If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

All going to plan therell be about 2500 acres in the ground after teething issues and weather etc weve only been going a little over a week between two of us.
    3 more weeks and ill finally be back to civilisation.

Is there any of it boggy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Odelay wrote: »
    Is there any of it boggy?

Theres white spots where the clay is lying on the surface where it got wet last yesr and the crops failed. Ive seen pictures of tractors bogged here i suppose if the sand got wet theyd get bogged habdy enough maybe. On the livestock farm here and across the area theres rushes everywhere and even on the tillage farms theres rushes in any place theres a bit of moisture.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭I says

whelan2 wrote: »
    Changed my phone today, had it for 15 months , a record for me :D only reason I changed was it was getting hard to charge it. Had a case on it which I'd say saved its life about 50 times

More than likely caused by fluff from your pockets building up in the connection part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Any reason for a calf to die 'on landing'
    Cow calved ok but calf died after it hit the ground. I'm only going by wording in a text here so that's all the info i got. It was the calf off the big cow Rosie that i sold, so now I feel like crap for selling her and him losing the calf. Up until she left here a couple months ago se was getting iodine in water, pre-calver lick & salt.
    Told him I'd give him 50 luck with anything he buys off me this year, all I can do :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Cow calved ok but calf died after it hit the ground. I'm only going by wording in a text here so that's all the info i got. It was the calf off the big cow Rosie that i sold, so now I feel like crap for selling her and him losing the calf. Up until she left here a couple months ago se was getting iodine in water, pre-calver lick & salt.
    Told him I'd give him 50 luck with anything he buys off me this year, all I can do :(

Sure nothing you could have done

Reggie. wrote: »
    Sure nothing you could have done

Yea but I still feel bad cause he's a decent chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Had a calf like that this year. Was fine all the way coming grand and hit the ground and shook his head but didnt breathe. Eventually got him going but it took at least 5 mins and was very slow to come around afterwards. He was probably a big calf out of that cow. Ya win some ya lose some

He said it was a big calf alright. But just very strange that I never had to lay a hand on her calves before (bar a backwards one) and all were perfect, regardless of size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Lepto maybe?

I honestly don't know. We had one cow test positive for it here a couple years back but tested again after and she was clear :confused:
    Rosie always went in calf first time too so no signs if she did have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I honestly don't know. We had one cow test positive for it here a couple years back but tested again after and she was clear :confused:

Was she calving long, ?

He didn't say, but knowing her from before she wouldn't have been. I left her to her own devices and she'd have them out no bother. I did warn him not to watch her as she wouldn't calve with company so unless that caused some bother. I'll have to get talking to him at the mart and see if i can find out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It could be anything. It could be down to the quality of silage he's feeding her.
    Energy intake and mineral intake (selenium/vitamin E ) deficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Wpuldnt worry about it

It could be anything. It could be down to the quality of silage he's feeding her.
    Energy intake and mineral intake (selenium/vitamin E ) deficiency.
    Wpuldnt worry about it

Still pisses me off. I don't like selling an animal on and it not going right for them iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Could've been anything really and it's completely out of your hands. I know you would feel bad all the same .
    I know ours are starting to calf now and we had one still birth full term and one poor fecker that smothered in the cleanings at the start that I was sorry after and I think the cows are a little bit thinner than usual which might lead to weaker calves too after stretching the fodder this year . Hopefully they will be picking up now with fresh grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

That's part and parcel of it really, had one here this year myself that was born ok and heart beating but never started breathing despite my best efforts.

Oh went out to dig the soak hole for the soakage test for planning out in a paddock. The first bucket full he hit a water pipe. Very lucky it came off at a joiner. Wouldn't fancy going looking for joiners on a bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Oh went out to dig the soak hole for the soakage test for planning out in a paddock. The first bucket full he hit a water pipe. Very lucky it came off at a joiner. Wouldn't fancy going looking for joiners on a bank holiday weekend.

I have a bucket of fittings for just such an occasion but today I can't travel !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

That's part and parcel of it really, had one here this year myself that was born ok and heart beating but never started breathing despite my best efforts.

How did you try to revive it? I brought one back before by holding it's mouth and one nostril closed and blowing in the other nostril. You'd be fair winded after it. Often wonder if an oxygen bottle would be worth having, especially for those calving a lot of cows.

I see agridirect.ie sell a resuscitator kit;
    https://www.agridirect.ie/product/calf-resuscitator

How did you try to revive it? I brought one back before by holding it's mouth and one nostril closed and blowing in the other nostril. You'd be fair winded after it. Often wonder if an oxygen bottle would be worth having, especially for those calving a lot of cows.

Mouth to mouth :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Are u going building a new house Whelan?

sea12 wrote: »
    Are u going building a new house Whelan?

No cubicle shed and parlour

Pity the fine weather wouldn't last a few more days. Was spraying all day yesterday until 10pm, went out with a few friends then and didn't get home until 2. Up again at 7 to try and get the spraying finished. Have a fella coming to look at cattle at 12 and 6 ton of fert in small bags to spread then in the evening. Going to be a long day.

Was going at silage for lads this week but the weather changed so it was called off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I see agridirect.ie sell a resuscitator kit;
    https://www.agridirect.ie/product/calf-resuscitator

I used to blow into their ears to get a bit of life into them, has a similar effect as water i think.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

16 acres of arable silage sown and grass seeds set, going to sit back for the rest of the day. Could do with a drop of rain but you would be afraid to ask for it.:D

grassroot1 wrote: »
    16 acres of arable silage sown and grass seeds set, going to sit back for the rest of the day. Could do with a drop of rain but you would be afraid to ask for it.:D

There's a week of it coming it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

grassroot1 wrote: »

Mods i think a week ban is called for, for asking for rain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

ganmo wrote: »
    Mods i think a week ban is called for, for asking for rain!
    Other forums issue a card to posters asking for a card to be issued.

Just saying, like:p