Plans for large-scale Dublin Mosque get green light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

bubblypop wrote: »
    such a bull**** post, what are you saying? that he laws of our land wont exist if people from the muslim faith live in our country?
    how do you feel about Irish people of the Muslim faith?

No of course not, but for some Sharia law is more important than the civil law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

the call to prayer is no more annoying than the angelus!

Wrong. It’s earlier, more often and audible (in Islamic countries) everywhere.

So we'll avoid the problems in France, Germany, Sweden, Britain? Massive increase in sex crime, no go areas, terror attacks?

By the way if you're a woman then go to hell. A muslim male like myself does not have to listen to you.

I am a woman.
    and i live in a muslim majority country. no problems, thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Might go for a sesh with the lads one night

Wrong. It’s earlier, more often and audible (in Islamic countries) everywhere.

I live in a muslim majority country, the call to prayer is audible everywhere.
    It's not annoying at all.

I used to live beside the railtrack in Drumcondra, not annoying either after a week.
    I'm not seeing a problem here?
    plenty of people live under the flightpath for the airport, what is the problem there?

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

I am a woman.

Cool. Why not try and live in one of the vibrant Swedish no go zones? Or Afghanistan? The latter might be safer actually for women now. Look I don't think we'll turn into an Islamic country, I just don't want to have to deal with the same problems with crime and integration as other countries in Europe.

Now, I know that makes me literally worse than Hitler, but it's just how I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Doesn't bother me.

Cool. Why not try and live in one of the vibrant Swedish no go zones? Or Afghanistan? The latter might be safer actually for women now. Look I don't think we'll turn into an Islamic country, I just don't want to have to deal with the same problems with crime and integration as other countries in Europe.

Now, I know that makes me literally worse than Hitler, but it's just how I feel.

I don't have any reason to live in Afghanistan, thanks.
    & I work with men from Sweden & the problems there are not religion based, they are social issues, same as every country has.

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

I don't have any reason to live in Afghanistan, thanks.
    & I work with men from Sweden & the problems there are not religion based, they are social issues, same as every country has.

What's wrong with Afghanistan? Just wear a burka and you'll be fine.

And yes, every country has it's problems but Sweden's problems (rape capital of Europe, no go zones, hand grenade attacks, ethnic riots etc) are directly related to immigration. So no, let's not follow their lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Dr sattar fixed my back for me. Pushed my wheelchair when other hospital staff watched me hobble.
    I thanked him afterwards and said he gave me my left leg back. He said “no god gave you your leg back I am just his tools”.
    Came across as a great man. I wish him well with his new venture he had a devastating family tragedy in the uk due to I believe a wrong address getting attacked. I don’t have religion but I hope he finds peace in his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I grew up near a purpose-built mosque. I don’t know how I survived that unscathed. Oh yeah, because it was not something I ever really noticed or that ever caused me any bother in my day to day life.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Islam with its issues of terrorism building a mosque in Ireland is a silly idea considering.

Won't happen here. I mean just because it's happened in France, Sweden, Belgium, the United Kingdom, Spain etc etc doesn't mean it will happen here. Everyone loves the Irish. Just good old racism on display... even though you can't be racist against a religion.

I am a woman.

The majority of Muslim majority countries would most likely see you as lesser. This video from France is really horrible and closer to home. Absolutely harrowing viewing. Stone age f*cks on show here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

they are social issues, same as every country has.

You know some countries have more issues than others, right? Sweden was a much nicer place before they started taking in refugees. Sweden was a much nicer country in the '60s when it was homogeneous:

Sweden-crime-1976-2016-robbery-sex-murder.svg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

I live in a muslim majority country, the call to prayer is audible everywhere.
    It's not annoying at all.

I used to live beside the railtrack in Drumcondra, not annoying either after a week.
    I'm not seeing a problem here?
    plenty of people live under the flightpath for the airport, what is the problem there?

Rail and air transport are necessary for every country. Muslims and mosques are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Rail and air transport are necessary for every country. Muslims and mosques are not.

Neither are church bells...

Bubblypop, are there Wahhabi mosques in the Balkans where you are?

This mosque is being funded by Saudi Arabia. It shouldn't be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Omackeral wrote: »
    The majority of Muslim majority countries would most likely see you as lesser. This video from France is really horrible and closer to home. Absolutely harrowing viewing. Stone age f*cks on show here.

Hey! Maybe these guys arent so bad after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,979 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It truly is disturbing how many posters are willing to ignore the potential risks of encouraging a religion that is at odds with the western, liberal and tolerant society we've worked hard to get to in this country - all for the sake of virtue-signalling!

Even if we are to ignore the recent experiences of countries in Europe (or just next door in the UK) where this has happened, you'd think we'd have learned from the effects another oppressive religion had in Ireland, and the potential risk of sectarian violence by its more extreme adherents. Why expose ourselves to that again?

It's really worrying how many younger people are more concerned with their social media profile and online image, than learning from the painful experiences elsewhere.

But again... leaving aside even the risk of violence, segregation and ghettos, and other negative consequences seen elsewhere... What benefit does this move bring to Ireland or our society and people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It truly is disturbing how many posters are willing to ignore the potential risks of encouraging a religion that is at odds with the western, liberal and tolerant society we've worked hard to get to in this country - all for the sake of virtue-signalling!

Even if we are to ignore the recent experiences of countries in Europe (or just next door in the UK) where this has happened, you'd think we'd have learned from the effects another oppressive religion had in Ireland, and the potential risk of sectarian violence by its more extreme adherents. Why expose ourselves to that again?

It's really worrying how many younger people are more concerned with their social media profile and online image, than learning from the painful experiences elsewhere.

But again... leaving aside even the risk of violence, segregation and ghettos, and other negative consequences seen elsewhere... What benefit does this move bring to Ireland or our society and people?
    Kind of funny to call it liberal and tolerant and then complain that it isn’t banning the muslims

Overheal wrote: »
    Kind of funny to call it liberal and tolerant and then complain that it isn’t banning the muslims

Where did I say ban? Believe what you want, but don't expect any official support or sponsorship.

Again, what benefits does encouraging Islam (with the problems associated with it as seen elsewhere) offer to Ireland?

Nothing may happen (although the experience of other European counties in recent times would suggest otherwise), but why take the chance - especially (as I said) given our own history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Again, what benefits does encouraging Islam (with the problems associated with it as seen elsewhere) offer to Ireland?
    Many surveys suggest that religious people are healthier, happier and more productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 ameirecan

Many surveys suggest that religious people are healthier, happier and more productive.

Ignorance is bliss, as the saying goes.

Good for them.. Doesn't answer the question though - what benefits does it offer to Ireland or our society?

What benefit does a religion whose teachings on issues like homosexuality, the treatment of women, and the treatment of non-believers bring to this country?

What is the basis of the notion that the negative experiences in Sweden, Germany and elsewhere won't happen here - or is it just the tired cliche that "everyone loves the Irish cause we're great craic!" :rolleyes:

More to the point.. After the damage done by the Catholic Church (where this State was little more than a theocracy at one point), and all the pain caused to the citizens of this country, why should we be willing to see it replaced by another oppressive religion?

ameirecan wrote: »
    Ignorance is bliss, as the saying goes.
    Maybe something is better than nothing

Good for them.. Doesn't answer the question though - what benefits does it offer to Ireland or our society?

What benefit does a religion whose teachings on issues like homosexuality, the treatment of women, and the treatment of non-believers bring to this country?

What is the basis of the notion that the negative experiences in Sweden, Germany and elsewhere won't happen here - or is it just the tired cliche that "everyone loves the Irish cause we're great craic!" :rolleyes:

More to the point.. After the damage done by the Catholic Church (where this State was little more than a theocracy at one point), and all the pain caused to the citizens of this country, why should we be willing to see it replaced by another oppressive religion?
    I don't disagree with what your saying but you asked how society benefits - happier, healthier, more productive people. Those are the benefits. There may be far more cons than pros but I'm answering the question posed.

But that's my point... Unfortunately it's not as simple as "well it'll make them happier". You can't just take that one aspect in isolation, and yet it seems that there's a lot of posters here trying to do exactly that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

We haven't really worked all that hard at anything. Western society evolved out of centuries of war between countries, and I don't agree for a minute with your perspective that I live in a tolerant, liberal society. Everyone agreeing to live in a certain way while excluding anyone from society which they feel would threaten their way of life is neither liberal nor tolerant.

You're ignoring the fact that it wasn't ideology was responsible for our past, it was the people who held an ideology and wanted to promote it, no different than you wanting to promote the idea that we live in a liberal and tolerant society as long as everyone agrees to live by our rules and standards. Had it not been for the fact that we actually don't live in a liberal and tolerant society, those people who committed heinous acts would still be committing heinous acts. We put a stop to that kind of behaviour because we weren't going to tolerate it any more that those people had the freedom to commit heinous acts. We're not exposing ourselves to anything "again", there will always be people in any society who commit heinous acts, and in an attempt to prevent them from doing so, we limit their freedom to do so. This is a constant and ongoing and evolving process. If it wasn't, we wouldn't enjoy the freedom that we do enjoy, and we'd be a backward shìthole which people would want to escape from.

What's more worrying is the idea that there are people who exist who want to impose their will on other people, but don't want those people to enjoy any of the good things about living in what they like to call a liberal and tolerant society. You don't appear to have paid attention in history class when they were teaching about how many countries in Europe colonised other countries and extracted all their resources in return for centuries of exploitation. When people from those countries want to come to Europe, suddenly - "Oh no, we can't be having that". I have no doubt those people didn't know what hit them when they were invaded and colonised either, but I don't imagine it was all that pleasant to be forced to live in a tolerant and liberal society where they, the natives, suffered terribly at the hands of people who imagined themselves to be more enlightened.

Social evolution.

What's wrong with Afghanistan? Just wear a burka and you'll be fine.

And yes, every country has it's problems but Sweden's problems (rape capital of Europe, no go zones, hand grenade attacks, ethnic riots etc) are directly related to immigration. So no, let's not follow their lead.

Never said there was anything wrong, did I?
    I don'thave Any reason to life there.
    Rape capital of Europe? I don't think so, as explained to me, by a Swedish policeman, the way rape crimes are recorded changed. There are rapes in Sweden, same as there are rapes all over the world. As a woman, I can assure you I couldn't care less what religion a rapist is. I care that they are a rapist.

Now, this thread is just going to be another hate filled these about how Muslims are going to move into our country & completely change our whole society & life! So, I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

You know some countries have more issues than others, right? Sweden was a much nicer place before they started taking in refugees. Sweden was a much nicer country in the '60s when it was homogeneous:

Sweden-crime-1976-2016-robbery-sex-murder.svg

Fair play to the refugees though. They are responsible for reducing incidents of robbery in the same period.