If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Coronation Street [News, Spoilers and Discussion] contd

Go GAIL
    Brilliant scene .

Very powerful scene. Just shows that suicide not only effects the immediate family but shakes a community to the very core. Even people that dont know the deceased all that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Bloody hell. Need a drink after that. Not tea either. It was one if the best episodes of any soaps I have ever viewed. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

Haven't seen episodes that intense since Kylie died. In fact these are even more so. Heartbreaking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

David will kick the young one out and move Shona back in, how has Carla not cried one single tear? When Carla came out of the bathroom after seeing Aiden and Johnny obviously in bits probably leaning over his son she did a little wobble, I thought a tear or a throwing up would have made it more real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 redduvet

Very powerful scene. Just shows that suicide not only effects the immediate family but shakes a community to the very core. Even people that dont know the deceased all that well.

Indeed. Supposedly in Aidan's case, and in many others, he believed that people would be better off without him, but in my case when attempting suicide (and of course same with many others here too), I was very aware of how hard it was going to hit everyone. I still couldn't see any other way through at the time, and couldn't bear how bad I felt, so suicide seemed the only way.

Knowing how hard it was going to be for everyone afterwards (while still being aware that I couldn't quite comprehend that side unless I'd been there), I felt like one of the worst people in the world for that (but again, I couldn't see any other option at the time).

I am so far the opposite of feeling like this now, and almost always so glad to be here, and that people didn't go through that. Death is awful regardless, but suicide even more so, it's hard for anyone who knows the person not to be affected in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I bitched and moaned about Kate Oates ruining the show but my god her and everyone else can take a huge bow about tonight's episode(s), I am in bits, the actors playing David, Johnny, Gail, Jenny, Daniel and Roy blew me away and some did not have many lines, their expressions said it all, very heartbreaking but powerful and I hope it helps anyone in a dark place to think and talk

casio4 wrote: »
    David will kick the young one out and move Shona back in, how has Carla not cried one single tear? When Carla came out of the bathroom after seeing Aiden and Johnny obviously in bits probably leaning over his son she did a little wobble, I thought a tear or a throwing up would have made it more real

I kinda agree, but I think part of the idea was to show the range of different reactions. I'd imagine she was in pure shock, some people won't cry at all at death, in the beginning anyhow, but yeah it would have made it all the more real I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Shadow1983

That was so hard to watch. I'm still in bits, Gail's speech just tipped me over the edge, it was so wonderfully done.

Redduvet, I'm so glad life is better for you now. X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

How can Kate be calling Aidan selfish? Yeah cos she's not selfish breaking up a marriage for an affair at all! Totally selfless act!

Kauto0709 wrote: »
    How can Kate be calling Aidan selfish? Yeah cos she's not selfish breaking up a marriage for an affair at all! Totally selfless act!

So many people think suicide is selfish. In my experience, probably most often people who haven't felt as bad as contemplating suicide. Thus losing sight of how desperate the person feels, and rather believing that the person who had died 'chose' to put them through that.

Shadow1983 wrote: »
    That was so hard to watch. I'm still in bits, Gail's speech just tipped me over the edge, it was so wonderfully done.

Thanks :) I now work in suicide prevention and community support work - pleased to have made something good come out of my experiences, and hoping that I can continue making good in other people's lives as a result.

Well to be fair i think we'd all have that natural reaction where we have to deal with a sudden shock like that involving a loved one. Its a terrible shock to get too.

Must give Corrie huge credit here. It has by and large turned into a cartoony mess in recent years, but tonight they nailed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,263 ✭✭✭jos28

Greybottle wrote: »
    Darkness Into Light Walk this weekend for anybody interested.

I'm doing it with my friend whose brother took his own life a few months ago. We always do it but never guessed that one day we would be doing it in memory of someone so close.

Shadow1983 wrote: »

Me too xxx

jos28 wrote: »
    I'm doing it with my friend whose brother took his own life a few months ago. We always do it but never guessed that one day we would be doing it in memory of someone so close.

So sorry to hear that Jos28 :(

Look after yourself x

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

At least she managed a few different facial expressions tonight!

Fair play to ye all doing the walk, take care everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭bobsman

Sorry lads, was thre only one episode tonight ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

bobsman wrote: »
    Sorry lads, was thre only one episode tonight ??

yes it was 1 hour long episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,751 ✭✭✭deisemum

I've loved Shane Ward in Corrie and met him once, he's even better looking in the flesh. Only yesterday I was commenting about his superb performance on Monday night, little did I suspect that suicide would come knocking within my husband's family last night.

deisemum wrote: »
    I've loved Shane Ward in Corrie and met him once, he's even better looking in the flesh. Only yesterday I was commenting about his superb performance on Monday night, little did I suspect that suicide would come knocking within my husband's family last night.

Deisemum, so sorry :( There are no words. Thinking of you at this difficult time. Take good care, must be so so tough.

I do not know what to write to you, take care and stay strong, very sorry for you and your family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

It's her way of coping .

So very sorry to hear this, take care of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

This is the first time I have ever shed tears watching a TV program... Well, well done Corrie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭skearnsot

leahyl wrote: »
    Christ, Maria isn’t great acting that

Nooooo she was cat as was that God forsaken eejit Kate and Michelle was piss poor too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Thank god they kept one dimensional Ken out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭skearnsot

Thank god they kept one dimensional Ken out of it

I loved the fact that it was Gail who did that scene instead of Ken..........first time ever she made me cry - and I’m watching Corrie as long as she’s been in it!!!
    Johnny had myself and my daughter sobbing hard in fact I’m cryin again thinkin of him especially as his boy was being taken to the morgue & I actually liked Carla tonight!
    I just wanted to hug poor Eva til morning and throw Toyah down the stairs - she sent me to a new level of angry tonight.
    Maria was just the pits of pits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Great stuff indeed, glad it was Gail too,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Superbly done episode tonight from start to finish - seeing the varied and different reaction from everyone was incredibly powerful and ending on David saying he wanted to live was very poignant.