Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I know ^^ that's a language but I can't figure out which one?
    It's kind of similar to English. :D:p

Leitrim is a very funny place sir....:D
    Base price wrote: »
    Yep it's called a sheugh cause a gripe is a colic pain in your tummy. Every Mammy and Daddy knows what gripe water is ��

I once asked my aunt why she bought gripe water when there was lots in the gripe outside. Wasn't the brightest child back then :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Do you not say gripe??

I bet you're one of them fookers that calls it a sprong too!!

And where a spong is not a sprong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

gozunda wrote: »
    And where a spong is not a sprong ;)

You're drunk Gozunda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

God almighty wouldn't lads just call a thing just what it does. It drains water so therefore it's a drain. Sheughs (shoes) are for the feet. Shook is how i feel and a gripe is a pain cured by a good fart.
    So some young fella drove a tractor into a drain. He should be lobbed into it after that.:)
    Let the debate begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I'm still not sure what a gripe is. Like a ditch? Or a drain. Or a drain-ditch? Not even sure how to pronounce sheugh?

MeTheMan wrote: »
    I'm still not sure what a gripe is. Like a ditch? Or a drain. Or a drain-ditch? Not even sure how to pronounce sheugh?

It's a ditch basically, but one that has a hedge over it so divides fields.
    Pronounced like the start of siopa (as gaeilge) but with an Ulster accent. :pac:

That clears that up for me. I'm sat here saying siopa like Gerry Adams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭I says

Partiality in a norn iron accent

You're drunk ....

No stone cold sober

What's a sprong when it's not attached to a fork?

Just to confuse matters I found this

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057045035

So is it a sprong a grape or greap?

Mines a fork or a sprong on a rake .... ;)

No stone cold sober

What's a sprong when it's not attached to a rake?

Hmm??
    I think I know this one.

It's a Swagbot moving cattle in Australia.

https://youtu.be/oxpZ1c7TsPI

:D:D:D

I dunno how else to describe it!! It's a guttural sort of sound. Like saying the start of the name Shaughnessy maybe, but without the a, so shough, with a real emphasis on the ugh?

So like shugh.
    Someone else help me out here!

Hmm??
    I think I know this one.

It's a Swagbot moving cattle in Australia.

https://youtu.be/oxpZ1c7TsPI

Edit: that should have read fork

But I reckon you're completely gargled after posting that above. What are ye on man? :D

Aaaaah here! https://www.thefreedictionary.com/shough

But only the american version sounds like what we say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    Never got much benefit out of the gripe water here
    I can guarantee that you (and your parents) did when you were a little one.

Edit: that should have read fork

But I reckon you're completely gargled after posting that above. What are ye on man? :D

YouTube.

:D:D:D

I dunno how else to describe it!! It's a guttural sort of sound. Like saying the start of the name Shaughnessy maybe, but without the a, so shough, with a real emphasis on the ugh?

So like shugh.
    Someone else help me out here!

Shough pronounced

- Shuck -

Nothing worse than getting stuck in a shough hiy!

Aaaaah here! https://www.thefreedictionary.com/shough

But only the american version sounds like what we say.

Go away with your shee ock!

As for a Sprong however.
    Even the urban dictionary recognizes it. :)
    https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=sprong
    Go on the urban dictionary. :D

YouTube.

Ye can get a cream for that you know :D

As for a Sprong however.

That's the way it's said here! So can't vouch for ye midlanders stealing our words and abusing them :D

I'll show ye where to put your sprong, it's a horrible work, reminds me of spork.

As for a Sprong however.

How dare ya - I'm in no way 'urban' - ye skite ya! ;)

Its a fork I know but what has that got to do with a gripe or a sheugh?

Put down the keyboard and back slowly away :D

How dare ya - I'm in no way 'urban' - ye skite ya! ;)

Its a fork I know but what has that got to do with a gripe or a sheugh?

I'll have you know sprongs are very trendy now in downtown New York.

Shoughs not so much.

I'll have you know sprongs are very trendy now in downtown New York.

Shoughs not so much.

You and your trendy downtown New York Sprong! You're way too fancy for the likes of us!

Careful don't fall into that shough though - they have a nasty habit of having no bottom in them ...

Fork. Long handle 2/3 prongs.
    Grape. Short handle 4/5 prongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A gripe here is a deep ditch. The lad driving is the same age as me so no spring chicken. Digger ran out of diesel going up the hill on the rescue mission. He was rolling brambles along the gripe as the front wheel went in he hit the brakes which were split and the back wheel went in too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭White Clover

whelan2 wrote: »
    A gripe here is a deep ditch. The lad driving is the same age as me so no spring chicken. Digger ran out of diesel going up the hill on the rescue mission. He was rolling brambles along the gripe as the front wheel went in he hit the brakes which were split and the back wheel went in too

Why had he the brakes split for a job like rolling?
    Split brakes are very dangerous if one forgets that they're split.

Dunno but wtf was he at rolling the briars,?

Maybe he got cut by a briar sometime?!!

He got a fair fright.

He'll probably faint the next time he sees a briar !!

The words that no farmer should ever mention "everything is going grand"