Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

Why would anyone driving a large vehicle swerve like that.

To try and avoid killing someone presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Augeo wrote: »
    To try and avoid killing someone presumably.

But it nearly always ends worse.

Trucks, buses and so on don't take kindly to swerving.

But it nearly always ends worse.

Trucks, buses and so on don't take kindly to swerving.

No doubt, but that won't prevent them from swerving.

If any training then they would be told not to.

It's understandable but driving such a vehicle one needs to react as best as possible for the situation.

A car handles so much different and can in most cases be brought back under control.

The momentum and such heavy weight causes huge issues if one swerves and that's quite obvious from the clip.

Sometimes it's the better choice to hit the other vehicles but minimum impact if possible by getting to one side etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I wouldn't know. Never there.

But in all seriousness you are heading off a motorway so you should expect that. You never come across someone stopped in the middle lane in the middle of a motorway now in all fairness.

I know of someone who did that exact thing while driving in the UK. They never mentioned it but their passenger did. Missed the exit (refused to use Google maps as "it'd cost money on the phone bill) and dropped anchors on the motorway and then tried to get to the hard shoulder to reverse back to the exit. Apparently some guy going nuts and threatening to murder him on the road changed his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

If any training then they would be told not to.

It's understandable but driving such a vehicle one needs to react as best as possible for the situation.

A car handles so much different and can in most cases be brought back under control.

The momentum and such heavy weight causes huge issues if one swerves and that's quite obvious from the clip.

Sometimes it's the better choice to hit the other vehicles but minimum impact if possible by getting to one side etc.

The driver avoided the car. The lorry didn't hit any vechicle. He may have injured himself by overturning the lorry but that is surely better than rear ending a car with possibly 5 adults/children in it.

It's a natural instinct to try and avoid hitting an obstacle that appears in front of you like that.

Not really sure what your point is here.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    The driver avoided the car. The lorry didn't hit any vechicle. He may have injured himself by overturning the lorry but that is surely better than rear ending a car with possibly 5 adults/children in it.

It's a natural instinct to try and avoid hitting an obstacle that appears in front of you like that.

Not really sure what your point is here.

Fnuck that why kill oneself when another is to blame.

You don't just stop in the middle of a live lane even worse on a motorway.

I've seen many a clip where trucker swerves to avoid Darwin award nominee only to end up missing said fool and killing others as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Is there cars and coffee in Limerick this Sunday?

I finally have Sunday off and it was last year I had a chance to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Is there cars and coffee in Limerick this Sunday?

I finally have Sunday off and it was last year I had a chance to go.

It should be. Do you know it’s moved to Plassey?

450012.jpeg

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

h3000 wrote: »
    It should be. Do you know it’s moved to Plassey?

450012.jpeg

I never knew they did it with specific types. I thought anyone is welcome and park where you want. No day for Spaniard. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I never knew they did it with specific types. I thought anyone is welcome and park where you want. No day for Spaniard. :D

I’m pretty sure you can still turn up in anything but they are just encouraging certain themes. *don’t quote me on that

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Took the fiancée's Lupo through the car wash earlier. She's had it for a year and a half now, second time it's got a wash since buying it.

I couldn't stand anymore how filthy it was. The pollen here is leaving everything under a fine yellow layer. Can't be good for the paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Dartz

Got stopped last night for not dipping my beams at a Garda car.

Had to sheepishly explain that I'd broken the stalk an hour earlier because it works completely different to my own car and sellotaped it back together at the side of the road. I can indicate left and right, and turn the lights off and on, but the beams are stuck on.

Fnuck that why kill oneself when another is to blame.

You don't just stop in the middle of a live lane even worse on a motorway.

I've seen many a clip where trucker swerves to avoid Darwin award nominee only to end up missing said fool and killing others as a result.

U seem a wannabe iceman type

????

Lads, where in Limerick cars and coffee moved? Can someone give me better discription where it is? Ill put them in to misses like a sat nav. :pac:

Edit: Nvm, I sow in that picture full address, ill pop it in to sat nav.
    Any other boardsies going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What time is it on?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What time is it on?

11 to 2

wonder if there’d be much going on between 11 and 12

Well, I am getting some food and going to go off there. So at least I will be there. :)

I’ll have my toddler, so probably won’t be able to stay too long :)

I have my misses and ratty too. I bet one or another will get bored 20min in. :pac:

Right, sure I’ll probably see you up there so, will be more like 1130 I’d say.

Cool, if you will see a dude in glasses, with Rick and Morty T shirt, its me! :pac:

The weather is perfect for this. :)

IMG_20180506_112445.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Discovered this morning that the suspension groan I complained about the other day isn't anything to do with the suspension at all - it's actually the back seats. I was cleaning the seats this morning and when I pressed against the passenger's side seat it made the groaning noise I had noticed over certain kinds of bumps when driving!

I also discovered that the vibrations when braking and the bounciness of the ride were because the rear tyres were down by 11 psi (and the fronts were down by 5 psi). I think whoever did my wheel balancing must have let some air out of the tyres, because they were at the right pressure only a few days ago.

Pumped them the correct pressures and the car is driving like a dream once more!

You'd think I'd know better having owned it for 17 months but rule number one with any BMW - if you think there is something wrong with it, start by checking the simplest things before moving on to anything else!

IMG_20180506_115742.jpg

IMG_20180506_115853.jpg

IMG_20180506_115939.jpg

IMG_20180506_120020.jpg

IMG_20180506_120045.jpg

IMG_20180506_120122.jpg

IMG_20180506_120234.jpg

IMG_20180506_120522.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Is the c&c meets in Atlone still going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Thanks SH. My life has an uncanny ability to have nothing on for weekends at a time except for when the Limerick CC is on.

Well, I am a chef, so I get one Sunday off in about 3 months. Got very very lucky and got this Sunday off!!! So I had to go!

Today was funny. One young lad was passing by my car while I was throwing my hoody in a boot.
    He stopped, looked at the car and said: Whats so special about your car? Me: "Its a cupra" Him: "Oh!!!" :D
    Its almost a sleeper at this point! :)