Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭The Black Stags

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Ulster really well do anything to get ex Leinster players on their books
    Moore,
    Jordi,
    Timoney,
    O'Connor,
    Greg Jones,
    Cooney,
    Shanahan.

Just need a few more so we don't have to field any Ulster people in the Ulster team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Hands Like Flippers

You can take DS back anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭bilston

It will be interesting to see if there is as much wailing from SOME sections of the media if Carbery ends up at Munster instead of Ulster next season.

If Keatley signs so be it. Good luck to him. It maybe suggests Ulster want to give McPhillips and Lowry lots of gametime next season.

In reality it probably means Carbery really really really didn't want to come to Ulster!

Are the academy places for next year confirmed yet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

Are the academy places for next year confirmed yet?

not officially.. likely wont until mid summer if not later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭jacothelad

bilston wrote: »

In reality it probably means Carbery really really really didn't want to come to Ulster!

Why would he? He is very happy where he is and he doesn't strike me as being stupid. . He is thought of as a star player in the making.....on both exciting and also on flimsy foundations I would say. While it's not likely, if he bombs out I'd rather he does it in Leinster. He has more chance of fulfilling whatever his potential is playing behind the 'Ireland' pack. It's up to Leinster to develop him into Sexton's replacement if that is the wish of Nuciferatou and Joe.

Coming to Ulster puts both him and Ulster on a hiding to nothing. If he does well, it's because he has talent. If he does poorly it's because Ulster are not up to providing what he needs.

Frankly I'd rather pin the future on the guys who have volunteered their services willingly rather than a 'victim' of a passive aggressive press gang against his wishes. Having Joey floating grudgingly around for 10 months and then swanning back to Dublin is not doing either of the parties any favours.

jacothelad wrote: »
    Why would he? He is very happy where he is and he doesn't strike me as being stupid. . He is thought of as a star player in the making.....on both exciting and also on flimsy foundations I would say. While it's not likely, if he bombs out I'd rather he does it in Leinster. He has more chance of fulfilling whatever his potential is playing behind the 'Ireland' pack. It's up to Leinster to develop him into Sexton's replacement if that is the wish of Nuciferatou and Joe.

Coming to Ulster puts both him and Ulster on a hiding to nothing. If he does well, it's because he has talent. If he does poorly it's because Ulster are not up to providing what he needs.

Frankly I'd rather pin the future on the guys who have volunteered their services willingly rather than a 'victim' of a passive aggressive press gang against his wishes. Having Joey floating grudgingly around for 10 months and then swanning back to Dublin is not doing either of the parties any favours.

My post was in the context of him potentially joining Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

jacothelad wrote: »
    It's up to Leinster to develop him into Sexton's replacement if that is the wish of Nuciferatou and Joe

They can't though. That's the whole problem.

The talk of moving Carbery is not about developing Carbery for his own benefit, it's so that we have a semi credible back up at the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Scythica

I've tried to stay away from this on FB, but Ulster Rugby fans really irritate me sometimes; maybe because I'm no longer in the bubble of the province.
    We'll complain about getting Carberry, but god knows we'll complain more if he doesn't come...
    I for one would like to see him at Ulster. A young guy playing for his (to be fair, guaranteed) world cup place, but from what I've seen of McPhillips and mainly Byrne. There will be competition at least...
    Not to mention we may be able to get around to playing him at 15 a few times (remember we finally did it with Payne) which will surely add to our depth.
    Not to mention Cooney (3 awards last night) is a better game manager than either Leinster Scrum half imo, and would make a good partnership with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Scythica wrote: »
    I've tried to stay away from this on FB, but Ulster Rugby fans really irritate me sometimes; maybe because I'm no longer in the bubble of the province.
    We'll complain about getting Carberry, but god knows we'll complain more if he doesn't come...
    I for one would like to see him at Ulster. A young guy playing for his (to be fair, guaranteed) world cup place, but from what I've seen of McPhillips and mainly Byrne. There will be competition at least...
    Not to mention we may be able to get around to playing him at 15 a few times (remember we finally did it with Payne) which will surely add to our depth.
    Not to mention Cooney (3 awards last night) is a better game manager than either Leinster Scrum half imo, and would make a good partnership with him.

Ulster need 3 plans. Short medium and long term. there is big issues there that need overhaul so it's not relevant to the Carbery situation.

Forgetting about the medium and long term for now the short term plan is for next season and to get players in capable of finishing 3rd in a conference for champions cup rugby. Who why how makes no difference. A 33-34 year old veteran collecting one final payday could be a good thing or equally a bad thing.

Carbery will at least have a bit of hunger about him in terms of RWC etc. So is he any better or worse then someone who might just phone it in for a season or 2?

Carbery will be available for 50% of the season roughly. That gives McPhilips plenty of gametime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,344 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

McPhilips looks the real deal to me, I would make him the 10 for next season, with Curtis as backup.
    It would be better for Ulster to invest game time in those talented young lads and put more effort into strengthening up the pack to give the half-backs more of a platform to play off next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

McPhilips looks the real deal to me, I would make him the 10 for next season, with Curtis as backup.
    It would be better for Ulster to invest game time in those talented young lads and put more effort into strengthening up the pack to give the half-backs more of a platform to play off next season.
    Completely agree, strengthen the pack and bring in a mercenary safe hand out half on short term and let McPhilips absorb as much game time as possible.
    Curtis is more a 12. But both have bright futures. Mcphilips has been a small revelation this season, it just shows our academy players with proper game time can develop and flourish.

Fair enough to a point. Suppose some Ulster fans like me would prefer to let the Academy guys get tried and tested more.

No group of fans think identically so not sure why that warrants criticism.

Fair enough to a point. Suppose some Ulster fans like me would prefer to let the Academy guys get tried and tested more.

Sadly our fans need to a sense of realism we have a handful of world class players! Next season along with a new coach, new systems etc. Needs to be treated as a fresh start and a year to bring on academy talent. With no expectations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Yes. The question isn't 'Do Ulster fans want Joey Carbery?' If that was all it was the answer would be a resounding yes. The proposition is likely to be Joey's practice games for one year and then back to Leinster. The problem is that this assumes that Joey is going to be playing 10 on a regular basis thereby getting up to speed to benefit him, Leinster and Ireland. Then he flits back to Dublin after 10 months leaving Ulster after a season exactly where they are now. Without an experienced 10. That isn't the right thing to do. If Munster throw their cap into the ring for his services they might benefit him more. They can keep Keatley who, while a decent player, isn't what Ulster need.

James Lowe should move to Ulster. He'd get his game up here next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

James Lowe should move to Ulster. He'd get his game up here next season.

A great oppprtunity for him to continue not playing Champions Cup rugby!

We'll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,344 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Marcel Coetzee saying in Belfast Telegraph he has 7 months rehab done, with two more to go, all looking good so far to rejoin the squad for preseason.
    Could be the boost Ulster need to challenge for trophies next season.
    Marcel and Jordi will rip it up next season.

Marcel Coetzee saying in Belfast Telegraph he has 7 months rehab done, with two more to go, all looking good so far to rejoin the squad for preseason.

If we get him back and, as unlikely as it may be, we also get Payne back, then things look much much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭$ausage$

If we get him back and, as unlikely as it may be, we also get Payne back, then things look much much better.
    Everyone stop now this is almost turning positive up here! Sure thats is a mod warning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,932 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Payne probably ought to be strongly considering retirement from playing because it just seems like massive warning signs to be getting constant headaches.

$ausage$ wrote: »

Everyone stop now this is almost turning positive up here! Sure thats is a mod warning!

Feck it I made a conscious decision yesterday to start ramping up the positivity again. Partly because I'm fed up being miserable about and frankly ashamed (how it is run) of Ulster rugby and partly to troll awec.

MJohnston wrote: »
    Payne probably ought to be strongly considering retirement from playing because it just seems like massive warning signs to be getting constant headaches.

Maybe, but the medics and Payne himself will know more about that than we do. I assume no news is good news, but I have a horrible feeling Ulster are waiting until the end of the season to announce Payne as a coach for next season.

Would folks be happy with him as new defence coach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,932 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

For me it went well into "no news is bad news" territory months and months ago. The fact that we've heard no injury update on him suggests something irreparable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

launish116 wrote: »
    Would folks be happy with him as new defence coach?

You're asking Ulster fans if they'd be happy? Seriously!?! Happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,816 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Same was said about Heaslip and his injury and look how that turned out.

For me it went well into "no news is bad news" territory months and months ago. The fact that we've heard no injury update on him suggests something irreparable.

My theory of no news is good news is that lots of other players have announced their retirements and Payne hasn't...yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stl.ire

My theory of no news is good news is that lots of other players have announced their retirements and Payne hasn't...yet...

Isn’t there something about insurance payouts if your career ends due to injury and that head related injury retirements are hard to prove? Something about a player having to be unable to play for over a year before they can claim. Payne would arguably have been set for a central contract or a big deal overseas (as he had just become a Lion) so it would be worth a lot to him.

Not sure where I heard this so I could be wrong but I thought that’s why nothing official was announced even though there are plenty of rumors.