If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Raining for 3 months at a time?

Where do I sign up?:P

3 men in a shack,
    Beside the widgery grub tree,
    Up from river,
    NEW GUINEA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Yere in about the same program lads. It was called My year with the tribe. He went back 4 times over the course of the year. Twas a shame to see the way the lads in the settlement turned out in the end. They were basically extorting money from the program makers by the end of it. Turned fairly nasty.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Yere in about the same program lads. It was called My year with the tribe. He went back 4 times over the course of the year. Twas a shame to see the way the lads in the settlement turned out in the end. They were basically extorting money from the program makers by the end of it. Turned fairly nasty.

Oh right.
    I only saw a bit of it. Thought it was very good though.

Edit: Just looked it up. No wonder I only saw a bit of it. It's a whole series.
    It's up on YouTube now. Well 1 and 2 is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Saw a post on facebook about the superstitions jesus kilkenny must be a very uncultured place i hace a friend that talks to magpies and thats all apart from lone trees and raths.

Out here the Aboriginal people apparently wont settle in an area a white man killed one of them as there is bad spirits around afterwards, theres a town nearby where an indigenous prisoner was marched from South Australia for id say a month at least made build houses in this town then shot straight away afterwards to keep away the rest of the natives. Also in relation to spirits on some programmes at the start it warns Aboriginal and Torres Strait islanders that there is images and recordings of deceased people featured in the programme for whatever reasons i dont know.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Oh right.
    I only saw a bit of it. Thought it was very good though.

Edit: Just looked it up. No wonder I only saw a bit of it. It's a whole series.
    It's up on YouTube now. Well 1 and 2 is.

Tis only a 3 parter, interesting though to see the westernisation of these groups and the problems it brings.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Tis only a 3 parter, interesting though to see the weatherization of these groups and the problems it brings.

I'm learning new words everyday. :p

What threw me off about Genghis's post about them living in the tree tops was that to me at most the communial house looked about 6 foot off the ground.
    It's really only an existence though and then if it rains back to mush food.
    The different reactions of the new guineans to the foreigners about the couple's baby dying was very stark.
    The new guineans had to treat it in a matter of fact way and get on with trying to survive themselves where the foreigners couldn't get over the fact.

A few people in the western world here could do with a stay with these people to realise how spoilt and protected they really are. #omg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The gate into one of my groups of calves closes into a cavity block wall. Was closing it this evening and isn't there a birds nest in the hole. Little chick looking out at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Sister keeps a few hens. She got a mad notion and picked up a rooster when she noticed a clocking hen..... this was the result....

Father was giving out to her for having the nesting box too big!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Watching this makes me extremely uncomfortable :pac:

Went to the bank today , its about ten minutes away. Electrician was in my house doing a few jobs. He went out to his van and 150 cows were in the yard !. Glad he was there or god knows were they would have ended up. Every slow driver possible was in my way when I was racing home. Oh closed them in this morning and mustnt have closed the gate right.

Oh yeah.... blame the man! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Oh yeah.... blame the man! :D

We mightnt make it til the 21 year wedding anniversary tomorrow .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote: »
    We mightnt make it til the 21 year wedding anniversary tomorrow .....

If ye got this far it's hardly worth the hassle going separate ways now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Watching this makes me extremely uncomfortable :pac:......

Wonder how does it get up when it's lying down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Moving cows and calves to land about a mile from the home place. Like to move the cows first and then all the calves together as they are very young. Bitch of a cow got passed me as I was unloading and out onto the road. Nearly half a mile she went before I managed to get the other side of her. Fit to shoot her I was. It's a quiet road but not far from the motorway, only another 1/4 mile down the road.

Liverpool into the champions league final :D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Liverpool into the champions league final :D:D:D:D:D

Not good for the heart though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Thought you mods had no hearts

I'm heading to Anfield next week :o

Reggie. wrote: »

We don't!

We just fake it when we have to :pac:

ALLEZ ALLEZ ALLEZ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Moving cows and calves to land about a mile from the home place. Like to move the cows first and then all the calves together as they are very young. Bitch of a cow got passed me as I was unloading and out onto the road. Nearly half a mile she went before I managed to get the other side of her. Fit to shoot her I was. It's a quiet road but not far from the motorway, only another 1/4 mile down the road.

I had calves end up as close to the M50 one morning!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

True, but we are issued clubs and spades, to use in that order.:P

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

greysides wrote: »
    True, but we are issued clubs and spades, to use in that order.:P

Shoot Shovel Shut-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭I says

Ive a confirmation next week :)

Proud as punch..... a baby boy!! :D All well with mother and baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ah a heir. Good stuff lad

Well... I've 2 now.. will have to buy another farm of land! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Congratulations to Mrs Muckit and yourself, great job!

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Brilliant. Well done.