What age were you when you first got served alcohol in a pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

16 in a pub near my granny's house at a relative's 60th. Good ol' Smirnoff Ice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

14..... in the Westbury of all places..... can't for the life of me remember the circumstances too it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭questionmark?

14. Pint of bud(awful choice!) Me and a few friends. Rural pub landlord said yer not 18 I said we're not but we just want a drink and to hang out. He said fine but if the guards come ye have to run out through the kitchen and no ****e off ye lads. Grand says I. Rural Ireland is great sometimes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

The year 2000 i was 15. Celtic beating rangers
    6-2 i was in Fraziers O'Connell street, that was a long day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

Deadmans inn, Lucan.
    Hazy memory of rock-a-fellas in Leixlip.
    Woke up.
    Bed was wet.

Haven't really touched cider since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

5. My grandad would buy me a pony (quarter pint) of guinness while he had his few. I remember the local sergeant getting a great laugh out of it when he joined once on his day off. Welcome to rural Kerry in the 80's! It's a fond memory, he passed on just a few years later. Buying for myself - 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭sicknotexi

16, but I genuinely looked about 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Probably been around 22, before that I couldn't afford it as I was a poor student and had to drink make do with cheap cider in the mould infested house we rented. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

16. In some pub just outside Sligo (The Roadhouse?). 1993 , busload of Mayo fans coming back form wining an All Ireland U 21 final v Derry in Enniskillen. Never had taken a drink before. Up to the bar and ordered for me and my mate 2 pints of smthwicks and 2 scotch and red. Couldnt believe i got served, i have never since experienced that feeling of pure elation re drink:) In bits next morning, my dad reared **** on me and told me he had dreaded the night i first came home drunk but at least i waited till Mayo won an All Ireland. But not to ever darken the door in the same state till we won the big one. Jaysus but im thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

15 back in 1981! I was nominated because I looked the oldest & was the tallest. So I just sparked up a Major & put a thick look on my face " 3 pints of Smithwicks & 2 pints of Harp please" No problem :D Inside I was bricking it! And I had change out of a fiver

I'm actually drinking Harp right now ;) But not smoking Major.....Silk Cut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I was 15 and it was a bottle of stag. Small pub in the village I lived in at the time. The barmaid was only about 3 years older than us and there was never a mention of id. Four of us sitting at the corner table thinking we were so grown up haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

I have just remembered that I was 15 the year I worked in a pub, that’s when I first developed a taste for stout, there was plenty of them had after hours. I’m not sure it counts here as I obviously knew the barmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

First got served when i was 14 in Tiffany's, a great little wine bar in me hometown, was a regular in The Oak from 15, landlady went nuts when i had my 18th in there :pac::pac: Started working there part time 2wks later

Was different in the late 80's, so much more relaxed, i looked a lot older which obviously helped and had the confidence to match.

Not really drank now for a few years, never had a problem, just got bored with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

I was 17 or 18. I had drank alcohol before that but never in a pub. I remember it was a class party a couple of months prior to our leaving cert. I was never allowed to go anywhere when I lived in my parents house so it took me absolutely ages to convince my mother to let me go. It was probably one of the most memorable nights of my teenage years. All of my friends had been "going out" since transition year so they knew all the places to go. I remember feeling like a tourist in the town. We drank some shots, I think they had baileys in them or was it sambuca, I can't remember exactly but when we walked outside, my legs were like jelly. It felt very good to have a little bit of freedom for a few hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

RasTa wrote: »
    17 downstairs in the International. For some reason I drank 6 pints of Smithwicks

16 in the international for me was getting served in off-licences at 15 I never used fake Id but I made and sold fake id the local video shop guy used to laminate them for me for 50p a pop
    Funniest was when I was buying beer in Devanys at 17 I’d been in there most Saturdays so so problems
    However this time I was buying for mates so the boss followed me out and grabbing me and said I’d be arrested for supplying drink to minors when he saw me giving them their beers
    I turned to him and said “I’m 17 and I’ve been buying off you since I was 15 so call the garda if you want”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    16. In The Plough on Abbey St, a pub long closed down.

I was outside the abbey after seeing a play and I saw a fella come through the window of that kip and land on the pavement. Was like something out of a western, he brushed himself off and ran back in presumably to seek some retribution.

First got served in a pub called the Crane in temple bar when I was 14, somewhat cheating though as I was with my German exchange student who was supposedly 15 but looked like he was in his thirties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

15 or 16 I think. Holsten Pils, does that stuff still exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

14, i had a really bad fake i.d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Mad_Dave

16, nightclub in Dundalk that used to be called The Ark.
    No fake ID required, just tell the bouncers you forgot it and make sure you were with a girl and you were good.
    First drink was a pint of bud if I recall correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

15 or 16. I remember being in a bar in New York with a big Irish accent on me and an Italian girls fake id. I was 18. Praying she didn’t ask my name because I couldn’t pronounce it. The bar tender loved the Irish accent and kept giving me free drinks. Towards the end of the night she asks me, “so what age are you really? Cause you look about 14.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

7 - rocked up to the bar and asked for a large whiskey, neat, barman said - have u any ID - I said 2, and me names not Dee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭copperhead

15 the owner went int the bar to ask my father
    came back into the lounge with my pint, result :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

_Brian wrote: »
    15 or 16. I remember being in a bar in New York with a big Irish accent on me and an Italian girls fake id. I was 18. Praying she didn’t ask my name because I couldn’t pronounce it. The bar tender loved the Irish accent and kept giving me free drinks. Towards the end of the night she asks me, “so what age are you really? Cause you look about 14.”

so a bar tender that thought you looked 14 was plying you with free drink...does anyone know if jimmy saville was tending bar in new york at any point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I was legally working in a bar 2 years before I could legally drink in one.

Ireland is awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Think I was 16, maybe 15?

I was a big fan of the 3 ****ty cocktails for a fiver deal in the old Zoobar :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

So long ago.. must have been at University or even later.. Not in the same class as folk here! And could probably count the number of times on one hand and have spare fingers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

blackwhite wrote: »
    15 - The Leitrim bar in Sligo town. Think it was a Weds or Thurs night - place was empty and they happily served decent-sized gang of us without asking anyone for ID.

My unexperienced choice of first pub drink - a pint of Bud :(

Think most of Sligo (myself included) had their first pint in that pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

For someone else - maybe 7 or 8 - the local pub didn't think twice about a kid popping in for takeaway for the old man.

For myself, 13 or 14 would be my guess. Country pubs were fairly liberal with their application of the law at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

Never as still pioneer, am I missing out?