The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

was in 2011 so john was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Yes is Professor Mary Higgins and Simon Harris.
    No is Cora Sherlock and Peadar Tóibín or Ronan Mullen.(More likely Peadar Tobin).

Peader Tóibín said he is on it on twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Larbre34 wrote: »
    No side lying b@stards that they would entertain a provision to deal with the hard cases!!
    Yes not believable at all either considering a rake of the same crew rejected the bill brought about following Savita controversy. Their track record on the hard cases does not stack up.

SPOILER ALERT: all lads with no compassion.

Vote on Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill – Second Stage

138 Yes 24 No

*Ceann Comhairle Sean Barrett does not vote unless the issue is tied
    *Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins was absent due to family illness in Kerry
    *Independent TD Stephen Donnelly was absent
    *Independent TD Tom Fleming abstained

No voters

FIANNA FÁIL

John Browne

Dara Calleary

Sean Fleming

Seamus Kirk

Michael P Kitt

Charlie McConalogue

Michael McGrath

John McGuinness

Éamon Ó Cuív

Seán Ó Fearghaíl

Willie O’Dea

Brendan Smith

Robert Troy

FINE GAEL - NO

Terence Flanagan

Peter Mathews

Billy Timmins

Brian Walsh

INDEPENDENTS - NO

Noel Grealish

Michael Healy-Rae

Colm Keaveney

Michael Lowry

Mattie McGrath

Denis Naughten

SINN FÉIN - NO

Tóibín, Peadar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Yeah thanks pal, I said whole in the same way you said ar5es. I am a in every respect a grammar nazi, and far more intelligent than most.

Swear words are usually blanked out in this site. I'm sure you already knew that with that superior intellectual prowess of yours deducing that was the reason for the use of a 5 in place on an s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

I just want to say I'm really sorry for jumping in with some petty or confrontational posts earlier in this thread. I really didn't want to goad people but I guess a type of mist comes over your mind with certain topics and you say things you never would in person. Whatever happens on Friday I hope the winning side isn't triumphant and sneering against the other, and that we pause for reflection before going forward together positively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

That fact check was so satisfying I should have had to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,096 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

nullzero wrote: »
    Swear words are usually blanked out in this site. I'm sure you already knew that with that superior intellectual prowess of yours deducing that was the reason for the use of a 5 in place on an s.

Oh my jesus. Thats the very reason I added a 'W'. Dont say another word about intelligence.

sabat wrote: »
    I just want to say I'm really sorry for jumping in with some petty or confrontational posts earlier in this thread. I really didn't want to goad people but I guess a type of mist comes over your mind with certain topics and you say things you never would in person. Whatever happens on Friday I hope the winning side isn't triumphant and sneering against the other, and that we pause for reflection before going forward together positively.
    Very decent of you, fair play.

I agree we all have to live in the same country afterwards when the voting is done.

°°°°°

Oh my jesus. Thats the very reason I added a 'W'. Dont say another word about intelligence.

Hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,096 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yes is Professor Mary Higgins and Simon Harris.
    No is Cora Sherlock and Peadar Tóibín or Ronan Mullen.(More likely Peadar Tóibín).

Interesting.

°°°°°

You were saying?

That fact check was so satisfying I should have had to pay for it.
    How many did they have for yes and no?
    If you don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Dressing gown

Well I’ve had a row with my own mum over it so totally understand how emotional this whole thing is. I think if yes win there will be celebration but I don’t think it will be sneering. Nothing as emotive as the issue of motherhood.

°°°°°

Again.
    Hole.

Edit, I know it's way off topic but you're bragging about your intelligence. Hole isn't a swear word, the site doesn't take hole in context, ie hole in the ground or ask me hole, it still appears on screen the same. **** **** etc... Don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

nullzero wrote: »
    Hole

Mind blown... how did boards not censo4 that

gmisk wrote: »
    How many did they have for yes and no?
    If you don't mind.

Take a wild guess! Although, in the interest of fairness, the 2 yes speakers weren’t relying on stats. But it was essentially all on points brought up by Mcguirk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I thought the yes side articulated themselves very well. Fidelma Healy Eames was shown up as the complete and utter spoofer she is and given her meeting people stories fancies herself as diet Enda. John McGuirk is the gift that keeps on giving to the yes side. I would have thought that the no campaign would have learnt to keep him off the airwaves by now.

Interesting.
    Professor Mary Higgins is normally very good, interesting she is the only doctor on panel.
    She is hugely knowledgeable in fairness she Consultant Obstetrician/ Gynaecologist with a Sub-specialty in Maternal Fetal Medicine.
    So a tad more qualified to discuss things than a blogger...

Take a wild guess! Although, in the interest of fairness, the 2 yes speakers weren’t relying on stats. But it was essentially all on points brought up by Mcguirk

Waiting on the biased media, I did a great job tweets from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,783 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I think TV3 have done as good a job as can be expected with the two debates I've seen. Yes, there is talking over each other but that always happens. I think having no audience helps big time. The cb live debate from the bits I've heard sounded like up for the match which happens before the all Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,548 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

No voters

FIANNA FÁIL

John Browne (Elected in second count.)

Dara Calleary

Sean Fleming

Seamus Kirk

Michael P Kitt

Charlie McConalogue

Michael McGrath

John McGuinness

Éamon Ó Cuív

Seán Ó Fearghaíl

Willie O’Dea

Brendan Smith

Robert Troy

FINE GAEL - NO

Terence Flanagan

Peter Mathews

Billy Timmins

Brian Walsh

INDEPENDENTS - NO

Noel Grealish

Michael Healy-Rae

Colm Keaveney

Michael Lowry

Mattie McGrath

Denis Naughten

SINN FÉIN - NO

Tóibín, Peadar

I don't think any of these guys lost their seat tough!

Well most of them are still there!

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Waiting on the biased media, I did a great job tweets from him.

Oh god yeah. It’ll be all ‘the no side won the debate’ on every form of social media tomorrow. My Twitter is already crapping itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Whatever happens on Friday I hope the winning side isn't triumphant and sneering against the other, and that we pause for reflection before going forward together positively.

If Yes wins I for one won’t be celebrating anyway. I see no joy in the fact that thousands of women will have to face heartbreaking decisions. What I will feel is relief, and a slight comfort knowing that those decisions can be made on home ground with their families and the right support. That’s how I look at it anyway. But having said that I wouldn’t deny some troopers on this thread a few large glasses of wine!

gandalf wrote: »
    I thought the yes side articulated themselves very well. Fidelma Healy Eames was shown up as the complete and utter spoofer she is and given her meeting people stories fancies herself as diet Enda. John McGuirk is the gift that keeps on giving to the yes side. I would have thought that the no campaign would have learnt to keep him off the airwaves by now.

His ego wouldn't allow that. If they had got rid of him his twitter posts about them would have sunk them faster than anything else he's done by keeping him on board.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I think TV3 have done as good a job as can be expected with the two debates I've seen. Yes, there is talking over each other but that always happens. I think having no audience helps big time. The cb live debate from the bits I've heard sounded like up for the match which happens before the all Ireland.

The tonight show undoubtedly had the better debate imo. People could actually speak and the had a fact checker on hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,548 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Itssoeasy wrote: »

I actually think the Claire Byrne debate helped the Yes campaign not because it would turn people to voting No but it showed more of a reality how some people are. Some of the Together for Yes people I know were really living in a bubble until it!

gandalf wrote: »
    John McGuirk is the gift that keeps on giving to the yes side.
    He unashamedly said it was his idea that with no say in the matter rape victims should carry their rapists child, I despair.

I can't imagine even that the majority of No voters could share that view, someone close to you who turns to you in that circumstance and your onus isn't to look after her in traumatic state but to prioritize her rapists baby...really now!?

He unashamedly said it was his idea that with no say in the matter rape victims should carry their rapists child, I despair.

I can't imagine even that the majority of No voters could share that view, someone close to you who turns to you in that circumstance and your onus isn't to look after her in traumatic state but to prioritize her rapists baby...really now!?

Plenty of retain posters on here believe or at least spout this view.

Oh god yeah. It’ll be all ‘the no side won the debate’ on every form of social media tomorrow. My Twitter is already crapping itself.

Not on it but looking forward to them alright.

I don't think any of these guys lost their seat tough!

Well most of them are still there!

Two of them are from my constituency even Coffin chaser Mattie Mcgrath & Crook Lowry (Who is usually actually absent for a vote on something). I wouldn't dream of voting for either of them, the fact they can get elected has me very fearful of the counties vote.