Girlie Mugs and RNLI

• 03-05-2018 12:09PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭

The RNLI sacked two men (one with 15 years voluntary service) who had mugs at work with pictures of naked women on them, one of the mugs had the man's head superimposed on the body and was a secret santa gift, I think. Three, possibly four, other lifeboat volunteers have walked out in support of the men at Whitby RNLI. The RNLI are making grave noises about ''production'' of ''sexual material'' to big up the offense, but as far as I can make out to date (and could be wrong) it is WhatsApp banter to which the investigating team demanded access. One of the reasons given for dismissal was that children might be harmed by seeing the mugs.

I went to work places with my dad as a small girl and was absolutely fascinated by girlie calenders on the walls. Also listened to the banter among men in kitchens and factories and store rooms as a very naive teenager and again found it all fascinating. Haha, there was no other way to learn anything in those days. I doubt children would be harmed, given what they have access to now on their phones. Plus I honestly see no harm at all in naked pictures on household objects, well so long as they are not absolutely porn level. Yeah, even at work.. I would just find it laughable. I feel sorry for those lifeboat men. As someone elsewhere commented about this, we will have to start covering the legs of tables again...to avoid offense :rolleyes:

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-humber-43980257

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Ah jeebus, this political correctness SJW nonsense is getting entirely out of hand :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭AustinLostin

Rather than jump immediately to outrage on this, I think there will be more context on this one than what we see so far in the media and two sides.. The idea that they have been fired for just having these mugs is a bit unbelievable in the sense that I don't believe it.

I was just wondering that myself, BBC article certainly doesn't mention much and I would have thought if it was just the mug they'd have just to remove it from the station?

But who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

wexie wrote: »
    Ah jeebus, this political correctness SJW nonsense is getting entirely out of hand :mad:

It is, really. Some might say no need to pay attention to another example, but the way these men were treated is like they are sex offenders or something. Plus an investigation team having the right to access their social media records? Like some kind of character assasination without need for judge or jury. A minute or two spent in the back kitchens of any hotel in the 80s would have made today's right-on HR people's ears fall off with the shock :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

A lot more people, including children, could be put in danger as a result of their sacking, than were ever in danger of being offended by a mug in their office

There is some indication that the bigger story is remarks made in a Whats App group (I've never used one, so i don't know how they work, but i thought they are private). The remarks might have been about the HR person who had them sacked. You could be right though- maybe there's more, although I have seen some neighbours say there is very little more to it.

Malayalam wrote: »
    There is some indication that the bigger story is remarks made in a Whats App group (I've never used one, so i don't know how they work, but i thought they are private). The remarks might have been about the HR person who had them sacked. You could be right though- maybe there's more, although I have seen some neighbours say there is very little more to it.

Looks like you might be right

So I'd imagine it's gone something along the lines of one manager making an issue out of it, apparently several other female managers apparently have stated they don't see an issue at all, and the boys having a chat along the lines of :

- jeez yer one is a right bitch
    - she just needs a good seeing to and lighten up a bit

(which of course would lead one to wonder quite how 'yer one' became aware of the whatsapp chat :confused:

Meantime it sounds like the lifeboat station is down about 25% of their crew, just in time for the summer season...

Looks like you might be right

So I'd imagine it's gone something along the lines of one manager making an issue out of it, apparently several other female managers apparently have stated they don't see an issue at all, and the boys having a chat along the lines of :

- jeez yer one is a right bitch
    - she just needs a good seeing to and lighten up a bit

Meantime it sounds like the lifeboat station is down about 25% of their crew, just in time for the summer season...

yeah, I saw a tweet where a neighbour who read the Whats App excahanges said it is something along those lines. Okay, not best form, but still a private conversation, and honestly if we are to police all private conversation we are really at the level of ThoughtCrime and DoublePlusUnGood. That kind of banter probably has a psychological benefit in letting off steam but still allowing people to give their work their proper attention- and in this case, vital scary, demanding work. Not work for people minding their Ps and Qs

Edit : Access was demanded to the WhatsApp, which is probably even more worrisome than the mugs objection

The RNLI sacked two men (one with 15 years voluntary service) who had mugs at work with pictures of naked women on them, one of the mugs had the man's head superimposed on the body and was a secret santa gift, I think. Three, possibly four, other lifeboat volunteers have walked out in support of the men at Whitby RNLI. The RNLI are making grave noises about ''production'' of ''sexual material'' to big up the offense, but as far as I can make out to date (and could be wrong) it is WhatsApp banter to which the investigating team demanded access. One of the reasons given for dismissal was that children might be harmed by seeing the mugs.

I went to work places with my dad as a small girl and was absolutely fascinated by girlie calenders on the walls. Also listened to the banter among men in kitchens and factories and store rooms as a very naive teenager and again found it all fascinating. Haha, there was no other way to learn anything in those days. I doubt children would be harmed, given what they have access to now on their phones. Plus I honestly see no harm at all in naked pictures on household objects, well so long as they are not absolutely porn level. Yeah, even at work.. I would just find it laughable. I feel sorry for those lifeboat men. As someone elsewhere commented about this, we will have to start covering the legs of tables again...to avoid offense :rolleyes:

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-humber-43980257

You said sacked OP and after reading the Article the word you meant was Suspended

Okay, sorry, I stand corrected :) Thanks.

yeah, I saw a tweet where a neighbour who read the Whats App excahanges said it is something along those lines. Okay, not best form, but still a private conversation, and honestly if we are to police all private conversation we are really at the level of ThoughtCrime and DoublePlusUnGood.

I dunno, sounds to me like 'yer one' could indeed do with some lightening up, however way that is achieved :D

Edit : Access was demanded to the WhatsApp, which is probably even more worrisome than the mugs objection

I would love to know on what basis this was done, unless of course these were RNLI issued devices in which case 'banter' shouldn't have been on them (even though we all know it happens on work phones). But if they were privately owned then I'd imagine they are on pretty shaky footing legally?

I dunno, sounds to me like 'yer one' could indeed do with some lightening up, however way that is achieved :D

I would love to know on what basis this was done, unless of course these were RNLI issued devices in which case 'banter' shouldn't have been on them (even though we all know it happens on work phones). But if they were privately owned then I'd imagine they are on pretty shaky footing legally?[/QUOTE]

Nods.

I'll follow it and see if anything more comes to light.

The volunteers would want to have done something pretty serious to have warranted public attention being drawn to them in this way, in my opinion - something much more serious than suggesting privately that yer woman needs a ride. Otherwise it's just the height of stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Reminds me of that scientist who remotely landed a probe onto a moving comet? One of the most marvelous feats mankind has accomplished - in recent years anyway. After the press conference he gave, the only thing feminists could focus on was the bikini girls on his shirt and they made him apologize. What absolute bollocks. From millions of kilometers away he landed a flying robot rocket thingy onto another space thingy that was travelling at 135,000 km/h through space and these cunts can only be bothered to hassle him for his shirt?

Reminds me of that scientist who remotely landed a probe onto a moving comet? One of the most marvelous feats mankind has accomplished - in recent years anyway. After the press conference he gave, he only thing feminists could focus on was the bikini girls on his shirt and they made him apologize. What absolute bollocks. The man landed a robot thingy onto another space thingy from millions of miles away in space and these can only be bothered to hassle him for his shirt?

entirely fair and valid point, but the kinda people that think like that will completely miss it and only focus on your use of the word cunts....

As a matter of fact I'd imagine one of the resident feminists will be along shortly to tell you all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

entirely fair and valid point, but the kinda people that think like that will completely miss it and only focus on your use of the word cunts....

As a matter of fact I'd imagine one of the resident feminists will be along shortly to tell you all about it.

Goes to show you that the old saying is true. Sticks and stones may break my bones but there will always be something to offend a feminist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I remember that - it was ridiculous. (both the shirt and the furore it caused):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Never underestimate the ability of some managers to be **** particularly now that we've moved into this strange new world of ultra sensitivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

Careful everyone, you'll be labelled as a sympathiser to rapists. It's all part of rape culture you know. And so the slippery slope fallacy continues.

Rape-Culture-v4.png

Tangent alert...but I think **** is a word ripe for reclamation and rehabilitation - myself I like the possible etymological links to Cu for queen or fecund one, or best of all a possible source link to the Gaelic ''cuan'', meaning harbour :) Taking the sting out of the word **** would be good.

http://www.matthewhunt.com/****/
    The Latin 'cognoscere', related to 'cognate', may indeed be cognate with the sexual organ '****'. Knowledge-related words such as 'connote', 'canny', and 'cunning' may also be etymologically related to it, though such a connection is admittedly tenuous

Haha, don't know how you guys could write ***** and all mine ended up as asterisks. Patriarchy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Tangent alert...but I think **** is a word ripe for reclamation and rehabilitation - myself I like the possible etymological links to Cu for queen or fecund one, or best of all a possible source link to the Gaelic ''cuan'', meaning harbour :) Taking the sting out of the word **** would be good.

http://www.matthewhunt.com/****/

Haha, don't know how you guys could write ***** and all mine ended up as asterisks. Patriarchy!!

Are you saying ****, **** or ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

For God's sake. Couldn't the manager simply go up and say, "here lads, we've a code of conduct here and the like around stuff that might make other people uncomfortable and things like naked cups and calendars etc would come under that. Would ye mind bringing the cups home with ye after work today?"

It'd be far better for the morale of the team and all concerned rather than suspending them and hauling them over the coals. Very few jobs of mixed environs or state-funded work would tolerate things like tits-out calendars and cups but the fact that someone has such a cup doesn't mean they're some sort of misogynistic dangerous rape maniac.

Nobody has any f*cking sense these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

FTA69 wrote: »
    Nobody has any f*cking sense these days.

Many sure don't - look at the continuing vindictive campaigning re Jackson & Olding.

I don't think these women's groups realise what damage they are doing to their causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

As we know what the reaction to these things is,maybe take greater care?

https://rnli.org/news-and-media/2018/may/03/statement-on-whitby-situation?sf188652611=1&utm_source=t.co&utm_medium=referral
    We can confirm that the images of the mugs in many of the media articles is not a true representation of what was produced.

Have to wait and see what it was, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

These men are worse than two Hitlers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Reminds me of that scientist who remotely landed a probe onto a moving comet? One of the most marvelous feats mankind has accomplished - in recent years anyway. After the press conference he gave, the only thing feminists could focus on was the bikini girls on his shirt and they made him apologize. What absolute bollocks. From millions of kilometers away he landed a flying robot rocket thingy onto another space thingy that was travelling at 135,000 km/h through space and these cunts can only be bothered to hassle him for his shirt?

Do you know what I would like to see?

I would like humanity to land these "feminists" on the very same comet that the probe landed on, and let them fluck off into space ............... as the majority of them seem to be spacers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

FTA69 wrote: »
    For God's sake. Couldn't the manager simply go up and say, "here lads, we've a code of conduct here and the like around stuff that might make other people uncomfortable and things like naked cups and calendars etc would come under that. Would ye mind bringing the cups home with ye after work today?"

We don’t know that the manager didn’t do that and escalated when ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

There may be girlie calendars hanging up in garages somewhere... why doesn't someone do something?

kylith wrote: »
    We don’t know that the manager didn’t do that and escalated when ignored.

actually I'm reasonably sure I read just that (they were given the chance) in one of the articles I read this morning. Not going back trawling through redtops just to link it though.

Either way it's hardly something to get suspended over I would have thought. Sounds like it's more a case of a manager approaching an issue in a particularly poor way, the staff taking it pretty poorly and the manager consequently putting her foot down.

(or there already having been some form of conflict between said manager and staff)

Graces7 wrote: »
    As we know what the reaction to these things is,maybe take greater care?

nah screw it, not in my nature to pander to eejits like these and I wouldn't encourage anyone else to do so either.

(also generally not in my nature to use the c word in conversation btw, it's generally reserved for the times I'm in the car on my own)