups having representatives in polling stations unsettles some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭kanadams123

No tshirts or badges or anything that can advocate a YES or NO vote are allowed in or directly outside the polling stations. Including car stickers etc. Also all posters within a certain radius around the station will be taken down before 7am that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

gctest50 wrote: »

Ronan Mullen : Saoirse you deserve love and respect regardless of what you have done

https://twitter.com/NaomiOhReally/status/999440104644136961

From 1996 to 2001, Mullen worked in the Communications Office of the Archdiocese of Dublin and appeared as a spokesperson for the Archdiocese and Cardinal Desmond Connell.

Cardinal Connell was later found to have covered up numerous instances of child sex abuse

0.59 I cant get words out 1.00 they come out just fine. She had an abortion could possibly regret it who knows and describes "walking around Bermingham alone" as traumatic. Bermingham isnt Baghdad now.

The story wasnt as harrowing as perhaps she anticipated except for Ronans gaff be forgotten about.

Heres the thing. Saying someone deserves love and respect isnt that offensive a thing to say!.

I could understand the yes side making a song and dance of it if he said she DIDNT deserve love and respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭storker

The can post whoever they want, but anyone outside or at the entrance to my polling station who demands to see ID and who is not a polling officer will be refused. Any attempt to deny me, my wife, or my 84-year old mother admission to the station will result in an immediate call to the guards.

That said, we won't be voting until evening so I imagine if there are any attempts at such shenanigans, they will already have been dealt with.

I don't really imagine any of this will actually materialise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

They probably do not need it to actually materialise. They probably just need the idea out there that some vigilante goons will be present in order to intimidate some people not to show up and vote at all.

Or perhaps knowing how people would react to the idea of their "security" they knew that the second half of their little message would go relatively unchallenged and even unnoticed, making it appear as if our acceptance of that part of the message without challenge somehow means it must be true. This "far left up to their usual tricks" accusation that they left hanging and unchallenged. What "tricks" exactly? Who exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

It's been quite clear for some time that the majority of people in Ireland are in favour of repealing the 8th. This can be seen in all opinion polls and more importantly the citizens assembly who sat down and listened to all views and evidence over a number of weeks.

It's a very straightforward vote for a lot of people. If you've informed yourself of all the facts and information, similar to the citizens assembly, there is no reason to be undecided or confused, it should be a straightforward yes vote.

The Yes side will only win if people get out to vote. Posts on Facebook, Instagram and twitter mean nothing unless you get out there and vote.

Taking just 10 minutes talking to friends and family about what time they're voting and how they're getting to the polling station, can be worth as much as 10 weeks trying to counter the lies and mistruths from the no side.

So chat with you family, chat with your friends, if they live in the same area arrange a time to all head down to the polling station together.

What's the craic with the "trust women" slogan on yes posters? I think its a bit of a strawman argument. The no side is not saying they don't trust women.

0.59 I cant get words out 1.00 they come out just fine. She had an abortion could possibly regret it who knows and describes "walking around Bermingham alone" as traumatic. Bermingham isnt Baghdad now..

I have the sneaking suspicion that it wasn't just being in Birmingham* that was traumatising her. It was her situation.

Staggering lack of empathy from the No side. Again.

*Understandable though that might be. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭pauldla

0.59 I cant get words out 1.00 they come out just fine. She had an abortion could possibly regret it who knows and describes "walking around Bermingham alone" as traumatic. Bermingham isnt Baghdad now.

The story wasnt as harrowing as perhaps she anticipated except for Ronans gaff be forgotten about.

Heres the thing. Saying someone deserves love and respect isnt that offensive a thing to say!.

I could understand the yes side making a song and dance of it if he said she DIDNT deserve love and respect.

"Love Both", ladies and gentlemen, in all its glory.

What's the craic with the "trust women" slogan on yes posters? I think its a bit of a strawman argument. The no side is not saying they don't trust women.

Yes they are....they're saying that they don't trust women not to pretend that they have been raped, they don't trust women not to pretend they are having mental problems, they don't trust women not to pretend they a re suicidal, and they don't trust women not to have abortions for trivial reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Taking another page from their US paymasters in that regard. Was skimming earlier when I read the first tweet and said they probably wanted to get kicked out to play the victim card. Looks like they got that one out of the way before the stations even opened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,168 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

TallyRand wrote: »
    Hard cases seem to get most of the air time and it got me to thinking, if a woman became pregnant by rape (horrible thing to happen) then I’d personally think that if that disgusting evil rapist was caught and convicted then they should be executed. Now there is a life worth ending!

Funny how yes voters will no doubt turn the other way in a heartbeat, amazing how populism sweeps people on a wave. So good people of boards would you agree with me that the rapist in this instance should be executed? (And yes I know it’s hypothetical but both sides are using these examples)

I have no problem in principal with the death penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

The no campaigners on the Finglas road yesterday at the overpass with the pictures of a dead foetus, covered in blood with the slogan something like "is this healthcare" should be ashamed of themselves, I hope they pushed a lot of 'on the fencers' into the yes side, purely by that disgusting display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭joe40

There was a young guy on the Pat Kenny show who was voting No because his mother was 15 when she became pregnant and did not have an abortion that was originally planned.

I'm sure he loves his Mum.
    He looked about 20 which would put his mum at 35 now.

I would love to ask him if his Mother became pregnant now and it was a crisis pregnancy, would he force her to continue with her pregnancy.
    Would he refuse to help in any way if she wanted to access a termination. Would he shun her if she had a termination.

That is what his "No" vote means. I would loveto ask him that. Maybe he is reading this forum and can answer himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

DarkScar wrote: »
    I was waiting for the bit where you illustrated how this differed from the Yes side. Disappointed.

There is a single compelling reason to vote Yes coming from the Yes side. And that is to trust women to know what is best for them in all senses of the word.

Voting Yes is open and inclusive. It doesn't oblige anyone to do anything they don't want to do.

That is the very single good reason that any sane, humane citizen can understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,237 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

copeyhagen wrote: »
    The no campaigners on the Finglas road yesterday at the overpass with the pictures of a dead foetus, covered in blood with the slogan something like "is this healthcare" should be ashamed of themselves, I hope they pushed a lot of 'on the fencers' into the yes side, purely by that disgusting display.

Just curious why you think they should be ashamed. At 20+ weeks the picture represents a reality. Should all sides be allowed to give the details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

That LoveBothDrog group that tweeted

We are looking for people to act as security at polling stations. You need to check IDs. We don't want the far left up to their usual tricks please apply at admin@loveboth.ie if you are available on the day

Now say we are no longer associated with loveboth8 on their bio
    Email was admin@loveboth.ie lol

Someone got a bollocking from John Mc Guirk mes thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

storker wrote: »
    I have the sneaking suspicion that it wasn't just being in Birmingham* that was traumatising her. It was her situation.

Staggering lack of empathy from the No side. Again.

*Understandable though that might be. :D

So why mention the walking around?.

You think killing female babies in the womb then dumping the remains in a hazard bin is empathy?.

All this false empathy from some quarters of the yes is sickening.

"Oh I have so much empathy for this total total stranger as she agrees with me on a point that I have heard 30 seconds of her story but that doesnt matter we have a sacred bond".

Yeah right.

Empathy eh. Planned Parenthood (huge US abortion clinic) sell the dead babies to medical research and God knows what else after killimg them.

Empathy eh. Gimme a break.

Your false contrived "empathy" is worse than none.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

storker wrote: »
    Yes they are....they're saying that they don't trust women not to pretend that they have been raped, they don't trust women not to pretend they are having mental problems, they don't trust women not to pretend they a re suicidal, ..

I think you'll find it's the Yes side that are doing that

Of course they're not saying it, saying it would push any undecideds away from their side. It's quite obvious that they think it though.

Anyway, the amount of absolutel nonsense on no posters and this is what you decide to get bothered about? I don't think I've seen a no poster that isn't based on either a logical fallacy or outright lies.

Any no voter I've talked to, they're biggest concern is killing the unborn. There is no "trust" about it.

A ton of the posters bother me. All of them do frankly. I just think that particular Yes poster is quite weak if you look at them all objectively. If you claim the No side is outright lying, then this poster is doing the same tbh. Putting words in the mouth of the opposition that were never said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Just curious why you think they should be ashamed. At 20+ weeks the picture represents a reality. Should all sides be allowed to give the details?

are you for real, that's not giving the details, its a picture of a dead foetus with no information whatsoever, it could have been a natural death inside the womb etc, its ****ing disgusting, scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

Just thinking this morning that Mullen's response last night was the seminal moment in this campaign. A real own goal. It even rattled Steen.
    I think we are looking at a 60/40 Yes victory now.

The fact is that the No campaign couldn't give a fiddlers about the Hard cases. They simply don't care. They want to impose their views on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

copeyhagen wrote: »
    Shower did the same down my way here last few days they also stood outside the Wexford park GAA pitch when match was over Sunday shouting about killing baby’s I’d my 5 year old with me many other parents with kids around aswell no need for it at all I was sort of on the fence I was yes leaning but that incident at the GAA match pushed me right over the edge absolute disgrace they were

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

joe40 wrote: »
    There was a young guy on the Pat Kenny show who was voting No because his mother was 15 when she became pregnant and did not have an abortion that was originally planned.

I'm sure he loves his Mum.
    He looked about 20 which would put his mum at 35 now.

I would love to ask him if his Mother became pregnant now and it was a crisis pregnancy, would he force her to continue with her pregnancy.
    Would he refuse to help in any way if she wanted to access a termination. Would he shun her if she had a termination.

That is what his "No" vote means. I would loveto ask him that. Maybe he is reading this forum and can answer himself.
    I don't think there is that much wrong with being grateful to your birth mother for choosing to give you life. My own brother was adopted and I am eternally grateful to his birth mum for choosing to see her pregnancy through and give him up - I can't imagine my life without him! :)